Arsenal Street Talk, Per 4, Arteta 8, Park 9, Santos 11

StarGhazzer
post Aug 30 2011, 11:37 AM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(telefunken @ Aug 30 2011, 09:12 AM)
the great Martin Keown prepares a blueprint for arsenal's rebuilding

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/...ng-Arsenal.html
Keown is the one of the few ex-players that always speaks sense.

I'm still quite sceptical about changing back to 442 (or 4411). With our current crop of players, a 3 man midfield with interchanging triangles is still more suitable; although I dread the static 4231 the most as it crowds the midfield yet leaves no one up front attacking the box.

However if we purchase adequate personnel in these last few days or in January, then maybe we could consider going back to a 4 man midfield. Fabregas-Flamini worked in 07/08 but I'm still cynical about Jack-Song or Jack-Ramsey... let alone Ramsey-Song.Theo is not suitable as an orthodox right winger, neither is Gervy on the left. We'll also need a partner for Robin up front and at the moment only Theo seems most appropriate. Maybe that's why we bought Park Chu Young.

As for Santos... can't say much about a player that we've rarely watched. But an experienced Brazillian international is definitely a safer bet than Traore who never really seemed to progress. Gibbs, when fit, is someone who's worth persisting with.

QUOTE(Zan81 @ Aug 30 2011, 10:01 AM)
Keown's a great defender and will always be an Arsenal legend not only for his defending, but for goading Ruud Van Horseface.

But... What has he accomplished as a coach in comparison to Arsene Wenger?

I'm with bro Sakaito. I'm confident AW will turn our season around.
Resigning now will not do us any good, in fact it will put us into more turmoil and instability.

I don't think things are as easy as we read on the media - surely there must be more things under the table going on that we've never heard about that's impeding our transfer deals.

Like Liverpool in the early stages last season, we are in a situation where an overhaul in the team is required. We need new players, but we don't need to get rid of Arsene as he is still the best person who is used to operating in such restricted resources. Furthermore, not many managers will want to put themselves in deepshit where one's hands and feet are tied in every transfer, every dealings, every operations of the club.
StarGhazzer
post Aug 30 2011, 01:11 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(MISHUGINA @ Aug 30 2011, 01:03 PM)
I hope Im wrong but if he can squeeze in Santos and sneak in Benayoun or Alex (Malouda is a little too far fetched) that would be an achievement. The Cahill saga will end up in heartbreak just like Schwarzer last Jan (Again when Wenger doesnt want to spend 5 million for a Premiership class keeper but 15 million for some ****ing teenager from Southampton, I wont be surprised if nothing is done by transfer window deadline).
Schwarzer or Wojciech?

I rest my case.

QUOTE(DannGun @ Aug 30 2011, 12:10 PM)
Rosicky and Arshavin aren't good enough. Hopefully Eden Hazard can join Arsenal! Cahill is fantastic of course! Can't wait for next match on 10th Sept and hope the team can be ready for Chelsea on 30th Oct!
Rosicky was a steal during that time. A player in his prime, impressive World Cup stint, Dortmund's midfield engine, snatched underneath the noses of Atletico Madrid, and an early signing before the transfer window went berzerk. In retrospect, his injuries have prevented us from utilising him in a consistent manner, and now he simply doesn't seem to be the player he used to be. I'd say it's bad luck more than anything else.

Arshavin was one of the star players in the world 2 years ago. What happened to him we'll probably never know, but again it's an important purchase at that time.

Should we ship those two out now? No. We need their experience, we need their quality.

But should we persist with those two in our starting 11? No. Gervy is the more exuberant player on the left, while we cannot rely on Rosicky to keep our midfield moving - Jack and Song is our undoubted first choice, while I personally think we need a more experienced player apart from Rambo who's still not quite there yet. Which is why Jadson who was previously linked made absolute sense, although that deal seemed to have died now.

Coming back to Eden Hazard... I'm not quite stoked as many others given 1) Gervy has already taken the wing 2) The player stated his desire to stay 3) Lille will be mad to sell him now that they are in the CL, just lost Gervy, and had Park Chu Young stolen by us. If we are purely looking at numbers, then Gervy is actually the better player.

Mata is one that passed us by, but can we really complain when Chelsea is willing to pay more and offers more chance of trophies? And don't forget we are pretty much doing to Lille the same thing now.

This post has been edited by StarGhazzer: Aug 30 2011, 01:15 PM
StarGhazzer
post Aug 30 2011, 07:27 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Aug 30 2011, 07:09 PM)
Joachim Löw confirms that defender Per Mertesacker has left Germany's training camp for talks.
Something's going on here...

Amongst all the defenders we're linked with this summer, Per's the one that I'm most interested in, mainly because of his national team experience and overall best statistics. Vermy's the undoubted first choice and while I am a huge Koscielny fan, I would be more than comfortable seeing Mertesacker in our defence. Let's hope there's some truth in this rumour even though it's hard to believe everything given that we're linked with pretty much everyone in the world right now.

Another day to go before the window closes. This is really shopping for Christmas presents on the 11th hour on Xmas eve.
StarGhazzer
post Aug 30 2011, 08:00 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(sakaito @ Aug 30 2011, 07:36 PM)
LOL!!
that's what u get for smiling at 8-2 scores as if u got nothing to do with it. good riddance! mad.gif
deadwood out... don't mind at all.

QUOTE(tzxsean @ Aug 30 2011, 07:44 PM)
maybe can play 4-4-1-1

move walcott to his favorite central position  laugh.gif

then ramsey shall be deputy to wilshere

and song with frimpong can be rotated

just in case no CM is bought
Then siapa main right wing?

Bloody hell this thread is moving so fast... like msn chat.

StarGhazzer
post Aug 30 2011, 08:05 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(blixtboy @ Aug 30 2011, 08:02 PM)
seriously WTF comments by Nasri

PaulHayward_gnm: Hilarious claim by Nasri that he wanted to "write history rather than be part of it." Man City offered 50 grand a week more than Man Utd.

write history rather be a part of it???

when he arrived here ain't he wanna write history as well?

and claimed his foot off the pedal bcoz no competition?

and let down his bradda gervinho?
Don't give a f*ck about that mercenary.

Great player, yet starting to lcly after only 1/2 a season and disappeared when we needed him the most after Fabs went injured for most of the second half last season, leaving Robin as the sole goalgetter.
StarGhazzer
post Aug 30 2011, 08:23 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(greenlemontea @ Aug 30 2011, 08:16 PM)
ya, man city is getting better and worth to watch, and they got alot of my favorite players, edzeko , nasri , aggureo.

i still love arsenal, but.. i got enough hard break already, and arsenal backline, i only like vermaleen, midfield - non , striker - non ...
shocking.gif

I cannot fathom how you could 'love' Arsenal without even supporting any other players apart from Vermaelen.

Guess when we play City you'll be on the other side. dry.gif shakehead.gif

QUOTE(blixtboy @ Aug 30 2011, 08:19 PM)
like my fren supported barcelona when they got henry.
Love Henry. Buck Farca.
StarGhazzer
post Aug 30 2011, 10:44 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(telefunken @ Aug 30 2011, 09:46 PM)
btw, lol at Denmark for calling bentdner. remember when they used to have brian and michael laudrup ? lol. now they have to settle for bentdner
??? Nick has already been Denmark's first choice striker in the past few years. So it's no surprise that he got picked.

QUOTE(g_pentium @ Aug 30 2011, 10:14 PM)
anelka, suker, jeffers, reyes, eduardo :s
FFFFUUUUUU...

Why lah Ah Ju... why lah take number 9?

StarGhazzer
post Aug 30 2011, 10:56 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(sigheart @ Aug 30 2011, 10:52 PM)
Conflicting reports on the Cahill situation.
http://www.caughtoffside.com/2011/08/30/arsenal-agree-14m-tr ansfer-fee-with-bolton-for-gary-cahill/
Arsenal have agreed a £14million fee with Bolton Wanderers for defender Gary Cahill.

The 25-year-old will now undergo a medical and discuss personal terms with the Gunners.

The England international has been on manager Arsene Wenger’s wanted list all summer and last week had £6million plus add-ons bid rejected by the Trotters.

But the clubs have agreed on a basic £10million fee, which could rise £4milllion, depending on Cahill’s success at the Emirates.

He had a release cluase in his contract for £17million but with only one-year remaining on the deal, Arsenal managed to persuade Bolton to sell for cheaper.

Cahill could now become Arsenal’s third defensive signing of the day following the acquisitions of Andre Santos and Per Mertesacker.

Santos, 28, has agreed a £6.2million move from Fenerbahce and will replace Gael Clichy in competing for the left-back position with Kieron Gibbs.

Mertesacker, 26, will complete his £6million from Werder Bremen once he arrives in London this afternoon for his medical.

Germany manager Joachim Low allowed the defender to leave the national squad to finalise personal terms.

Cahill and Mertesacker will now compete with each other along with Laurent Koscielny and Johan Djourou to play alongside first-choice Thomas Vermaelen.
Seriously? 2 CBs at one go? Unbelievable.

If we really sign two at once then it's pretty much adios Laci, and JD will find it hard to even sit on the bench... Kos still seems to be the more trusted amongst those three.
StarGhazzer
post Aug 31 2011, 08:58 AM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(sigheart @ Aug 30 2011, 11:32 PM)
"I hope he develops an instant friendship with Gervinho. It'll be like "Rush Hour"
The first thing that I thought of was EBOUE.

Then I realised he was gone.

QUOTE(Frostymocha @ Aug 31 2011, 12:24 AM)
Wenger has always been a fan of Arteta. But a move for him is very unlikely to happen

1. He's vital player for Everton
2. Cost a bomb
3. Very little resale value
4. He's 30 years old
5. Fragile like Van Persie
As much as I like Arteta, he's no Cesc Fabregas. Everton hasn't shown any intention to sell, we haven't shown any interest to buy. So no.

I'm more of a Tim Cahill fan, always thought he was the better player compared to Scott Parker. Will bring more goals and grit compared to Arteta too. But at his age, he's an even shorter remedy than a long term solution.

QUOTE(Azurues @ Aug 31 2011, 03:57 AM)
rofl

JackWilshere
On the last day of the transfer window I have decided that I would like to move..from the physio room back on the Emirates pitch please!#AFC
Love Jack.

Arsenal DNA.
StarGhazzer
post Aug 31 2011, 11:27 AM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(Frostymocha @ Aug 31 2011, 10:52 AM)
Not much details released about Joel Campbell.

Arsenal is struggling to get a work permit for him. He's applied under special talent visa (He's a Costa Rican)
Not sure if it's settled now.
Anyway, which arsenal blog did you guys visit? the reliable and interesting ones. There's too many out there when i googled it out
Joel Campbell failed to get a working permit, hence will be going out on loan... PSV's the likely

QUOTE('62jaguar @ Aug 31 2011, 11:12 AM)
Have 25 man regulation regulation? Sorry wat is that n are we complying with it with all the transfers coming in??
That's why despite our paper thin squad we are getting rid of many old players who are either deadwood or no longer mentally with us:

Eboue
Traore
Fabs
Nasri

Still to go : Nicklas

Last chance for salvation : Denilson, Vela (likely to be sold if they still cannot impress in their loaned teams)

No one wants to buy : Manny Al

Wouldn't mind seeing the back of, but only if there are guaranteed new signings: Diaby, Laci, JD, Tommy.

Keep Andy as a luxury substitute who could potentially come on for that one moment of magic, but with Gervy around he's unlikely to be first choice.
StarGhazzer
post Aug 31 2011, 03:18 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

Lots and lots and lots of cock.

Now Keisuke Honda is being linked too. Arsene's a huge fan given Honda's previous heroics with the national team, but is he really who we need? We need a creative midfielder/playmaker, not an attacking midfielder.

Not that I mind him joining, but seriously the name-hurling is getting out of hand now. Every player and his grandpa is being linked with Arsenal.
StarGhazzer
post Aug 31 2011, 10:27 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(slcroy @ Aug 31 2011, 09:26 PM)
@Nanas08: stop trying to made something between me and arsenal i love this club and everything around it'' except the fans..  hmm.gif
yeah yeah just stfu already samir.

QUOTE(watdafuk_abn @ Aug 31 2011, 10:05 PM)
Santos 11??? Wow, vela not in AW's plans??
Well Denilson's 15 has also been taken by Ox, so not surprising that Vela's number is gone too.

I really doubt Vela will be in Arsene's long term plans now that we have Ryo, Gervy, Theo, and Ox for the future. If he impresses in Spain then maybe there's a chance, but he couldn't even make it into WBA's first team so that says something.

QUOTE(waruna @ Aug 31 2011, 10:05 PM)
Next: Per, Vargas, Kaka, Alonso, Pepe, Ozil
u ingat kita Real Marsenal ke? tongue.gif

And welcome Andre !! Not a huge fan of defenders wearing attacker numbers given Gallas10 didn't really last long, but oh well.
Would be swell had it been SANTOS 2, a proper fullback number. Diaby can take any other number for all I care since he spends more time in the treatment room.
StarGhazzer
post Aug 31 2011, 10:45 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

I haven't seen Ramsey do anything incredible to suggest that he can fill in Fabs's boots.

He's a decent player, if anything above the level of his same age peers; but can we really depend on a 20 year old who missed a full season of development, who so far has only had 1 truly impressive game since his fracture (1-0 over MU), and who hasn't really shown the creativity, the leadership, plus the majestic aura that a top class midfielder should have.

So no, I am not content with Rambo as our number 1 midfielder for now; he'll benefit from having someone to share the burden with too.
StarGhazzer
post Sep 1 2011, 12:20 AM

太空人
5,355 posts

Welcome Per Per !!

Looks like we've got ourselves a new dancer...

Eboue sends his regards from Turkey.

StarGhazzer
post Sep 1 2011, 09:33 AM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(DannGun @ Sep 1 2011, 08:38 AM)
Our midfield quite crowded huh! Frimpong, Benayoun, Arteta, Wilshire, Song, ramsey, Diaby hehe
Is Benayoun really skillful? Never watchd him played before
Yossi? Very skillful, and in fact will be a good addition to our club. If anything, he is the one who resembles Bobby (no, not just the hair) the most in our current squad.

OK, a summary of all our last minute raya shopping:

So 5 players in 3 days' time. And each and everyone of them is capable to playing in the starting 11 straight away. Good job I must say. This is the kind of transfer window we're all dying for.

The other newbies:

For those who left:

Much have been said about Nasri, Clichy, and Fabs so I'll leave them out.

So where do all of these leave us?

Had we gotten all these players in preseason we could have tried out different formations, including an orthodox 442/4411... We just don't have time for that now. Anyway, possible permutations in our current system:

Woj
Bak-Per/Kos-Vermy-Santos
Jack-Arteta/Rambo-Song
Theo/Yossi-Robin-Gervy/Andy

This will probably be our first choice players and starting 11.

But I'm more interested in seeing whether we could play our old 4411 as the invincibles.
Woj
Bak-Per/Kos-Vermy-Santos
Yossi-Arteta-Jack-Gervy
Robin
Park/Theo

This post has been edited by StarGhazzer: Sep 1 2011, 09:45 AM
StarGhazzer
post Sep 1 2011, 11:11 AM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(Frostymocha @ Sep 1 2011, 10:37 AM)
Find out more about... Per Mertesacker
Per Mertesacker became Arsène Wenger’s seventh signing of the summer when he joined the Club from Werder Bremen on Wednesday.

Here are ten facts you may not know about Arsenal’s new number 4:

Per was born in Hannover on 29 September, 1984.
Known for his great height, he stands at a lofty 6 feet 6 inches.
Per made 142 league appearances in his five years at Werder Bremen, scoring 12 goals.
He is also an established international for Germany, with 75 caps to his name.
He made his debut for the national side under Jurgen Klinsmann against Iran in 2004.
Per scored his one and only goal for Germany in a 2-1 Confederations Cup victory over Australia back in 2005.
He scored a debut Champions League goal against Chelsea back in 2006.
Per's boyhood club is Hannover 96, for whom he made 74 league appearances in three years.
Per was dubbed 'the Defence Pole' by the German media upon breaking through into Hannover's first team.
He has a clean reputation in Germany, picking up just one yellow and one red card in the last four Bundesliga seasons.
11. Per = Gooner
http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/football/...ur-of-need.html

12. Mrs Mertesacker = hot.

13. Why the hell does he look like Hleb in that picture?

QUOTE(QuickFire @ Sep 1 2011, 10:46 AM)
Thank god Arteta did not join Chelsea. Imagine what John Terry would have done to his wife...

Mrs Arteta has now surpassed Mrs van Persie as Arsenal's number 1 WAG.

QUOTE(Frostymocha @ Sep 1 2011, 10:56 AM)
Wenger's main interest is on Cahill due to his experience in BPL, but with Bolton's Coyle acting like a ****, Wenger drop the interest. Per is good, but unproven in EPL. Hopefully he will teach our defenders a lesson on how to tackle properly
Can't blame Owen Coyle. He would have wanted to keep one of his best players, like how we wanted to keep Fabs. We could still chamakh him next summer, but of course there'll be more people vying for his signature.

QUOTE(rosicky_return @ Sep 1 2011, 11:01 AM)
oh, wait.. after all this.. Wenger still kept Cesc $$ in safe?... lolz
Having money in the pocket doesn't mean you have to spend all of them at once. And don't forget transfer fees side, there's also player wages to consider.

I'm glad that we managed to sign 5 players at the cost of just slightly over what we got paid for Samir Nasri. We got rid of a player whose heart is no longer with us, destroyed his relationship with fans, and lost his focus after January. For that we got 5 players who are all experienced veterans, 1 of them being a Gooner since childhood.

My only complaint is why couldn't we sell Nasri in July and use the money back then. We'd have seen our new recruits being tested during preseason.

This post has been edited by StarGhazzer: Sep 1 2011, 11:14 AM
StarGhazzer
post Sep 1 2011, 11:58 AM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(madblacktt @ Sep 1 2011, 11:51 AM)
ok after this freekick can let arteta take ...sick of RVP aeroplane balls

park & gervi will bang in the goals....

RVP can warm the bench..sick of his below par performance
wtf are you talking about? Robin's still our best player. Who pulled us through Feb-May when Fabs went injured and Nasri went mentally AWOL?
StarGhazzer
post Sep 1 2011, 12:28 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(BaboonZ @ Sep 1 2011, 12:15 PM)
Its Arteta for me. He's looks the most assured of all the signings.

I have my doubts over the rest.

PCY - Unimpressive strike rate. For a team challenging for title like us, we expect at least a Mario Gomez or Edinson Cavani. Another Chamakh in the making?

Benayoun - Has not played regularly for the past few seasons. Another Rosicky.

Santos - Well documented issues with his concentration on the pitch. More like Kieran Gibbs than Ashley Cole.

Mertesacker - Too slow for AW's high line. Only time will tell whether he will end up like Tony Adams/Martin Keown (success) or Pascal Cygan/Igor Stepanovs/Phillippe Senderos (flops).

We could make a poll for this.
I don't understand where the "slow" opinion of Per is coming from. Positioning is more important than pure pace for a defender - if you block or intercept a pass you don't need to scurry back to sweep. This is where Sol Campbell excelled, never the fastest defender but one of England's best in his time. And is Gary Cahill significantly faster? Unlikely.

Ju's strike rate is more Chamakh than Henry, but it's a low risk gamble. Not many strikers are available on the market, not at the 11th hour. If I'm being honest, I'd rather see Ju up front than Joel; one's a proven international regular, the other just started his career.

Can't complain about Santos either. Will only make a judgement when he has more games under his belt.

Comparing Yossi to Rosicky is ridiculous. They are different players, and Yossi's contributions to Liverpool is much more prominent than Tommy's to us in past few seasons. Having Yossi is a bonus, and they can be used in different ways - Yossi to provide more zest in attack, Tommy to stabilise/hold the midfield when needed.

I quote:
I know what you like.
I know what you want.
You want a signing.
And when you get one, you’ll wish it was taller.
And if it’s taller, you’ll wish it was faster.
And if it’s faster, you’ll wish it was stronger
And if it’s stronger, you’ll wish it was more experienced.
And if it’s experienced, you’ll wish it was better with the ball.
And if it’s good with the ball, you’ll wish it was English.
And if it’s English, you’ll wish it was better value.
And if it’s a good value, you’ll wish it played a different position.
You won’t get consensus from Arsenal supporters until the club sign XI new players in every position, all world class, youth prospects, on the cheap, who are tall, powerful, adept with the ball, experienced, English, and childhood supporters of the club.
And then you’ll wish we hadn’t signed so many players.

http://www.7amkickoff.com/2011/an-arsenal-...erenity-prayer/

To all,
stop whining, start supporting !

Forever Arsenal.

This post has been edited by StarGhazzer: Sep 1 2011, 12:30 PM

0.0267sec    0.53    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 03:44 AM