Credit Cards Places to use your AMEX v1.1, Where to flaunt your American Express

xjeez
post Oct 3 2011, 10:16 AM

272 posts

For those who shop substantially at Daiso (the RM5 shop), I believe the new one at LG Jusco One Utama is ran by Jusco and thus uses the Jusco credit card terminal which accepts AMEX. I saw the Maybank terminal while paying but since I only bought 1 item felt awkward to swipe for it biggrin.gif

Do note that most if not all other Daiso AFAIK is cash-term only.

QUOTE(HaoYuan @ Oct 2 2011, 10:49 PM)
i dun think tm point accept amex, last time i go to tm point kota damansara, they say only accept master and visa
TMPoint Damansara Uptown and Bangsar accepts AMEX over the counter, and opens half-day on Saturday.

xjeez
post Oct 15 2011, 12:02 PM

272 posts

QUOTE(Blues03 @ Oct 14 2011, 11:47 PM)
I would like to buy an external hard disk tommorow..Question..is it all 'ALL IT Hypermarket Sdn. Bhd' branches accept AMEX?
The one in IPC (Ikano) has an AMEX sign displayed, but not sure of the hidden T&C
xjeez
post Nov 28 2011, 11:39 PM

272 posts

Makcik Briyani - The Curve - Accepts AMEX
xjeez
post Dec 19 2011, 11:10 PM

272 posts

QUOTE(echoesian @ Dec 19 2011, 11:05 PM)
Does Tesco carry hotlink reload coupon? If yes, will they accept ClubCard for this kind of purchase?
Yes you can buy Hotlink at Tesco using AMEX at the counter, they will give you the epay slip where you reload manually with the instructions.

xjeez
post Dec 20 2011, 12:42 PM

272 posts

QUOTE(echoesian @ Dec 19 2011, 11:12 PM)
What is the minimum amount that one can buy?
Should be same as all other ePay denominations - RM10, RM30, RM60, RM100

xjeez
post Jan 14 2012, 01:13 PM

272 posts

Lala Chong at Kampung Ara accepts AMEX.

xjeez
post Feb 4 2012, 03:34 PM

272 posts

QUOTE(oneeleven @ Feb 4 2012, 12:36 AM)
Does MPPJ accept for assessment?
Yes but only in the counter in their head office @ PJ State.

xjeez
post Feb 6 2012, 08:44 PM

272 posts

QUOTE(kwokwah @ Feb 6 2012, 07:02 AM)
Just booked my holiday thru Air Asia and Agoda using Amex. Weekend rates I suppose as all in same time zone.
For Agoda, wouldn't using Visa/Master and getting the 6% discount be a better deal than AMEX? assuming you're talking foreign exchange involved..

xjeez
post May 29 2012, 12:28 PM

272 posts

Menya Musashi (the extremely popular and packed Ramen shop in Isetan 1 Utama) accepts AMEX, bills under Isetan.

xjeez
post May 29 2012, 01:23 PM

272 posts

QUOTE(cempedaklife @ May 29 2012, 01:05 PM)
mydeal and groupon accept amex liao?
iPay88 started accepting AMEX, so logically the merchants that use it for payment should accept AMEX, but actual cases yet to be fully verified.

xjeez
post Jun 7 2012, 07:52 PM

272 posts

Even though iPay88 accepts AMEX, MyDeal specifically chooses not to, a message "This merchant does not accept AMEX" pops out when you try to pay with AMEX.

xjeez
post Jun 11 2012, 05:10 PM

272 posts

QUOTE(vinvon23 @ Jun 10 2012, 04:13 PM)
Anyone tried to use amex during weekend at dragon -i one utama before??? any problem with amex but not with the master card...

regarding the previous post on optical shop that receive amex...
found one in 1u.. optical avenue.
Better Vision and Focus Point in 1U also accepts AMEX.

xjeez
post Jun 18 2012, 02:07 PM

272 posts

QUOTE(echoesian @ Jun 18 2012, 01:57 PM)
Does eTiQa accept AMEX for insurance renewal ?
Yes, over the phone.

xjeez
post Jun 20 2012, 09:10 AM

272 posts

QUOTE(alexwsk @ Jun 19 2012, 08:34 PM)
you can try to ask the cs to process it on saturday, but they might still process it on coming monday
I just tried last weekend, unfortunately still transaction date on Monday, I guess its a bit of luck involved with the Phone CS knowing what to do with your request.

xjeez
post Jun 28 2012, 09:33 AM

272 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Jun 26 2012, 05:14 PM)
I have previously posted that I manage to get 10% discount and 5% rebate. Call Motortakaful by phone on early Saturday and requested that they make sure transaction done on same day to enjoy 5% rebate.
I tried asking for the transaction date to be set on the same day (Saturday), but I guess the customer service personnel had no idea how to handle the request and it still ended up being Post Date and Transaction Date set to the following weekday.

Did you insist on the transaction being done on the day itself or just the adjustment of the transaction date when posting? As far as I know they will insist that the payment cannot be done on the day itself.

xjeez
post Jul 6 2012, 05:58 PM

272 posts

QUOTE(echoesian @ Jul 5 2012, 06:43 PM)
Starting today?
Almost a month ago, its actually iPay88 accepts AMEX, but certain merchants like MyDeal can still refuse AMEX to be used.

xjeez
post Jul 9 2012, 05:55 PM

272 posts

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Jul 9 2012, 04:46 PM)
Well actually if iPay88 accepts Amex, then by default all the merchants that use thier gateway will able to accepts Amex.
That is because your are actually paying (debit) to iPay88 instead of paying directly to the merchant.

Well that is unless the gateway script has some different and needed to be updated manually at the merchant website (which i supposed it doesnt, although i saw someone previously said need manual update)..

Logically, the payment details should accept any garbage/dummy info and all dumped to the iPay88 server to be processed locally there, so it should not have do any checking at merchant website.
For MyDeal case when you key in an AMEX number and submit it specifically pops out the error message "This merchant does not accept AMEX" or something like that, so yea I think there's a manual opt-out option.
xjeez
post Jul 25 2012, 05:02 PM

272 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Jul 25 2012, 12:17 AM)
Please confirm motortakaful.com.my can use AMEX or not so I can edit the post #1
The website itself (DIY fill up the online form) - cannot.

Calling their Phone Support to renew - can.

Getting them to transact on Saturday - very difficult but so far one person managed to do it notworthy.gif

xjeez
post Sep 27 2012, 09:45 AM

272 posts

QUOTE(Sirius @ Sep 27 2012, 09:38 AM)
Hi, I get reply from MBB AMEX

"by Bank Negara, all local cards (chip card) and EDC terminals must be EMV compliance. As such, all transactions must be reading from the chip instead of the magnetic stripe.

However, the terminals use in Ikea are not EMV compliance for Amex card at this moment. We are in the midst of negotiating with Ikea and the acquiring bank to resolve the issue.

We do regret for the interruption and inconvenience caused and thank you once again for highlighting this issue to our attention."
That might also mean some of the other merchants who are using the same technique (swipe + key in CVV) would be following suit.

0.0299sec    0.73    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 08:47 AM