QUOTE(yingchai @ Sep 1 2011, 12:39 PM)
No, if anything he was just in London for a transit before continuing back to Moscow. It's a troll news. All because Arsene expressed his admiration for Keisuke during the last WC.
Arsenal Street Talk, 21 September 2011 | 0240 | ARS v. SBY
Sep 1 2011, 12:41 PM
5,355 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Cera |
Sep 1 2011, 06:33 PM
QUOTE(greenlemontea @ Sep 1 2011, 06:20 PM) arsenal = cheap player is really the base of the club, yet they refuse to pay them what they deserve, no wonder no big player wanna come, and no wonder many player wanna leave, because they doesnt get appreciation , wenger just treat them like dog, feed them, groom them, use them, then sell them. ![]() If Arteta performs well, do you not think we will increase his wages? Sure, Mikey could have earned 10K more had he stayed in Everton, but for someone who like him who has the ambition to play at the highest level, i.e. Champions League, money isn't everything. Wages should be earned, and we do reward players who have proven themselves. Titi was paid what he deserved, so was Fabs. Nasri was offered a whopping 90K/week (if you believe the tabloids) but regardless of how much we can afford, there will always be teams who can triumph us in terms of money. How can anyone compete with 180K that City is offering? Do not assume that Arsene treats his players like dogs. Note that every player who left sings praises about how well Arsene treats them as individuals. If anything, you are treating our club and manager like one. This post has been edited by StarGhazzer: Sep 1 2011, 06:33 PM |
Sep 1 2011, 07:08 PM
QUOTE(greenlemontea @ Sep 1 2011, 07:05 PM) i just telling the truth.. hahaha, some ppl just cant and wont accept the truth, i dun blame them lololol Truth my ass. When you start insulting our manager and deliberately berate our latest signing by typing his name wrongly, it's really hard to take you seriously anymore. Act like a troll, be treated like one. Go back under the bridge and wait for your billy goat. |
Sep 2 2011, 09:18 AM
Sep 3 2011, 06:35 PM
Sep 4 2011, 08:41 AM
QUOTE(hakimix @ Sep 4 2011, 02:13 AM) I'm quite shocked really about the reason he chose number 52. It's because he's on 52k pound per week. Shows you how money is everything to him. f***ing greedy ******* thinking he's made it. mai luan gong lah...Bigging yourself up but fail when it matters. Remember Barcelona when we can still get through if we score a goal? Bendtner have that chance to put us through but he didn't get the ball which any top striker would have catch it and slotted it in. Big mouth small balls. f*** off with you and your pink boots. He chose 52 because 5+2 makes 7 which is his favourite number. Don't ask why it's not 61 or 34 or 43 though, although it's possible that it's also the double of his old 26. People choose to slate him for the chances that he misses, especially blaming him for not scoring that chance against Barca. Absolute bollocks. Titi missed a chance vs Barca in the CL final in 06 as well, why didn't anyone slaughter him for that? Without his scoring spree 2 seasons ago when we had no striker, we would been in worse shape. Goodbye Nick... very smart to cut your ties with Arsenal and burn your bridges now. Unwise. Good player but never as good as he (and his dad) thinks he is, but give me a confident striker any day over one who's clueless like the current Chamakh. I shall always remember your finest moment - scoring a hattrick in CL to shut everyone up after missing many chances in the EPL one match prior. |
Sep 4 2011, 02:39 PM
QUOTE(robel @ Sep 4 2011, 11:30 AM) rumors i heard is that he choose 52 because he hate adebayour.. 52 is the reversed number of ade previous squad no, 25.. QUOTE(Zeus88 @ Sep 4 2011, 01:29 PM) nope the reason why he chose is because 52 is his reserve team number last time where during tat time he did perform well. Why are people making up more and more stories? QUOTE Nicklas Bendtner plays with the number 52 on his back, but actually his favourite number is 7. But when he joined the Arsenal team, the number 7 was already taken by the Czech Tomas Rosicky. So when Nicklas Bendtner was presented with the opportunity to change his old number 26 before the season 2009/10, he chose the number 52 because 5 and 2 equals 7. He also thinks that 52 sound good. http://www.nicklas-bendtner.com/B52.aspx?ID=33 |
Sep 4 2011, 07:24 PM
QUOTE(hakimix @ Sep 4 2011, 03:07 PM) Bah PR talks how can you believe this shit? I rather believe his official website regardless of whether it's PR shit, instead of detractors who have made up their minds to hate him for life and criticise everything he does.Then again maybe I got my info wrong too but I thought I read it somewhere. Supporters support, haters gonna hate. |
Sep 7 2011, 08:32 PM
Sep 9 2011, 04:12 PM
QUOTE(FollowN @ Sep 9 2011, 10:58 AM) I don't think it's only Kroenke treating the club as a hobby. His bunch of recruits particularly Gazidis personify his personality -- too modest and unbullish. I personally feel they are pretty subdued for people who grew up with the Charging Bull on one of their streets. The best case in point is Barcelona VP's recent statement. Any sane Gooner would've expected a top-ranking official from the Arsenal to come out with all guns blazing and criticise the VP's statement but no, they just had to keep it "diplomatic". I had Gazidis in mind, but he just seemed reluctant. He gives me the impression of an arthritic old athlete, still it in but not quite in it. What good will it do if any of our board members come out and blast Barcelona? The player has already been sold, spiting bile and venom is not going to do anybody good. I'm starting to see the merits of Dein's combative qualities in a relatively soft board. The Arsenal needs a rugged and steely Adams not only on the pitch, but also on the board! Bloody board frustrates the hell out of me I too feel that a charismatic and outspoken board member would be helpful as both Stanny and Gazi seem like soft-spoken, mild mannered people who run the club without letting too much out of the bag. Peter Hillwood is often the voicebox but too often do his opinions get interpreted as stubborn and old-fashioned, yet the reality is that Pete is more of a figurehead due to his familial heritage and has no real authority. Danny Fizman was the one that called the shots, and he has passed the baton on to Stanny. David Dein has been deified by many ever since we went on that "6 year without a trophy" shit. As much as I acknowledge and respect the man for what he has done for our club, he ain't exactly a saint either. He's the one that pushed for a Wembley rental deal (and we all know how disastrous the construction of Wembley was compared to our Ashburton Grove which was completed ahead of schedule), and also the one who went for a windfall after allying with Usmanov and selling the latter his shares. To give him the benefit of doubt, his intentions were probably good to begin with; but I still stand by the notion that our current self-sustaining business model is much better than fully dependent on a sugardaddy's mood. Usmanov might have did what Roman did for Chelsea or the Arabs for City, and we may have won some bling bling during recent years. However there's an equal chance that we may end up like many other clubs with huge investors, i.e. winning nothing whatsoever. And don't forget regardless of what he has spoken all these while, he may also choose not to spend hugely too. We don't know what his real plans are either as they were never clearly revealed, regardless of how much we complain about Stanny's silence. At least under our current modus operandi, we won't go bust regardless of trophies or not. And when we aren't bust, there's always a chance we'll challenge for something. Whether we like it or not, sports clubs ARE businesses, not hobbies, which is why the Americans call them sporting "franchises" rather than "clubs". And I'm happy that our club is being managed properly like a business - self-sustaining, long term financial plans and fixed debt repayments, and increasing profits. This post has been edited by StarGhazzer: Sep 9 2011, 04:22 PM |
Sep 9 2011, 09:34 PM
QUOTE(FollowN @ Sep 9 2011, 07:19 PM) I'm with you in terms of Dein and Usmanov but I think the sporting franchises train of thought is a dangerous and slippery path to tread on. What good does it do for the club if it is managed like a business without taking into account fans' passion and feelings? The way the club is managed at present is quite similar to Disney's recent crises. You can send numbers and reports to Harvard scholars or Goldman Sachs analysts to crunch numbers like nobody's business but such an easy decision lacks associated emotions. With so many recent blows to the club - the move to Ashburton Groves, the long dry spell, a spate of horrific career-threatening injuries, ticket prices, departure of big names - is it any wonder why the club is slowly losing everything associated with Highbury? Combine that with the fact that Wenger asked fans to show support, patience and cheer the team, you get an almost hypocritical and elitist impression. You don't get support if you don't deserve support. Eboue is case in point. Why the hell did the club sell Eboue anyway? Sagna/Eboue would've been so much better than Sagna/Jenkinson. To think that Jenkinson got the nod over someone who marked Ronaldinho like a boss in the Champs League... As mentioned before, Pete is the figurehead of the board - he's pretty much the person who has criticised Barcelona for their antics. I don't expect any statements from Stan as he's never known to make many even in the US; while Gazi as the CEO has to be diplomatic. Pissing people off will make things harder for him too. Anyway, it would've been a great start to coaxing back the spirit of Highbury had anyone from upper echelons of the club come out and criticise the statement. Keeping mum is tantamount to confirming the club's unsavoury reputations. The nearly men? Feeder club? Plenty of others I don't want to think of. What did you feel as a fan when you read that ridiculous statement? I don't get why the club isn't projecting a firmer image. As spineless as the young team that gets kicked about by clubs like Stoke may be, it is beginning to feel that even the board is getting kicked about by "bullies". The business organisation is there but until the club displays a bit of empathy for the fans, I'm afraid the club doesn't deserve the status as one of the modern superclubs. In regards to Eboue, I believe it is a matter of getting rid of deadwood. Yes, most fans adore him for his enthusiasm, his hilarious antics, and his carefree spirit; but as a footballer he's not entirely someone who is irreplaceable. Today's Eboue is nowhere near the buzzing fullback we saw in 2006. He's nothing more than a utility player - coming in whenever needed but never someone you could depend on to turn the tide around. However I do agree that Eboue is a better backup than Carl is, but if there's a buyer like Galatasaray that expresses interest for a fringe player, it's not entirely a hard decision to make. What Carl has over Eboue is youth, potential, and fulfils the homegrown rule which will play a bigger role in team management in years to come. Sadly, "youth" and "potential" are some terms that have stung many ears in the recent past. In terms of emotional attachment (or rather the lack of) of the new-look Arsenal; I believe those who have been long time supporters will still continue to adore the club regardless of how commercialised it has become. Those who only joined the bandwagon in recent times may find it harder to maintain the level of affection due to the lack of success (yes, trophies and flashy high profile players do have certain amounts of pulling power) but maybe I am, and I hope I am, making an unfair statement here. It is always hard to move to a new stadium - it is after all "empty" to begin with, a "new start" if you like the sound of it. Yet we are a club that stood by our traditions, our values, and everything that means Arsenal. We still do deals in an honourable manner (ask Charlton about how we dealt with Carl's transfer), we still focus on our emphasis on attacking football (although it hasn't really went well in recent times due to various reasons), and our club's contributions to the neighbouring community is pretty well-known. On the other hand, Gazi's Arsenalisation project focuses on the exterior side of things by incorporating Arsenal-related themes into our new stadium. Highbury was legendary. It will be very difficult for any other stadium to have a similar atmosphere, and no I'm not talking about the infamous "Highbury Library" mock by rival fans. I'm referring to the narrow pitch, the proximity of the spectators to the players, and the close-up camera positions. There shall only be one Highbury. Ashburton Grove is Ashburton Grove, I wouldn't want it to be another Highbury - it deserves a history of its own, it deserves its own glory. It has none so far, but it's hardly even a decade since we've moved there. And while its trophy cabinet still remains fairly empty, it already has a better image than many other newer stadiums in England. Wembley was plagued by construction mishaps, Southampton's new home at St Mary didn't even match Highbury's capacity, Tottenham's plans for a new one is embryonic, if anything at all. It's not in my power to dictate how to support the club, but I firmly believe that being a fan of Arsenal (or any other sporting club) is like falling in love. You don't need to meet any criteria, you don't have to have an agenda, you just do. Regardless of how much turmoil our club has been through all these while, the club still remains and I dare say many of us here still go fanatical whenever we watch our lads don the red-white. I usually have some sort of motto that I use commonly in this thread for the past years (aside from the curse words that is) - 'read, and be enlightened', 'Arsenal optimisation club', the simple 'GO GO GUNNERS!'; but this season I think I will use this very often - "Supporters oughta support, haters gonna hate." Forever Arsenal. |
Sep 10 2011, 10:29 PM
man streams are pure shit tonight.
best one so far... crap sound and picture quality but at least it doesn't buffer every 10 seconds... http://www.koracity.com/ |
Sep 10 2011, 10:50 PM
Very lacklustre first half I must say... still too much tippy tappy going on. T_T
Andy's goal is flukey but a goal is a goal, no complaints about that. |
Sep 17 2011, 03:48 PM
| Change to: | 0.1183sec
8 queries
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 11:38 AM |