STOCK MARKET DISCUSSION V98, Celebrating KLCI breach 13xx point

Veda
post Sep 19 2011, 06:48 PM

650 posts

Check in. Why no rally? Sheeeet. To dump or not to dump my remaining counters, that is the question.

This post has been edited by Veda: Sep 19 2011, 06:49 PM
Veda
post Sep 19 2011, 06:57 PM

650 posts

QUOTE(yok70 @ Sep 19 2011, 06:48 PM)
cut loss now? not too late meh?
but who knows, maybe CI prefer 12xx moreyawn.gif
You've answered your own question nod.gif

If I cut loss, it's not out of fear or panic, it's a strategic retreat laugh.gif
Veda
post Sep 19 2011, 07:11 PM

650 posts

QUOTE(yok70 @ Sep 19 2011, 07:04 PM)
just realize kimlun dropped 37% from recent peak! even without serious doubt issue such as write-back risk in muhibah(45%) .
mudajya with better earnings dropped 34%, fajar with much lower profit last qtr on the other hand only dropped 24%.
Cause they are cyclical stocks mah.

Most IBs were heavily promoting O&G, construction, property (all cyclical) a couple of months back cause of ETF. Now these sectors are the hardest hit.

The non-cyclicals, so-called defensives like JTI, DLady, etc will also drop by big % eventually ........ just that the cyclical stocks always get hit first.
Veda
post Sep 19 2011, 08:48 PM

650 posts

QUOTE(ham_revilo @ Sep 19 2011, 08:47 PM)
btw, just curious here.

what happen if they (ECB, IMF, and others) dont lend money to greece? greece goes default right?

so what will happen to euro if greece goes default?

it affects everyone right? so in a way, they dont have much to choose from but to keep lending to greece right?

correct me if im wrong coz im not really a economic/financial guy smile.gif
if greece goes default, european banks will kena kaw kaw.

Added on September 19, 2011, 8:50 pm
QUOTE(gogo2 @ Sep 19 2011, 07:51 PM)
Huuat arrr!!!!

Hopefully today is the bottom oredi.  sweat.gif
Should change the thread title to:

Save us, Unker Ben! Do the Twist!

This post has been edited by Veda: Sep 19 2011, 08:50 PM
Veda
post Sep 19 2011, 08:52 PM

650 posts

QUOTE(ham_revilo @ Sep 19 2011, 08:50 PM)
so if european banks kena, does it directly affect asian & US banks/economy?

or could it be just purely fear that drive everyone to sell and hide in the bunker?
I'll say it's both.
Veda
post Sep 21 2011, 11:16 PM

650 posts

I'm holding a big parang ready to cut loss if Unker Benny fails to unleash QE3 or at least do the Twist. Darn, it's going to be painful, like that fella who cut off his arm in All Men Are Brothers.

On the bright side, I've already shortlisted my target property, and the mutual fund I want to buy with my EPF, and other targets, when and if the economic storm hits.

This post has been edited by Veda: Sep 21 2011, 11:18 PM
Veda
post Sep 22 2011, 12:25 AM

650 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Sep 22 2011, 12:05 AM)
Depending on your entry level or your loss level, cutting loss can be painful. But, if you're comparing it like cutting arm off,
this must be pretty severe.  shocking.gif

Over time, stock prices usually come back if it is because of the general market conditions unless that company that you bought went bankrupt. This is where diversification helps and those dividend stocks may help to buffer your pain.
I bought Stock A in June because it's one of the few quality stocks still trading in single digit PE. My stock, although battered, remains fundamentally sound. I'm thinking of cutting loss to free up capital for other stocks (in industries that I prefer) that are trading at bargain prices now, and may go lower. My fear is not of financial losses or the company going brankrupt, but of lost opportunities wink.gif

Added on September 22, 2011, 12:27 am
QUOTE(jy1905 @ Sep 21 2011, 11:31 PM)
i really don't know how to garner the courage to cut loss..  doh.gif
Just think with a cool head and cold heart ...... then ..... just do it! tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Veda: Sep 22 2011, 12:27 AM
Veda
post Sep 22 2011, 12:28 AM

650 posts

QUOTE(kueyteowlou @ Sep 22 2011, 12:03 AM)
anyone can share with me about GENM dividend yield?

thanks  thumbup.gif
Should be around 1-2% only.
Veda
post Sep 22 2011, 06:21 PM

650 posts

Thanks goodness I've sold off the majority of my stocks in July. Otherwise I would have taken the lift to 14th floor today, instead of being bruised but still standing tall sweat.gif
Veda
post Sep 22 2011, 06:40 PM

650 posts

QUOTE(jy1905 @ Sep 22 2011, 06:31 PM)
i have 25th floor here..
I'm watching "I Need A Doctor" hmm.gif
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VA770wpLX-Q
Veda
post Sep 22 2011, 07:10 PM

650 posts

QUOTE(Lover @ Sep 22 2011, 07:03 PM)
should we cash out?or continue hold and wait for the rebound and average down. haha..
There's been no decent rebound since the downtrend started.

Sigh. I'm feeling the urge to call my remisier for advice (actually just want her to comfort me).
Veda
post Sep 22 2011, 07:21 PM

650 posts

QUOTE(panasonic88 @ Sep 22 2011, 07:15 PM)
Remisier will say,

"ehh bear is coming, faster sell!" (Ka-ching, commision masuk pocket)

See a slight rebound,

"ehh market is about to go out, buy XXX buy YYY" (Ka-ching! Commision masuk pocket again)

laugh.gif Market up or market down, remisier also make money.
My main remisier not so money faced one, seriously. Sometimes she's wrong, sometimes she doesn't pay enough attention, but she's honest.

After encountering so many money grubbing char boh in Penang and Klang Valley, u think I can't spot them from a mile away meh tongue.gif
Veda
post Sep 25 2011, 10:09 PM

650 posts

Read in my friend's copy of the Edge today .... while having kopi kaw kaw and roti bakar .... a chief investment officer with an investment bank says the local market could bottom by next month. He says there could be a year end rally that retraces 50% of the loss ground or something like that. Cause Europe and Amerika will get their act together. I'm writing from memory and some details could inaccurate hor.

So some ppl might choose to bargain hunt instead of selling. But use your brains to make your own decision hor. Don't shoot the messenger hor.
Veda
post Sep 26 2011, 12:11 AM

650 posts

It's Monday. In 9 hours I ride into battle. Funny, I feel butterflies in my stomach. laugh.gif

0.7691sec    0.51    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 05:19 PM