6 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 >Bottom

English Clubs Liverpool Football Club - The Kop Talks 2011, Liverpool 2 -1 Wolves : LS7 scored again

Duke Red
post Sep 20 2011, 07:41 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(sKyWiR3pT3lTd @ Sep 20 2011, 02:39 AM)
It reminds me of the incident during the Gerrard's final 2006. Six of us from my IT team went on to watch the Cup final in a mamak. While enjoying the food , we were stunned with Carra's own goal , followed by Dean Ashton's goal in the space of 8-9 mins (if i recall correctly). I was suppose to be at my childhood friend's wedding on the evening , despite the invitation , i went on and watched the lads , ffs..it's a Cup final, i told myself that i'm not gonna miss it.

We had all breathed well the moment after Cisse scored the 1st goal (with captain's assist). We were frustrated , but were happy with the lads performance. That goes the first half with 1-2 down. We were discussing who should be in and out, while 2nd half kicked off. We were singing YNWA with the fans in the stadium as loud as we could. Gerrard equalised with a stunning volley. We all jumped in joy like there's no tomorrow.

Till Konchesky scored the 3rd goal, we were hoping for the best. We almost gave up till the extra time. One of my colleague called the waiter and told the bloke to "kira boss". We all got up from the seat, and there was announcement from the telly that there will be 4 added minutes. We turned when we heard Martin Tyler shouted "Gerrard oh"..., we sat back again and we were stunned with the Captain's screamer.

This is the only incident i could remember , that i had almost left the telly, just couldn't watch any longer Reds losing. We kept on ordering packs of ciggy as the tense rises while clock ticking to the end of the 120 mins.

We left the mamak with smile on our faces. We couldn't stop talking about the game.
Oh yes, we sat till the cup presenting ceremony
Aye it was an awesome game of football. I was at a viewing party in 1 Utama at the time watching it with a couple of hundred other reds. As the players were lining up to take the pens, my mates and I were all on our feet with our hands on one another's shoulder as the players do at the centre circle.

Great goal from Gerrard. When asked about the goal, he plainly said that he was too tired to run anymore which is why he decided to belt it from distance.
Duke Red
post Sep 20 2011, 09:02 PM

6,112 posts

Please stop spamming and behaving like children. If you guys want to continue arguing about bookies, start a topic and take it there.
Duke Red
post Sep 20 2011, 09:39 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(leaF @ Sep 20 2011, 09:17 PM)
digilife , dont reply back ..just press the report button and see what mod can do =D multiple reports been made to him and he still here trolling ,what else can we say ? There is certain people that are happy when looking someone facing a problem or in trouble , just let him be , as long everyone is happy .
It isn't just one way traffic I assure you. I myself can't stand him constantly blaming the ref for our defeat while at the same time ignoring the fact that Spurs were brilliant. It's like King Kenny said, credit needs to be given to them for taking the game to us. Claiming that the match was fixed and all isn't any better and I'd much rather we own up and admit that we were poor on that day than find excuses, especially ones with no shred of evidence. We may as well blame the grass for being too long then. We were poor and people should deal with it instead of being in denial.
Duke Red
post Sep 21 2011, 09:45 AM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(REDShaun @ Sep 21 2011, 09:14 AM)
asking a bunch of trolls not to provoke is like asking neanderthals to walk straight with their spine up smile.gif

It takes years for them (trolls) to evolve. most are just starting from a uni-cell state (see their comments) so don't bother with a bunch of amoeba talking or trolling in our thread. Just press the report button.

Anyway tonight's game would be a good one. Brighton are no pushover especially in their homeground. If i am not mistaken Brighton is also sitting 3rd on the championship. not easy indeed.

YNWA!
I personally feel the latest tirade of comments was tiring but justified. I can't stand it when we start to blame our defeat on everything but ourselves.
Duke Red
post Sep 21 2011, 02:30 PM

6,112 posts

I share the opinion that Suarez operates better as a lone striker. He likes it when the defender is close up against him so he can quickly turn away from him and burst away. For that, he needs space. Having someone with very little mobility like Carroll next to him, you get the feeling that a strike partner will only get in his way. I'd like to see Suarez lead the line with a 2nd wave of support from the likes of Kuyt, Downing, etc. Suarez can get behind defenders with his pace, guile and quick turns but he needs support to play ball back across goal to.
Duke Red
post Sep 22 2011, 03:34 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(Rotuham @ Sep 21 2011, 03:30 PM)
Dont want lone striker bro.Leads to over reliance on him.We need two to help share the burden.Unless you have a world class midfield and wing like spain then you can play lone striker.Ours currently is nowhere near there.If you see the man city match last season suarez and carroll linked up well and that was our best attacking performance.

To justify why i think we cant play lone formation is we dont have possession 60% or more.Spain,barca are like this and most of the time they are in opponents half
so the striker doesnt get isolated.We on many occasions have to counter attack so once the striker needs someone close.After alonso left torres was very isolated as lucas and mascherano cant feed the ball.I doubt there are many teams that win trophies primarily with lone striker formation apart from barca,spain of course.Please correct me if i am wrong.Even our successful sides were built on keegan toshack,rush dalglish partnerships.
Well maybe lone striker isn't the most accurate term to use. I think a lot of teams these days deploy a 4-4-1-1 formation with an auxiliary striker supporting the lone front man ala Torres - Gerrard. Rafa often plays with a lone striker from his time at Valencia when Mista lead the line at the Mestalla. He preferred his goals to come from midfield. Some examples of secondary/support/second strikers are Jari Litmanen, Teddy Sheringham, Dennis Bergkamp, Peter Beardsley and Ruud Gullit. The idea is that the second striker can drop back into midfield and become more involved the game and you'll note that most of them are creative and can play passes, unlike more direct strikers.

Your example of Toshack-Keegan is akin to the big man - small man combinations of Heskey-Owen and Quinn-Philips. These used to work on the past when English sides in particular played route 1 football often. The idea was for the big man to knock the ball into space for the small man to run into. Few teams use this tactic now. Strikers are now by and large, no longer huge lumbering giants who can only head the ball. The likes of Carroll and Crouch can play with their feet unlike say, Duncan Ferguson.

You're right. Playing a lone front man with no support is a bad idea. It's how Hodgson played Torres and even when he inserted N'Gog to keep him company, they were so isolated, their partnership was ineffective. Unless you have attacking players in midfield, it's futile to have 2 blokes stranded alone up front, hence one should play in front of the other i.e. 4-4-1-1 like when Beardsley played behind Rush.

The idea of having Suarez lead the line therefore was not to have him isolated but to have someone like Gerrard supporting him as a second striker, a role our captain filled really well when he played behind Torres.

QUOTE(madmoz @ Sep 22 2011, 09:39 AM)
And is it me or has Reina's penalty saving mojo gone on a season long loan to timbuktu?
Aye, came with quite a reputation saving about 60% of penalties taken against him or something. Maybe he needs a routine like Grobbelar or Dudek to screw with the mind of the penalty taker.

Added on September 22, 2011, 3:38 pmAnyone know if there is a replay of the game. Came home late last night but failed to stay up long due to alcohol overdose.

This post has been edited by Duke Red: Sep 22 2011, 03:38 PM
Duke Red
post Sep 22 2011, 05:02 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(leaF @ Sep 22 2011, 04:28 PM)
here full 10 minutes highlights included the few tries that hit the bar and both manager interview.

http://www.lfc.vn/matchs/videos/c3-highlig...of-the-day.html

I missed the match and after finished the highlights I think Maxi , Kuyt and Bellamy are brilliant in looking for best position.For 2nd goals , there are only Kuyt and Maxi that made the run from our counter attacks. I hope Maxi can feature more in league games.
Thanks for that.

We should really have wrapped the match up in the first half. We hit the post 3 times and had Suarez been more clinical, we could have opened up a comfortable lead but instead we let Brighton back in during the 2nd half. What a rocket from Bellamy by the way. Smacked the post proper it did. I'm rather surprised we didn't start Doni. He is surely one of the better backup keepers in the league and if he doesn't get to play in the first round of the League Cup, one wonders if he'll ever get a game if Reina stays fit.

Glaring mistake from Coates which almost cost us a goal. If you ask me it was defending 101. Playing the ball across your own penalty box is a no-no if you have opposition strikers waiting to pounce. You get away with it sometimes but it really isn't worth the risk. Hoping he'll settle in soon.

Mistake from Spearing, I think everyone agrees. If I'm to scrutinise, I'd say Carra was a little rash in sliding in as it was a tight angle and it was probably wiser if he had stayed on his feet.

On a last note, I was surprised to see Vicente on the Brighton bench!
Duke Red
post Sep 22 2011, 07:09 PM

6,112 posts

I actually prefer Kelly over Johnson. Whilst Johnson is arguably better going forward, I think Kelly is a better defender and at 6'3", he's better at cutting out crosses to our far post. It says something that Johnson was played on the left last season to accommodate Martin Kelly whom I rate really highly. I think he's been really consistent since breaking into the first team, offensively and defensively. Johnson is a little more erratic and prone to the odd mistake.

Duke Red
post Sep 22 2011, 10:11 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(ChelseaFan @ Sep 22 2011, 09:43 PM)
How much would u value Andy "Carthorse" Carroll?
When a rich billionaire give u 50M for ur used car and u spent 35M on a Pogo stick.
Make no logic @ all.

In King Kenny we trust. drool.gif
and guess where we got the $50 million quid from? thanks for buying a lemon, moron.
Duke Red
post Sep 23 2011, 11:35 AM

6,112 posts

I've been backing Carroll since the start but even I'd have to admit that he's looked nothing like the player I saw in Newcastle. Could be his price tag, or it could be he's still suffering from a hangover after celebrating a big money move but he's been looking sluggish. For a big bloke, he's been shoved off the ball too often for my liking. Maybe a run in the ressies will do him some good.
Duke Red
post Sep 23 2011, 04:17 PM

6,112 posts

Yup, Shankly loved mind games. It has also been said that the home dressing room door way was made lower to make the players look bigger as they walked out.
Duke Red
post Sep 25 2011, 06:29 PM

6,112 posts

Some ridiculous comments on Carroll IMO. Sure, he's not at his best but if you've seen him play for Newcastle, you'll note that he does have talent. What hasn't he settled into life at Anfield? Who knows? Could be the pressure from having a huge price tag over your head. Could be he's adjusting to King Kenny's style of play. The thing is, the new season is just 6 games old which is a little too soon to consider drastic measures like loaning him out blink.gif . I don't think he had a bad game last night. He tried to turn creator and hit a wonderful pass across goal for Suarez. He had one header saved by Hennessy and another that cannoned off the post. He was perhaps a little over ambitious at the end but nonetheless, showed some good close control. I don't see how he had a bad game last night.

Let's get some perspective shall we? Surely some of you didn't expect the likes of Adam to be the same player Xabi was, or Henderson to instantly turn into a Steven Gerrard? I have to admit that I don't think Henderson has done well since joining but I also do consider that he's even younger than Martin Kelly at the moment and what King Kenny sees is potential so don't expect him to be world class all of a sudden. Adam is only in his 2nd season in the top flight and he joined from Blackpool, not Real Madrid so we shouldn't expect miracles out of him.

Duke Red
post Sep 26 2011, 07:58 AM

6,112 posts

The Merseyside Derby is one of the oldest in England and perhaps the most unique in that it's common to have members from the same family supporting opposite sides. Also, form goes out the window as both teams fight for bragging rights. Having said that, Everton are if you ask me, a weaker team than they were last season having had to sell players like Arteta and Yakubu. If we are to be serious contenders for a top four finish, we have to beat them as I imagine all our rivals will. There's nothing I'd like better than to see Tim Cahill in absolute misery.
Duke Red
post Sep 26 2011, 04:33 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(ayam001 @ Sep 26 2011, 04:13 PM)
DUke, it is same with our place here at malaysia? i mean is it like kelantan vs terengganu?
hope Benitez only replacements for KD in the future..  brows.gif
Well not really. Evertonians and Liverpudians live in the same area and even under the same roof. You guys live apart and from what I've learned speaking to locals, the East Coast rivalry is a little more akin to Liverpool vs. Man Utd.
Duke Red
post Sep 27 2011, 06:01 PM

6,112 posts

One must be able to see the future to predetermine when to bring a sub on. If a team is playing well and players aren't tired, why risk breaking their rhythm unless you're changing tactics? It's wise to resist bringing a sub on early in the event someone gets injured or sent off. I don't see why King Kenny should bring on subs earlier just for the sake of it.
Duke Red
post Sep 28 2011, 11:44 AM

6,112 posts

Building a spine
Ah the age old debate on rotation. Rafa was criticised for practicing this policy during his tenure and unfairly so as other managers did the same as well. I personally believe in what Shankly said when he first began to rebuild the team, that the team should be built around a strong spine, Goalkeeper / Centre Half / Creative Player / Goal Scorer. He started by signing Ron Yeats and Ian St John. It seems that Rafa attempted to carry on the tradition by building the team around Steven Gerrard and Jamie Carragher, adding Pepe Reina and who some of us thought was the final piece of the jigsaw, Fernando Torres into the mix. It almost worked for us though didn't it? We finished 2nd in the league with these 4 players onboard only for us to lose arguably our most creative player, Xabi Alonso the following season.

Fast forward a couple of years and few would argue that Carra is getting on whilst Gerrard is becoming more injury prone as he was early in his career. If we do manage to convince Pepe and Suarez to stay, who then would replace Carra and Stevie? It remains to be seen if the likes of Henderson and Coates will be stalwarts in the team for years to come. In short the core of the team should remain. Some players need to play as often as they can, the rest can be rotated.

The Merseyside Derby
I tend to think we need more steel in derby games and the inclusion of combative players will be a plus. The Dirk Kuyt article was an interesting one and I'd like to see him start against Everton. The rest of the team will be pretty much the same I imagine. Question marks over whether or not either Carroll or Gerrard will start. Our captain is being eased back into the team after a lengthy layoff and to play him for a full 90 mins in a fiery derby may not be the wisest thing to do. Sure it's a game we want to win but we've still a long way to go this season. Carroll did well against Wolves and I imagine he'll start as well.
Duke Red
post Sep 29 2011, 02:22 PM

6,112 posts

German strikers in the Premier League? Rare, perhaps but with good reason. The German's haven't churned out too many quality forwards since the Klinsmann, Voeller era. Lukas Podolski plays well during World Cup tournaments but disappears at club level. The exceptions could be Miroslav Klose and possibly even Oliver Bierhoff but the likes of Carsten Jancker, Oliver Neuville, Fredi Bobic and Gerald Asamoah weren't exactly prolific. Mario Gomes is in form now but so was Kevin Kuranyi a few seasons back. Of all the top nations in the world (i.e. Italy, Brazil, France, Argentina, England, Spain), I think Germany has had the least amount of prolific forwards in the past 2 decades.

A lesser know German forward who I thought had some degree of success in Premier League was Uwe Rosler when he was at Man City. He averaged a goal every 3 games which is a pretty decent considering he wasn't a full blown international.
Duke Red
post Sep 29 2011, 03:41 PM

6,112 posts

I won't be around tomorrow and thought I'd post this today. Tomorrow will mark the 30th anniversary of Bill Shankly's death, a sad sad day for any Kopite. Here's an interview with Karen Gill, his granddaughter.

http://www.liverpoolfc.tv/news/latest-news...ny-100-per-cent

Fields of Anfield Road
Outside the Shankly Gates
I heard a Kopite calling
Shankly they have taken you away
But you left a great eleven
Before you went to heaven
Now it's glory round the Fields of Anfield Road.

All round the Fields of Anfield Road
Where once we watched the King Kenny play (and he could play)
We had Heighway on the wing
We had dreams and songs to sing
Of the glory round the Fields of Anfield Road

Hope you guys carry on with more tributes and postings on Shankly tomorrow.
Duke Red
post Sep 30 2011, 08:05 AM

6,112 posts

Today should be a happy day for me. My colleagues and I will be leaving for Janda Baik soon for our team building exercise. However my thoughts are fixated on a man who made us what we are today. A man who literally rolled up his sleeves to personally help rebuild an ailing club. A man who is gone but should never ever be forgotten. I never met the man nor was I even a fan when he left us but it speaks volumes of his stature that even so, someone like me can feel so connected. Having read about him and listened to stories from the lucky few who knew him, it's as though I do know him but that was Shankly for you. Someone who was so in tuned with the fans, who was always willing to listen, to stop to have a chat and to give us his time of day.

It's weird Shanks. I never met you and yet I miss you.

They might have taken you away 30 years ago, but we will never forget what you have done for us. You took us from being an ailing club languishing in the 2nd division to being one of the most feared sides in Europe. You instilled in us values that we hold dear to until today. They may accuse us of living in the past but that is just testament to you and what you achieved. That we still talk about you like you were still around yesterday tells you how much we miss you. It tells you how grateful we are not just to have had you as a manager, but a fellow fan. You may be gone but I guarantee, you will never be forgotten. Rest in peace Bill. Just as you are always looking down on us from above, we are always looking back up. YNWA.

This post has been edited by Duke Red: Sep 30 2011, 08:23 AM

Duke Red
post Sep 30 2011, 05:21 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(normeck @ Sep 30 2011, 10:44 AM)
so close but yet too far. Im working at Janda Baik. .. Seri Dinar Training Retreat. hehhe.. welcome to Janda Baik...so how you gonna watch the game?
I passed your place going in mate. It was just a day trip and I'm back now so I'll likely watch the game tomorrow in Kelana Jaya smile.gif

QUOTE(hyperyouth_firepower @ Sep 30 2011, 04:07 PM)
happy birthday, Shankly.

Guys, I think even though we're the forumers, I think its probably about time we take one step further to help do something ala the times where we all would meet up or something like that. Like for Hillsborough, or for Heysel, or the occasions that matter.

I think its also important having the presence, I mean...

gwargh, i can't get my thoughts through. anyone on the same wavelength i am in? probably could explain / expand better.
Dude aren't you in KK though? Btw, it's the anniversary of his passing.

6 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0459sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 09:38 AM