4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

SAMSUNG GALAXY S II Official thread V13, NEW Users - be SMART user :read page 1

waveweaver
post Sep 2 2011, 06:45 PM

★★Android & Apple★★
13,192 posts

~~ Whoottt~~
New shinny thread. Congratz.!!

:: dancing like a happy goat ::
waveweaver
post Sep 2 2011, 06:53 PM

★★Android & Apple★★
13,192 posts

~~@ wayfeel
I'm enable my data netwotk now and using my phone for posting. We can see how much it drain the battery within an hour :-P
Btw., if you're on stock rom better enable back no.2 as you might need it in case you had to do any hard reset. For rooted phone it's okay as you can do backup through TB
waveweaver
post Sep 2 2011, 07:01 PM

★★Android & Apple★★
13,192 posts

QUOTE(WeSLeY @ Sep 2 2011, 06:43 PM)
Hi Benny... SGS2 user since 23/6... add me to the list please.... thanks.....
Happy belated welcome dude

QUOTE(hapeace @ Sep 2 2011, 06:54 PM)
Hi.. Im new owner of sgs2.. Please add me to the list. Now addicted to add accessories to my sgs2..
Welcome to the big family :-)

waveweaver
post Sep 2 2011, 07:26 PM

★★Android & Apple★★
13,192 posts

QUOTE(destEX @ Sep 2 2011, 07:01 PM)
hmm comparing with the sg note

1) it has same processor and gpu as the sgs2, only clocked at 1.4ghz
2) the same 1gb ram
3) same camera specs
4) has a bigger screen + HD resolution at 1280x800  drool.gif on a 5.3" screen
this gives us a slightly higher pixel density at 284.9ppi vs 217ppi of the SGS2
5)has a barometer blink.gif
6) supports stylus
7) uses a 2500mAh battery
8) and its alot heavier, thicker and bigger 146.9 x 83 x 9.7 mm at 178g
Dont know why it not clocked to 1.5GHz same like the LTE.?
What i'm really anxious to know is whether it use different or the same Yamaha soundchip. If the same then it's a dealbreaker for me :-(

This post has been edited by waveweaver: Sep 2 2011, 07:27 PM
waveweaver
post Sep 2 2011, 07:32 PM

★★Android & Apple★★
13,192 posts

~~@ Uncle Benny

Any news or rumours about Note soundchip.?
waveweaver
post Sep 2 2011, 08:36 PM

★★Android & Apple★★
13,192 posts

~~ gahhh ~~

Go one hour browsing and your battery will drop nearly 20%. Really gobble juice when browsing :-P

waveweaver
post Sep 2 2011, 09:17 PM

★★Android & Apple★★
13,192 posts

QUOTE(destEX @ Sep 2 2011, 09:00 PM)
now you know, eat like no tomorrow, i felt using dolphin eats more than playing most games
I know already as i used to get only around 6 hours for non-stop browsing. As i had said before, the main gobbler
1) browsing/streaming (as display also ON)
2) playing games (as display also ON)
3) display ON (exp. reading)
For me, as long as the scrren is ON then the battery juice will drop like water ~~ lol ~~
p/s - one of the reason to buy Galaxy Note (got much bigger battery capacity)

This post has been edited by waveweaver: Sep 2 2011, 09:25 PM
waveweaver
post Sep 2 2011, 09:31 PM

★★Android & Apple★★
13,192 posts

QUOTE(FiReWoLf @ Sep 2 2011, 09:25 PM)
Final point u got there, that is a VERY good excuse to buy Note  rclxms.gif  rclxm9.gif
Who knows maybe the Note battery can fit into SGSII :-)

~~~nahhh dreams on
waveweaver
post Sep 2 2011, 09:34 PM

★★Android & Apple★★
13,192 posts

QUOTE(HerbalTea @ Sep 2 2011, 09:30 PM)
oh wow..hope im not too late to jump on the bandwagon, I just bought a SGS2 few days ago during raya, been in love with it ever since. Only quirks i had with this phone was the excessive battery drain when i used dolphin browser..
If you use for browsing then it will hits quite a toll in ypur battery, no matter which browser you use or which roms you're on :-)
waveweaver
post Sep 2 2011, 09:41 PM

★★Android & Apple★★
13,192 posts

QUOTE(annoymous1234 @ Sep 2 2011, 09:33 PM)
how do i actually properly exit and app? i read somewhere people said press back button? but if im im browsing, i'll have to keep pressing back many times  sweat.gif
Nearly all apps can be closed by long press home button followed by using exit in task manager.
Certain apps like latitude, once you sign-in then you have to sign-out in order to closed it properly. This type of app will keep on open although it not shown in task manager.
For dolphin browser, you can exit in the apps itself :-)

This post has been edited by waveweaver: Sep 2 2011, 09:54 PM
waveweaver
post Sep 2 2011, 09:51 PM

★★Android & Apple★★
13,192 posts

QUOTE(Eiraku @ Sep 2 2011, 09:43 PM)
Long hold back button?
Wont do in stock rom :-(
waveweaver
post Sep 2 2011, 10:17 PM

★★Android & Apple★★
13,192 posts

QUOTE(destEX @ Sep 2 2011, 10:10 PM)
do note it's running on 1.4ghz and has a heck of a bigger screen, therefore eats more battery
yar lor., give and take, same usage time with SGSII
~~ lol ~~
waveweaver
post Sep 2 2011, 10:59 PM

★★Android & Apple★★
13,192 posts

QUOTE(mydragoon @ Sep 2 2011, 10:44 PM)
oh ya... tonight is not the night... wink.gif

update 1:
but downloading odin was really fast! had expected like 1-2hours downloading it on my 512k streamyx... see2, 5secs, habis...

update 2:
dang... no need to even install odin. but... dunno what to do next... i guess i have to RTFM... not M but Pg 1. smile.gif

hmmm... at this stage, sure later kena poison to root...  brows.gif
Aloo friend. Still knocking knee dont know whether want to flash or not ar?

~~ lol ~~

Just flash our local stock firmware is enough already. No need root one. Get the DX firmware from intratech thread. Or if you dont mind using europe firmware then just flash the XX firmware and you'll be on 2.3.4 already :-P
waveweaver
post Sep 2 2011, 11:08 PM

★★Android & Apple★★
13,192 posts

QUOTE(mydragoon @ Sep 2 2011, 11:02 PM)
nolar... i wanna get and use only officially released firmware for MY. anyway, u will go check my screenshot later to confirm the version and then see how la... samsung not making it easy to update firmware. still dunno why they dun allow FOTA,
Did you register and have Samsung Account already? No account no FOTA. OldKyoo got his FOTA for four updates already ~~lol~~

But the truth is, OTA still under testing stage. Few lucky user did get their FOTA. I think it will be use officially when we on Ice Cream later on
waveweaver
post Sep 2 2011, 11:13 PM

★★Android & Apple★★
13,192 posts

QUOTE(Shizuru @ Sep 2 2011, 11:08 PM)
Lol.. don't ask me to cook rom lor..
i only know how to cook food tongue.gif
ya..ya better cook food, can eat :-)
if cook roms, unlucky then phone got brick

Added on September 2, 2011, 11:18 pm
QUOTE(laoya82 @ Sep 2 2011, 11:11 PM)
uncle benny, I bought sgs2 long time edi, but stil cant my name in the user list, can u add me. thks

my sgs2 temperature will reach 53 degree, when I surf net n charge the battery together..scary.
as long as you can still hold the phone then it's okay lar meaning no problem. Mine can go 54C non-stop for five hours also can survive, no harm done.
Dont worry too much :-)

This post has been edited by waveweaver: Sep 2 2011, 11:18 PM
waveweaver
post Sep 2 2011, 11:33 PM

★★Android & Apple★★
13,192 posts

QUOTE(AhBoy~~ @ Sep 2 2011, 11:27 PM)
My phone receive PDA KH2 phone KH1 fw update from kies
Congratz bro.!
First user who truly got updates through Kies :-)
BTW is the firnware still android 2.3.3.??
waveweaver
post Sep 2 2011, 11:42 PM

★★Android & Apple★★
13,192 posts

QUOTE(wayfeel @ Sep 2 2011, 11:31 PM)
i use the battery solo widget which i tink is good. show batt lvl n one tap to it shows the temperature rather than temp widget on its own.

want ask. 480 x 800 wallpaper is a STILL wallpaper, meaning if u scroll thru few homescr, remains the same wallpaper.

how about if i wan to use those wider wallpaper that 'moves' thru the homescr pages, what resolution do i go for?

if anyone wit a good ,dark regular wallpaper, do kindly share too
who knows if uncle likes it, he wil pin ur wallpaper link too haha
There is a lot of wallpaper you can download from market. Try honeycomb wallpaper. Dark and got android robots ~~lol~~

Added on September 2, 2011, 11:44 pm
QUOTE(Shizuru @ Sep 2 2011, 11:41 PM)
You successfully updated through kies?
ya..ya. Tomorrow can go update at service centre :-)

This post has been edited by waveweaver: Sep 2 2011, 11:44 PM
waveweaver
post Sep 3 2011, 12:44 AM

★★Android & Apple★★
13,192 posts

QUOTE(uk15029 @ Sep 2 2011, 11:57 PM)
Mine is 65C while charging and teathering
Not normal. How many other devices using your SGSII wifi.? Did you use 3G watchdog app?

QUOTE(WeSLeY @ Sep 3 2011, 12:07 AM)
try drag it to a side

Added on September 3, 2011, 12:07 am
sigh.... unfortunately.... tht PINKY still exist
I heard android 2.3.4 reduce/eliminate this problem

QUOTE(laoya82 @ Sep 3 2011, 12:28 AM)
Thks for the user list reminder..

i check my battery temperature with *#*#4636#*#*, it show such high temperature, do i need to send it bek to samsung to re-ensure it is not faulty.. thks
Did you use 3G watchdog app?

waveweaver
post Sep 3 2011, 01:08 AM

★★Android & Apple★★
13,192 posts

QUOTE(laoya82 @ Sep 3 2011, 12:47 AM)
I used it before, but after that i unistall it edi, but the temperature i mention is without the 3G watchdog..
Then better bring to service centre for check up

Added on September 3, 2011, 1:10 am
QUOTE(PhakFuhZai @ Sep 3 2011, 01:01 AM)
is that really necessary to backup data before updating firmware via Kies?
Using Kies.?
Yes better do backup as update official firmware will wipe data and apps

Added on September 3, 2011, 1:14 am
*** ATTENTION ALL '3G WATCHDOG USER ***
If you're using version 0.30 , please update your app to
0.30.1 as the older one might distrupt your phone charging and make your phone temperature rises .
Version (0.30.1) is available at market for updating .
+ 1 **credit to basSist for notifiying this.
This post has been edited by waveweaver: Aug 27 2011,

This post has been edited by waveweaver: Sep 3 2011, 01:16 AM
waveweaver
post Sep 3 2011, 05:41 PM

★★Android & Apple★★
13,192 posts

QUOTE(vaires @ Sep 3 2011, 03:15 PM)
hai..new user here..
mmm..need to root sgs2..
soo dizzy reading xplaination..
how i know tht my sgs2 is rooted or not? coz i bought 2nd hand..
tQ
Download 'root checker' app and see if your phone got rooted or not

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0212sec    0.41    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 03:20 PM