Some advice when you homeowner redo piping

TSweikee
post Sep 14 2011, 12:09 PM, updated 15y ago

12,019 posts

Like to advice homeowner who want to redo the piping or maybe add.

When you get quote, please ask them to use Stainless steel / Brass / Copper elbow threaded fitting on the wall. The advantage is when come to replacing tap or taking and removing multiple time of tap you won't lost the thread. Using PVC / uPVC elbow fitting you risk loosing the thread and need hacking to replace the entire elbow.

Don't use GI, it will rust.

This are some of the hidden cost normal home users don't know, and why some contractor can give cheaper quote.
@Adele
post Sep 14 2011, 12:48 PM

1,042 posts

weikee..tx for the good advise!

any pictures of how these elbows should look like?
TSweikee
post Sep 14 2011, 01:05 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(@Adele @ Sep 14 2011, 12:48 PM)
weikee..tx for the good advise!

any pictures of how these elbows should look like?
Sorry don't have. Most of my house tap already install.

The contract should know. And before installing the tap you can see if it PVC, Brass, Stainless Steel or Copper.

This post has been edited by weikee: Sep 14 2011, 01:06 PM
kelvyn
post Sep 14 2011, 01:34 PM

3,173 posts

Quite true. Avoid having those pvc threaded fittings. They are bound to give you problem in years to come.

Brass fittings

Copper fittings

Stainless steel elbow
TSweikee
post Sep 14 2011, 02:08 PM

12,019 posts

That is where some value we need to give to experience contractor.

Just come to me to give you'll this advice when today the kitchenware & toiletsware boss advice me to use SS, Brass or copper for the elbow fitting. He say is very important to pay bit more to have less headache when you want to change tap in future.
kamion
post Sep 14 2011, 05:33 PM

327 posts

Good tip! But too late for me. sad.gif Wish me luck!
phoenix69
post Sep 14 2011, 07:30 PM

1,836 posts

Phew, luckily my contractor already has intention of using stainless steel elbow like this. sweat.gif
mrPOTATO
post Sep 14 2011, 08:35 PM

2,113 posts

Good reminder for me ! My current place plumber installed bidet outlet horizontally, said if twist sum more kenot guarantee the thing wil come loose sad.gif
zheilwane
post Sep 14 2011, 10:32 PM

4,184 posts

rmb to install a water pump as soon as the piping is ready. If there is any leak, ur plumber is responsible to rectify it. If they finished their work and left, it would b hard to get them back to fix it.
JinXXX
post Sep 14 2011, 10:46 PM

2,516 posts

just curious then what about the piping ?

use PB mix with copper/ss elbow ? or use copper piping all the way ?
phoenix69
post Sep 14 2011, 10:59 PM

1,836 posts

QUOTE(zheilwane @ Sep 14 2011, 10:32 PM)
rmb to install a water pump as soon as the piping is ready. If there is any leak, ur plumber is responsible to rectify it. If they finished their work and left, it would b hard to get them back to fix it.
How to check for leak? blink.gif
TSweikee
post Sep 14 2011, 11:09 PM

12,019 posts

Normal PVC pipe, just the termination will be SS, brass.

Zheilwane, pump already in 2 months back. Will test it out soon. Is ok lah, my contractor, and plumber so far very responsive. I paid them like 80%. They even come install the WC, mixer..

Talk about mixer... sigh some problem with the pipe on the wall got to hack and redo. Now my Mosaic need to redo a bit. He also say will pay for all the extra charges if the Tiler sifu charge.
JinXXX
post Sep 14 2011, 11:26 PM

2,516 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Sep 14 2011, 11:09 PM)
Normal PVC pipe, just the termination will be SS, brass.
seldom see ppl use PVC pipe with metal fittings..

found out that conex push-fit fittings (http://www.ibpconex.co.uk/viewRange.php?id=23)

can be used to connect to PB/PEX and the copper/ss pipes.. not sure abt PVC though...

the fittings won't be cheap...
TSweikee
post Sep 14 2011, 11:52 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(JinXXX @ Sep 14 2011, 11:26 PM)
seldom see ppl use PVC pipe with metal fittings..

found out that conex push-fit fittings (http://www.ibpconex.co.uk/viewRange.php?id=23)

can be used to connect to PB/PEX and the copper/ss pipes.. not sure abt PVC though...

the fittings won't be cheap...
My contractor using. Because the wall fitting are more common to have replacement of tap.
zheilwane
post Sep 15 2011, 08:07 AM

4,184 posts

QUOTE(phoenix69 @ Sep 14 2011, 10:59 PM)
For Grundfos Ch-PC pumps like weikee's 1, just turn off all the tap fittings and if the pump operates, it means somewhere is leaking.

For UNI E and PT pump (with a tank) like the one u bought, u nd to look at the gauge at the pump. If u c the pressure drops while all the taps are closed that means u have a leak.
skng03
post Sep 15 2011, 09:23 PM

1,450 posts

QUOTE(phoenix69 @ Sep 14 2011, 10:59 PM)
ask your plumber to carry out pressure test, charge your piping system with 2.5x of your normal working pressure nod.gif nod.gif normally pressure pump work @ 40psi thus the testing pressure will be 100psi icon_rolleyes.gif
felicia666
post Oct 1 2011, 12:11 PM

Validating

This post has been edited by felicia666: Oct 5 2011, 07:29 PM

0.0173sec    0.56    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 09:08 PM