FD rates in Malaysia, Which bank offer the highest FD rates?

gerrardling
post Mar 10 2011, 01:26 PM

6 STARS
1,684 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Mar 10 2011, 12:55 PM)
Yalah, it is based on tiers  doh.gif  Didn't even notice it until you mentioned it. Thanks for the info. Good that I took the pic and posted in here and you pointed it out that it is based on tiers. If I did not post the photo and you did not share your findings, boy, a lot of people will be mad at me for wasting their time going to RHB because I stated "RHB giving up to 4.2% for 15 months".
what do u mean by tier ?
gerrardling
post Mar 10 2011, 02:42 PM

6 STARS
1,684 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Mar 10 2011, 02:01 PM)
That is so true !
ambank islamic or ambank ?
gerrardling
post Jun 7 2011, 04:14 PM

6 STARS
1,684 posts

just want to ask, how many FD(s) do u have now ?
gerrardling
post Jun 14 2011, 04:28 PM

6 STARS
1,684 posts

minimum amount to deposit for bsn is how much ? is it 1k ?
gerrardling
post Jun 16 2011, 05:30 PM

6 STARS
1,684 posts

interest rate you can earn from insurance is much higher than you can earn in FD
gerrardling
post Jun 17 2011, 10:19 AM

6 STARS
1,684 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jun 16 2011, 07:04 PM)
Bro, you mind to elaborate? Give lah example.
i am newbie in this. correct me if i was wrong. for life insurance, the cash bonus rate p.a you can get min is 5% depend on the insurance company performance on that year.
gerrardling
post Jun 17 2011, 01:10 PM

6 STARS
1,684 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Jun 17 2011, 01:00 PM)
doh.gif newbie but making a statement instead of making an inquiry?  notworthy.gif
Highly misleading - U by any chance a sales agent?  tongue.gif
not a sales agent. just wan to do the comparison only. any idea the diff between the FD and insurance in terms of interest rate p.a ? as i know insurance got a higher than FD but lower than mutual fund

Added on June 17, 2011, 1:12 pm
QUOTE(ycyip @ Jun 17 2011, 01:09 PM)
if newbie then be careful of what you say, many sifus here will shoot you down!
wink.gif
as i said earlier, got anything wrong just correct me.

This post has been edited by gerrardling: Jun 17 2011, 01:12 PM
gerrardling
post Jun 17 2011, 02:55 PM

6 STARS
1,684 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Jun 17 2011, 02:23 PM)
Any insurance is long term commitment, some life-time commitment (like those whole life one)

Please always ensure one understand what is about, as it is long term commitment.
Premature cancellation can mean loss significant of the premium.

If insurance beat FD by miles, you won't see people put in FD already.
in terms of ROI and IRR, which one is better ? is it FD ?
gerrardling
post Jun 20 2011, 09:35 AM

6 STARS
1,684 posts

currently, only BSN is the highest at 4% unless if u are the premier banking customer with certain bank like bro gen-x. they can offer u up to 5% p.a
gerrardling
post Jun 20 2011, 01:29 PM

6 STARS
1,684 posts

http://www.mybsn.com.my/pb_deposits_fixed_acc.html
gerrardling
post Sep 30 2011, 04:35 PM

6 STARS
1,684 posts

for SCB promotion, minimum amount to deposit is at least rm90,000 so that u will meet the ADB of rm3,000. is it correct ?
gerrardling
post Oct 1 2011, 05:49 PM

6 STARS
1,684 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Oct 1 2011, 01:57 PM)
just opened the SCB eSaver to take advantage of the 5% p.a. Offer. The food at Puchong branch is so-so only.

as long as you don't touch money deposited within Oct to Dec, you will get 5% similar to FD. brows.gif
The ATM debit card is OPTIONAL.

SCB Puchong branch wont take big cash deposit, as lack of security. All SCB will open every Sat for these promo.
then have to use cheque ?
gerrardling
post Oct 2 2011, 05:07 PM

6 STARS
1,684 posts

QUOTE(kwokwah @ Oct 2 2011, 04:53 PM)
If you bank in a 3K cheque on 1/10/11 and gets credited on 4/10/11 (keep constant for 1 month) your ADB is technically <3K and not eligible for "bonus" interest. This is a very important point to consider.
to be safe, better deposit more than 3k. let say ADB for month of october is rm3000. i have to topup another rm3000 on nov 1st so that i can enjoy 5%p.a for the month of nov ?
gerrardling
post Oct 2 2011, 05:47 PM

6 STARS
1,684 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Oct 2 2011, 05:43 PM)
I believe this does not APPLY to accounts opened between 1-Oct and 31-Oct.
Only for existing accounts opened before 1-Oct 2011.
for existing SCB customer, they have to topup their CASA account and the promotion account also. Make sure ADB of CASA is more or same with promotion account. that means have topup at least rm6000 ??? 3000 in CASA and another 3000 in promotion account. is this correct ?
gerrardling
post Oct 2 2011, 07:45 PM

6 STARS
1,684 posts

QUOTE(kwokwah @ Oct 2 2011, 06:43 PM)
For existing customers it should work like this: CASA incl. all savings & current accounts (esaver and super salary included). They don't want you to shift funds from existing CASA to promo accounts. If you shift it will have incremental ADB for promo but not CASA (no increase). If you put new funds in promo while existing CASA remain you will see same incremental in both. Go figure, it took me some time to understand.
QUOTE(ascend @ Oct 2 2011, 06:46 PM)
so true. their description is so confusing.

7.2  To be eligible for Bonus Payments in any month of the Bonus Period:

(a)  an Existing Customer must have an Incremental ADB in that Promotion Account of at least RM3,000 during the Promotion Period. Customers who do not satisfy that minimum incremental criteria will not be eligible for any Bonus Payments in that account even if they achieve a higher Incremental ADB in later months; and
(b)  the overall Incremental ADB in that Existing Customer's CASA Accounts in that month must be equal to or more than the Incremental ADB in their Promotion Account in that month.

Looks like the holder needs to top up NOT just their esaver account but their OTHER CASA (current a/c/savings a/c) accounts too. So in total, minimum top up (assuming on 1 Oct) is 6000??
ADB in CASA must be equal or more than ADB in promotion account. Its unfair for existing SCB customer. they have to topup another 3k in CASA just to be qualified.
gerrardling
post Oct 12 2011, 09:07 AM

6 STARS
1,684 posts

QUOTE(hackwire @ Oct 12 2011, 07:29 AM)
for child edu saving, is it better to save the money in FD for 10 years or better to put in those insurance saving plan for JR?
go for HLB junior, bro gen-x can help u on that tongue.gif

0.0406sec    0.30    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 10:32 PM