1,346 posts

NEXT MATCH: EPL

user posted imageV. Shrewsbury

Date: 21 September 2011
Time: 02.40am
Ground: Emirates Stadium (Home)
Channel:

Welcome to the Emirates, where Gooners live and breathe Arsenal!

Credit to Lynixxfor the new design

_________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Recommended sites for football and Arsenal news:
UK-based sports sites:
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/default.stm
http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/football/
http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/sport/football/
http://www.rockynewsnow.info/ - Its a modified version from NewsNow and concentrate solely for arsenal.. It also filtered out most crap, unreliable stuff from the blogosphere .. And best feature which still chuckled me, renamed some team/ sites to funny names .. that one you will have read yourself, it wont be much of a problem to know the original team anyway if you are an Arsenal's supporter for a while.

or follow good quality arsenal blogs which often have good insight and fan-written articles:
Arseblog ( http://www.oleole.com/blogs/arseblog ) - good old drunken arseblogger who swears at anything that's not arsenal
A Cultured Left Foot ( http://aculturedleftfoot.wordpress.com/ )- decent writeup and opinions
Gunnerblog ( http://gunnerblog.com/ ) - same as above
Goodplaya ( http://goodplaya.com/ )- probably the most accurate player analysis after a match
3rd Gen ( http://www.third-gen.com/ )- pretty good too
Arsenal Insider ( http://www.arsenalinsider.com/ )- very pro-Arsene site, but many good articles to read... great weekly TGIF, but not sure whether they still do it or not
Untold Arsenal ( http://blog.emiratesstadium.info/ )- My newest favourite arsenal site written by a die-hard old school gooner
http://www.goonernews.com - all-in-one Arsenal news web
http://arsenalist.com/ - for replays and highlights
http://myarsenalvlog.blogspot.com/ - for videos and highlights
http://arsenalanalysis.blogspot.com - technical analysis on Arsenal
http://arsenal-mania.com/
http://www.onlinegooner.com/phpbb2/index.php

For news and progress about the kids, try
Young Guns ( http://youngguns.wordpress.com/ )
Arsenal Youth ( http://arsenalyouth.wordpress.com/ )

Arsenal Players' official Twitters:

http://twitter.com/jack_wilshere
http://twitter.com/53szczesny53
http://twitter.com/nanas08
http://twitter.com/cesc4official
http://twitter.com/Persie_Official
http://twitter.com/WEDITSJET
http://twitter.com/henri_lansbury
http://twitter.com/_denilson15
http://twitter.com/EmmanuelF4
http://twitter.com/JohanDjourou
http://twitter.com/Sagnaofficial
http://twitter.com/SEBSQUILLACI
http://twitter.com/#!/aaronjramsey

Stream link to watch LIVE football matches:-

FEEL LIKE GOING TO UK FOR A NIGHT IN EMIRATES' EXPERIENCE? Forumer nshady here shared us a website which consisted few tours to matches in the Emirates stadium with reasonable price. Credit to nshady for the website.
QUOTE(nshady @ Aug 14 2011, 03:15 PM)
Arsenal fans know about this tour agency mayflower offering football packages to watch arsenal matches?

http://events.mayflower.com.my/index.php?o...ootball-arsenal

Prices vary according to the opponents, but yet still quite reasonable(short trip also anyway).

This post has been edited by liez: Sep 20 2011, 08:47 AM
TSliez
post Sep 1 2011, 12:27 PM

1,346 posts

Full Fixtures of season 2011/12:-

Fixtures by Title:-

CODE
DD/MM/YY[UK time of the match][]HOME TEAM v. AWAY TEAM[ ]RESULTS

13/08/11[1730] Newcastle United v. Arsenal 0-0
20/08/11[1245] Arsenal v. Liverpool 0-2
28/08/11[1600] Manchester United v. Arsenal 8-2 - Walcott 45' assisted by Rosicky, Van Persie 74' assisted by Jenkinson

10/09/11[1500] Arsenal v. Swansea 1-0 - Arshavin 40'
17/09/11[1245] Blackburn Rovers v. Arsenal
24/09/11[1500] Arsenal v. Bolton Wanderers

02/10/11[1600] Tottenham Hotspur v. Arsena
15/10/11[1500] Arsenal v. Sunderland
22/10/11[1500] Arsenal v. Stoke City
29/10/11[1245] Chelsea v. Arsenal

05/11/11[1500] Arsenal v. West Bromwich Albion
19/11/11[1245] Norwich v. Arsenal
26/11/11[1730] Arsenal v. Fulham

03/12/11[1500] Wigan Athletic v. Arsenal
10/12/11[1500] Arsenal v. Everton
17/12/11[1500] Manchester City v. Arsenal
21/12/11[1945] Aston Villa v. Arsenal
26/12/11[1500] Arsenal v. Wolverhampton Wanderers
31 /12/11[1500] Arsenal v. Queens Park Rangers

02/01/12[1500] Fulham v. Arsenal
14/01/12[1500] Swansea v. Arsenal
21/01/12[1500] Arsenal v. Manchester United
31/01/12[2000] Bolton Wanderers v. Arsenal

04/02/12[1500] Arsenal v. Blackburn Rovers
11/02/12[1500] Sunderland v. Arsenal
25/02/12[1500] Arsenal v. Tottenham Hotspur

03/03/12[1500] Liverpool v. Arsenal
10/03/12[1500] Arsenal v. Newcastle United
17/03/12[1500] Everton v. Arsenal (Or FA Cup Quarter-Final)
24/03/12[1500] Arsenal v. Aston Villa
31/03/12[1500] Queens Park Rangers v. Arsenal

07/04/12[1500] Arsenal v. Manchester City
09/04/12[1500] Wolverhampton Wanderers v. Arsenal
14/04/12[1500] Arsenal v. Wigan Athletic (Or FA Cup Semi-Final)
21/04/12[1500] Arsenal v. Chelsea
28/04/12[1500] Stoke City v. Arsenal

05/05/12[1500] Arsenal v. Norwich
13/05/12[1500] West Bromwich Albion v. Arsenal

matches yet to be confirmed...

CODE
DD/MM/YY[UK time of the match][]HOME TEAM v. AWAY TEAM[ ]RESULTS

16/08/11[1945] Arsenal v. Udinese 1-0 - Walcott 4' assisted by Ramsey
24/08/11[1945] Udinese v. Arsenal 1-2 - Van Persie 55' assisted by Gervinho, Walcott 9' assisted by Sagna
13/09/11[1945] Borussia Dortmund v. Arsenal 1-1 - Van Persie 42' assisted by Walcott
28/09/11[1945] Arsenal v. Olympiacos
19/10/11[1945] Marseille v. Arsenal
01/11/11[1945] Arsenal v. Marseille
23/11/11[1945] Arsenal v. Borussia Dortmund
06/12/11[1945] Olympiacos v. Arsenal

Season 2010/11Fixtures:-
TSliez
post Sep 1 2011, 12:27 PM

1,346 posts

The Emotional Highbury and The Grand Ashburton Grove

Highbury 1913-2006

For the majority of their time in south-east London, Arsenal played at the Manor Ground in Plumstead, a three-year period at the nearby Invicta Ground between 1890 and 1893 excepted. The Manor Ground was initially just a field, but the club installed stands and terracing in time for their first Football League match in September 1893. They played their home games there for the next twenty years (with two exceptions in 189495), until the move to north London in 1913.
user posted imageuser posted image

Arsenal Stadium, widely referred to as Highbury, was Arsenal's home from September 1913 until May 2006. The original stadium was designed by the renowned football architect Archibald Leitch, and had a design common to many football grounds in the UK at the time, with a single covered stand and three open-air banks of terracing. In the 1930s, the entire stadium was given a massive overhaul, with new Art Deco West and East stands constructed, opening in 1932 and 1936 respectively; in addition, the North Bank terrace had a roof added, which was later bombed during World War II and not restored until 1956.

At its peak, Highbury could hold over 60,000 spectators, and had a capacity of 57,000 until the early 1990s. The Taylor Report and Premier League regulations forced Arsenal to convert Highbury into an all-seater in time for the 199394 season, reducing the capacity to 38,419 seated spectators. This capacity had to be reduced further during Champions League matches to accommodate additional advertising hoardings, so much so that for two seasons (199899 and 199900) Arsenal played Champions League home matches at Wembley, which could house more than 70,000 spectators.

Final moments - the emotions run high in Highbury

user posted imageuser posted imageuser posted image

Ashburton Grove 2007-present

Expansion of Highbury was restricted because the East Stand had been designated as a Grade II listed building and the other three stands were close to residential properties. These limitations have prevented the club from maximising the revenue that their domestic form could have brought in recent seasons. After considering various options, in 2000 Arsenal proposed building a new 60,000-seater stadium at Ashburton Grove, since renamed the Emirates Stadium, about 500 metres south-west of Highbury. The project was initially delayed by red tape and rising costs, but construction was completed in July 2006, in time for the start of the 200607 season. The stadium is named after its sponsors, the airline company Emirates, with whom the club signed the largest sponsorship deal in English football history, worth approximately 100 million; however some fans refer to the ground as Ashburton Grove, or the Grove, as they do not agree with corporate sponsorship of stadium names.The stadium will be officially known as Emirates Stadium until at least 2012, and the airline will be the club's shirt sponsor until the end of the 201314 season.

Construction and completion of the Ashburton Grove

user posted imageuser posted image

user posted imageuser posted imageuser posted image

TSliez
post Sep 1 2011, 12:28 PM

1,346 posts

The Trophy Cabinet

the invincible trophy- you'll like the taste. brows.gif

TSliez
post Sep 1 2011, 12:29 PM

1,346 posts

The players:

Goalkeepers:

Defenders:

Midfielders:

Forwards:

Manager:

Draw your formation here: smile.gif
http://this11.com/

This post has been edited by liez: Sep 17 2011, 12:28 AM
TSliez
post Sep 1 2011, 12:30 PM

1,346 posts

The LYN Gooners
Updated list:
0-9 - 1809
A - atreyuangel, Angel of Deth, Andr3w, awh85, alabais, arsenal, Ah KeaT, Azurues, ahcong, aladdin, airline, afiqkhairi, aku_figo, ametzer, amz_dreamz, aaronwu, AzureOfSky, arsengal
B - binary, blugear, bobotorix, broken_string, BuLLs10, beandy, bal, b4sh88, billygoh, buzzfizz, Bellatrix LeStrange, ben3003, blanket84
C - ch1ck3n, chinzw, c_calvin, chika138, cyfc29, CrOmer, cry4freedom, chypher, chronic_blade, changchai
D - darnell, Darkmage12, Dashken, dcking, Daven81, darksider, DannGun, dkwan87, det3st, DWExia, denon91, darz
E - erxier, elvenchou1987,eZeE

F - FCUK89, fo33il, Frostymocha, fcuk90, FollowN, funnyTONE, fish_hoo, FerD7, flyingteeku
G - gigalixir, garagesell, greated, Gilbert5107, gordon.engineer, Gr3yL3gion, gummer, giotto, Gr3yL3gion81
H - harrychoo, he-sham, heavenhell90, hirozq, Havock^64, heLL_bOy, Hideiki, hydrogen, hunter1012, h4dRi, HateFakers
I - ivanchin99, ivanau88, IsoZ, iglue, isma45, itsuki
J - jasonkwk, jam_lennon, jeffwyk, jim18992, jamallj, jameslionhart, joe405, jonrwg, jaecon, jinyu, jeff_v2, JoyLee1055jonathan1986, JimBeam101
K - kenzo, KingHenry14, kenny B, kyser39099, kabuto rider kick, kaka91, kazek, kayent, kae7, kepalakeras, KiNA Asuki, kuai_chai, kepet, kimhoong, kevlinefm, kanelee

L - Lowyat, little_mozart, linkinstreet, leinnz, Liuism, Laine85, laica, locomotion, lhy88, lipkhin, linuxskate, Lynixx, leymar7, lonelysoldierboy, liez, low7, lazarus7247, lone_wolf
M - Mie, muhdhafiz, matju, maximus85, ManLivArs, mukissmyarse, mengdez, mruzian, Meis, muhdhan, MISHUGINA
N - ncool15, nerd, nkw1987, Nostalgia, necrox77, nightdrifter, noir7559, nimala05
O - ocz, opjust
P - Phalanx, playerseeker, pukarix, punditski, pmtan, paopiak, Phonzy
Q - Quick`, QuickFire
R - RedSky21, ROTiJOHN, RyanAtwood, realman, Roux, ReBeLLioN, rastablank, raven143, rickrick, rifasha, rebel_azri

S - skod, s|dE, s3liparjepon, sabmeen, sakaito, sandcool, Sarbath, Scramblershazzmania, sickx, slashie, sOuLx, sr_reyes, StarGhazzer, sufyian, syahrulz, shah_mechy, spirit of demon, synchromess, super messi, syafri88, SilentSerpent, syedakmal
T - tapirus, teyjohn tkh_1001, throx, toshio14, tyc03, taufik054, taukekia, tenno, telefunken
U - udin_014
V - Vanquish, villevalo, Vinci777 vivi99, vutsi, vandennis, vandetta_10, vcxv
W - waynewong79, waruna, watever77, Walaoeh!
X - xakemx
Y - yingchai, yogurt7, yuchankit, youloong118, ys2719
Z - zhixin, zenox0123, zstan

etc - - JaY -, -Y-, '62jaguar
CREDITS to previous LYN Arsenal Street Talk TS:

This post has been edited by liez: Sep 1 2011, 10:05 PM
TSliez
post Sep 1 2011, 12:31 PM

1,346 posts

LAST 10 POSTS FROM PREVIOUS THREAD:-

QUOTE(TechUsb @ Sep 1 2011, 12:07 PM)
Is frustrate of last season...can compete in 4 trophy..but in 3 months..everything has gone... thinking is time to chg manager when ars still dont want to sign any player..lucky he sign...i think pep guardiola is suitable at arsenal..since the style of both team playing are same...haha...
QUOTE(Phonzy @ Sep 1 2011, 12:07 PM)
no way

wenger > guardiola
QUOTE(gummerz @ Sep 1 2011, 12:10 PM)
wenger bought more than he promised.he said 3 but we got 5 rclxm9.gif
QUOTE(kroegand @ Sep 1 2011, 12:10 PM)
if pep comes with messi then might be approve  drool.gif  drool.gif
QUOTE(TechUsb @ Sep 1 2011, 12:14 PM)
Haha...juz a blink in my mind...but i think wenger wont go...i have supported ars almost 10 yrs...most like season 03/04..when thr is henry n vieira...their mentally really strong..down to 2-0 also can come back...but last time wenger is more calm than now..juz sitting on bench and analyze..now u can see wenger keep walk here walk thr..argue with referee...throwing bottle..sad.gif...mayb wenger has more confident on vieira team... smile.gif
QUOTE(BaboonZ @ Sep 1 2011, 12:15 PM)
Its Arteta for me. He's looks the most assured of all the signings.

I have my doubts over the rest.

PCY - Unimpressive strike rate. For a team challenging for title like us, we expect at least a Mario Gomez or Edinson Cavani. Another Chamakh in the making?

Benayoun - Has not played regularly for the past few seasons. Another Rosicky.

Santos - Well documented issues with his concentration on the pitch. More like Kieran Gibbs than Ashley Cole.

Mertesacker - Too slow for AW's high line. Only time will tell whether he will end up like Tony Adams/Martin Keown (success) or Pascal Cygan/Igor Stepanovs/Phillippe Senderos (flops).

We could make a poll for this.
QUOTE(madblacktt @ Sep 1 2011, 12:20 PM)
i see mertesacker as a pretty good capture though
QUOTE(playerseeker @ Sep 1 2011, 12:26 PM)
Now that's what we as Arsenal fans hope to see such transfer...gosh....i cant really remember when was the last time i feel excited about arsenal new signings.....i don't know about you guys but for so many seasons...i was having high hope on transfer and finally got disappointed bout wenger transfer policy...

And this morning when i wake up and check the signing....

Damn...i'm alllll excited!!!!!
QUOTE(g_pentium @ Sep 1 2011, 12:27 PM)
Atlst AW has more options to rotate his squad.but this is seriously mouth watering prospect.A totally new Gunners on the prowl. drool.gif
Yeah maybe benayoun at his prime,but sure he has trick up his sleeve,and he is a clinical finisher,that what bewildering us at most times,we lack that clinical finisher.

PCY is a great buy,his passing vision is superb,but it will take time for him to settle though.

Arteta no words,he is just simply the best buy of all.

Per and Santos new pillars for gunners yo..no worries,we have the ability to transform players.
QUOTE(StarGhazzer @ Sep 1 2011, 12:28 PM)
I don't understand where the "slow" opinion of Per is coming from. Positioning is more important than pure pace for a defender - if you block or intercept a pass you don't need to scurry back to sweep. This is where Sol Campbell excelled, never the fastest defender but one of England's best in his time. And is Gary Cahill significantly faster? Unlikely.

Ju's strike rate is more Chamakh than Henry, but it's a low risk gamble. Not many strikers are available on the market, not at the 11th hour. If I'm being honest, I'd rather see Ju up front than Joel; one's a proven international regular, the other just started his career.

Can't complain about Santos either. Will only make a judgement when he has more games under his belt.

Comparing Yossi to Rosicky is ridiculous. They are different players, and Yossi's contributions to Liverpool is much more prominent than Tommy's to us in past few seasons. Having Yossi is a bonus, and they can be used in different ways - Yossi to provide more zest in attack, Tommy to stabilise/hold the midfield when needed.

I quote:

http://www.7amkickoff.com/2011/an-arsenal-...erenity-prayer/

To all,
stop whining, start supporting !

Forever Arsenal.
This post has been edited by liez: Sep 1 2011, 12:34 PM
TSliez
post Sep 1 2011, 12:33 PM

1,346 posts

Guys, lets vote who in your opinion is this year's summer purchase.

For those who are not Arsenal fans, you can vote the I am not Arsenal Fan column. biggrin.gif

players in:

Per Mertesacker (Defender)
Carl Jenkinson (Defender)
André Santos (Defender)
Mikel Arteta (Midfielder)
Yossi Benayoun (Midfielder)
Gervinho (Forward)
Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain (Forward)
Park Chu-Young (Forward)

players out:
Cesc Fabregas (Midfielder)
Samir Nasri (Midfielder)
Gael Clichy (Defender)

This post has been edited by liez: Sep 1 2011, 12:40 PM
TSliez
post Sep 1 2011, 12:38 PM

1,346 posts

So at the end, the Honda rumor is just a troll.
TSliez
post Sep 1 2011, 10:48 PM

1,346 posts

QUOTE(Walaoeh! @ Sep 1 2011, 02:17 PM)
yo liez, why don't use this as the thread logo? this has the transparent background...

Thanks alot. Nice ones as it fitted into the slot.

QUOTE(greenlemontea @ Sep 1 2011, 07:33 PM)
im arsenal fan, im not a troll, if telling the truth is being troll, nobody will telling the truth anymore. peace tongue.gif
But iirc you said you are currently a manchester city fan rite? hmm.gif or that is another guy.

QUOTE(Walaoeh! @ Sep 1 2011, 08:09 PM)
beh tahan liez still havent change the thread logo!

its not nice leh wei..
chill la... I say I will be in book fair for whole day today.

QUOTE(aku_figo @ Sep 1 2011, 10:43 PM)
gervinho and song still tak boleh main lawan swansea right?
nope...they will come back after swansea's game... But no worry... We will have enough to cover for them. biggrin.gif
TSliez
post Sep 1 2011, 11:18 PM

1,346 posts

QUOTE(peeyaw @ Sep 1 2011, 10:54 PM)
Arteta n benayoun biggrin.gif
Hope to see Alex perform even more in Swansea's match. He is the one dubbed Walcott with football brains and he is one of the PFA Team of the Year for 2010–11 league one.

QUOTE(peeyaw @ Sep 1 2011, 11:07 PM)
Anytime better smile.gif
in terms of character yes la.... Ferdinand's character look like mafia boss and Vidic is quite arrogant imo.

This post has been edited by liez: Sep 1 2011, 11:25 PM
TSliez
post Sep 1 2011, 11:29 PM

1,346 posts

Arteta admits to lure of Champions League

New signing Mikel Arteta says the opportunity to play in the Champions League was a key factor behind his decision to join Arsenal.

The Spanish midfielder signed a four-year contract with the Club on Wednesday after completing his move from Everton to become Arsène Wenger’s final acquisition of the summer.

Arteta spent five successful years in the Premier League at Goodison Park but admits the lure of Europe’s elite club competition was too strong.

"It is a big opportunity for me and my family and I think it is the right time for me to take it,” he told Everton’s official website.

"It is a big challenge, a different challenge, fresh for me and I want to see myself on the biggest stage, the Champions League.

"I am 29 years old so I haven't got much time left to take a chance like this one. I think I have done my best for Everton."

This is to show us that there are still fighters who enjoys playing football rather than for the money they were paid to do that. wink.gif And we should appreciate such players and he is well deserved for obtaining the 4 years contract.

This post has been edited by liez: Sep 1 2011, 11:46 PM
TSliez
post Sep 1 2011, 11:52 PM

1,346 posts

QUOTE(jam_lennon @ Sep 1 2011, 11:50 PM)
Yossi is the only player that plays for top 3 EPL club? looks like our next signing will be Raul MEIRELES
many more iirc. But I can only remember Anelka being one of them. Anelka got Real Madrid and Manchester City in his profile some more.

This post has been edited by liez: Sep 1 2011, 11:54 PM
TSliez
post Sep 2 2011, 12:05 AM

1,346 posts

Btw guys, I can't edit the squad players first... Not until they had taken their profile photograph or I will be forced to put Per in Bremen's shirt, Arteta in Everton's shirt, Santos in Fenerbahce's shirt and Benayoun in Chelsea's shirt in the squad player's section.
TSliez
post Sep 2 2011, 12:09 AM

1,346 posts

QUOTE(JoyLee1055 @ Sep 2 2011, 12:00 AM)

Now can compete all the 4 trophies.............. rclxms.gif
OH MY GAWD..... that is 4 national team captain on the bench. *facepalm* doh.gif
TSliez
post Sep 2 2011, 12:14 AM

1,346 posts

QUOTE(JoyLee1055 @ Sep 2 2011, 12:07 AM)
Arsenal have to list 25 players for all the 4 trophies?

Then include :-
Ryo, Chamberlain, Jenkinson, Diaby, Frimpong and Chamakh + Vito Mannone = 25, right?
GK: Szczesny
GK backup: Fabianski

RB: Sagna
RB backup: Jenkinson

CD: Vermaelen, Per Mertesacker
CD backup: Koscielny, Squillaci, Djourou

LB: Santos
LB backup: Gibbs

DMF: Alex Song
DMF backup: Frimpong

RWMF: Walcott
RWMF backup: Alex Chamberlain

CM: Wilshere, Arteta
CM back up: Ramsey, Benayoun

LWMF: Arshavin
LWMF backup: Miyiachi

Forward: Van Persie, Gervinho
Forward backup: Park Chu Yong, Chamakh

There is already 25 in my list. Can anyone from my list should actually be left out? Dont think there is any places for Diaby actually.
TSliez
post Sep 2 2011, 12:29 AM

1,346 posts

QUOTE(mickeysew814 @ Sep 2 2011, 12:20 AM)
mind to share how many captains in total we have in the team now? look like everyone is captain. =.="
5 of them.

ramsey welsh captain (Bale deserved it more but injury-prone)
arshavin russian captain
ah park south korean captain
benayoun israel captain
vermaelen belgian captain

This post has been edited by liez: Sep 2 2011, 12:31 AM
TSliez
post Sep 2 2011, 12:37 AM

1,346 posts

QUOTE(JoyLee1055 @ Sep 2 2011, 12:36 AM)
one step at a time.

at least now we have a full squad + reserves experienced players and we are here to fight for all 4! drool.gif
why are u so negative? hmm.gif
he is a manchester city fan. thats being positive for his team. ph34r.gif
TSliez
post Sep 2 2011, 01:32 AM

1,346 posts

QUOTE(blanket84 @ Sep 2 2011, 12:43 AM)
IINM, U21 players should not be included in 25 man squad registration..clubs are free to play as many U21 player as they like..so..in your list extra 4 slot available..
why ramsey, wilshere, gibbs and szczesny cannot be listed under U-21?
TSliez
post Sep 2 2011, 09:50 AM

1,346 posts

Guys, stop spamming in the thread.

Per Mertesacker: signing for Arsenal realises a boyhood dream

This post has been edited by liez: Sep 2 2011, 09:51 AM

0.0484sec    0.19    8 queries    GZIP Disabled