ikea besta tv planner, pros and cons?

corniecorn
post Oct 6 2011, 01:26 PM

71 posts

QUOTE(sheraton @ Oct 6 2011, 11:27 AM)
Just to share the besta cabinet i installed 2 months ago. Working fine!

wow..very nice thumbup.gif ... you DIY or ask Ikea ppl to install for u?
sheraton
post Oct 6 2011, 03:56 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(corniecorn @ Oct 6 2011, 01:26 PM)
wow..very nice  thumbup.gif ... you DIY or ask Ikea ppl to install for u?
i ask IKEA ppl to install the cabinet and get my own electrician to install the T5 and the down lights. smile.gif
corniecorn
post Oct 6 2011, 05:29 PM

71 posts

QUOTE(sheraton @ Oct 6 2011, 03:56 PM)
i ask IKEA ppl to install the cabinet and get my own electrician to install the T5 and the down lights.  smile.gif
care to share how much do Ikea charge you for installing the cabinet? smile.gif
Shazzac
post Oct 6 2011, 08:19 PM

427 posts

QUOTE(corniecorn @ Oct 6 2011, 05:29 PM)
care to share how much do Ikea charge you for installing the cabinet?  smile.gif
My co. bought office chairs from ikea and they charge us 5% from total purchase price for installation services. Should be the same case for other furnitures as well but i know they also charge extra if need to drill holes on the wall.

Ikea website did mention the price, which I don't remember how much.
PJusa
post Oct 6 2011, 11:54 PM

2,030 posts

one question: why are the three lights unbalanced. makes a jumpy impression to me.
sheraton
post Oct 7 2011, 01:02 AM

115 posts

QUOTE(PJusa @ Oct 6 2011, 11:54 PM)
one question: why are the three lights unbalanced. makes a jumpy impression to me.
Coz my wife doesn't want the middle light to shoot at the tv. I still don't really get it but it's ok la. tongue.gif

yeah installation fee is 5% of the cabinet. Paid another extra rm195 for them to drill hole and fix the top cabinet on the wall.
PJusa
post Oct 7 2011, 09:49 AM

2,030 posts

cant argue with the government right? but maybe you want to add a 4th light. i think eventually this makes it skewed. for me i certainly wont be able to tahan those three lights being so unbalanced wink.gif

btw: why have to pay extra to install on the wall? i thought this is included in the 5%? or is wall installation only included for kitchen installations?
Shazzac
post Oct 7 2011, 10:29 AM

427 posts

QUOTE(PJusa @ Oct 7 2011, 09:49 AM)
cant argue with the government right? but maybe you want to add a 4th light. i think eventually this makes it skewed. for me i certainly wont be able to tahan those three lights being so unbalanced wink.gif

btw: why have to pay extra to install on the wall? i thought this is included in the 5%? or is wall installation only included for kitchen installations?
If you check on ikea's website, the installation is for non-drilling ones only. I guess that drilling the wall need some kind of expertise and a different tool? But their policy is like that. At least with you hiring them to do it all, any problems, can revert back to them to settle as Ikea stays by it's warranties.
corniecorn
post Oct 7 2011, 12:09 PM

71 posts

QUOTE(Shazzac @ Oct 7 2011, 10:29 AM)
If you check on ikea's website, the installation is for non-drilling ones only. I guess that drilling the wall need some kind of expertise and a different tool? But  their policy is like that. At least with you hiring them to do it all, any problems, can revert back to them to settle as Ikea stays by it's warranties.
is that means if we install it ourselves, then the warranty is not valid anymore?
Shazzac
post Oct 7 2011, 01:58 PM

427 posts

QUOTE(corniecorn @ Oct 7 2011, 12:09 PM)
is that means if we install it ourselves, then the warranty is not valid anymore?
Sorry i didn't mean to make it mean that way.

What i mean is that, since installation is done by their contractor, any error or mistakes done during installation can be claimed.

If for example, you are putting a screw into one of the cabinets and you accidentally screw it sideways and hence created a defect, ikea will not warranty that as the defect is done by you and not their appointed installer.

I hope you get what i mean. The usual warranty still applies.
corniecorn
post Oct 7 2011, 02:30 PM

71 posts

QUOTE(Shazzac @ Oct 7 2011, 01:58 PM)
Sorry i didn't mean to make it mean that way.

What i mean is that, since installation is done by their contractor, any error or mistakes done during installation can be claimed.

If for example, you are putting a screw into one of the cabinets and you accidentally screw it sideways and hence created a defect, ikea will not warranty that as the defect is done by you and not their appointed installer.

I hope you get what i mean. The usual warranty still applies.
i see.. now i get it tongue.gif

0.0155sec    0.86    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 05:00 PM