Hardware ASUS EEE PC 1215B with E-450 for RM1,299, HP DM1 for RM1,099 also

valoracer
post Nov 13 2011, 02:21 PM

QUOTE(Isky @ Oct 6 2011, 09:51 PM)
Right... got itchy fingers today, so went to lowyat and bought an extra 4GB ram (Corsair 4GB DDR3 1333) for my 1215B, bringing the total to 6GB. Booted up, tried to refresh my Windows Experience Index... BSOD. Opened up the covers again. Reseated the damn thing agan. Booted up into bios, and confirmed the bios is registering 6GB ram - check. Boot into windows. Run WEI test again... works...RAM score at 5.8... and then BSOD again. mad.gif

Anyway, after running a few tests (including memtest - no errors, but...), I decided to go back to Lowyat and get it replaced with a Kingston set (Thanks, C-Zone, for letting me swap the corsair with the Kingston!  icon_rolleyes.gif )
Got back. Plonked in the ram, booted up, ran WEI... and success! No BSOD... so far. WEI ram score is 4.8, same as the kingston.

My new WEI scores:
Processor: 3.9
Memory (Ram): 5.8
Graphics: 4.6
Gaming graphics: 5.9
Primary HD: 5.9

Can't say for certain that all corsairs will give the same result, but just thought to share so if you do have the same issues, you should consider changing the brand. Having said that, when i checked the corsair ram using HWinfo64, the info highlighted in the image below was missing from the corsair ram, but present for the samsung and the kingston ram. Also, when ram testing using memtest, it could identify 2 dimms totaling 6GB, but it could identify 1 as being 2GB (samsung), but the other (corsair) as 0GB. Mmmm... Anyway, YMMV.

May i ask why i had added another extra 2gb ram total is 4gb but in the wei only show that my ram 4gb(2.62 usable)?means only 2.62 gb ram for my laptop out of 4gb?additional im using window home premium x86bit now...

This post has been edited by valoracer: Nov 13 2011, 02:35 PM
valoracer
post Nov 13 2011, 10:51 PM

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Nov 13 2011, 03:16 PM)
You need 64-bit Windows to recognize 4GB RAM.
previous version which is window 7 starter also..2gb original ram but show there 1.65 gb usable only...where the rest memory go? rclxub.gif
valoracer
post Nov 15 2011, 08:44 PM

I was trying to install window 7 home premium 64 bit into it but it says that my version of pc not compatible with it...how do i resolve this problem?T,T
valoracer
post Nov 16 2011, 01:23 PM

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Nov 16 2011, 08:42 AM)
how do you install the Windows ?
Boot via pendrive/external DVD or ?
RM1199
I downloaded the window hp 64 bit from MSDN software center as my college do gives us free version of it. Then i save into pendrive and run diskpart to make the partition active, and use bootsect to write the bootcode. I tried to click the setup in it but show this:

then i do the clean install which reboot and once the window loading finish then the blue screen come out saying error...Is it cause by the file i download crash or ....? rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by valoracer: Nov 16 2011, 01:23 PM

0.0140sec    0.78    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 03:43 PM