how to make DIY photo emulsion for silk screen

TSkrizalid88
post Sep 4 2011, 05:06 PM, updated 15y ago

981 posts

hi.. i just wanna share something with u guys.if u interested with silk screen printing but dont have a complete stuff like photo emulsion and sensitizer,u can DIY it and the cost is cheaper then buy from the shop and i know some of u hard to get all the needed stuff.

things u need to prepare to make photo emulsion:

1. white glue (thick glue white color which u can buy from any stationary outlet with price as low as RM2 per bottle.
2. nila..i dont know in english it call as what but it used to color white tshirt.
3. Ammonium dichromate crystalline powder (potassium dichromate can be used as substitute)

step:

1. Mix 1 tablespoon of Ammonium Dichromate with 2 ounces of water in a bowl. Stir until dissolved.put beside --> as sensitizer
2. mix white glue with nila to make it colored so u can make it looks like real photo emulsion brows.gif
3. mix 10 spoons of ur DIY photo emulsion with 1 spoon of sensitizer
(remember do all in the dark room)

4. tadaa.. now u can use it like a real photo emulsion..its quality almost better than the real photo emulsion thumbup.gif
TSkrizalid88
post Sep 4 2011, 10:57 PM

981 posts

QUOTE(dkk @ Sep 4 2011, 08:33 PM)
Where'd you get the ammonium dichromate crystalline powder?
u can order from school's lab chemical supplier
TSkrizalid88
post Sep 5 2011, 03:20 PM

981 posts

QUOTE(kechic @ Sep 4 2011, 11:30 PM)
any example?
QUOTE(H4XF4XTOR @ Sep 5 2011, 01:00 PM)
yeah any example of the product done by this home made method ? biggrin.gif
wait i post da picture..now i need to wait da photo emulsion on the block's screen dry first.. biggrin.gif

btw i'm using ready made sensitizer i bought online coz in my place dun have any chemical supplier sweat.gif

Added on September 5, 2011, 5:59 pmphoto emulsion after dried

after exposed to the lightbox

printed on the tshirt using red color rubber dye

finish products.. i made those tshirt for my sister's spa biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by krizalid88: Sep 5 2011, 05:59 PM

0.0146sec    0.43    6 queries    GZIP Disabled