5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Bottom

FD rates in Malaysia, Which bank offer the highest FD rates?

ronnie
post Oct 3 2011, 07:31 AM

Not enough stars
21,309 posts

QUOTE(cs12345 @ Oct 3 2011, 03:08 AM)
Got a question here. Is BSN (Bank Simpanan Nasional) fixed deposit guaranteed by PIDM?

I went to their website and they didn't mention BSN.
http://www.pidm.gov.my/About-Deposit-Insur...ution-List.aspx

BSN is guaranteed by the Government, right ? Better than PIDM
ronnie
post Oct 3 2011, 01:09 PM

Not enough stars
21,309 posts

The cheque is posted on 3-Oct-2011 for the eSaver account opened on 1 Oct 2011. Now just need to wait for month-end to collect my 5% p.a. Bonus Payment brows.gif
ronnie
post Oct 3 2011, 07:05 PM

Not enough stars
21,309 posts

QUOTE(ericwen @ Oct 3 2011, 06:34 PM)
esaver is a savings account than fixed deposit right?
eSaver is Savings Account from SCB.
The current 5% promo for 3 months makes feel like a 3-mth FD.

ronnie
post Oct 4 2011, 01:04 PM

Not enough stars
21,309 posts

QUOTE(ericwen @ Oct 4 2011, 09:01 AM)
Will this eSaver apply to all standard chartered branches?

wonder the standard chartered saadiq can open this type of account?
There's eSaver-i for Saadiq branches
ronnie
post Oct 4 2011, 03:36 PM

Not enough stars
21,309 posts

QUOTE(Joey Pang @ Oct 4 2011, 02:42 PM)
Standard chartered offer 5% but with T&C. n the 5% bonus is based on the incremental amount only if not mistaken. n the min amount in the account is rm3K.
should calculate the total $$ u may get n the capital u have in order to enjoy the 5%.
In total you get 5% (include the eSaver's own interest rate), not more than 5% on the capital.
5% is based on Average Daily Balance (for new account holders)... incremental to ADB of RM3000 (for existing SCB account holders)
ronnie
post Oct 4 2011, 03:37 PM

Not enough stars
21,309 posts

QUOTE(Joey Pang @ Oct 4 2011, 03:04 PM)
every month u need to top up your account in order to enjoy the 5%. i'm not sure how they calculate the interest but according to info i know, the interest is calculated based on the average incremental amount.
5% special rates consists of bonus interest PLUS interest at the effective interest rate. So it is not giving out 5% flat to all customers.
Example: Bonus Interest earned for an account with Incremental average balance of RM200,000:
5% (Special interest) - 2% (Tier rate of e$aver) = 3% only. and it varies depend on customer’s balances and the tier rate.
Won't 3%+2% = 5% ?
ronnie
post Oct 5 2011, 09:07 AM

Not enough stars
21,309 posts

QUOTE(ericwen @ Oct 5 2011, 08:43 AM)
the 5% is only for the 1st 3 months, after that back to normal sad.gif check with one of the standard chartered branch ..

furthermore the conventional and saadiq almost similar though. Hmm...
What do you expect ???? 5% p.a. forever ?! rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif

Since my cheque officially clears on 5 October 2011, I assume the ADB calculation will be from 5-Oct onwards doh.gif doh.gif
ronnie
post Oct 5 2011, 01:33 PM

Not enough stars
21,309 posts

QUOTE(xproc @ Oct 5 2011, 01:29 PM)
Which bank can online make FD
Maybank is possible to create eFixed Deposits
ronnie
post Oct 5 2011, 09:19 PM

Not enough stars
21,309 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Oct 5 2011, 03:42 PM)
ADB of >=rm3000 is used as the critiria for bonus entitlement. Is it used to calculate the interest?
Like for your case Int=deposit*5%*26/365 ?
ADB is used for the 5% bonus calculation.

ronnie
post Oct 5 2011, 11:35 PM

Not enough stars
21,309 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Oct 5 2011, 09:46 PM)
How is the ADB used to calculate the interest, any idea?
Interest = ADB * 5% * Total Number of Days (used to count ADB) / 365
ronnie
post Oct 6 2011, 09:03 AM

Not enough stars
21,309 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Oct 6 2011, 07:58 AM)
Are u sure?

Lets say
1. open a/c on 1-OCT-11 and deposit cheque rm62000 which cleared on 5/10/11
ADB=62000*26/31=52000.

2. open a/c on 5-OCT-11 and transfer funds by RENTAS which will be credited into SCB a/c on same morning ADB=62000*26/26=62000.

Which means option 2 gives more interest?
Option 1 is calculated wrongly
ADB = RM62000 x 26 / 31 = RM52000 in October
Interest = RM52000 x 5% x 31 / 365 = RM220.82
* this is best guess *

Option 2 will give ADB of RM62000 in October
Interest = RM62000 x 5% x 26 / 365 = RM220.82

Both calculation yields THE SAME INTEREST... interesting sweat.gif shakehead.gif shocking.gif rclxub.gif

Option 3 - Makes more sense to RENTAS on 3-Oct-2011
Interest = RM62000 x 5% x 29 / 365 = RM246.30

This post has been edited by ronnie: Oct 6 2011, 09:05 AM
ronnie
post Oct 6 2011, 12:36 PM

Not enough stars
21,309 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Oct 6 2011, 12:03 PM)
Opps sorry..

FD with 3.6% pa for interest reinvest (not sure the correct term)

The correct term : Compounded interest
ronnie
post Oct 6 2011, 01:31 PM

Not enough stars
21,309 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Oct 6 2011, 12:52 PM)
Today opened SCB e$aver account.
If you are totally new to SCB, you can deposit by chq and the interest calculation will start from the date of chq deposit.
If you are existing customer, then interest calculation will start from the date of chq clearance.
Thanks for the clarification..... Can earn 2 more days of interest.
ronnie
post Oct 6 2011, 05:51 PM

Not enough stars
21,309 posts

QUOTE(justanovice @ Oct 6 2011, 03:40 PM)
hey guys, regarding the SCB eSaver, do you know when the interests for Oct will be paid into the acct? after the 3 months promotion period or monthly basis? it sounds like compounded FD if it is paid monthly smile.gif
The 5% Bonus Interest will be paid monthly, to the account 3-5 working days after end of the month.
ronnie
post Oct 7 2011, 09:33 AM

Not enough stars
21,309 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Oct 7 2011, 09:26 AM)
FYI, here is what HLB consider as fresh funds.

New funds is defined as:

i) Cash, interbank GIRO, new funds received via telegraphic transfer from other banks, local
cheque or banker’s cheque issued by other banks less than 1 month ago.
ii) Redeemed equity unit trust funds and Hong Leong Invest Safe, and re‐deposited into FD

Not consider as new funds:
iii) Incremental monies which are newly deposited into Current/ Savings Account/i (“CASA”)
less than 1 month ago based on prior month’s month end CASA balance. For the avoidance of
doubt, funds transferred from an existing CASA/ FD accounts are not considered as new
funds.

iv) Maturing FDs are not considered as new funds.
v) Inter‐branch transfer within HLB, EON, Hong Leong Islamic Bank and EONCap Islamic Bank Berhad are not considered as new funds.

So, if got FD maturing, withdraw it as Cash and redeposit it back as new funds.
But you need to cash for 1-day before re-deposit as new funds.
Their system is able to detect debit/credit of same amount within the same day
ronnie
post Oct 7 2011, 10:42 PM

Not enough stars
21,309 posts

QUOTE(echoesian @ Oct 7 2011, 10:17 PM)
if I wanna open this eSaver account but I do not have any existing account with SCB, how do I transfer my fund from MBB via GIRO?
Go to MBB branch or use Maybank2u.com to perform the GIRO at RM2 per transaction (there's a limit amount per day)
ronnie
post Oct 7 2011, 10:59 PM

Not enough stars
21,309 posts

QUOTE(echoesian @ Oct 7 2011, 10:47 PM)
I know but the thing is there is no account no. as I don't even have an account with SCB
You go over to SCB to create the eSaver account first.
They allow creation w/o initial deposit. Just state that you will GIRO the amount from another bank.
If they don't allow, put in RM10 as initial deposit lah doh.gif
ronnie
post Oct 10 2011, 12:02 AM

Not enough stars
21,309 posts

QUOTE(btfan @ Oct 9 2011, 10:39 PM)
Anyone can still access their Maybank eFixed Deposit account? The link is no longer there when I login to my Maybank2u account blink.gif
It's available for 9am until 10pm only..if not mistaken
ronnie
post Oct 10 2011, 03:45 PM

Not enough stars
21,309 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Oct 10 2011, 03:26 PM)
Those of you who wants to open new savings account with SCB to enjoy 5% interest better do immediately as I was told SCB had reached the targeted deposit amount.
Was there a target total deposit listed in their T&C ?
ronnie
post Oct 10 2011, 11:39 PM

Not enough stars
21,309 posts

No point guessing which day the interest is calculated... We will all know the answer when the 5% is creditted anytime between 31 October and 4 November.

Just pray for more interest !!! icon_idea.gif rclxm9.gif rclxms.gif thumbup.gif whistling.gif

This post has been edited by ronnie: Oct 10 2011, 11:43 PM

5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0412sec    0.27    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 01:29 AM