Technical Playstation 3 FAQ For Beginners | V8, General PS3 Q&A and Technical Discussion
Ace98
Dec 10 2011, 12:04 AM

QUOTE(jgamer @ Dec 9 2011, 11:56 PM) hi just getting sg set a while ago just curious y confirm button is o and cancel button is x already used to confirm button x and cancel button o on ps2 does this normal? this is normal...
Ace98
Dec 11 2011, 02:10 PM

my console got frozen, is it a symptom of YLOD? i just got my console back at July... the scene got frozen, the BGM still going on, but it won't respond no matter what buttons i clicked... i wasn't playing any high graphic game...
Ace98
Dec 11 2011, 03:08 PM

QUOTE(shahreza2000 @ Dec 11 2011, 02:50 PM) what game?  KOF XIII...
Ace98
Dec 11 2011, 07:49 PM

QUOTE(Duckies @ Dec 11 2011, 06:44 PM) That happened to me few weeks back when I was playing Uncharted 3.I believe it shouldnt be YLOD symptoms since there's no red/light blinking.I concluded that it is because I were playing the console continuously without stopping for 5-6 hours..mayb the console overheat,overloaded or wateva.I let it rest for a day and continue playing for the rest of the week.So far so good  And I hope the console can last at least the arrival of PS4  i hope my console can last for a very very long time~ even after PS4~ i have PS1 that's still working fine, PSP working fine too...but sadly, my PS2 has lens problem T.T
Ace98
Dec 19 2011, 06:58 AM

my console got frozen while playing KOF again... i think it's due to overheat, as it got frozen after around 2 hours of playing... how do i solve this problem? i'm not playing in an air-con room, and my fan is quite weak... other than that, it also happened after i connect my console to the internet through wired connection...
Ace98
Dec 20 2011, 09:56 AM

QUOTE(andrewcha @ Dec 19 2011, 07:41 AM) sometimes new games got freeze is due to itself. i remember when i brought the new mh game the first time it does hang my ps3 often too. wait for the patch. hmm...but i don't think it's the game's problem... it seems like i'm the only one having this problem...
Ace98
Jan 1 2012, 12:08 PM

hi guys, this morning, my console got frozen again... after it got frozen, i hold the power button, until it restarted...then i got a message, saying that i didn't turn off my console properly, and that my hard disk might be corrupted... so, what's the problem that causing my console to freeze? before this, i suspected that it's due to overheat, but this morning, i took a fan and blew at my console while i'm playing, and it's not hot when it got frozen... More info, my console only got frozen when i'm playing King of Fighters XIII, and i just changed from wireless connection to wired connection because i heard wired connection provides better online gameplay, and i just installed KOF XIII into my hard disk... and updated to latest firmware too... hope all the sifus here can help me solve this problem >.<
Ace98
Jan 1 2012, 12:27 PM

hmmm, but i asked someone, he told me, when console got frozen, never ever eject the disc first, restart it first, then only eject the disc... if it's hard disk problem, how do i solve it? More info : sometimes i can hear some screeching sound while my console reads the game disc...it happened after the 3rd time it got frozen...
This post has been edited by Ace98: Jan 1 2012, 12:32 PM
Ace98
Jan 1 2012, 12:56 PM

QUOTE(0hmyg0d @ Jan 1 2012, 12:43 PM) Oh no. No idea where to get this game then. Anyone generous enough to lend I u have? Hehe hmmm...you can try getting a second hand 1s at the garage sales?
Ace98
Jan 6 2012, 05:53 PM

how to solve the problem of hard disk corrupted?
Ace98
Jan 16 2012, 04:06 PM

I'm using 1MB streamyx only... Don't really had any big problem...
Ace98
Jan 23 2012, 02:49 PM

QUOTE(da drummer @ Jan 23 2012, 08:22 AM) a big thnx for reply. should i get modded or not modded version?not familiar with ps3..need to ask b4 buy...wanna try my luck at seremban first  you can try Jusco Seremban 2 Sony Centre... that's the only place i would sugest you to get ps3 from in Seremban...
Ace98
Jan 23 2012, 03:55 PM

RM1800 is too expensive IMO. is it those shops at T1?
Ace98
Jan 23 2012, 04:15 PM

QUOTE(da drummer @ Jan 23 2012, 03:58 PM) i bought mine from Sony few months ago for a price of 1299... but it depends on whether you want a modded 1s or unmodded 1s... if you want to play online, then you should get the unmodded 1s...
Ace98
Jan 23 2012, 04:23 PM

QUOTE(da drummer @ Jan 23 2012, 04:16 PM) I ask him.rm1300.unmodded.basic set plus hdmi,two controler,one game.ok? Hmmm... ask about warranty... but you can try checking out at Sony Center 1st... coz if i'm not mistaken, Sony having promotion now... if the price more or less the same, getting from Sony is better...
Ace98
Feb 17 2012, 02:51 PM

anyone updated to 4.11 already? i'm currently using 4.00, do i need to update to 4.10 before updating to 4.11?
Ace98
Feb 19 2012, 10:19 PM

just updated to 4.11. Btw, i only use my console to play games... so i never touch the PS Home before... how does it work actually? And what's it for?
Ace98
Feb 19 2012, 11:59 PM

QUOTE(shahreza2000 @ Feb 19 2012, 10:46 PM) try it PS Home.. its fun ...lot of activities to do there ... eg u can try bowling, decorate ur own home space, etc Hmmm... i clicked it... it says something like my console doesn't have the application yet and asked me to install it... will it takes a long time to install?
Ace98
Feb 21 2012, 12:35 AM

QUOTE(Vickyle @ Feb 21 2012, 12:26 AM) Regarding DLC for ps3 games, If I buy a R1 game, I have to create another US PSN account for its DLC? Can R3 game get R1 DLC? It depends on the game... if DLCs are region locked, you can only use R1 DLC for R1 Game and R3 DLC for R3 Game...
Ace98
Feb 21 2012, 01:32 PM

QUOTE(Vickyle @ Feb 21 2012, 10:59 AM) So, does that mean we can create R1, R2, R3 and R4 account and download accordingly? Or is it that we are only able to create R3 account since we are from Asia? hmm... you can create an account for all region, you just need to get an address for each region... but so far i only have R3 account... LOL.