House facing west, how to overcome>?
J1@l_ l_l l\l
Sep 3 2011, 11:41 PM

Curtain only blocks the direct sunlight at the window, but the problem when the house is facing west with direct sunlight is the concrete will be heated up as well uppon sunset.
If heat is not an issue and only the glare of the sun is the only concern, then curtain, blind or other alternatives would solve the problem.
Window tint might help too.
This post has been edited by J1@l_ l_l l\l: Sep 3 2011, 11:46 PM
J1@l_ l_l l\l
Sep 4 2011, 12:13 AM

QUOTE(alesi616 @ Sep 4 2011, 12:00 AM) good window tint, blackout (or called sun-block) curtain, AIR-COND....kasi settle 1 shot  Good window tint  , may I suggest V-Kool, 3M, or Huper Optik. Black absorbs heat
J1@l_ l_l l\l
Sep 4 2011, 12:47 AM

QUOTE(zephyrus9999 @ Sep 4 2011, 12:36 AM) yes, when sun sets, the heat will release to atmosphere aka inside my home which sucks. Im not those who open air cond 24/7 furthermore. i guess ill do the maximum amount of tinting as possible and install some curtains.. May I suggest exaust fan, it does a good job too if U don't want to ON the air conditioner for too long. Once U have shaded the windows, the only heat source is frm the absorbed heat in the concrete of the wallings. Even if U ON the fan to the MAX, U might still feel the stuffiness. Therefore a good ventilation by using exhaust fan might be able to help out. Ottherwise, U will have to find a way to sprinkle water to the outer wall to dissipate the heat
J1@l_ l_l l\l
Sep 5 2011, 10:22 AM

QUOTE(kelvyn @ Sep 5 2011, 09:44 AM) These are just some of the methods that people used. You do not have to use all of them. Installing the turbine ventilators is the cheapest. Cost less the 1k for those reputable brands. QUOTE I have a unit of condo soon and it faces west Can turbine ventilators be installed on condo or high rise property? I wanna do it too...
J1@l_ l_l l\l
Sep 5 2011, 10:52 AM

QUOTE(kelvyn @ Sep 5 2011, 10:28 AM) Doubt very much you are allowed to install the turbine ventilation of strata title property. You will have to check with the management first. You could install them on most landed property. On some landed properties within a G&G, I have heard from friends that their management does not allow.  Even if the management allows, but since mine is a high rise property, which means no roof, so, which part the ventilation turbine can be installed? Can install on the wall?
J1@l_ l_l l\l
Sep 6 2011, 03:43 PM

QUOTE(kelvyn @ Sep 5 2011, 11:47 AM) hahaha. Cannot install on the wall la... That's not how the turbine ventilator works To give you an idea, you could look them up in the net or read HERE[attachmentid=2420996] lol  , question was QUOTE Can turbine ventilators be installed on condo or high rise property? I wanna do it too so, can this turbine ventilator be installed on high rise property?
J1@l_ l_l l\l
Sep 6 2011, 05:00 PM

QUOTE(buzzle25 @ Sep 6 2011, 03:52 PM) lol.... thought this was answered in the previous few post? tak baca kah... The turbine ventilator basically draws out the hot air from the top of the roof. So, can install on the top of any roof la... For condo or apartment, you do not own the roof. How can you go and install something on the roof?  If top floor can since the roof is at the top of top floor?
J1@l_ l_l l\l
Sep 6 2011, 06:43 PM

QUOTE(iv'N @ Sep 6 2011, 05:04 PM) Get ventilation fan for highrise Like the one mentioned Post #8? QUOTE(buzzle25 @ Sep 6 2011, 05:08 PM) If die die want to install the turbine ventilator, better check with your condo's management first. Otherwise, after you install and there is any problem with the roof, you will be held responsible  lol, no need die die la, otherwise I'll be the first to die  . In fact I'm not staying at top floor. Guess for high rise, the only ventilation method is still exhaust fan. Any other options?
J1@l_ l_l l\l
Sep 6 2011, 07:04 PM

QUOTE(weikee @ Sep 6 2011, 06:48 PM) Change external wall color, use better heat reflex. But can it be done if living in a high rise community?
J1@l_ l_l l\l
Sep 7 2011, 01:29 AM

QUOTE(weikee @ Sep 6 2011, 07:47 PM) No point changing living hall color, most important is the external. High rise building is a problem. Have to complain to building management hope they do it in future. Even if the management is doing it, it would not because of the heat issue which is as per topic discussion, but it would be aesthetic issue instead.