Is it still save to deposit money into Citibank Malaysia? Would this international bank be affected by the US crisis?
I am thinking of depositing money here....
FD rates in Malaysia, Which bank offer the highest FD rates?
Oct 18 2008, 12:55 PM
3,188 posts Joined: Jul 2007 From: A place called "home" |
Is it still save to deposit money into Citibank Malaysia? Would this international bank be affected by the US crisis?
I am thinking of depositing money here.... |
Oct 23 2008, 01:19 PM
recently, i opened a monthly auto renewal fd in pubic bank, and the rate was 3.0% per annum....while my bf who opened in cimb and eon bank - have a slightly higher rate of 3.1%/3.2% per annum....
and....public bank - they don't provide a fd cert cover unless asked, and when i requested, it is out of stock, and gave me an envelope instead - while eon bank provides a cover without having to ask.... |
Dec 10 2009, 02:06 PM
QUOTE(hivemy @ Dec 6 2009, 06:06 PM) Anyone working in the bank, 1. 2.5% per annum, most bank (currently)1. would u mind to tell what is the interest rate of F/D (assuming 10k deposit), and which bank 2. If it's monthly FD, are they compounded yearly or monthly? 3. And based on (2) what is the formula for continuous compound interest for 3 years (assume it's 10k)? Thanks! 2. compounded monthly 3. 10k x (1.025)^3 (assuming that 2.5% stays for 3 years) = RM 10,768.90 This post has been edited by leongal: Dec 10 2009, 03:16 PM |
Jan 20 2010, 02:17 PM
fd should be part and parcel in your core portfolio, while you can do more risky types of investment in your satellite portfolio....
Jan 20 2010, 09:00 PM
Jun 13 2010, 09:44 PM
i passed by ambank and saw their advertisement saying that if you put for 60 months, it will be 4% p.a.....but i dun think it is worth t do so....
Jul 15 2010, 11:50 PM
to get the compounding effect, you should instead put 1yr fd and annual renewal (but this will lead to a lower annual deposit rate)
Dec 14 2010, 05:53 PM
QUOTE(chenster @ Dec 14 2010, 05:41 PM) i thought i heard unit trust also can be negative in returns? yes, no guarantee return with unit trusts - it depends on the market condition and what the fund is invested intoif i invest 10k in UT.. will i get 10k+% after a year? im not really sure how unit trust works.. 10% a year is possible, provided the market and stocks that the fund manager pick came out positive, but this rarely happens usually unit trust is for medium to long term, i.e. preferably beyond 3 years to see the returns |
Jan 18 2011, 04:13 PM
i was checking on my short term/ emergency cash which is in MBB fixed deposit, the current rate for monthly FD at MBB - conventional fd is 2.75% per year
Mar 3 2011, 10:48 AM
wta - if i have a fd in a bank for some years, can i go to the bank to receive an update on my fd?
Mar 3 2011, 12:54 PM
Mar 3 2011, 03:42 PM
QUOTE(cherroy @ Mar 3 2011, 02:56 PM) If not mistaken. just checked: Fixed deposits (without automatic renewal instructions) which have matured - being classified as unclaimed money7 years of inactivity, money will be classified as unclaimed money and send to BNM, (all type of account) You still can claim back, with valid documentation, just a bit troublesome paper work. Source: http://www.lawyerment.com/library/kb/Banki...anking/1146.htm |
Mar 3 2011, 05:17 PM
Mar 6 2011, 07:15 PM
QUOTE(avengers88 @ Mar 5 2011, 05:55 AM) FD is very little if u dun have big savings. NO no not good for people like me cause i might need to use the money anytime. Still a student though LOL ~~ yes, for the small rat like me, the difference in its rate, does not really make much a difference, so, no nit the hassle when banks come with some promotion on their fds |
Mar 23 2011, 03:05 PM
just calculated, if i take up the PBB step up rates, RM 10,000 - lock up for 10 months, at prevailing rate of 2.75% per annum, compared to a normal monthly renewable fd, onli earns you an additional rm23.41
Apr 7 2011, 04:02 PM
QUOTE(avatar123 @ Apr 7 2011, 01:48 PM) Hi, anyone here know in Ambank top-rate promotion's term % condition? If withdraw earlier will have penalty? http://www.ambankgroup.com/ambank_webmedia...Individuals.pdfno penalty for early withdrawal, just that you will lose your interest earned |
| Change to: | 0.0298sec
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 01:57 PM |