Custom TV Cabinet Quote Needed, pls quote me

lizziewong
post Aug 29 2011, 10:57 AM

185 posts

What is the depth of you cabinets? If the cost not too much, I wld also like to hve sthg like this...

This post has been edited by lizziewong: Aug 29 2011, 10:59 AM
lizziewong
post Aug 29 2011, 11:25 AM

185 posts

QUOTE(sheraton @ Aug 29 2011, 11:16 AM)
I'm looking for 16"-18" depth. So far Tim from Eleganz Concept quoted me around 9k for the whole thing. Still looking for more quotes.  smile.gif
9k is for what material?

So far I see if you wnat to have frameless doors without handle, u either use the blum tip-off (to press n open doors) or if u use the acrylic material door (which is tapered at the edge so you finger can hold n pull the door open)....
lizziewong
post Aug 29 2011, 11:28 AM

185 posts

QUOTE(enriquelee @ Aug 29 2011, 11:24 AM)
What is the material used? Perhaps, you wanna mention the specification here in order for others to give you an apple to apple quotation.
Yeah specification is important.... soft close hinges? fully extendable drawers?
lizziewong
post Aug 29 2011, 08:27 PM

185 posts

QUOTE(wrb7878 @ Aug 29 2011, 02:16 PM)
i think Unity have do something like this as well, u can check with him the price.

http://s668.photobucket.com/albums/vv50/Un...-09-09_1508.jpg

http://s668.photobucket.com/albums/vv50/Un...nt=DSC_1336.jpg
These cabinets done by unity do not have clean lines, and the build-in alum handles make them look like kitchen cabinets....
lizziewong
post Aug 30 2011, 11:00 AM

185 posts

To have clean lines, you need to use a material such as acrylic that can be done with a tapered edge for the fingers to hold the door and open. Another option is using the Blum Tip-on, very expensive for so many doors. Ikea also sells a similar tip-on but look very flimsy and some showroom units koyak already.

A new type of build-in handle which I saw at a homedec stall by D'Format uses a U channel piece of aluminium. The door fitted with this, will not show a visiible aluminium handle. This cld be the cheapest soulution. So far, I have only seen this at D'Format, and Aldo's. Hopefully other cabinet makers will also catch on with this....
lizziewong
post Aug 30 2011, 11:37 AM

185 posts

QUOTE(sheraton @ Aug 30 2011, 11:28 AM)
i used to see these kinda design for cabinet. The door has clean line as the handle is just below the door. Something like this:

They don't do it anymore? hmm.gif
This design achieves the clean lines, but not so practical... one gotta bend to open.. tough on the back!! But of course, if u choose the teeny weeny door knob (sold in Ikea RM9 for 2 pc), it is not so visible and can be nice too..
lizziewong
post Aug 30 2011, 12:14 PM

185 posts

QUOTE(sheraton @ Aug 30 2011, 12:03 PM)
Thanks you Phoenix. Poor man like me don't have money to hire ID so gotta DIY lor. If i can manage to modify those IKEA cabinet i might even consider it.  rclxms.gif Still in the process of planning. Last nite i check out those IKEA hacker website. Really impressed!
The IKEA Besta range of cabinets may work for you... although I am not sure if they are lasting. On the other hand, the build-ins that I have used over the years, I find them to be better for wear. Based on your requirement, even the Besta cabinets wld cost 5k or thereabout... U can use the Ikea Planner at the homepage to work out the cost and layout.

I am following your thread to see how your project turns out, pls post your finished project for sharing.

0.0188sec    0.49    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 01:18 AM