Photography The Sony Alpha Thread V54!, The Orange Legion

kysham
post Sep 17 2011, 09:43 AM

Photo Fanatics
3,461 posts

whoah...! orange thread become macro thread oredi.... thumbup.gif although too bad i personally am not good at it. sad.gif never had the patience. but i do love to look at macro photos and birding photos. really marvel at the patience you guys have to do all those shots.

anyway, we conducted a Sony Street Challenge last weekend here in Kota Kinabalu and here are some shots from that challenge I would like to share with everyone.

Double Trapped Little Duckie! laugh.gif
A850 & SAL2470Z. 1/40s, F2.8, ISO200, 70mm.

Burst of Tomato Goodness. drool.gif
A850 & SAL2470Z. 1/125s, F4.0, ISO200, 70mm.

Pirate Aunty, Pirate Kitty! biggrin.gif
A850 & SAL2470Z. 1/160s, F6.3, ISO200, 60mm. Shot was heavily overexposed, but luckily I shot in cRAW and managed to save the shot. I only had 1 shot, before the aunty moved away.

I'm pretty weak when it comes to street photography. So would appreciate if you guys can give me some heads-up / pointers to improve. Share share your views and comments please yeah. icon_question.gif
kysham
post Sep 20 2011, 08:35 PM

Photo Fanatics
3,461 posts

Perfect camera? Don't exist. But you can buy every camera in the market with your 6 digit loan so you will not miss out on all the features. tongue.gif
kysham
post Sep 24 2011, 12:58 PM

Photo Fanatics
3,461 posts

QUOTE(chiahau @ Sep 22 2011, 01:36 PM)
He only kasi people like kysham tongue.gif
wait-a-minute.... who said uncle chin gave me cheap prices geh? flex.gif he gave me is "market price" lah. he always insist he is giving good services and not cheap prices. So yeah, go figure. I can tell you I did not buy anything at a cheaper price than any of you guys got from uncle chin. i just buy from him because he gave me free kopi. tongue.gif
kysham
post Oct 4 2011, 10:28 AM

Photo Fanatics
3,461 posts

A quick note to all Sony camera users (Alpha / NEX / Cybershot) in Kota Kinabalu. The Sony Alpha Sunset Challenge in Kota Kinabalu is on this Saturday, 08.10.2011! Come join the fun and win some prizes for your effort!

Registration Link: https://mysony.sony.com.my/MyWorkshop/WorkshopListing.aspx

If any of you guys knows anyone in KK using Sony cameras, do encourage them to join!

ok. enough advertisement. Time to go and play with my new toys. tongue.gif
kysham
post Oct 8 2011, 02:23 PM

Photo Fanatics
3,461 posts

Tested the Sony A77 with the new 16-50mm F2.8 SSM DT lens. I call it the super kitlens because it is really great. And if it is true that the price for this kitlens is between RM2.2k to RM2.9k, then I will say it is the CHEAPEST super kitlens on the market. Search out the equivalent Nikon & Canon lens and you will know what I am talking about.

Photos were shot on location in Sony's office in Midvalley.

#1 Angelica

#2 Angelica

#3 Gary Friedman (yup, that's him on the hot seat! laugh.gif )

The details in the final images are simply amazing! And that new super kitlens is fantastic! The flare & ghosting control is pretty good!

This post has been edited by kysham: Oct 8 2011, 02:24 PM
kysham
post Oct 8 2011, 08:09 PM

Photo Fanatics
3,461 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Oct 8 2011, 02:50 PM)
Kysham did you test the distortion correction thingy with the lens?
err.... no. this is a bit difficult to test in a studio environment though.... so never thought about trying it out. in fact there are so many features which i had not explored yet. But there are so many good features, such as the fact that the "Quick-Navi" is not actually lost, but had evolved. You press the Fn key and the Quick-Navi now navigates through the functions lined along both sides of the LCD / Viewfinder! Once you get to the desired function, just turn either the front or the back control dial to change the settings. thumbup.gif
kysham
post Oct 9 2011, 03:45 PM

Photo Fanatics
3,461 posts

albnok: didn't know that, since i don't have an A550. I just read early reports that said the Quick-Navi was no longer available. But was pleasantly surprised it is not no longer available, just that it is not evolved already.
kysham
post Oct 9 2011, 06:16 PM

Photo Fanatics
3,461 posts

Everyone is busy with KLPF. I share one landscape (more like seascape) photo lah. biggrin.gif

[Flowing Over]
Date: 08.10.2011
Sony A850 & SAL1635Z.
0.8s, F22.0, ISO100, 16mm. ND8 Filter attached.

Shot during the recent Sony Alpha Sunset Challenge in Kota Kinabalu.
kysham
post Oct 9 2011, 07:04 PM

Photo Fanatics
3,461 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Oct 9 2011, 06:29 PM)
Whoa beautiful man!!  notworthy.gif

Is this HDR shot? The 3D effect is awesome man, the clouds seems like popping out!  rclxms.gif  notworthy.gif
zstan: Thanks bro. This is not HDR though. tongue.gif It is from a single cRAW file, which I processed in Capture1. I basically created 2 layers with different exposure to make the clouds pop out a bit more.

zicron: The Zeiss is one of my new toy... brows.gif
kysham
post Oct 9 2011, 07:47 PM

Photo Fanatics
3,461 posts

QUOTE(Zicron @ Oct 9 2011, 07:32 PM)
I thought u already have 16-35, or is it the Minolta 17-35?

So now the holy trinity is complete eh brows.gif
I had (and still do) have the minolta 17-35 f2.8-4. so yes, the trinity is complete now. biggrin.gif
kysham
post Oct 9 2011, 08:22 PM

Photo Fanatics
3,461 posts

QUOTE(soket @ Oct 9 2011, 07:56 PM)
izzit stupid to buy a rm120 uv filter??
My UV filters (77mm) are all more than RM120 each.... sweat.gif
kysham
post Oct 10 2011, 10:41 AM

Photo Fanatics
3,461 posts

QUOTE(e-jump @ Oct 10 2011, 01:01 AM)
did you tried the a77
what do you think of the evf since you are currently onlarge pentaprism as well?
for me, its so much better than the a55, but i cannot get used to it la.. sooo.. different...

the a77's evf is a huge improvement over the a55's unit, but I think it is still behind the OVF of the A900 / A850 which are among the best out there for full frame cameras. it is bright and big, but just not as real as an OVF. and I would be a fool to expect it to be. An EVF is still an EVF, is still an EVF. But for normal shooting, I think it works brilliantly. I had shot for about 1-1/2 hours with the A77 in a studio environment and it worked beautifully. I adapted to it pretty quick. I don't think there should be any issues. nod.gif
kysham
post Oct 11 2011, 10:53 AM

Photo Fanatics
3,461 posts

QUOTE(shootkk @ Oct 11 2011, 10:35 AM)
Ok... here's a question for you guys to mull over..

Since Sony now has the 16-50mm f2.8 SSM lens do you think it's the end for the Zeiss 16-80mm f3.5-4.5 lens?

Since both are DT lenses but the Sony lens has SSM and is a constant f2.8 which in my opinion beats the crap out of the Zeiss and is cheaper too. The only thing the Zeiss has going for it is the T* coating and that's it.

Do you think Sony will release a new Zeiss for DT? I think not. I think Sony is reserving their Zeiss for FF.

Your thoughts?
I believe I read somewhere before that the 16-80 will be the last aps-c lens that Zeiss will make for the alpha mount. Of course, now they have the Zeiss for the Nex already, but that lens cannot be used on a DSLR/DSLT. I've also noticed that the 16-50mm F2.8 is the only DT lens with SSM at the moment. Not sure if Sony can persuade Zeiss to change their mind and start designing aps-c lenses for alpha mount again or not. I do hope so. Those Zeiss engineers can really design some extraordinary optics!

The other advantage the 16-80 have over the new 16-50 is obviously the range. tongue.gif
kysham
post Oct 11 2011, 11:23 AM

Photo Fanatics
3,461 posts

an extra 30mm is still an extra 30mm. some people will appreciate it, while others can't really be bothered with it. what zstan said is likely the case. these two lenses will cater to different users.
kysham
post Oct 11 2011, 04:06 PM

Photo Fanatics
3,461 posts

QUOTE(ieR @ Oct 11 2011, 12:26 PM)
guys: not quite true, zeiss will make optics for sony, most sony lens are designed by sony themself, then the optics, is base on sony's requirement, the optics designed and build by zeiss, not the other way around. sony "uses" zeiss optics. not Zeiss makes sony lens. so its SONY decision to make more zeiss lens or not. Zeiss are still a optic supplier.

Although Zeiss probably does not physically make the lens itself, I am sure Sony must get some form of approval from Zeiss for the lens design, because the lens design and optics must be closely related. And don't forget Sony is putting the Zeiss logo on the lens, so no way Zeiss is going to allow that without any form of quality control from their part. Every Zeiss lens has a signature card from Zeiss, so I don't believe their involvement is strictly "just supply the optics" alone.

I believe the collaboration may work this way:

Sony propose a lens design to Zeiss -> Zeiss agrees to the lens design -> Sony do the engineering work, with input from Zeiss -> Sony manufactures the lenses, with optics supplied by Zeiss

kysham
post Oct 13 2011, 03:57 PM

Photo Fanatics
3,461 posts

i thought i saw lwliam's A700 already put up for sale in alphanatics forum? brows.gif
kysham
post Oct 14 2011, 11:07 AM

Photo Fanatics
3,461 posts

How about this for a TT? brows.gif

L to R: Nex-5n with SEL24F1.8 Zeiss, A65 with lenscap attached laugh.gif, A850 with SAL1635Z attached & A77 with SAL1650F28 SSM attached.

Happened last night, in Kota Kinabalu. smile.gif

p/s: Here is another, slightly higher angle, with the A850 & A77 had switched place. Someone go kacau2 when shooting. Hahaha.....

That e-mount 24mm F1.8 Zeiss is so super yummy!

p/s: Photo taken by a friend of mine. I'm the guy in the alpha black t-shirt in this photo. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by kysham: Oct 14 2011, 11:42 AM
kysham
post Oct 14 2011, 11:48 AM

Photo Fanatics
3,461 posts

QUOTE(lwliam @ Oct 14 2011, 11:47 AM)
How come got 16-50 SSM already one?
hehehe..... tongue.gif
kysham
post Oct 14 2011, 11:54 AM

Photo Fanatics
3,461 posts

QUOTE(mastering89 @ Oct 14 2011, 11:53 AM)
woah the e-mount Zeiss for sale oledy or this just for test2 session by sony whistling.gif
any spam-able pics with the zeiss  cool2.gif
i don't think it is ready stock in Malaysia, yet. awesome lens for Nex users. cool2.gif
kysham
post Oct 14 2011, 12:46 PM

Photo Fanatics
3,461 posts

QUOTE(chiahau @ Oct 14 2011, 12:29 PM)
Owner works for Sony maaaaa smile.gif
bingo. icon_idea.gif

The e-mount 24mm F1.8 Zeiss is fantastic and works great as a slightly wide angle walkaround lens (although admittedly not as compact as a pancake, but heck, I think pancake lenses is over-hyped!) for the NEX system. I'm dying to see how it performs on the NEX-7. As of now, the NEX-7 is still not available, not even a test unit. sad.gif The SEL24 is all metal and looks sexy in that slightly matte black sheen. At wide open, it is sharp and bright. That T* coating is really working its magic here, as had always been the case in all CZ lenses with the T* coating.

To be honest, it's size is not any larger than the standard zoom lens (SEL1855) so it sits flush with the lens mount, not bulging out like the SEL18200. So it sorts of blends in well with the NEX. I'm getting really attached to that NEX form nowadays.

0.0205sec    0.91    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 02:16 AM