Arsenal Street Talk, Per 4, Arteta 8, Park 9, Santos 11

sigheart
post Aug 29 2011, 10:49 PM

The Ultimate Driving Machine
1,442 posts

QUOTE(Azurues @ Aug 29 2011, 10:20 PM)
Alex is better than Cahill in terms of physical, heading and set-pieces

But for speed, he really suck ass. Just watch the match of Chelsea, he lose to Shane Long easily
One shouldn't be judged based on just one incident. John Terry has been left on his backside countless times and Rio Ferdinand has been made to look like a bird watcher by countless looping balls. But they are still quality defenders nonetheless. Even the best of defenders make mistakes and are prone to 1 or 2 bad games from time to time. To be honest I'd be happy if we get Alex. Could prove to be the perfect foil for Vermaelen.

However, despite last night's performance I still rate Koscielny. I feel he was rushed back a little too early from his injury and he didn't look a 100% fit. A Stepanovs-esque perfromance from Djourou didn't help either.

This post has been edited by sigheart: Aug 29 2011, 10:49 PM
sigheart
post Aug 30 2011, 01:28 AM

1,442 posts

QUOTE(JoyLee1055 @ Aug 29 2011, 11:10 PM)
What about this guy :-
http://www.guardian.co.uk/football/gallery...8385974&index=1

Wenger please don't go & insult other clubs by bidding the lowest.

Just for once get the quality players that Arsenal needs badly.
I think I'm posting this for the 5th time. The signing of M'Vila is perhaps one of the unlikeliest from the list of players we are being linked with simply because he is cup-tied for the UCL.
sigheart
post Aug 30 2011, 10:49 AM

1,442 posts

According to a BBC journo the deal with Santos has all but been agreed subject to a medical and agreeing personal terms.

Park still has a few things to sort out.

https://twitter.com/#!/bbcsport_david

Btw it seems Elia is on his way as well. Juve has made an offer as well but has declared he would rather come to us.

Word going around we seem to have made an enquiry about Benayoun and a double bid for both Alex and Malouda also. Liverpool are also said to be interested in Benayoun.

This post has been edited by sigheart: Aug 30 2011, 10:50 AM
sigheart
post Aug 30 2011, 02:03 PM

1,442 posts

QUOTE(sakaito @ Aug 30 2011, 01:39 PM)
Y u butthurt about schwarzer? Had we bought him, we might never see woj in our team. Probably he'll leave and be awesome somewhere else.

Some decision that AW made might be mind boggling but most of the time, it is ok. Same can't be said for the defensive line though.

I'm sorry that we have a "pea-sized" budget as u mentioned but that's the reality of the situation. Failed to bring us suCcess? What's ur definition of success here? No throphy the last 6 seasons? Is that it? So qualifying for ecl the past 15 yrs counts for nothing? Going all the way to final cc cup was nothing?

I have no problem with signing of AOC for 15mil. He's english, so he tends to be overpriced. I'd value him maybe 9 or 10mil tops. However, the kid looked good even in his short cameo at OT. I wouldn't go all out saying he's a bargain but he is AW type of signing.

Break the bank? Maybe we should... But for who? Hazard? He mentioned he's not leaving. Who else? I'd take scott parker but his injury record also same as gibbs. 3 good games, 5 games out. Jeeez

Rumors picking up steam... Awaiting arse.com announcements. We defo need 3 player at least, 4 is good, 5 is best! Cb+am+striker+lb. If 5, I'd take another dm.
r
15m is the potential full price including those top ups, clauses and what not for Ox-Tail soup. For all we know we might not need to pay that much and I doubt we will anyway so IMO we got him at a fair price. wink.gif

I feel Hazard is a tad overhyped and overrated. If you look at the numbers for last season on paper it looks like we got the better player in the form of Gervinho. I am not saying Hazard is a bad player, a player with huge potential certainly but I just don't think he is worth the 30m at the moment. Certainly not for a player who has just had one good season.

Unfortunately Scott Parker seems to be the target for Spurs at the moment and I think its highly likely he would sign for them.

Added on August 30, 2011, 2:06 pm
QUOTE(slcroy @ Aug 30 2011, 01:53 PM)
Andre santos perhaps its a good deal wei... 6.2mil earning 40,000 per week

we r chasing malauda too

marvin martin is back on radar...

alex i think no coz AW evaluate him lesser than 10mil.

yeah i think sports reporter for this time of the season will not rest in updates...

Probable Signings
A few UK Gooners has reported seeing a bunch of journos camping in front of the Emirates biggrin.gif

Word on twitter from them is they are expecting something big is gonna happen. A world class midfielder is the word making rounds amongst the journos but no names were given. I just hope this is true. We really need a big signing to galvanize everyone associated with the club at the moment.

This post has been edited by sigheart: Aug 30 2011, 02:07 PM
sigheart
post Aug 30 2011, 02:19 PM

1,442 posts

QUOTE(slcroy @ Aug 30 2011, 02:14 PM)
goosebump...wht da heck??

main diam diam?  brows.gif

could it be official session of park ?
Ya wei could be something big going on diam-diam behind the scenes we do not know of. Even the news of Park and Santos came out of the blue with no indication or anything whatsoever.
sigheart
post Aug 30 2011, 05:02 PM

1,442 posts

QUOTE(slcroy @ Aug 30 2011, 04:55 PM)
if sneider comes... i sense....

Van Persie to Inter!?

sad sad news hehehe....
Did you see the date that article was posted? shakehead.gif

Added on August 30, 2011, 5:02 pm
QUOTE(TechnoG @ Aug 30 2011, 04:56 PM)
I would rather stick to Van Persie than Sneijder  whistling.gif
Please see the date that article was posted -.-

This post has been edited by sigheart: Aug 30 2011, 05:02 PM
sigheart
post Aug 30 2011, 05:25 PM

1,442 posts

QUOTE(aladdin @ Aug 30 2011, 05:16 PM)
If AW really bids cahill for 6Millions, I will look him down forever. Not everyone come and buy good players for cheap (unlike us, selling main players at cheap price).

Santos, 10 goals in 52 matches. not a bad wing back. But, how's his defence quality? I dont want 2nd clichy type...cant defend at all
LOLLLL sorry can't help it.
sigheart
post Aug 30 2011, 08:03 PM

1,442 posts

I'm loving every minute of this transfer window. I've never been in a transfer window as exciting as this. Well probably only when we signed Arshavin.
sigheart
post Aug 30 2011, 08:06 PM

1,442 posts

QUOTE(blixtboy @ Aug 30 2011, 08:04 PM)
coz we never been so active b4 8-2 wake up call... tongue.gif
Yeah in a way Man Utd could pay the price for thrashing us. Could be a blessing in disguise. Imagine if the thrashing was in lets say March or April =.=
sigheart
post Aug 30 2011, 08:08 PM

1,442 posts

There is word that we have had a 40m euro bid knocked back by Dortmund for Gotze. If this much still couldn't get him then I guess that is that for Gotze.

Cole has joined Lille though. Still a chance we might get Hazard.
sigheart
post Aug 30 2011, 08:12 PM

1,442 posts

QUOTE(blixtboy @ Aug 30 2011, 08:09 PM)
why man utd pay the price?

in?
There is always a chance we could meet them again in one of the Cup competitions not too mention our next meeting in January. It would be a whole different ball game when the time comes. And who knows we might just be able to beat them next time round.
sigheart
post Aug 30 2011, 08:32 PM

1,442 posts

1:25
Update: Werder Bremen defender Per Mertesacker is travelling to London to undergo a medical with Arsenal later today.

All but done IMO unless he doesnt fail the medical.
sigheart
post Aug 30 2011, 08:33 PM

1,442 posts

More earlier updates:

11:47
Speculation: German daily Kicker claims that Arsenal have failed with a €40million bid for Borussia Dortmund's Mario Gotze.

11:38
News:
Park Chu-young's agent has shed light on why the striker decided to go to Arsenal when he appeared set for a move to Lille, describing the opportunity to join the Gunners as too good to turn down.

sigheart
post Aug 30 2011, 08:35 PM

1,442 posts

QUOTE(sakaito @ Aug 30 2011, 08:33 PM)
u kidding boh? at this rate, even hargreaves would pass medical at arsenal.  biggrin.gif  tongue.gif
Haha guess I worded it a little wrong. Too excited! For all the years I've been an Arsenal supporter this is THE most intriguing transfer window!
sigheart
post Aug 30 2011, 09:34 PM

1,442 posts

QUOTE(telefunken @ Aug 30 2011, 09:30 PM)
Rejected already. Came out on Sky Sports updates about half an hour ago.

Here is the entry

Speculation: German daily Kicker claims that Arsenal have failed with a €40million bid for Borussia Dortmund's Mario Gotze.

This post has been edited by sigheart: Aug 30 2011, 09:35 PM
sigheart
post Aug 30 2011, 09:35 PM

1,442 posts

QUOTE(telefunken @ Aug 30 2011, 09:35 PM)
issit ? user posted image
Yeap. Here you go:

sigheart
post Aug 30 2011, 10:52 PM

1,442 posts

Conflicting reports on the Cahill situation.

http://www.caughtoffside.com/2011/08/30/arsenal-agree-14m-tr ansfer-fee-with-bolton-for-gary-cahill/

Arsenal have agreed a £14million fee with Bolton Wanderers for defender Gary Cahill.

The 25-year-old will now undergo a medical and discuss personal terms with the Gunners.

The England international has been on manager Arsene Wenger’s wanted list all summer and last week had £6million plus add-ons bid rejected by the Trotters.

But the clubs have agreed on a basic £10million fee, which could rise £4milllion, depending on Cahill’s success at the Emirates.

He had a release cluase in his contract for £17million but with only one-year remaining on the deal, Arsenal managed to persuade Bolton to sell for cheaper.

Cahill could now become Arsenal’s third defensive signing of the day following the acquisitions of Andre Santos and Per Mertesacker.

Santos, 28, has agreed a £6.2million move from Fenerbahce and will replace Gael Clichy in competing for the left-back position with Kieron Gibbs.

Mertesacker, 26, will complete his £6million from Werder Bremen once he arrives in London this afternoon for his medical.

Germany manager Joachim Low allowed the defender to leave the national squad to finalise personal terms.

Cahill and Mertesacker will now compete with each other along with Laurent Koscielny and Johan Djourou to play alongside first-choice Thomas Vermaelen.

sigheart
post Aug 30 2011, 10:54 PM

1,442 posts

Oh yeah and apprently Squillaci has been told he could find a new club either on loan or permanently. Arsene being brutal eh.
sigheart
post Aug 30 2011, 11:25 PM

1,442 posts

Can't help but chuckle at Van P's tweet laugh.gif

Persie_Official Robin van Persie
Welcome to Chu Young Park!

This post has been edited by sigheart: Aug 30 2011, 11:25 PM
sigheart
post Aug 30 2011, 11:32 PM

1,442 posts

This comment is full of win LOL

On the signing and unveiling of pictures of Park at Arse.com:

"I hope he develops an instant friendship with Gervinho. It'll be like Rush Hour"

0.0164sec    0.63    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 06:31 PM