14 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Bottom

Guide to Japan., Japan-->Study or Travel? Ask away!

cku87
post Oct 12 2011, 07:17 AM

131 posts

QUOTE(ifana @ Oct 10 2011, 08:49 PM)
Cku87-san!!

Wow! They replied...congratz for that! urm just tell them U`re learning japanese in malaysia now and your fairly good at it! I think when they said fair knowledge...it means..basic survival skills...daily conversation skills...u told me u were pretty good right? thumbup.gif  icon_rolleyes.gif so just tell them confidently...should be fine!  rclxms.gif Because the classes will be conducted in english anyway...besides last time my malay seniors all could barely speak japanese hahaha and yet they were still admitted...hmm...how about kyoto daigaku? icon_idea.gif
I don't mind which university as long as they have the programme that I'm interested too biggrin.gif

Yeah, out of topic maybe but just wondering have you been to any arashi concert or any johnnys there? mind to share the awesomeness? brows.gif
TSifana
post Oct 12 2011, 03:26 PM

181 posts

QUOTE(cheecken0 @ Oct 11 2011, 11:09 PM)
Yo thar ifana!

Like what you say, japanese have a different mindset as malaysians do. Malaysians tend to appreciate the fact that people are getting to know us and we will be very courteous to them often making long term friends if possible. But that doesn't work for them it seems.

Being the experienced TS you are, hopefully you can clear the mist of how japanese communicate especially towards foreigners, specifically malaysians.
Actually climate denotes conditions around an area for prolonged periods of time, and yes social climate is a legitimate word. Same goes to academic climate, sports climate etc.
Hi hi!!! laugh.gif

Ok, i'll try to explain as clearly as i can...basically like i mentioned before, They are only ok ok with people from other asian countries including people from malaysia. For us who are studying here, we feel like the japanese people, if they're interested to become friends they really will come and talk to u become friends with you etc etc. So sometimes we here, we start to talk to them first... Unlike people from england or america, the japanese will attack them first. Haha, as to how they talk to us is just like normal la.... They can be really friendly if u can speak japanese tongue.gif smile.gif)

cheecken0
post Oct 12 2011, 03:46 PM

423 posts

QUOTE(ifana @ Oct 12 2011, 03:26 PM)
Hi hi!!! laugh.gif

Ok, i'll try to explain as clearly as i can...basically like i mentioned before, They are only ok ok with people from other asian countries including people from malaysia. For us who are studying here, we feel like the japanese people, if they're interested to become friends they really will come and talk to u become friends with you etc etc. So sometimes we here, we start to talk to them first... Unlike people from england or america, the japanese will attack them first. Haha, as to how they talk to us is just like normal la.... They can be really friendly if u can speak japanese tongue.gif smile.gif)
yo yo ifana

I see. fair enough. So blending in... no prob?
TSifana
post Oct 12 2011, 05:10 PM

181 posts

QUOTE(cku87 @ Oct 12 2011, 07:17 AM)
I don't mind which university as long as they have the programme that I'm interested too  biggrin.gif
Yeah, out of topic maybe but just wondering have you been to any arashi concert or any johnnys there? mind to share the awesomeness?  brows.gif
cku-san! Too bad no! I havent been to any of the JE concerts cry.gif

Added on October 12, 2011, 5:12 pm
QUOTE(cheecken0 @ Oct 12 2011, 03:46 PM)
yo yo ifana

I see. fair enough. So blending in... no prob?
Yup shouldn`t be a problem icon_rolleyes.gif thumbup.gif As long as you smile, speak japanese and look friendly, you`ll blend in nicely I`d say flex.gif brows.gif

This post has been edited by ifana: Oct 12 2011, 05:12 PM
nasrulbond
post Oct 12 2011, 07:12 PM

Nothing better to do
690 posts

Well, is there any halal sushi there? one of my friend there told me that he had to order ayam and daging halal in online. really hard pula to get halal food there kan ? sweat.gif
TSifana
post Oct 12 2011, 08:44 PM

181 posts

QUOTE(nasrulbond @ Oct 12 2011, 07:12 PM)
Well, is there any halal sushi there? one of my friend there told me that he had to order ayam and daging halal in online. really hard pula to get halal food there kan ? sweat.gif
I'd say sushi is the safest japanese food to eat in japan coz everything is Raw Fish. But I understand why you asked i guess its because malaysian sushi is like fried stuff all the way haha laugh.gif but yeah sushi is safe here. We among malay students nobody ever hesitates to eat sushi coz we know how they prepare it as well and they use vegetable oil so no worries abt pork oil in that sense.

Abt the ordering halal online part, its true...shops selling halal ingredients in tokyo are located in two main places. In shinokubo and ueno. Not that there are not many halal shops just all of them are located in one same place not scarce around. So its eitjer u go there or order online. If u stay near its fine but if far then ordering online is actually much cheaper..fast and hassle free!! Especially when u wanna buy a big amount of things!! I love ordering them online. I order today and get it the next day AND another of my fav part!! If you order up to a certain amount...shipping is FREE!! and trust me its not like u have to order till 10000yen or nething... Maybe a max of 5000yen and they send it to your door free! I live 30mins from where the halal shops are. Plus it'll cost me 600yen to and fro... Because i'm carrying it myself can't buy too many things samore and obviously tired just by grocery shopping!

If u dont wanna buy so much u can ask other people who wants to buy halal food too...thats what i always do anyway:hyper:tongue.giflaugh.gif
turtles_tszx
post Oct 13 2011, 11:25 PM

I'm interested in studying in japan and i'm currently doing my degree in Business Computing in UITM. What are the steps i can do? I don't have any knowledge in japanese language, money is a big problem. What should i do?

This post has been edited by turtles_tszx: Oct 13 2011, 11:25 PM
TSifana
post Oct 14 2011, 01:19 AM

181 posts

Hello semua!!

Today`s Tips of the day!!

Tada!!! Introduction to Malaysian and halal restaurants in Tokyo!

But this is limited to what I know only hihi tongue.gif:p

Malaysian restaurants :

Malaychan 1:

From JR Ikebukuro train station west exit : 10 mins walk
Description : This is the best Malaysian restaurant in Tokyo I should say for the taste of the food is really close to Malaysia...If you go during lunch time, they have lunch hour sets meaning you get a drink, salad, main dish and desserts from 800yen~1000yen. I know if you convert to RM it feels like expensive but in Japan this is like spending Rm10 lidat hehe. I used to work here as a waitress in 2009 so I know the owner Mama-san...if you open the link, you`ll see this old lady wearing black baju kurung with blue flower patterns on it, that`s Mama-san. Just tell her you know Farah, maybe she`ll treat you to something haha
Remark : Ok don`t confuse this restaurant with Malaychan Dua. Yup Mama-san owns both Malaychan Satu and Malaychan Dua. Malaychan Dua is NOT HALAL mind you. But for chinese who wants to eat Bak Kut Teh. i`d recommend Malaychan Dua hehe. For Muslims, Stick with Malaychan Satu, its the halal one thumbup.gif Another thing I love about this restaurant is that they provide Sejadah (praying mat) and I wonder if its still there, my Telekung (praying clothes). If you want to pray, they have a small office on the second floor of the restaurant so you can pray in private...a lil bit sempit though hehe. thumbup.gif And this restaurant has been featured in Magazines and TV and last time EXILE that Japanese band even ate there and promoted the restaurant on some japanese variety show...pretty cool i`d say!
My ratings : 5/5

Jom Makan

Address : B1 Ginza Five, 5-1 Saki, Chuo, Tokyo. Located in a shopping centre called Ginza Five B1 floor.
From Ginza station Exit C1 : 1 min walk.
Description : Ok for those who are travelling and happens to be in Ginza, this is the halal restaurant for you. The food is pretty good but to me its altered to suit japanese tongue so do not expect originality in the taste of the food here. But they use halal meet and although it doesnt taste as original but it taste good nonetheless. Pricing is also ok, for Japan standard it is considered normal.
Remark : Ok I used to work here too...even before I worked at Malaychan. It was in early of 2008...I was only 19 then haha how time flies...Yeah the restaurant was then located at Ebisu within the Yamanote Line but before it moved to Ginza I quit and joined Malaychan coz its nearer to my place...After it moved to Ginza I`ve only been there once and the owner was still malay, En Akmal. but after that i`ve never been there...I think its been almost 3 years...so i`ve heard that the owner changed but it is still halal...in that sense nothing`s change....coz I have a senior who worked there for a year so he told me...Owh btw, this restaurant used to be under the malaysian Kitchen program but after the owner changed I heard it became privatized.
My ratings : 3/5

Rasa Malaysia
From Shinjuku station west exit : 8mins walk
Address : Tokyo, Shinjuku, Kabukicho Hashimoto Building 4th floor next to the Shinjuku Ward Office
Website (Shinjuku) : You can see the map here http://r.tabelog.com/tokyo/A1304/A130401/13022771/

Location 2 : Ginza
From Ginza station A3 exit : 1 min walk
Address : Ginza Five Building 8th Floor

Description : Ok Rasa Malaysia I think has the most variety of food not only Malaysian food...they also have Singaporean and Thai food as well...I kinda like the atmosphere and some of the food really taste like original Malaysian food...for example the satay really taste like smoked satay we always eat in Malaysia unlike those fried on a fry pan or something...the kuah kacang is also very nice!! Yum! I also tried some of the Thai food there and love it!
Remark : Ok I`ve only been to this restaurant twice and both times were in Shinjuku...i`m actually not sure if they opened a new branch in Ginza or moved to Ginza instead I think the Shinjuku one is still there but they branched out kot...owh well hihi Food is nice...good atmosphere!
My ratings : 4/5

Moving on we have other halal restaurants I always go to!

Halal restaurants :

Karachi

Type : Pakistan&Indian restaurant
From Fuchu station north exit : 5 mins walk (Keio Line from Shinjuku 20 mins by train)
Address : Towa Coop Building
Location 2 : Shinjuku
From shinjuku station west exit : 5 mins walk
Address : Nishimura building B1 Floor

Description : I like the restaurant...the all-you-can-eat time is fro 11am-4pm! They serve Saffron rice alongside fresh cooked Naan with 3 types of curry...Also there are salad and different types of salad dressing you can choose from. Fried Chicken Tika and Indian dessert tapioca in yogurt cream...And what i like most about this restaurant is that during the all-you-can-eat hour you can drink as much CHAI and LASSI!!!!!! Love love love!!!
Remark : Good service...very polite people...going there for dinner can be really expensive though so I recommend going during the All-you-can-eat-drink hour icon_rolleyes.gif
My ratings : 3/5

Shanti

Type : Indian muslim food
From Komagome station (online one exit) : 2 mins walk (Yamanote line 15 mins from Shinjuku)
Address : Tokyo, Toshima-ku, Komagome 1-41-15

Description : I just love the Set menus here...its just nice for one person and considerably cheap to me. You can have Naan set with one or two curries plus salad and drinks for only 980yen and if you plus 100yen more you can change the normal Naan to CHEEEEZY CHEESE NAAAN YUMM! I used to live in Komagome when I was commuting to my Japanese language school and this is just my next stop after school!
Remark : The atmosphere in the restaurant is really nice...and I suggest the set menus coz its really worth it...They also sell A lot of indian spices and a lot of other traditional Indian ingredients! Miss this restaurant..since I entered Uni I haven`t been to my Japanese language school to visit or anything at all so I kinda miss this place...

DENIZ

Type : Turkish muslim Food
From Takadanobaba station Waseda exit : 3mins walk from the Sakae Street just walk along the street and you`ll see it on your left!
Address : Tokyo, Shinjuku, Takadanobaba, 3-4-19
WEbsite : http://r.tabelog.com/tokyo/A1305/A130503/13052741/ (more for the map...just scroll down)

DEscription; OMG the kebab here is TO DIE FOR!! Big size, full of meat and the sauce is just SO yummy delicious! And the best part is that its only 500yen!! LOVe LoVE LoVE this restaurant...the food is just YUMMMMMM all the way!!!
Remark : I really feel like having kebab now...ISH!! Will go la this saturday ker...Nom nom nom

2x2 =8

Type : Indian Pakistani food
From Kitazawa station south exit : 4 mins walk (Inokashira line from Shibuya 8mins)
Address : Setagaya-ku, kitazawa, 2-14-14
Website : http://simokitazawa.blog89.fc2.com/blog-en...9.html#box_main

DEscription : Ok!!! Why i love this restaurant...jen jen jen...its All-you-can-eat all day round no time limit..It opens from 11am-11pm so the all you can eat is also from 11am-11pm!!!! Food is good! Love the fried chicken and the Mutton curry! But drinks are separate...but water is free so u don`t have to order drinks if u don`t want to...I like it coz usually the prices goes up when you have dinner at indian restaurants but in this restaurant even if you go at night, its still 980yen so I love it!!
Remark : If only the drinks are also included in the All-you-can-eat course it`ll be awesome...But I love the service here..the people are so friendly and nice...and sometimes for first timers who are muslims..they give you free mango lassis or chai! Nice right???!!
My rating : 3/5

SHALIMAR

Type : Indian Pakistani food
From Akihabara station electric town exit : 10 mins walk
Address : Tokyo, chiyoda, Sotokanda 3-6-5
Website :http://r.tabelog.com/tokyo/A1311/A131101/13009147/dtlblog/ (for the map icon_rolleyes.gif )

Description : OK! This is by far my most most favourite Indian muslim restaurant and one of the first indian restaurants I was introduced to by my seniors! I ADORE and LOVE this restaurant! I even made a friend there whose name is Salma..but she already went back to India for good...I feel pretty sad huhu ok enough about that biggrin.gif ok I dare say that out of all the indian restaurants i listed out above...the food here is THE BEST!! It also have All-you-can-eat fro 11am-4pm but even if you order ala carte it is still on the cheap side and it is worth every penny!! I really have high regards for this restaurant the owner and the workers are all so nice and kind but they keep this Stall serving style which makes me feel like our mamak stall! The mango lassi is also very thick and creamy and sweet!! Super Good! OMG!!!!! THE CHEESE NAANNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNn it is the best I`ve had...they really put abundant of cheese in it that it spills out when you eat it...cheese naan and the lovely pure indian Mutton curry is just to die for!! I NEVER miss going there if I drop by Akihabara!
Remark : I MISS SHALIMAR!!! Just thinking about the cheese naan and the mutton curry makes me Drool drool.gif thumbup.gif Owh and you can pray here too! They have a room on the second floor, so praying is no problem too!! Just the best! Owh owh btw, this restaurant was featured in Japan newspapers..so its really popular!
My ratings : 5/5

So there you have it!My list of halal restaurants in Japan and my ratings for them!! Hope this helps! Take care icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by ifana: Oct 14 2011, 01:24 AM
TSifana
post Oct 14 2011, 01:38 AM

181 posts

QUOTE(turtles_tszx @ Oct 13 2011, 11:25 PM)
I'm interested in studying in japan and i'm currently doing my degree in Business Computing in UITM. What are the steps i can do? I don't have any  knowledge in japanese language, money is a big problem. What should i do?
Hi there turtles!! Cute nickname btw!

Business computing in Uitm eh ic ic nice! Hmmm may i ask what year are you in...hmmm to me, in your case, exchange student program might be the best answer for you. i have a senior, his nick in lowyat is firedauz...hehe you might know him, he was also from UITM and is currently teaching in UITM after doing his Phd here for 3 years, if you want, I can introduce him to you? He might know something about Uitm program offers that may be of help to you icon_rolleyes.gif Another way i think is doing masters here after your degree...u can do it in english and there are lots of foundations in Japan that offer 135000yen-175000yen/month kinda scholarship to foreign students...and trust me its easier to get than us undergrad students!! sweat.gif btw, have u checked if uitm offers any japan-exchange or study-in-japan or any programs that are related to japan? unsure.gif

turtles_tszx
post Oct 14 2011, 10:35 AM

Thank you, wasn't expecting people to compliment my username since it was just a random nickname smile.gif. I'm in my second year, and of course it would be nice if you can introduce me to him since he from UITM too.

I also think that it's better for me to take my master instead of doing student exchange. It's quite hard to check the study-in-japan thingy bcos i'm studying at one of their branches, they don't really have the info regarding this thing compared to the main campus.
TSifana
post Oct 14 2011, 03:46 PM

181 posts

QUOTE(turtles_tszx @ Oct 14 2011, 10:35 AM)
Thank you, wasn't expecting people to compliment my username since it was just a random nickname smile.gif. I'm in my second year, and of course it would be nice if you can introduce me to him since he from UITM too.

I also think that it's better for me to take my master instead of doing student exchange. It's quite hard to check the study-in-japan thingy bcos i'm studying at one of their branches, they don't really have the info regarding this thing compared to the main campus.
Hi turtlez!! Sent a private msg to u so check yah tongue.gif

Owh you're in your second year! Nice! Then there's still time if u want to come for the eXchange program!!

Ok i'll tell u what i like about both doing masters and exchange program.

Exchange program: one year program where maybe half or all of the expenses paid for. Not to mention, you're being taken care of here by a person in charge who can speak english so if you have problems you can just ask them and its settled. A chance to meet other exchange program students from other countries(america, england, sweden, france, german etc etc).

Masters : you get your masters degree which is a plus smile.giftongue.gif normally courses are from 2-3years so you have ample time to hang out here and compared to undergrad students maybe less hectic...courses can be taken in english and although u might not meet other foreign students, you'll meet lots of japanese. You might have to take care of things by yourself but all universities have an international centre where people there speak english so i guess its still ok rclxms.gif you can do baito too while you're doing your research or something and scholarships offered to foreign students for masters degree is easier to get but first you might hve to use your own money and apply after you get to Japan.
matt85
post Oct 14 2011, 04:44 PM

EDM fanatic
527 posts

Wah long time didn't visit this thread, now even got information on halal restaurants lol tongue.gif

Great job, Ifana-chan notworthy.gif ganbatte kudasai~~
cheecken0
post Oct 14 2011, 08:23 PM

423 posts

QUOTE(matt85 @ Oct 14 2011, 04:44 PM)
Wah long time didn't visit this thread, now even got information on halal restaurants lol  tongue.gif

Great job, Ifana-chan  notworthy.gif  ganbatte kudasai~~
If I am not mistaken there is a website containing a list compiling all the halal restaurants at a given region in Japan. Will update on this.
TSifana
post Oct 14 2011, 09:08 PM

181 posts

QUOTE(cheecken0 @ Oct 14 2011, 08:23 PM)
If I am not mistaken there is a website containing a list compiling all the halal restaurants at a given region in Japan. Will update on this.
YAY!! rclxms.gif Please do so, thank you! tongue.gif There are a lot really, halal restaurants...but I only listed my favourites haha OMG I still feel like eating KEBAB!!!! rclxm9.gif Owh KEBAB, I WANT U!!! wub.gif drool.gif

cku87
post Oct 15 2011, 12:41 PM

131 posts

yop Ifana~~~~~

Since it's saturday i'm too lazy to dig the old conversation or google for myself so just drop the question here smile.gif

Can u give info about research students? As far as i know being research student is some kind of preparation before being a master student. And the fee is faaaaar more cheaper.
pros?cons? How hard to get in?

yoroshiku~
TSifana
post Oct 17 2011, 01:48 PM

181 posts

QUOTE(cku87 @ Oct 15 2011, 12:41 PM)
yop Ifana~~~~~

Since it's saturday i'm too lazy to dig the old conversation or google for myself so just drop the question here smile.gif

Can u give info about research students? As far as i know being research student is some kind of preparation before being a master student. And the fee is faaaaar more cheaper.
pros?cons? How hard to get in?

yoroshiku~
Cku87san!!
Oops i dont know much about research students... I used to think they were the same as masters student apparently different ka..laugh.gif tongue.gif anyway i'll ask my seniors thumbup.gif will let u know if i found out about something.

This post has been edited by ifana: Oct 17 2011, 01:49 PM
Disely
post Oct 18 2011, 07:10 PM

13 posts

Hi.
do you know more about the education loan that can for the foreign studies?
I keep annoyed with the local loan, mostly are not provide to foreign ><
matt85
post Oct 19 2011, 02:18 PM

EDM fanatic
527 posts

QUOTE(Disely @ Oct 18 2011, 08:10 PM)
Hi.
do you know more about the education loan that can for the foreign studies?
I keep annoyed with the local loan, mostly are not provide to foreign ><
Education loan? Of course loans are mostly given to citizens or permanent residents of similar to that particular bank/organisation's. Unless you've already been accepted to study/in progress in a foreign university and seeking loan from foreign bank/organisation. I've never heard of BNP Paribas France doling out money to a Malaysian student studying in Singapore, no?

If you're speaking of scholarship, then yes, there are hundreds of them offering to gaikokujin. For Japan especially, please google JASSO, MEXT, Monbukagakusho, Japan Private Foundation.
Flash90
post Oct 19 2011, 06:15 PM

362 posts

JPA does provide loan for overseas studies and may be converted into scholarship if ur result is good. Just keep looking around JPA website or call them for the next application period.
cheecken0
post Oct 19 2011, 06:30 PM

423 posts

QUOTE(Flash90 @ Oct 19 2011, 06:15 PM)
JPA does provide loan for overseas studies and may be converted into scholarship if ur result is good. Just keep looking around JPA website or call them for the next application period.
For foreign studies, I think that was abolished starting from next year.

14 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0311sec    0.30    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 05:38 AM