FD rates in Malaysia, Which bank offer the highest FD rates?

Xforged
post Jan 13 2011, 05:33 PM

226 posts

forgive me as I'm a noob. quite interested in FD but yet to go thru it. I bet this has been discussed before but pls enlighten & bear with me smile.gif

Lets say that I have an extra cash in hand now for about RM10k. Decided to take the plunge into FD by locking RM10k for a period of 3 months (assuming 3% rate);

1) Total profit I get is RM10,300 (RM10k+3%) at the end of the 3rd month?
2) Total capital/deposit I put in is guaranteed? RM10k?
3) Can I decide to uplift upon maturity? any T&C i should take into account? Any notice needs to be issued to the bank for purpose of upliftment?
4) Can I deposit to any banks even I dont have an account with them?
5) Which bank offers an attractive rates nowdays? i saw someone mentioned OCBC.

Greatly appreciateD!!

Xforged
post Jan 14 2011, 01:33 AM

226 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jan 13 2011, 05:54 PM)
Example (we Malaysians understand better if there is a sample calculation, haha)
You're spot on! 1Malaysia in full mode smile.gif
QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jan 13 2011, 05:54 PM)
4) Yes you can walk into any bank and they be happy to take your money
Haha, diligent way to put it! tongue.gif

And yes, based on your example above, total earning is in fact RM73.97. Well, lets cut to the chase.I have an excess cash for about RM10k but will fully utilize it until sometime April (3 months from now). Instead of dumping it into a saving accounts and starring at it, it would be nice to see if it could grow. My expectation is not too make tons of money over it, just to leverage on available cash & time. the infamous 'time value of money'.. laugh.gif

Is this a wise move? Or should I diversify the RM10k? I know RM10k is nothing to shout about.
Xforged
post Jan 14 2011, 02:23 PM

226 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jan 14 2011, 07:06 AM)
With RM73.97, you can have a pretty good meal and for my case free 7 packs of Malboro Lights  tongue.gif
And for my case, Dunhill Lights! Indeed there's no doubt that we could earn nominal income rather than waiting for a miracle to happen and waiting for money to come down from the sky..Thanks v much sifu!
Xforged
post Jul 12 2011, 09:05 PM

226 posts

Sidetrack a bit. I was browsing the papers today & saw maybank is offering a promo in foreign currency account for AUD & CNY. Does it work like FD? same calculation?

Any such limitation if I were to dump bullets in this fund? Should it be based on the same calc as FD, the return upon maturity is obviously higher - looking at the rates for AUD, its 6% over 3 mths.
Xforged
post Jul 14 2011, 01:59 AM

226 posts

QUOTE(gsc @ Jul 13 2011, 11:43 AM)
same calculation as FD. But you will loose/gain depending on exchange rate. AUS exchange rate is high now to go in. Foreign currency FD is good when you have spare cash. Convert back to RM when the exchange rate is favourable,

Anyone know any bank allow to withdraw as foreign currency without converting into RM?
Thanks, so it is not a capital guaranteed investment like FD? there is a exchange rate risk involved in this, no? The returns are like 8%+ for CNY and 6%+ for AUD upon maturity of 1month - thought of pumping in a bit but due to the risk involved I may have to settle for FD. Unless these currencies are really low, and can potentially grow in the next 1-3months then i think its worth a look.

0.0349sec    0.68    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 03:10 PM