Micro Four Thirds (m43) User Thread V4, Pana & Oly mirrorless system camera!

xandman
post May 17 2012, 06:52 AM

When Darkness is the only Light U See.
7,214 posts

guys...
need some help...
just bought my Summilux 25 m4/3 yesterday....
images are awesome i must say for a cheap lense....
but the focusing is noisy...
is this normal? hmm.gif
help please?
THanks!
notworthy.gif
xandman
post May 18 2012, 07:10 AM

7,214 posts

QUOTE(OlgaC4 @ May 17 2012, 09:37 AM)
You must off the camera and on it back in order for the rattle snake noise to go away.

http://forums.dpreview.com/forums/readflat...76&changemode=1

As another poster mentioned, the noise is noisy shutter blades chattering while the camera is being pointed at scenes with differing exposures. So outdoors, I almost never hear the clicking. It mostly occurs indoors when pointing inadvertently at a bright light source like a lamp.
A workaround for this to use autoexposure lock. On my EPL1, I have AE lock connected to the "REC" button. So if I need the camera to be mostly silent, I can hit AE lock to freeze the exposure, point the camera somewhere else, and hit AE lock again to measure exposure at the new spot. That way, I only get the clicking once, rather than continuously.
QUOTE(NISMOgan @ May 17 2012, 10:04 AM)
I heard about the Panny X, i think its true but hopefully it arrive here soon enuf hehee
whao u called that a cheap lense? hahaha yeah maybe for a Leica quality, yes its cheap haha...
for me the focusing sound is silent, just that when the shutter id fired, its more "harsh" compared to my other lense, but its ok to me, the  sound is like a music tongue.gif
thanks for the replies guys!
it seems the lense is not problematic...just the way olympus body interacts with it...
i even went back to the shop i bought from to test it...
rclxms.gif

xandman
post May 18 2012, 08:43 AM

7,214 posts

guys would appreciate some feedback...

Black or Silver body?

I know it's personal preference...but i need some convincing...

xandman
post May 18 2012, 11:43 AM

7,214 posts

so many vote for black!
and i m so inclided for the black as well!
hahahaha...

would match my E-PL1...

next Q would be...

body only or kit?

please dun flame me...i need some help justifying my choice! notworthy.gif
xandman
post May 18 2012, 10:18 PM

7,214 posts

hello ppl....
thanks for the help...
i read thru but din manage to reply...
only now manage to reply...
and guess what...
i pulled the trigger...or shud i say pressed the shutter....
on a BLACK OM-D kit! rclxm9.gif
Thanks to the suggestions!

Black is just...how shud i put it....hmmmm....sexy!
Like my ex-M8... rclxms.gif

hellfire....
dun be tipah tertipu...
my bike setup takes a long time to build up one...

ok...
one quick question though...
can i use my nikon speedlights with the OM-D?
or ANY PEN for that matter?
on- or off- camera is fine.
please advice.
noob here!
notworthy.gif

Added on May 18, 2012, 10:20 pmowh and can anyone suggest an adapter for Nikon F mount?
i wanna try my manual Nikon lense on this baby!
Thanks again!

icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by xandman: May 18 2012, 10:20 PM
xandman
post May 19 2012, 10:00 AM

7,214 posts

QUOTE(hellfire8888 @ May 19 2012, 09:38 AM)
if your flash is not a m43 or 43 supported flash then you would not get that auto ttl function on your flash
i m used to Manual settings for the flash...
so it would work?
AWESOME!!!!!!!

rclxm9.gif
xandman
post May 19 2012, 11:04 AM

7,214 posts

guys another noobish question...
how to slide down the OM-D screen...?
i have to pull out the bottom first then push down the top...
but i saw camera shop just push the top and the screen folds down... hmm.gif
xandman
post May 19 2012, 05:53 PM

7,214 posts

QUOTE(sioe @ May 19 2012, 11:15 AM)
Hahaha. Thats sill one of the unsolved mysteries im facing. I too do like what u do. Pull bottom out then push top down....very very slowly.
yes. very very slowly indeed.
hahahahahaha.
all oso sayang new camera maaaa.
xandman
post May 19 2012, 06:16 PM

7,214 posts

QUOTE(sioe @ May 19 2012, 05:59 PM)
uh huh.... sayang like new wife wei.... n also black paint very delicate
hahahahaha...
if only the coating is like M8...
then u dun worry too much...

Added on May 19, 2012, 6:38 pmwas just playing arnd wit the camera and kit lense...
wondering...
how to activate the macro mode on the lense?

This post has been edited by xandman: May 19 2012, 06:38 PM
xandman
post May 19 2012, 10:14 PM

7,214 posts

QUOTE(sioe @ May 19 2012, 08:46 PM)
For macro,

Press the "Macro@ button on the len, the push then focusing ring of the lens away from the camera body until u reach the furthest it can go. The focusing ring can shift 3 times.  Each shift in position is denoted by a "click".
From the Position:

Nearest to the body - Standard Zoom function
Middle position - Video Zoom (smooth zooming)
Furthest away from body (only can shift into this position if the Macro button is pressed) - Macro mode

All the 3 positions will be identified on the "Mode Viewer" on the lens.
M-Zoom
E-Zoom
Macro
=)
Thanks mang!
u like walking manual...
hahahaha...
notworthy.gif
xandman
post May 19 2012, 11:13 PM

7,214 posts

guys...
was just messing around with my SB800 and SU800...
it seems the SB800 would work in manual mode on the E-PL1...
But somehow...SU800 wouldnt register the flash trigger...
so the SU800 cannot command the SB800...
i iz sed!
xandman
post May 19 2012, 11:23 PM

7,214 posts

did a lil' more tinkering before calling it a day...
SU-4 mode on SB800 works!

rclxm9.gif
xandman
post May 20 2012, 05:07 PM

7,214 posts

QUOTE(sioe @ May 20 2012, 03:22 PM)
Just did some shooting at St Quay, Penang

Buns at Four Season's Bakery - RM4.80
Cafe Au Lait - Rm7.00

The look on a few DSLR users struggling with their behemoth cams sweating in the blazing sun while I stroll effortlessly with my OMD
- PRICELESS
i love the priceless moment...
i wouldnt have thought of carrying my DSLR arnd before this...
but with the OM-D...
makes me feel like bringing the camera everywhere i go...

Added on May 20, 2012, 5:08 pm
QUOTE(mcgyver @ May 20 2012, 09:12 AM)
One of the first few shots from my OM-D.
Uploaded to iPad, converted to black & white using Photoforge 2.

cheers

Added on May 20, 2012, 9:22 amwith OM 50mm macro

nice lense u have there!

This post has been edited by xandman: May 20 2012, 05:08 PM
xandman
post May 20 2012, 05:28 PM

7,214 posts

QUOTE(sioe @ May 20 2012, 05:24 PM)
OK, just to share a small "disadvantage"of the OMD so that maybe some sifus here can help sort it out. =)

When I used my Nikon D90 the last time, my habit was to use the VF to compose the shot, take it then immediately look at the LCD for the preview. I dont have to press the play button as the image will display for a second or two on it.

For the OMD, the preview will be shown in the EVF itself but not on the LCD or vise versa. Is there a way to use the EVF to compose and shoot and have the preview displayed on the LCD immediately after? This means, I dont hv to press the "play"button.
yeah i find that a bit of a hassle too....
but since i bought the OM-D for its retro styling...
i dun mind a bit of retro styled shooting as well...
as in no need check pic after taking it... hahahahahaha...

xandman
post May 20 2012, 06:07 PM

7,214 posts

QUOTE(d@odao @ May 20 2012, 05:32 PM)
Actually, u can... Me using that feature on the omd...
Under menu - spana icon - rec/view, set auto...
thanks boss!
notworthy.gif

one more thing...
how to activate the digital leveling guide on the screen?
somehow i lost it...
hahahaha...
help please!

Added on May 20, 2012, 6:08 pm
QUOTE(Valentino46 @ May 20 2012, 05:53 PM)
omd just feel so good on hand,super solid and compact
i'm still hesitate over om-d and nex-7
anyone has sample picture of 45mm f1.8 portrait or half body portrait shot,i need to see the actual intensity of the bokeh with 4/3 sensor under this condition
i stopped looking at NEX bcoz of their huge @$$ lenses!
defeats the purpose of a small body....
rclxub.gif
but this is just my opinion of coz...

This post has been edited by xandman: May 20 2012, 06:08 PM
xandman
post May 20 2012, 06:37 PM

7,214 posts

QUOTE(d@odao @ May 20 2012, 06:21 PM)
Digital leveling, press info button until can see the level bar lor...
If not activated, then menu - gear icon - choose D menu - info settings - lv info - level gauge
For EVF, menu - gear icon - choose J menu - info setting - level gauge
hmm.gif
thanks again sifu!
notworthy.gif
xandman
post May 21 2012, 06:39 AM

7,214 posts

QUOTE(Valentino46 @ May 21 2012, 01:15 AM)
i think u have to read my post twice or more before u bring up your point
image quality,yeah 1 day 4/3 size sensor can be as noise free and as clear as full frame but thats not my concern as i don't pixel peep,my point is that they can't have the same subject isolation power as do larger sensor,that is not something technology can overcome because it is pure physic
for instance,i find m4/3 maximum bokeh ability with their kit lens at 42mm f5.6 is a bit lacking,even less so or just comparable to my xz-1 at 112mm f2.5,but i find adequate separating power with aps-c camera with their kit lens at 55mm f5.6, this means that i might be able to compose acceptable portrait shot with aps-c kit lens at a pinch

yes i know m4/3 consortium has create more lens than other mirrorless,it doesn't take a gadget nerd to know that,but i not contented with their any of their offering just yet,even widest aperture ie the 45mm f1.8 has just the same isolating power as aps-c sensor 50mm f3.2,and the upcoming 75mm f1.8 will be too long for my liking,150mm equiv dude.....and from the manufacturer statement they will always consider form over factor,meaning it will take a long time for them (if ever)to release lens with aperture greater than f1.8 which will compensate the sensor size disadvantage.

but i still wish to own the om-d because i think it looks great,the jpeg engine is fantastic (i don't shoot raw to pixel peep),and if anybody can show me that 45mm f1.8 is adequate to create lovely portrait,i might still gravitate towards om-d,thats the real point i'm posting here
Pic sample with 45 1.8...
i'd say there are not bad considering the asking price...

Added on May 21, 2012, 6:40 am

another sample...
definitely getting this lense soon....

This post has been edited by xandman: May 21 2012, 07:03 AM
xandman
post May 21 2012, 02:02 PM

7,214 posts

QUOTE(jloi @ May 21 2012, 01:58 PM)
this is a good lens to replace kit lens smile.gif

but i am more looking forward to 35-100mm f2.8
if it's real...
thats one lense i'd want badly...
my fav focal length during DSLR days...
xandman
post May 21 2012, 02:21 PM

7,214 posts

QUOTE(NISMOgan @ May 21 2012, 02:03 PM)
can i know what u use that lens mainly for xandman?
really tempting me too hehe
i use it mainly for portraits of coz...
but other than that...basically everything else...
it's like my multipurpose lense...
bcoz i hate the normal zoom that goes from 24mm to 70mm....
dun ask me why...i dunno...
but i just dun like standard FOV...
i prefer short tele's FOV... biggrin.gif
xandman
post May 21 2012, 02:52 PM

7,214 posts

QUOTE(NISMOgan @ May 21 2012, 02:49 PM)
aah ic, haha so ur a tele FOV guy hehehe
so u wont like wide angled FOV also i assume? hehe
anything that's not considered normal...
i love fisheye!

i'll only use a 50mm if it's 1.4 and above... bcoz of the bokeh... biggrin.gif

0.0966sec    0.65    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 01:41 PM