Buying Gold As Investment V3 - $1950?, Gold rush brings windfalls and warnings

vincentwmh
post Sep 20 2011, 03:10 PM

476 posts

was told, major sell down currently underway... how true, not too sure but tipoff by ppl in investment industry.
vincentwmh
post Sep 23 2011, 10:01 AM

476 posts

damn, i sold my paper gold at 1744 early aug, now at current low at 1747 tho, i need to fork up so much more in RM for the same weight entry back NOW...
vincentwmh
post Sep 23 2011, 11:55 AM

476 posts

QUOTE(keii-kun @ Sep 23 2011, 10:14 AM)
already take profit ok what, rather than loss. just average ur purchase lor.

just look for nx opportunity laugh.gif no need to curse urself laugh.gif
yes agree, i don mind taken less profit, rather than loss (like makan cucumber, chop both ends, eat middle will do);
the cursing is rather for not able to be load in the gold-wagon again till now...still tikam tikam when to dive in..ombak & wave damn volotile..shhhisss
vincentwmh
post Sep 23 2011, 03:55 PM

476 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Sep 23 2011, 03:40 PM)
Its dangerous to buy gold now. The only thing keeping gold prices here in Malaysia high is the US dollar. But the USD wont stay up for long. The Feds will start to liquidate the dollar soon as the high dollar is hurting exports. The same as what happened to the Swiss Franc. And when the dollar drops, the gold prices in Malaysia will drop much lower. I would advise caution and a wait & see attitude now.

Assuming the dollar drops to its 'normal' price, and world gold prices remain at current levels, we would be looking at RM 170+ for gold in Malaysia. But if gold drops below 1,700 and the dollar retreats, then we could see gold prices in Malaysia drop to below RM 170 soon.

Alot will depend on the decision by EU and IMF whether to make another payment to Greece or not by October. Right now most investors are dumping gold to raise money to cover losses. But this selldown might continue until maybe around 1,680 before everybody starts buying again.
Assuming the dollar drops to its 'normal' price, and world gold prices remain at current levels, we would be looking at RM 170+ for gold in Malaysia. But if gold drops below 1,700 and the dollar retreats, then we could see gold prices in Malaysia drop to below RM 170 soon.

i'm sure waiting for this day to come... notworthy.gif brows.gif rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif thumbup.gif
vincentwmh
post Sep 26 2011, 10:03 AM

476 posts

QUOTE(vincentwmh @ Sep 20 2011, 03:10 PM)
was told, major sell down currently underway... how true, not too sure but tipoff by ppl in investment industry.
to those who IGNORE this when posted on 20 Sep...its still not too late to sell down, cut lost and buy back at a lower rate.. my side of tipoff received is gold will touch new low within 2 weeks..

just to share
vincentwmh
post Sep 26 2011, 12:51 PM

476 posts

QUOTE(eXTaTine @ Sep 26 2011, 10:48 AM)
Nonsense, who tell u that?? Your friend is a SVP of the commodities division of Morgan Stanley or what? How can you claim to know any tipoff or whatever....baseless rumors.

Mind you, I'm not saying it won't drop further but your fearmongering is not doing this forum any favors.
fearmongering, baseless rumors or not, depends on how one sees it.. positively, i always take tipoff as 'CAUTIONS TO EVALUATE'..of cos you can always take it as nonsense
vincentwmh
post Sep 26 2011, 01:36 PM

476 posts

QUOTE(Yoda-sen @ Sep 26 2011, 01:08 PM)
Heh, not dupe, am the real McCoy, dude.
Been a book smart geek all my life, but figure might as well use my brains to make some money.

As I said, last week I was just lurking around this forum and found Quinn to be the one talking facts and have charts to back up...but folks here were basically sceptical about his forecast, probably they do not want to wake up from the bull run dream.

And boy, was Quinn right! notworthy.gif Gold took another dive within the day.

Fortunately, I found some sites that helped me understand the ichimoku charts quickly. Most of all, I have Quinn's charts/postings to thank for, as they saved me from making a HUGE loss, and escaped the gold blood bath last week. 
Thanks again, Quinn!
Per above, Quinn has kindly provided the latest ichimoku charts again. Current outlook appears to be bearish.

As Quinn said, have a trading plan and some technical analysis knowledge. Quinn's signature contain some links to ichimoku-related material/websites. I have also shared in an earlier post links to a free ichimoku online chart and a page to interpret ichimoku charts.

As a newbie, I realise I need to do research and due diligence before making investment decisions. I agree, it's crazy to invest in gold just by looking at the current price without further technical analysis or having a trading plan.
+1
vincentwmh
post Sep 26 2011, 03:32 PM

476 posts

QUOTE(kevyeoh @ Sep 26 2011, 02:11 PM)
i see the graph going down non stop... my heart cannot take it....i sell first and absorb about RM400 losses.....

phew....
+1..cut loses and buy back in at cheaper w/ more grams
vincentwmh
post Sep 26 2011, 03:45 PM

476 posts

QUOTE(vincentwmh @ Sep 26 2011, 10:03 AM)
to those who IGNORE this when posted on 20 Sep...its still not too late to sell down, cut lost and buy back at a lower rate.. my side of tipoff received is gold will touch new low within 2 weeks..

just to share
reminder.. its no joke.. NOW where is "EXtra"?? ape rubbish, nonsense??

Added on September 26, 2011, 3:58 pm
QUOTE(Alexdino @ Sep 26 2011, 03:35 PM)
it getting back into 158X in quick rise, it always rise back whenever market come to close
correct, this has been the style past 2 weeks..we will more drama 6-12 hrs from now..

This post has been edited by vincentwmh: Sep 26 2011, 03:58 PM
vincentwmh
post Sep 26 2011, 04:12 PM

476 posts

QUOTE(thunderaj @ Sep 26 2011, 03:59 PM)
you seems to be quite certain about this..?
i'm not expecting <1200 but i do believe it touching all time 2011 low which is 1330.12 (25Jan) if 1530 support is broken.
vincentwmh
post Sep 26 2011, 10:15 PM

476 posts

QUOTE(hongchai888 @ Sep 26 2011, 10:01 PM)
It seem gold is 'normal' back at the moment and keep increasing like sky rocket. Maybe can see 1750 tonight
its down to 1590 now.... d drama sudah start...all, still remember this series "Dallas"
vincentwmh
post Sep 26 2011, 10:21 PM

476 posts

QUOTE(Yoda-sen @ Sep 26 2011, 10:10 PM)
@buysell, it's ok....let it all out. Name-calling is not necessary, dude. So what if that guy or anyone here is richer than Walmart?!  There's hope for us then haha!
Come on...we are all on the same gold ship, trying to make a buck. Right now the seas are very stormy. People are scared.
All I am trying to do is to tell other forumners here who are running scared - just as I was last week - where to look for guidance. I have benefitted from this Quinn's analysis, and was saved from losing my shirt last week - a lot of $$$$$. And it was free pointers, too. For that I am grateful. Who wouldn't be if they read something, made the right decision and saved $$$$$??!!!
All of us here have one goal - make money, not lose money. We gotta help one another, not tear each other down here. All for one, and one for all - everybody wins!
+++1 icon_idea.gif i always in favor of views sharing..may all MAKE make some bucks..more importantly we learned as we make bucks (to me, its the jap graph by Quinn), everybody wins thumbup.gif

Added on September 26, 2011, 10:24 pm
QUOTE(Yoda-sen @ Sep 26 2011, 10:20 PM)
Haha Dallas nod.gif Just like the death of Bobby Ewing[cool.gif, maybe this is all a bad dream smile.gif
nice to hear the name "Bobby Ewing" aft all these years

This post has been edited by vincentwmh: Sep 26 2011, 10:24 PM
vincentwmh
post Sep 27 2011, 03:36 PM

476 posts

QUOTE(GodsLove @ Sep 27 2011, 02:39 PM)
my aunt just got 50g from PBB...anybody has experience with PBB?
why need experience, I kept the GIA passbook in the drawer fr day of purchase (oct 2009) and only recently aug 2011, took it out and cash all out.. thumbup.gif waiting to squeezz..z on the gold-wagon
vincentwmh
post Sep 28 2011, 11:29 AM

476 posts

QUOTE(accutane @ Sep 28 2011, 09:52 AM)
28/9/2011 9.50AM

UOB 167.9 / 165.9
MBB 169.51/ 162.39
CIMB 169.9/ 164.5
PBB 170.88/ 163.87
PBB 170.88/ 163.87 was d rate i sold-all-out dd last 15Aug but that time was oso @ 1744. NOW at 16++ still same RM rate... usd punya pasal.. not easy trading gold, see left <usd factor> see right <gold factor>

Added on September 28, 2011, 11:31 am
QUOTE(eXTaTine @ Sep 28 2011, 09:54 AM)
Most bottoms are visited twice or more before the price truly turns up. I think whether or not 1535 the bottom remains to be seen but even if it is, we have to revisit the 1530-1560 at least one more time.
++1, i believe so too

This post has been edited by vincentwmh: Sep 28 2011, 11:31 AM
vincentwmh
post Sep 29 2011, 03:56 PM

476 posts

QUOTE(hongchai888 @ Sep 29 2011, 01:37 PM)
I seriously wish UOB can trade online very soon
++++1 support that..uob s'pore oso not able to do online, what more m'sia uob
vincentwmh
post Sep 29 2011, 05:41 PM

476 posts

gold free fall aft 5pm, asian market tutup...very clear indicator lo
vincentwmh
post Oct 5 2011, 09:19 AM

476 posts

QUOTE(Quinn @ Oct 5 2011, 01:41 AM)
I was a little disappointed with Gold's movement just now. After long waiting, it didn't break out of the 1668 H2 kumo resistant. It formed a reversal candle at the top kumo in H4 and made a huge dip turning it into bearish momentum again. However, I still favor my point (D). If market comes below 1600, it will start hunting for bearish movement instead. Ultimately, it still needs to break 1532 for more bearish movement.
i'm still waiting for d day it touches 1530... rclxm9.gif brows.gif
vincentwmh
post Oct 5 2011, 05:52 PM

476 posts

its 1599 now...pheew...yes!! all the way pls
vincentwmh
post Oct 14 2011, 01:15 PM

476 posts

QUOTE(hongchai888 @ Oct 14 2011, 07:00 AM)
The most sien part is, when gold up, USD down, when USD down, gold up. Always trade at RM 169-171 /gm at the end of the day. Like that better go Genting drink Starbuck and play slot machine.
tis is the reason, i only treat monie dumped in gold to be only +1 better that FD. expect better!! go stock then
the truth is (to me), gold has never traded in big margin (the trend we saw fr 1600 to 1900 in last aug/sep is HISTORY)

0.0474sec    0.97    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 09:29 PM