Calling all LYN Healthcare Professionals, and people who are sick...

trencher10
post Sep 4 2011, 10:24 PM

Long-term AFK ...
665 posts

QUOTE(karenkow @ Sep 4 2011, 04:06 PM)
Hi, I need some advice on my thyroid prob, had been taking camazol for a year. N my doctor said it's better if i go for a thyroid gland removal surgery since I can't rely in this medi for long term. Should I? I an so afraid of d side effects from d surgery, such as lost vocal voice, can't get pregnant in future n etc etx, n I oso donno which hospital to go in kl which is more reliable, any advice? Fyi, I'm lacking tsh hormone....
Err. I believe you have hyperthyroidism, which is why you're on carbimazole (generic). But you're making it unclear at to which type of cause it is, whether thyroid tumours or the autoimmunes (I'm assuming it should be the more common ones in young adults). And the surgical procedure would be to remove the lobes to reduce the over-production of the thyroxine (T4) hormone. I'm not sure if TSH plays a part in your condition unless its pituitary adenoma. And that requires another surgery to another anatomical part. Or radiotherapy.
The thyroid tumours are another different ballgame altogether so I'm not making any assumptions here.

Has no doctor advised you for radioiodine therapy instead? It should be a viable route also.

If for surgical route, I would advise to find for ENT specialists who do thyroid glands, they should work quite delicate and more discriminate in this matter. Sorry I can't recommend anyone as I have no idea who's who in KL, but the general advice is what I've gleaned from observing the surgical considerations the surgery teams do.

This post has been edited by trencher10: Sep 5 2011, 09:42 AM
trencher10
post Sep 5 2011, 12:23 PM

Long-term AFK ...
665 posts

QUOTE(karenkow @ Sep 5 2011, 11:50 AM)
Yeah they told me abt radio therapy as well, but bcz of my gland had swollen, so d doc said better go for surgery, but due to d doc I  consult now is d normal clinic doctor, nt a specialist in thyroid or surgery, so really need more professional opinion on this. Ofcoz im going to look for.a specialist on thyroid b4 really decided on operation.... Thanks for ur info it's really helpful :-)

Added on September 5, 2011, 11:54 am

Hi, thanks for d info, really helpful b4 I make any decision. Seem like I gt no othrr choice than go for a surgery :-(

Bt I still have to take pill to replace my hormone after surgery right?

What's really bothering me is which hospital to go, it might be a small operation for doctor but it could be d biggest to me in my life, so really afraid to make a wrong decision in choosing hospital... Any suggestions on which hospital or doc which is really good on thyroid problem?
If your glands are swollen, it not necessarily means a surgical route is a given. However, this is due to the fact that I still have no idea what type of hyperthyroidism you have as the symptoms list is still short for me to assess. Plus, if this is an acute inflammation of the thyroid tissue, rather than hyperplasia, even surgery will have to wait medical management first.

Regarding carbimazole continuation, this is dependent upon your T4 levels and the extent of the thyroid tissue removal that they do (and there will be another complication with para-thyroid glands as well, if they were removed as well). The doctors will monitor your T4 levels and try to achieve a euthyroid state without requiring medication.

Thyroid glands removal is quite routine (general surgeons also can & do this surgery, and sometimes the cardiothoracic teams are called too when they have thoracic thyroid tissue to deal with), but which is why I recommended searching for ENT specialists as they are the people most discriminate with the throat area.

Lastly, good luck and hope you'll be in best of health.
trencher10
post Sep 6 2011, 12:20 PM

Long-term AFK ...
665 posts

QUOTE(aeternalis @ Sep 5 2011, 10:07 PM)
That being said, it's rare nowadays to see the more serious complications such as losing the voice, etc.

I think the 'thyroid specialist' you are seeing is probably an endocrinologist (doctor expert on hormone related disease). The person performing the surgery is either an ENT surgeon or a general surgeon.
Thyroid surgery is very commonly done, so most surgeons will have plenty of experience.

As for the choice of where to go for surgery: one main factor is whether you want to do it in a private hospital or a public hospital. This will differ in terms of cost.

If you go to a private hospital, the cost will be high but you will get a specialist surgeon to perform the procedure for you.
If you go with the public hospital, you are not guaranteed to get a more senior or experienced surgeon. Sometimes, more junior medical officers will perform the surgery under the guidance of their seniors. But the cost of the operation and stay will be much lower.

If you want, I can enquire about the cost of the surgery from a private hospital and public hospital during office hours tomorrow.
I would also suggest if you could glean info on their surgical considerations as well, if they actually leave it to the ENT team or general surgeries. Especially the public hospitals. In my place, even in the public hospitals the consultant specialists are adamant in this matter. Plus, internal word-of-mouth is a great way to know where the best public hospital specialists are located.

This post has been edited by trencher10: Sep 6 2011, 12:22 PM
trencher10
post Sep 8 2011, 01:13 PM

Long-term AFK ...
665 posts

QUOTE(rosamundwo @ Sep 8 2011, 11:34 AM)
Hi to all doctors here,

I would like to know what's is the long term effect of eating raw food to our health?

No animal products, only raw organic vegetables?
Are you referring to nutritional long-term effects, or safety effects of ONLY consuming vegetables? I see no problems in eating properly-prepared (washed) raw organic vegetables. As to benefits, I've yet to see the data really ...

This post has been edited by trencher10: Sep 8 2011, 01:14 PM
trencher10
post Sep 10 2011, 10:38 PM

Long-term AFK ...
665 posts

QUOTE(DrBarbarian @ Sep 10 2011, 10:09 PM)
Hah.... The ones I used to work with, will leave the ot for tea break once the pt goes under!!!!!
If I'm not mistaken, regulations call for an anaesthetist to be present in the OT at all times during an op. Going to tea break and having someone else cover should always be the case. Ada spital anaesthetist pegi joli makan minum x kesah op ka?
trencher10
post Sep 11 2011, 06:54 AM

Long-term AFK ...
665 posts

Alah, junior anaesthetist ada kira ikut protokol lagi laa. Igt biar mesen jalan sendiri.
trencher10
post Sep 12 2011, 11:01 AM

Long-term AFK ...
665 posts

Sometimes, the anaesthetists has the time to tutor the students than the obviously busy surgeons!
trencher10
post Sep 12 2011, 10:46 PM

Long-term AFK ...
665 posts

QUOTE(aeternalis @ Sep 12 2011, 10:04 AM)

The last time I saw a urological surgery (nephrectomy) went wrong I saw no drama-like ER moments. When the surgeon pulled off a part of the renal arteries close to the aortic wall (big TCC [and I thought the surgeon ruptured a big renal cyst or something at first]), the blood spurting out the cavity was already the alarm for the anaesthetist to go and bring in the G&H (or was it crossmatch?). I think the anaesthetists I've observed were always obesrvant of the operation regardless whatever they were doing. Though I doubt playing Angry Birds with the volume on is acceptable! biggrin.gif

An interesting note, when the surgeon asked what type of cancer could it be, I proffered the initial opinion that it was a TCC as opposed to a RCC to the surgeon, but he disagreed ( I too knew that RCC would have been more common, but the involvement of the ureter made me decide on TCC ). Hooray for good guesses! (thankfully also, it's not the more ridiculously rare histological types)
trencher10
post Sep 15 2011, 11:15 PM

Long-term AFK ...
665 posts

QUOTE(entryman @ Sep 15 2011, 07:24 AM)
And after that, an oral food challenge test.
trencher10
post Oct 17 2011, 12:25 PM

Long-term AFK ...
665 posts

^
Recommend seeing a doctor. There is a also a likelihood of eye involvement, so inform your doctor for a referral to an opthalmologist.
Or you could cut the middleman and go see an optometrist. However, if headaches and dizziness are severe, doctor first.

This post has been edited by trencher10: Oct 17 2011, 12:26 PM
trencher10
post May 26 2012, 07:44 PM

Long-term AFK ...
665 posts

QUOTE(Tham @ Apr 10 2012, 03:53 AM)
Four. At least two more to go. I never knew that Tung Shin's Shimadzu
machine was firing at 100 kilovolts, even if for just 2 milliseconds. . That's
quite a shot of gamma rays.

......... since when do we use gamma-rays in routine imaging? And, pray tell, by what wondrous process, did X-rays magically become gamma rays?

We really need a thread cleaner here.

0.0303sec    0.53    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 06:52 PM