FD are for losers, period.
There are many other places to put your money.
FD rates in Malaysia, Which bank offer the highest FD rates?
Jan 13 2010, 12:30 AM
1,216 posts Joined: Mar 2009 From: Cut Throat Land |
FD are for losers, period.
There are many other places to put your money. |
Jan 18 2010, 12:57 AM
FDs are yielding a return rate of less than 3% per annum at best.
That oso must pledge the tenure and min amount. Mind you, the 3% is not enough to cover the current inflation rate. This means your money will shrink in value all the time it is in FD. Better place to put your money is like properties, high dividend yield stocks, low exposure unit trust, insurance etc etc. Even the govt sukuk/1malaysia whatever bonds are giving 5% There is an exception, however, FD is a safe place when you are over your retirement age and you want the safest and lowest risk. |
Jan 19 2010, 10:08 PM
QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Jan 18 2010, 02:19 PM) It all differs on the individual. For those ultra high net worth individuals, FD is good enough because they just want to preserve their wealth. High net worth as in: they already have a balanced portfolio.They already have money in properties, Unit trust, stocks, cars, wifes, children abroad etc. The rest of the "leftover" money they put in FD, incase they want to take out fast for a holiday. To preserve wealth by putting in FD is not a good idea. unless, you are already wealth as you say "high net worth" waiting to retire type of guys. |
Jan 20 2010, 09:59 PM
QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Jan 20 2010, 12:23 AM) Not exactly only apply to retirees. As mentioned in my post earlier, ultra high net worth invidual such as those with US$500 Millions of cash Doubt anyone would have USD500mill cash without any other investment.If that fella have USD500mill in FD, it must be a standby cash waiting for other investment opportunity. Or it must be loose change ie he has USD5bill in other investments. Added on January 20, 2010, 10:02 pm QUOTE(besiegetank @ Jan 20 2010, 10:53 AM) agree. Many people just cannot withstand the high risk of investments without losing sleeps for nights. Therefore, FD is their only means of investment while they can also get good sleep to stay healthy. I would have sleepless nights if I have most of my money in FD.It is losing its value everynight I would be wide awake thinking of ways to make my money work harder. Added on January 20, 2010, 10:04 pm QUOTE(leongal @ Jan 20 2010, 02:17 PM) fd should be part and parcel in your core portfolio, while you can do more risky types of investment in your satellite portfolio.... agreed. some money in FD is wise.For if an investment opprtunity were to present itself, no money/cash no talk. This post has been edited by duckaton: Jan 20 2010, 10:04 PM |
Jan 22 2010, 12:29 PM
QUOTE(cherroy @ Jan 21 2010, 12:20 AM) There you go.couldnt have put it more aptly. A person who will put all his 500mill in FD will never have 500mill in the first place. unless of course if it comes from inheritance. even then he is not worthy to be in the pool of genes. Conveniently omitting the effect of inflation in your argument defeats all purpose. Added on January 22, 2010, 12:37 pm QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Jan 21 2010, 12:16 PM) I'll bet you are working, trying to save every penny to put into FDIf it is, that is just pathetic. Speak from real scenarios, not what you will do if you have 500mill kind of scenario. What do one do to get the 500mill in the first place? got it from savings put ito FD? Get real. This post has been edited by duckaton: Jan 22 2010, 01:07 PM |
Mar 10 2011, 09:05 PM
I would prefer putting it on 9 months and make it auto-renew.
5 years is too long a time. |
Mar 11 2011, 11:49 PM
Mar 12 2011, 06:04 PM
QUOTE(arsenal @ Jun 17 2008, 12:06 AM) What is the minimum amount? Got any charges? OCBC got one near my house in taipan...maybe can pay them a visit... Haha, looks like you love going to the bank.personally i think it is a waste of time. not to mention you risk a parking ticket. I hate going to the bank, most transactions are done online except when first opening the account. |
| Change to: | 0.0412sec
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 01:13 AM |