8 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

SAMSUNG GALAXY S II Official thread V13, NEW Users - be SMART user :read page 1

antt00
post Sep 11 2011, 08:48 AM

RescuE
10,873 posts

QUOTE(TheLaptopDudeGuy @ Sep 11 2011, 08:17 AM)
Erm can someone help me out? I'd really appreciate it biggrin.gif
The official facebook app will ask you of you want to sync on first startup. So look for this function in the settings. If cannot find then uninstall facebook delete the sync and reinstall. Sure will ask you again when you first start it.
antt00
post Sep 11 2011, 11:57 AM

RescuE
10,873 posts

I remember someone saying KH4 is an unstable build that samsung withdraw from releasing.

This KG5 rom seems better than KH3. Feels faster and more responsive. Battery life need more time to evaluate. Another proof that latest isn't always better.

This post has been edited by antt00: Sep 11 2011, 12:04 PM
antt00
post Sep 11 2011, 06:09 PM

RescuE
10,873 posts

QUOTE(c010 @ Sep 11 2011, 06:07 PM)
anybody facing games randomly hang on kh3? i have been using darky and leomar's kh3, tried darky, cfroot, speedmod t-39 and tegrak kernel, all giving me same issue.
Did you do wipe install? I always recommend wipe install.

I don't think its kernel related. Is this problem reported in those rom thread?

Another thing is undervolting can cause instability as well.

This post has been edited by antt00: Sep 11 2011, 06:13 PM
antt00
post Sep 11 2011, 06:57 PM

RescuE
10,873 posts

QUOTE(Eiraku @ Sep 11 2011, 06:52 PM)
You mean the EFS folder?  Thank god I did, tar and img backup. Now to restore.

Wtf, really.
Interesting. Any idea how did your imei got corrupted?
antt00
post Sep 11 2011, 07:36 PM

RescuE
10,873 posts

QUOTE(TheLaptopDudeGuy @ Sep 11 2011, 07:32 PM)
Any of ur apps, widgets or add data dissapear? Did u need to rearrange all of ur icons n widgets agn?
Lite'ning 6.1 is not a wipe rom. everything will remain as it is.
antt00
post Sep 11 2011, 09:08 PM

RescuE
10,873 posts

QUOTE(tenchi0205 @ Sep 11 2011, 09:01 PM)
hmm.gif how to restore?

I got 2 files...

efs_dev-blockmmcblk0p1.img
efs-backup.tar.gz

thru odin?
Read first page. There is an app recommended to backup and restore.

Added on September 11, 2011, 9:12 pm
QUOTE(11768 @ Sep 11 2011, 08:35 PM)
Experiencing scroll-lag with SpeedMod kernel (both old and new version).

Scrolling was smooth in other kernel like stock or ninphetamine (but ninphetamine cause me auto reboot).

Anyone having the same problem I had with SpeedMod?
I find scrolling speed more related to rom used. With either kernel there are times when you notice a slight lag. Speed mod give me better battery life. Now trying out rage mod cos it comes with the original rom I just flash.

This post has been edited by antt00: Sep 11 2011, 09:12 PM
antt00
post Sep 11 2011, 09:35 PM

RescuE
10,873 posts

QUOTE(11768 @ Sep 11 2011, 09:28 PM)
According to the description from the creator of RageMod. The base of the kernel is from SpeedMod and added with feature like UV/OV, UC,OC, etc.. So my guess is the battery life and smoothness will be quite the same (if no UV/UC, etc)
Well yeah. But since the cpu control and uv for the rom I am using is build around this kernel so I am trying it out.
antt00
post Sep 11 2011, 09:48 PM

RescuE
10,873 posts

QUOTE(11768 @ Sep 11 2011, 09:39 PM)
So how was your battery life before this while you were on the old ROM?
Battery life was good for me. Hard to give evaluation as everyone uses their device differently. It is the same rom just different build. Previously touch rom kh3 now touch rom kg5. In terms of kernel speed mod seems better for battery saving but only slightly.
antt00
post Sep 12 2011, 08:29 AM

RescuE
10,873 posts

QUOTE(Eiraku @ Sep 12 2011, 04:40 AM)
Firstly, to uncle benny and rawat (from XDA) many thanks for the EFS backup and restore guides.

Anyhows, I'm back from the dead, pure terminal typing, no computer needed.

Crazy EFS wipe it was, no idea how it happened also, except I wiped batt stats right before it happened.

Now need to reflash everything back lol, as out of sheer desperation I rolled back to a previous, really old NAND backup running VR1.4. Lol.

Also, out of the same sheer desperation (and the fact I had NO decent back up phones AT ALL), I bought myself a nice 1 month old second hand Avaxx Nokia E6 lol.

It's a nice phone (SQ's better then our SGS2, and going back to a hw keyboard was nice too), but it's no replacement for my beloved Siie-Tan. Returning to Symbian (even though it's Anna), a single core 625mhz proc and 256mb RAM was like driving an Inspira around while your beloved M3 is being serviced.

I guess it's true, Symbian HAS fallen THAT far behind.

Good time to run up to VR 2.4.2 too lol, after putting it off for so long. Wipe wipe wipe.
Wah wipe batt stat can hilang EFS file. Now that is scary.. shocking.gif
antt00
post Sep 12 2011, 09:11 AM

RescuE
10,873 posts

QUOTE(TheLaptopDudeGuy @ Sep 12 2011, 08:57 AM)
NSo im planning to update myself to android 2.3.4 stock rom, so all i need to do is:
Download the firmware files through here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1075278

Dowload the kh3 one, put phone in download mode, then flash through odin right? For that version, the website didnt say anything abt when flashing it will lose data, so once i flash it, all my apps,data,homescreens and widgets will all remain? Just like that i assume? I wont have any extra probs like battery issues and everything right?

One more question, do i need to backup my IMEI folder?

I know i asked quite alot of questions, its just that i like confirmation b4 i do it, to prevent messing up.
From the look of it, it is not a wipe rom. But since your going to a different rom base i recommend wiping and flash. But its up to you. Just remember to backup contacts, messages and apps+data just in case.

And yes better backup your EFS first. Takes just a few seconds.
antt00
post Sep 12 2011, 09:39 AM

RescuE
10,873 posts

QUOTE(TheLaptopDudeGuy @ Sep 12 2011, 09:34 AM)
hmmm... what type of problems?
After you flash and restoring just choose restore app+data. DO NOT restore system app+data (Titanium do not allow you to restore system app by batch anyway).
antt00
post Sep 12 2011, 09:44 AM

RescuE
10,873 posts

QUOTE(TheLaptopDudeGuy @ Sep 12 2011, 09:42 AM)
so if i were to follow what you guys said, only restore back apps+data, what will i lose?
You will have to redo your home screens and widgets. Another thing, how are you backing up contacts and messages. My contacts backup to google and messages i use SMS backup and restore. All other apps will remain the same. You also have to redo the changes you did in your settings (eg brightness, ringtones, etc.)

This post has been edited by antt00: Sep 12 2011, 09:46 AM
antt00
post Sep 12 2011, 09:53 AM

RescuE
10,873 posts

QUOTE(wiind @ Sep 12 2011, 09:50 AM)
Titanium Backup can backup the contacts (including the linkage between contacts) and sms also, just looks for green color item in the list. thumbup.gif I noticed one thing, previously in my HTC Magic, backing up the contact storage will back up the call logs as well, but this is not the case for SGS2, so I wonder where SGS stores its call logs?  hmm.gif
Yeah but since i sync with google, my contacts all in phone when i setup after a wipe flash so never have a chance to use it at all.
antt00
post Sep 12 2011, 10:00 AM

RescuE
10,873 posts

QUOTE(TheLaptopDudeGuy @ Sep 12 2011, 09:55 AM)
how do i backup with google?
If your contacts got "G" at the side its google contactss. Just sync before you wipe to ensure all is in google. After you wipe and flash new rom, you will go through setup process where you will login to google. The contacts will auto sync during setup and all contacts will be in phone straight away.
antt00
post Sep 12 2011, 10:04 AM

RescuE
10,873 posts

QUOTE(TheLaptopDudeGuy @ Sep 12 2011, 10:02 AM)
not all my contacts got g beside it. where to sync? on pc or the phone?
Ahhh forgot oledi since i did this long ago. Try merge with google option. It can be done on the phone.

This post has been edited by antt00: Sep 12 2011, 10:05 AM
antt00
post Sep 12 2011, 10:08 AM

RescuE
10,873 posts

QUOTE(TheLaptopDudeGuy @ Sep 12 2011, 10:06 AM)
wuh?  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif  where? in settings?
When in contacts page, press menu. Menu button seems like a hidden function when not lighted. laugh.gif
antt00
post Sep 12 2011, 10:17 AM

RescuE
10,873 posts

QUOTE(yehlai @ Sep 12 2011, 10:15 AM)
Hi bro i suggest you to do some back up for:

SMS - using sms backup
Bookmark backup
Pictures backup - just copy files into pc
Contact backup - mobiun

Since you're a careful guy like me, and so better to be careful than be sorry.
As far as I know, TB only backup apps and apps data. Other stuff it can't help
TB can backup contacts and messages as well. But like you I also use other apps cos these other apps have never fail me before. biggrin.gif
antt00
post Sep 12 2011, 10:21 AM

RescuE
10,873 posts

QUOTE(TheLaptopDudeGuy @ Sep 12 2011, 10:17 AM)
thanks!!!!  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif
One more thing, do you have CWM? If yes you can do a nandroid backup as well in case you do not like the rom your going to flash. Easiest and safest way to revert back to previous rom.
antt00
post Sep 12 2011, 10:28 AM

RescuE
10,873 posts

QUOTE(TheLaptopDudeGuy @ Sep 12 2011, 10:22 AM)
yeah i have cwm. i just did a backup of it, i went into cwm, then select backup and restore then backup. thats a nandroid backup right?
Yup that is the one.
antt00
post Sep 12 2011, 10:36 AM

RescuE
10,873 posts

QUOTE(tunasandwich @ Sep 12 2011, 10:34 AM)
Hmm.. I'll try that... Thx Benny... Does ur phone get warm like super easily? I.e. 5 minutes browsing..?
Browsing on my phone in a hot afternoon in a normal kopitiam (no aircon jus fan) my batt temp only 35 - 37C.

8 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0378sec    0.72    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 09:45 PM