Do I need get the approval from MPSA?

TScenglee
post Sep 19 2011, 12:44 AM, updated 15y ago

64 posts

I would like to do some renovation inside my house like to lay floor tile at car porch, change existing parguet to tile (including hacking), to do plaster ceiling, wiring and counter top without any extension.

So, do I need to get approval from MPSA?

If I did not apply for permit and neighbour complain to MPSA, MPSA can summon me or not?

Awaiting for you all advise.

Thank you.

This post has been edited by cenglee: Sep 19 2011, 12:44 AM
bteoh
post Sep 19 2011, 02:06 AM

158 posts

i don't think so lor...
phoenix69
post Sep 19 2011, 09:03 AM

1,836 posts

Better check. You can sleep easy.
But from my experience, in MPSJ, no external structure change, no need.
kelvyn
post Sep 19 2011, 09:53 AM

3,173 posts

QUOTE(cenglee @ Sep 19 2011, 01:44 AM)
I would like to do some renovation inside my house like to lay floor tile at car porch, change existing parguet to tile (including hacking), to do plaster ceiling, wiring and counter top without any extension.

So, do I need to get approval from MPSA?

If I did not apply for permit and neighbour complain to MPSA, MPSA can summon me or not?

Awaiting for you all advise.

Thank you.
If carrying out renovation work within your house and does not involve any extension of the building, then don't need the authority approval. If you happen to live in a G&G, then you may need to inform the management.
Having said that, if you work is dusty, as a good neighbour, you should reduce the dust by having a temporary protection using those plastic sheets.
weikee
post Sep 19 2011, 10:48 AM

12,019 posts

Anything with major noise, you risk getting summon. And more obvious when you do it outdoor. Especially when Neighbor complain.
deazzurri
post Sep 19 2011, 01:09 PM

19 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Sep 19 2011, 10:48 AM)
Anything with major noise, you risk getting summon. And more obvious when you do it outdoor.  Especially when Neighbor complain.
my suggestion:-

1- that is just minor renovate and just involving your internal part so dont need approval from MP
2-better u meet your nearest neighbour..the left one, the right one, infront and backyard..just inform that u are
about to do minor renovate...so little bit noise will araise...for the sake of semangat muhibah kejiranan...
3-but if u want feel secure more, visit MP and seek for their advice..IF IT REALLY need license, probably will be around RM300 (plus deposit) and the
deposit will refund once the reno works done..

all the best!

Jo_da48
post Sep 19 2011, 04:55 PM

1,529 posts

may sure your sand or brick any renovation item is inside the house not at outside...

TScenglee
post Sep 19 2011, 10:07 PM

64 posts

Thanks for you all advise.

I've been MBSA this morning. According to MBSA officer, I don't need to apply permit to do the renovation because I didn't do any extension.

But, I need to avoid get complain from neighbour cause by sound pollution.

Besides, working hour must be within 8am to 6pm from Monday to Friday.

kelvyn
post Sep 19 2011, 10:16 PM

3,173 posts

Are you sure about no working allowed on Saturdays? That means only working 5 days a week. Will take long time to finish the reno work sad.gif
weikee
post Sep 19 2011, 10:32 PM

12,019 posts

My work permit allow Sat except Sun and public holiday.
TScenglee
post Sep 19 2011, 10:45 PM

64 posts

QUOTE(kelvyn @ Sep 19 2011, 10:16 PM)
Are you sure about no working allowed on Saturdays? That means only working 5 days a week. Will take long time to finish the reno work sad.gif
Yes. According to the officer.

0.0153sec    0.52    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 01:03 AM