Downlight Quality Concern, Sharing the poor quality downlight

TSleeyung
post Aug 27 2011, 09:56 PM, updated 15y ago

1st LYN Pioneer Genuine Marimo Seller
885 posts

Hi all, reading through several downlight related threads, found out no one mentioning the downlight quality issue as I think it might not be a big concern/big deal until today I took some sample downlights from a shop and I found out these. Kindly refer to the photos below for much better illustrations and elaborations.

You all may quite familiar with this design of simple downlight smile.gif I took 2 samples which are size 4 inch and 6 inch.
Before we install the downlight together with reflector, we should see something as above which are the downlight casing(the white ring) + supports(the black frame). When I have a close up inspection on the quality suddenly found out that the 6 inch one quite abnormal

there are additional unusual holes on the casing as in the photo above.

another close up on the unusual holes. This might not be a big deal as when you fix the reflector, everything are covered up. But I am just curious is this suppose to be on the 6 inch downlight?

seem like there is a missing support as the additional holes are actually used to fix the 4 supports instead of just 3? as below

Other than that, I felt like the supports are forced to be fixed on the 6 inch frame until they are deformed to be out of shape as below

I took another close up inspection on the 4 inch one, everything nicely done without additional holes or out of shape

Sharing is caring, just to share out and see any sifus here are actually know about this or not, dont shoot me la ok? Just FYI, I quoted a few shops for this design of downlight and this shop is selling the cheapest among others. Therefore I would like to ask about the unusual thing as above as I was thinking that this is the reason for the shop to sell cheap notworthy.gif

TSleeyung
post Aug 27 2011, 10:27 PM

885 posts

QUOTE(Eleganz Concept @ Aug 27 2011, 10:03 PM)
will you feel that, if that 6in downlight having that additional support, will it look uneven? the 3 support are very close to each other, but another 1 is a bit far.. So for this reason, i believe that 3 support may be consider as normal.
Herm hmm.gif It sounds correct also regarding the uneven look if 4 supports. But just felt weird why there are additional holes in which we are not going to use. Further more the deformed/out of shape bulb holder really looks weird, this will affect the light bulb position level and hence affect the light directivity.

I just did a comparison between 6inch and 4inch, the supports for both of them are exactly the same, so it seems like they are using 4inch support to fix on the 6inch one and end up forced until out of shape. Like kena paksa one. Is there any difference of height between the 6inch and 4inch downlight? I will pay a visit to the shop when I am available to reconfirm this.

Btw, based on your experiences on the reno, this kind of downlight should have 3 supports or 4 supports? Because I saw a lot of your nice art with downlight too brows.gif drool.gif So you are having higher chance than use to deal with downlight too rolleyes.gif

Added on August 27, 2011, 10:46 pm
QUOTE(weikee @ Aug 27 2011, 10:14 PM)
Is more on build quality, most china made is like this. And the bulb holding depend on the bulb you need to use the shop will fix it for you.

For the more quality build down light, even the reflector are made of thicker and harder  material. But it cost 3 to 5x more. Just do the math, if you keen I think there is one shop in ss2 import the Europe made down light.
Icic. Thanks for the info, bro. Based on the build quality, I guess this one should be china made. But, I'm still confused about the bulb holder. In what case will they change the bulb holder as I felt this seems to be quite low quality? They quoted me this for E27.

This post has been edited by leeyung: Aug 27 2011, 10:46 PM
TSleeyung
post Aug 28 2011, 10:22 AM

885 posts

QUOTE(lhsmedphy @ Aug 28 2011, 02:06 AM)
The way I see - it's physics. Newton's First Law of Motion. You need only 3 (minimum) to achieve static equilibrium. Why you want to have another one when 3 already serve its purpose? To increase the cost of the product unnecessarily?
off topic though but would to clarify about the Newton's First Law Motion as inappropriate application from your side.

According to Newton's First Law:
The velocity of an object/body will remain constant unless the body is acted upon by an external force

Simply say
The object that is at rest will stay at rest unless an additional force acts upon it.
The object that is in motion will not change its velocity unless an additional force acts upon it.

3 Is not the minimum to achieve static equilibrium, you can use only 1 support & manage to hang the downlight at static equilibrium as assuming no any other directional/additional forces act towards the frame, the only force is the gravitational force produced by earth. whistling.gif

Added on August 28, 2011, 10:28 am
QUOTE(Jo_da48 @ Aug 28 2011, 09:33 AM)
Sorry, Is that all 6 inch or only the particular that you get have the extra holes?
I only have 1 unit of 6 inch and 1 unit of 4 inch as samples. This is because I would like to see how is the feeling for different size on the ceiling. My next visit to the shop I will check the rest see whether they consist of the additional holes or not ohmy.gif. Btw, do you see such case on your downlight?

This post has been edited by leeyung: Aug 28 2011, 10:28 AM
TSleeyung
post Aug 28 2011, 11:16 PM

885 posts

QUOTE(Bishop @ Aug 28 2011, 10:48 PM)
What are your concerns? 3/4 legs. Extra unused holes?

You are buying some really cheap fittings. Don't expect too much.

The difference with quality fittings and cheap is in the built quality and unseen research. Good fittings have reflectors that dont cause glare. Next time you go shopping, go look at Zara shop. They use Erco fittings(German made). Look at the light. There is no glare unless you are looking directly at the bulb. There are cheaper variants of it.

When buying lights, don't keep looking for the cheapest. Look at the lighting quality that it produce. You already spent so much on the house, why save on one of the most important aspect of the space - the light. Lighting is what creates the ambiance in your home. Bad lighting design and fitting will make the nicest house look bad.
Aiya bro, dont straight jump to conclusion la, I'm here to ask and discuss the issue only. No offence. Sometimes cheap things do not mean all those poor quality things, same for the case as there are expensive things but with low quality. I'm new with downlights, and thats why in order not to get con by the shop, so I'm here to seek for advice. And by the way, I am not looking for the cheapest downlight in market. The 'cheapest' I mean is exactly same model and quality but a lot different in price from this shop compared to other shops around my area, and the main reason it is cheaper than other shops is because the shop having Raya promotion. Of course I know those 3x or 5x more expensive downlights have better quality. But sometimes it depends on budget also, thats why I'm surveying around for mid-range downlights instead. And thanks for your comments. I do agree that 'Lighting is what creates the ambiance in your home' thumbup.gif and thats why I'm here to discuss about the mentioned issue and see if anybody face the same situation or not.

0.0239sec    0.22    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 09:40 PM