14 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

SAMSUNG GALAXY S II Official thread V14, Be a SMART user - Pls read Page 1 first

antt00
post Sep 19 2011, 08:59 PM

RescuE
10,873 posts

QUOTE(devil94 @ Sep 19 2011, 06:18 PM)
antt00 i saw ur post on xda is about applying jkay theme will lose setting of the setting and framework and u recommend to replace the .png
mind guide me to it ? biggrin.gif

do this apply to KH3 aswell ?

thx
Yes same for KH3. Actually the only thing it will break from my trials is CRT effect. If you don't need it just flash Jkay theme it is less hassle and more complete.

I actually edited the rom file by changing the .png in drawable-hdpi folder located in the framework-res.apk and systemui.apk using winrar. Simply opening the apk with winrar and dragging in new .png into the drawable-hdpi folder. Winrar will auto replace and auto save. Carefull not to replace other files. Only .png. I think others have also use 7-zip to do this but i never try before. Please do nandroid backup first.

Added on September 19, 2011, 9:02 pm
QUOTE(dennis_lcfx @ Sep 19 2011, 08:56 PM)
I've done a bit of research on this phone and it seems that a lot of people are experiencing poor wifi signals. Do you guys have any problems with this issue?
No problem at home or my sis house with wifi. Seldom use hotspot cos got data plan. Have not had any problem so far with wifi.

This post has been edited by antt00: Sep 19 2011, 09:10 PM
antt00
post Sep 19 2011, 09:05 PM

RescuE
10,873 posts

QUOTE(chicken12345 @ Sep 19 2011, 08:23 PM)
x-power is a rom rite? and siyah is kernel.. so if i wan to try the one u'r using, shall i flash the kernel with odin first, then only flash the x-power, just like i flash liten'ing rom from stock rom.. Please advice..
x-power sp1 already come with siyah 1.5 beta 1. Anyway its rule of thumb to flash rom first then only kernel as all roms already come with their own kernel.

antt00
post Sep 19 2011, 09:08 PM

RescuE
10,873 posts

QUOTE(chicken12345 @ Sep 19 2011, 09:03 PM)
hmm.. seems x-power doesnt work in my phone.. wireless not working.. can i use other custom rom, for eg miui 1.9.16 with siyah 1.5?
Why not working? Did you do wipe then only flash. Anyway i don't think miui can use siyah kernel. Better stick with the kernel provided with the miui rom. Please be reminded miui or cm7 rom is still incomplete and not all functions will be there.
antt00
post Sep 19 2011, 09:17 PM

RescuE
10,873 posts

QUOTE(devil94 @ Sep 19 2011, 09:14 PM)
CRT is means for the effect when the screen goes black ?
Yes when the screen turn off like old tv. You can just do nandroid backup. Flash jkay mod. See if you like or not if not just revert back to your nandroid backup.
antt00
post Sep 19 2011, 09:36 PM

RescuE
10,873 posts

QUOTE(devil94 @ Sep 19 2011, 09:26 PM)
hmmm i dont really need the effect as im using jkay too for my cognition biggrin.gif

so if i dont bother about the crt i just flash over the x-treme power rite ? biggrin.gif

Added on September 19, 2011, 9:33 pmAnyone using Dark Knight here ? does it support siyah kernel too ?

too many roms to tryout @@
Yup you can just flash over. PLEASE download right version of jkay. Look for version 9.2 for KG5 deodexed version. Also just do backup very important before flashing stuff. I think DK should support siyah best you check out DK thread on xda.
antt00
post Sep 19 2011, 09:45 PM

RescuE
10,873 posts

QUOTE(devil94 @ Sep 19 2011, 09:37 PM)
oh ya last question , the ''Service Pack 1 FOR POWER 1.0 ONLY!'' what is this for ? i need to flash it ?

thx ya biggrin.gif
Eh read la the first page of the thread

touch x-power 1.0 sp1

19/09-2011

fixed broken picture frame widget
added siyah kernel 1.5b1
optimization in build.prop
added more speed scripts
small overhaul of under-volt values as 0.1% of the users have some problem when waking up device.

Ps. To ensure performence and accurate application behavior, please wipe dalvik cache and reboot.

But i advice don't flash this yet, i think it broke permission for init.d script until the fix is posted.
antt00
post Sep 19 2011, 10:50 PM

RescuE
10,873 posts

QUOTE(Lineage @ Sep 19 2011, 10:43 PM)
Anyone using TW 4.5? how to mod the dock icon? I cant do it..I flash the TW 4.5 zip from Batista ROM through CWM..but it still at TW 2.3.3..

Or I'm doing the wrong thing? Please help..
Use the TW Manager here http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1061883
I have used only the theme from this thread and the app. Have not tried replacing with my own icons.
antt00
post Sep 20 2011, 07:41 AM

RescuE
10,873 posts

QUOTE(Lineage @ Sep 20 2011, 07:23 AM)
Yeah..I also to put shortcut at the dock..but I can't rearrange those shortcut as I like  sad.gif
QUOTE(destEX @ Sep 20 2011, 02:32 AM)
that one you go to app drawer, menu>edit then u can drag the icons from ur app drawer to the dock
TW the home button always at the far right. So far no way to put in middle.

This post has been edited by antt00: Sep 20 2011, 07:43 AM
antt00
post Sep 20 2011, 08:06 AM

RescuE
10,873 posts

QUOTE(mydragoon @ Sep 20 2011, 08:00 AM)
hmmm... was exploring this butterfly launcher + sskin.

last night, i mentioned contacts was replaced with internet icon at the dock (the bottom part of the screen). this morning, accidentally discovered i could actually add another 3 more icons on the dock... cool. smile.gif
Most launcher allow you to do that. And also arrange app drawer, use different way to browse app drawer, hide status bar, change icon, use theme, swiping to start stuff on home screen, etc...

That's why most people use different launcher than stock launcher provided with the phone. There are so many ways to customize and use your phone.
antt00
post Sep 20 2011, 08:13 AM

RescuE
10,873 posts

QUOTE(LuffyPSP @ Sep 20 2011, 08:10 AM)
use the TW from epictouch 4G. you can sort your apps, and make your default in the middle. but you will lose the panning feature to move the widgets tho.
I am talking about the home button the one you press to get into app drawer. TW 4.5 already can set home screen in the middle and also sort apps. TW 4.5 is still better than the new TW from the 4G except maybe some problems with TW widgets.

Well it doesn't matter cos ADW is the best now that my phone is tweaked. tongue.gif

Added on September 20, 2011, 8:20 am
QUOTE(mydragoon @ Sep 20 2011, 08:09 AM)
wow... i'm just learning... lol... coz i dun recall touchwiz letting me do that.

so kinda happy with it. just that with this launcher... can see 'lag' when moving between home screen. its not really lag, just not as smooth as touchwiz.

for me... since i got this from samsung apps, i guess samsung had done some vetting of the apps... wink.gif

p/s: what the heck is apps drawer?
Apps drawer is the page where you can scroll through all your apps. On TW it is when you press the home icon.

TW lack function and theme but its bloody smooth because it uses the phone hardware also. Other launcher only uses their software because unable to utilize the phone hardware and will seem like lagging compared to TW.

This post has been edited by antt00: Sep 20 2011, 08:22 AM
antt00
post Sep 20 2011, 08:43 AM

RescuE
10,873 posts

QUOTE(TheLaptopDudeGuy @ Sep 20 2011, 08:28 AM)
yeah, why not? its still a microsd card, so its usable in galaxy s2. im pretty sure it wont harm the phone, maybe read/write speeds will be slow, not sure abt that  hmm.gif

Added on September 20, 2011, 8:35 am
go to facebook, press back one time to go to 9 icons page, press menu>settings>at refresh interval click to select it to never and at notifications click it to select it to inactive

Added on September 20, 2011, 8:36 amcant stand the battery drain anymore, going to switch to sensation rom. at sensation rom page, why cant find any download for no wipe version?
You can just wipe in cwm manually before flash.
antt00
post Sep 20 2011, 08:53 AM

RescuE
10,873 posts

QUOTE(TheLaptopDudeGuy @ Sep 20 2011, 08:50 AM)
must i wipe b4 flashing the rom? you guys told me before it was advisable to do it
Its a good practice like wearing seatbelts when driving. If nothing happen ok, if you face complications you would have wish you have wipe before flashing. Cos then you have to flash all over again = double job.

Plus if you face complications you won't know if its rom problem or because you didn't wipe. So you may think its because you didn't wipe and reflash with wiping. Then see see you still have problem and confirm its rom problem so you ended flashing 3 times with no result. I need to stop ranting.

This post has been edited by antt00: Sep 20 2011, 08:56 AM
antt00
post Sep 20 2011, 10:09 AM

RescuE
10,873 posts

Eh i think Joey is saying the alarm did not play the ringtone she selected la but a default one. I only use tones from the sounds. Never try from my files before.

This post has been edited by antt00: Sep 20 2011, 10:11 AM
antt00
post Sep 20 2011, 10:36 AM

RescuE
10,873 posts

QUOTE(Joey Christensen @ Sep 20 2011, 10:19 AM)
I don't think it's corrupted because it let me play a "preview" of the song before I set it. I'm sure it's workable. It's already the second time...

Thanks for the recommendation of "Tone Picker". I thought of downloading another app for my current alarm. Twice the disappointment I had.

Added on September 20, 2011, 10:24 amI've added another time slot as my alarm at 10.30am. Let's see if it is ringing the default tone or the one that I've chosen.

There's this lists under Alarm Type: MELODY, VIBRATION, VIBRATION AND MELODY & BRIEFING.

What the heck is briefing means? Anyway, I already set it as MELODY. Let's see how it goes in a couple of minutes.

Added on September 20, 2011, 10:29 amGod damn it! It came the same default ringtone as my alarm.
Out of curiosity i try it out a minute ago picking a mp3 from my files which is located on my external sd. It played the choosen melody without a problem. Can you try another melody and see.

Then i thought maybe the size of mp3 could be a problem so i try a full mp3 song 7mb and it still play without problem. Bloody loud until i terkejut.

This post has been edited by antt00: Sep 20 2011, 10:39 AM
antt00
post Sep 20 2011, 10:45 AM

RescuE
10,873 posts

QUOTE(Joey Christensen @ Sep 20 2011, 10:38 AM)
Nope. I'm not into technical.
Noted. Experiment #2 on its way. Let me change to another ringtone as my alarm tone. Be right back.

Added on September 20, 2011, 10:43 amExperiment #2 went accordingly. WAHOO! What could be the problem with the other ringtone? Corrupted as mentioned by a forummer? Hmmm...The thing is I could play the whole song.
Good that you sort it out. Maybe the other song got unknown characters like chinese or korean or etc. in the file name and the system cannot recognize it.

This post has been edited by antt00: Sep 20 2011, 10:45 AM
antt00
post Sep 20 2011, 10:50 AM

RescuE
10,873 posts

QUOTE(TheLaptopDudeGuy @ Sep 20 2011, 10:44 AM)
hey ant00, usually night time standby how much ur battery drain?
cuz now weird thing is, there are no wakelocks, yet my batt is draining! 96% to 91% oredy...  blink.gif
could it be cuz i haven gone through enough battery cycles?
Mine with data off is about 2 - 3% drop for about 6 - 7 hours. I think about 1% drop every 2 hrs.

Edit: i don't do battery cycle also just wipe batt stat.

This post has been edited by antt00: Sep 20 2011, 10:52 AM
antt00
post Sep 20 2011, 11:15 AM

RescuE
10,873 posts

QUOTE(TheLaptopDudeGuy @ Sep 20 2011, 11:13 AM)
you need to wipe batt stat many times? i thought only needed to recalibrate once.
I wipe stats every time i change kernel. Dunno need or not but i just do it. I flash kernel alot. LOL
antt00
post Sep 20 2011, 12:11 PM

RescuE
10,873 posts

Oh look KI1 cook rom http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1267563

Anyone want to try?? tongue.gif

Added on September 20, 2011, 12:15 pm
QUOTE(telomasen88 @ Sep 20 2011, 12:01 PM)
Touch X-Treme ROM v2.0 or TOUCH X-Power KG5 1.0?
both have battery saving tweaks...which one would be better?

preferences -> battery saving tweaks with cool graphical UI representation...
X-Power is suppose to have better battery life with newer tweaks.

This post has been edited by antt00: Sep 20 2011, 12:15 PM
antt00
post Sep 20 2011, 02:33 PM

RescuE
10,873 posts

QUOTE(mydragoon @ Sep 20 2011, 01:58 PM)
best way... mute the phone aka silent mode.

otherwise, try this...
go to apps drawer (heh heh) --> settings --> sound --> volume
then reduce SYSTEM to 0.

but honestly, i'm not sure what else is affected when system goes to 0. i have this setting and my alarm, notification, call volume, etc is still ok.

this complicated audio setting is one irritation i mentioned earlier...

QUOTE(Mollai @ Sep 20 2011, 02:24 PM)
ok..i'll when my manager not in the office..kekeke

btw...settings can be reached from menu > settings..no need to go apps drawer
You can use apps such as volume ace to control all these volumes and setup sound profiles. Somemore can put widget on home screen so changing sound profiles can be done in 2 taps eg. going from everything fullblast to total silence in 2 taps.
antt00
post Sep 20 2011, 03:19 PM

RescuE
10,873 posts

QUOTE(mydragoon @ Sep 20 2011, 02:58 PM)
ya... would be good if we could setup some profiles. with my old dumbphone, i could set profiles to enable certain settings, etc... not sure if got such thing or not on sgs2 --> without having to root, etc.
I already say got its call "volume ace". No need root.

14 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0516sec    0.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 04:18 PM