Hardware ASUS EEE PC 1215B with E-450 for RM1,299, HP DM1 for RM1,099 also

apiddo
post Sep 14 2011, 11:07 PM

36 posts

I'm planning to buy either asus 1215b or hp dm1-4000au this month, but I have some concern regarding the windows 7 starter edition.

Do I need to upgrade it to home premium, or is it ok already? I know the limitation, like no aero and cant change wallpaper (changeable using other software tho), so I'm not sure whether it's worth upgrading it. Besides, upgrading it to home premium might make it a bit sluggish? hmm.gif

apiddo
post Sep 14 2011, 11:32 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(mitodna @ Sep 14 2011, 11:22 PM)
are you okay with the 2gb RAM limitation?
I'm not really sure about that. How many ram does windows 7 starter need to run on idle anyway? I just need the netbook for web browsing, making powerpoint slides, mp3, flash games, document editing, pdf and stuff. Is 2gb enough? No photo or video editing, and I think the most ram extensive program i'll use is chrome or firefox...
apiddo
post Sep 16 2011, 11:49 AM

36 posts

QUOTE(Assholer @ Sep 16 2011, 09:34 AM)
I have a same doubt as you. is it better to take starter version, save the cost in future upgrade to windows 8?
I took the plunge yesterday. Went to LYP and bought it. They have black and silver color only. Bought the black one, but I wanted red mad.gif
Didn't play much with it yesterday coz I charged the battery overnight. I'll play with it if I have time today. Anyone have any ideas what kind of stress tests should i do with the laptop? In the meantime, I'm just gonna open up a lot of tabs in chrome and see how it does.
apiddo
post Sep 16 2011, 09:40 PM

36 posts

Pictures!!

Front view

Side view

USB 3.0 port

Windows rating index. It's about the same rating as the one with AMD e-350 in this review, except for a slight jump in graphics and gaming graphics
Asus 1215b review

Added on September 16, 2011, 10:06 pm
QUOTE(adie82 @ Sep 16 2011, 12:00 PM)
u bought asus 1215B with e450 or HP DM1 with r450?
can show some pics?
QUOTE(AlexLai @ Sep 16 2011, 01:19 PM)
Probably the 1215B since it comes in those 3 colors.
Yes, asus 1215b. Pictures uploaded brows.gif

QUOTE(s y n c @ Sep 16 2011, 02:00 PM)
Is it possible to extend the 1215B warranty with ASUS?
Yes, the seller says you can extend it at the asus service center in imbi. But have to pay rm200+ to extend one year though

QUOTE(lawtm @ Sep 16 2011, 08:38 PM)
wow EEEPC 1215B  arrive at malaysia??? 3week ago just bought EEEPC 1015B cause i ask 1215B but seller say havent come at malaysia zz
That was long time ago. The shop said they received the stocks earlier this week.

QUOTE(Isky @ Sep 16 2011, 08:45 PM)
Any feedback on the 1215B u bought? Any issues with keyboard flex? Touchpad? Build quality? Out of curiosity, why did you chose the 1215B over the DM1-4000? I'm deciding between the two at the moment.
Cant really comment on the build quality. It's okay, i guess. I dont really like the glossy cover though. No problems with touchpad and keyboard so far. I've heard there are some issues with the 1215b (with amd e-350), but im not really sure what the problems are. Mind telling me more so i can check?

And i chose this purely because there's a usb 3.0 port, and because of the availability. Need to order the HP online, and I really want the pc now.
Also I'm planning to change the hdd to SSD later, and buy a hdd enclosure with usb 3.0 so i can use the hdd as external storage. So the usb 3.0 is quite important to me.

This post has been edited by apiddo: Sep 16 2011, 10:06 PM
apiddo
post Sep 20 2011, 10:27 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(Isky @ Sep 20 2011, 01:23 AM)
Anyway, I've pm'ed one of the members for my order. Hopefully, I will be able to COD it soon. The first thing to do will be to slap in another 4GB of ram, a 64bit OS, and a lcd protector to cut down on the glare. Eventually, the plan will be to swap out the HD into a USB3 external HD, and pop in a small SSD to speed things along, but that will be a little later when SSD prices come down a bit.
Are u planning to buy the original 64-bit OS, or jack sparrow it? If u're buying it, mind telling me where and how much?

QUOTE(AlexLai @ Sep 20 2011, 08:16 AM)
If you can replace the HDD with an SSD, do share a guide with us. AFAIK, replacing it would involve dismantling the unit and also voiding the warranty.  tongue.gif
Here, a guide on how to disassemble the 1215B
Guide for 1215B
apiddo
post Sep 22 2011, 08:34 AM

36 posts

QUOTE(Isky @ Sep 21 2011, 07:12 AM)
Was thinking about installing Ubuntu, but right now Linux Mint looks pretty good. I'll probably dual boot between Win7 Starter32 and Linux Mint64 until I feel comfortable enough to ditch Windows altogether. Personally, I'd rather spend the RM350 bucks for a Home Premium64 on a SSD.
I thought about installing ubuntu on it as well. Maybe i will once i know whether the programs i have to use for work can be installed in linux or not. If not, maybe I'll stick with starter, and wait for windows 8 to release next year. Gonna be a looong wait though.... cry.gif
apiddo
post Sep 22 2011, 08:59 PM

36 posts

Checked my specs with CPU-Z before. The specs for the new 1215B are
AMD E-450 with radeon HD 6320
2GBx1 PC3-10700 RAM (means it's a DDR3-1333), samsung brand

And yeah, the only thing I didn't like with the 1215B is the glossy lid. But I intend to put a skin over it, so it's not really a biggie to me
apiddo
post Oct 28 2011, 12:14 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(extremo @ Oct 20 2011, 03:34 PM)
Hi guys,

I work from home 90% and used my ever reliable 6 years old desktop which run on Windows XP(SP3) with 1.5G DDR Ram only.I just need a simple netbook when I'm not at home basically to check email & casual surfing. Bought my 1215B (matte silver) two weeks ago & just got time to fiddle with it now.

Factors for buying - ASUS brandname, screen size (not to small or to big), weight, spec (with HDMI port, USB 3.0, full HD &  Direct X 11).

The salesman told me that my unit come with 2X of 1G Ram instead of 1X of 2G Ram as advertised, (he may have conned me by swapping the Ram & keep insisting me to change with 2X 2G Ram for a further RM100.00 which I refused). Checking with CPU-Z reveals that both slot 1 & 2 occupied by 1024MB (10700), manufacturer - no name, max bandwith -PC3-10700 (667Mhz). 

My WEI score initially was only 2.6 but after I use my flash drive as speed boost it increase to 3.8.

I find that the performance is quite slow compare to my desktop as I mention above eventhough my desktop runs on older processor, therefore I plan to upgrade to 4G of Ram (2G each slot). 

Would upgrading it to 4G of Ram improve the overall performance? Is it worth it? Is Kingston Ram model KVR 1333D3S8S9/2GB 1333MHz DDR3 compatible? If yes how much it will cost?

Also plan to upgrade to Windows 7Home Premium 64 Bit later, which one to upgrade first to increase the overall performance, RAM or OS? coz my budget is a little tight now. By the way Is the upcoming Windows 8 compatible with 1215B?

Appreciate you guys comments, advise & recomendation. Thank You ...
I think windows 7 starter cannot use more than 2gb ram. So you better upgrade your OS first, and then your ram. CPU-Z showed i got samsung brand ram. So maybe the shop did swap the original ram...

My budget is also tight. Right now i'm wondering if i should upgrade my OS. Windows 8 is gonna get released next year onli. So I'm not sure if it's worth upgrading it to home premium now...

0.0217sec    1.54    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 01:03 PM