9 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

FD rates in Malaysia, Which bank offer the highest FD rates?

cherroy
post Jul 29 2010, 12:15 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(anne1222 @ Jul 27 2010, 11:20 AM)
If we did a little research, investment bank and commercial bank are interlinked. they need each other because of various reasons. being a bullish person myself, im quite positive of the merger between OSK-UOB or Hwang-DBS. Good investment bank, strong commercial bank, add a refreshing flavour to our boring choice.  smile.gif  smile.gif if i indeed have more than 500k, and if i am an extremely conservative person, i'll go and shop around for better FD rate between dis so called the merger of IB & CB.

PIDM covers 100% of your deposits until end of 2010, not just 60k. after 2010, need to wait the BNM announcement. - dont gv wrong speculation.

Added on July 27, 2010, 11:41 am

and im really sick of people that always worry either banks will winding up or not, bankcrupt etc, hell, no need to worry bout that. if still worry, dont borrow money from bank, surrender all ur credit cards, and put money under the pillow. end of the story. be confident, and yes, i really hv confident with malaysia & singapore banks. we are the most politically stable in the region, economically develop, we blend welll with each other, and we are conservative in a sense of accepting influence from outside like US or Europe. Singapore is more open, but deep in their bone, they are like us, almost alike.
Nearly forget the temporarily measure of all deposit guaranteed until 2010. smile.gif
It is a temporarily measure due to global financial crisis.
But 250K guaranteed has already being proposed. Just wait for green light for act amendment.
http://www.bnm.gov.my/documents/2010/Enhan...ection_FAQs.pdf

Btw, OSK-UOB is not from merger of OSK and UOB bank.
OSK-UOB is formed through JV between them, they are not resulted from merger between 2.
They are asset management company.

For investment banking, it is OSK investment bank. Not OSK-UOB.

So does Hwang-DBS. (previously Hwang and Yusoff)
They are more like partner/jv forming the company.
Not resulted from merger between them.

Yes, the worry of bank winding up is extremely low, generally we don't need worry about it. But this is good for everyone to know as well.
But 1998 crisis indeed put the country on the brink before, so does the whole banking industry.
Snce then, the financial condition is improved a lot and become more healthy now.
cherroy
post Aug 13 2010, 03:44 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(schvic @ Aug 13 2010, 03:17 PM)
I've been reading a lot on Fixed Deposit recently. Well, I have this new saving plan and i was comparing it with my FD. I personally think works better than Fixed Deposit. It pays an interest of 10% yearly. By the end of the saving period, you get to double your money.  It's a long term investment though. I'm still seeking for opinions on this saving plan.

PM me to know more about the product.
Keep the plan yourself, if you want to be secretive about it.

A published 10% yield definitely not come from a guaranteed return without risk exposure to the financial market and considerable long commitment.
cherroy
post Aug 13 2010, 09:49 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(bubbl3t3a @ Aug 13 2010, 07:36 PM)
Question to all the expertise here regarding forex fd. I would like to know about forex NZD. Is the currency now in its average benchmark price? I concern about this because i aware about the currency crash everywhere especially in Euro and US. Will it be wise for me to put my saving of about NZD600K now for long term of 60 months or less because if not mistaken i read many times in this thread about forex fd the shorter the time in FD the higher the risk losing in currency exchange right? How about will it be wise for me to have the interest annually/quartely convert to MYR for my monthly usage or better have it reinvest?
For foreign FD, here https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/512136/+360

cherroy
post Aug 18 2010, 11:32 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(jtleon @ Aug 18 2010, 11:26 PM)
Standard Chartered e$aver account promotion 5% p.a.....may i know are  the terms and conditions?
http://www.standardchartered.com.my/person...ver-5x/tnc.html
5.1 New Customers are customers who open a new Account from 1 August 2010 onwards.
5.2 New Customers will earn a total special interest of 5% p.a. on the ADB in their new Account during the Bonus Period .

1.  The e$aver Top-Up Bonus Interest Campaign: Round 2 (“Campaign”) will run from 1 August 2010 to 31 October 2010 (“Bonus Period”), both dates inclusive. The Campaign only applies to fresh funds that are placed in e$aver (“Account”) with Standard Chartered Bank Malaysia Berhad during the Bonus Period. Fresh funds refer to funds that do not originate from any existing account with Standard Chartered Bank Malaysia Berhad (“the Bank”) or Standard Chartered Saadiq Berhad. 
cherroy
post Aug 20 2010, 02:12 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(TheBestICould @ Aug 20 2010, 01:19 PM)
Wilz mind to share which insurance company is that ? icon_rolleyes.gif
I can assure you, it is impossible for any investment company, insurance company to offer a 14% guaranteed interest return.

10K, get 1.4k, could mean 400 is pure interest, 1000 come from your capital, so you get back 1400
or
it is investment linked, and return rate purely depended on market performance.

For sure, it is not a pure guaranteed interest to start with.

If an insurance compaany can offer a 14% guaranteed return rate, I can guarantee tons of people will queue up, EPF, ASN, even gov fund also pour money into it, even Warren Buffett and Bill Gates also want.
cherroy
post Aug 20 2010, 10:59 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(wilz @ Aug 20 2010, 07:37 PM)
Basically, its a FD savings plan involve no investment at all and interest are guaranteed. Hong Leong Assurance offer a skim like that. If you're interest to know more, you can PM me or call me for further details. smile.gif
Hahaha, HLA offer something 14% interest? laugh.gif

All saving plan, interest are guaranteed lah. But not as 14% on your capital as claimed, this I can assure. 14% interest, everyone become rich by this kind of return rate.

Saving plan is saving plan.
FD is FD.
Saving plan is never a FD.
Please don't mislead people.

FD saving plan? doh.gif

Try to surrender any saving plan or pre-mature cancellation of saving plan, see how much you are getting back. yawn.gif

There is a blog explained the real situation.
http://malaysiapersonalfinance.blogspot.co...aving-plan.html

Also put 12.5%, quite near to 14% as well. whistling.gif

If one is talking about HLA cash builder, please proceed to here. This has nothing to do with FD at all!
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1231190/+20
There are detailed analysis as well.

Saving plan is not FD

This post has been edited by cherroy: Aug 20 2010, 11:11 PM
cherroy
post Aug 22 2010, 12:24 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(wilz @ Aug 21 2010, 10:40 PM)
Ehem..ehem... smile.gif as i only dealt with MLTA, i don't sell this product. I bought it. What am i doing now is putting aside RM5.5k per year for 6 years and getting interest of RM700 p.a(guaranteed). Interest i already opt to re-invest and compounding of 5.5%(not guaranteed) will be given. Lock for 6 years but however on the immediate 7th years if i withdraw, i will still get back my principal which i assume break even point on 7th years. If i don't withdraw, I may collect interest till I'm 90 years old + maturity bonus as well!

Even being a bank manager, you gotta wait til I wanna sell this plan, then I will surely open a thread with complete details and terms to get opinion from you guys sifu here. smile.gif
The RM700 you are getting is cash payment, not interest!

cherroy
post Aug 22 2010, 10:14 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(wilz @ Aug 22 2010, 03:43 AM)
Ooo.. Correction on terms being used in insurance not interest nor cash payment. Cash payment is when you buy things or pay for something. We term it as cash dividend.

Satisfied?
It is not about satisfy or not issue.

When somebody put the term of FD saving plan - it is a misleading statement to start with, it give wrong impression it is a FD. There may a lot of people non-financial savy people could fall into this misleading statement made.
Insurance company never use the word "FD saving plan"!

When someone said it is interest with guaranteed at 14%, then it is misleading for people thinking, I put 1000, then I get 140 interest. It is never the case here.
Neither insurance company put up a statement 14% interest guaranteed.

They are both misleading statement to start with.

The actual situation is out of 140, a significant portion is come from your initial capital/premium paid. Just like I give out 1000, you give back 100 + 40 interest.

We don't want to see people being misled and taking up a long term saving plan, then after years, only then found out, hey it is not 14% interest, it is a 14% cash payment. It is not as good as 14% interest.
But cannot cancel the policy as it is a long term commitment, and pre-mature of cancellation may lead to losses.
Then after that, people said insurance company trick them. How many times we heard this kind of cases? Many many.

Insurance company never cheat/mislead people, it is the agent, people (definitely not all,across) that send the wrong message.
No offence. While there are many agents are sincere and good explaining it as well.

We just want correct information being passed out, and when people taking the insurance time, they knew what is the real deal.

It is a serious issue. smile.gif

cherroy
post Nov 21 2010, 11:48 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Lis000 @ Nov 21 2010, 11:16 PM)
Yeah, they did. I think I'll go for the 6months at 3.2% .

Btw, did anyone hear about a certain FD promo from Citibank? I went to the website to check out but couldn't find any information. I heard from a friend that Citibank has a step-up FD promo which offer good rates.
6 month tenure
First 2 month
3.3%
3.9%
6.3%

cherroy
post Nov 22 2010, 12:22 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Lis000 @ Nov 22 2010, 12:17 AM)
That seems like quite a good deal. What's the minimun amount required?

So can just walk in and place the FD is it? Actually I heard this from word of mouth too, how come no advertisement one?
This is for Citigold and new Citigold customer.
http://www.citigold.com.my/portal/citigold/promotions.html
cherroy
post Nov 22 2010, 09:20 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Nov 22 2010, 08:27 PM)
Is that pure time deposit or bundled with other investment products ?
6.8% 3 months and bundled with UT...
Not something attractive.

http://www.ecmlibra.com/pdf/term.pdf
cherroy
post Nov 23 2010, 12:48 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Nov 23 2010, 12:15 AM)
Can someone please inform me what is ABM rule on early withdrawal for FD, say if tenure was 3 years and uplifted the FD after 1.5 years.

Anyone care to reply to above?
For FD that more than 12 months, interest is payable every 6 months.

While For 1 year tenure FD, if withdraw after 3 months, you are entitle for half of the interest rate if pre-mature withdraw.

I can't remember correctly, I could be wrong, just something roughly can straight away upload from memory.
cherroy
post Nov 24 2010, 10:49 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Nov 24 2010, 12:56 AM)
my guess is that the government will be raising amount of money banks will need to have in reserve (or government requiring them to pick up government bonds)  next year and the banks preparing for it or the interest offer is damn low where they will use our deposit to go and roll into other instruments like bonds.
The interest rate currently is more skewed to the way up due to inflation threat.

So by lock in customer longer tenure FD is advantage to banks if there is rate is being up by BNM.
cherroy
post Nov 25 2010, 04:17 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(chinzen @ Nov 25 2010, 03:19 PM)
OCBC BANK...6% p.a...
plus FREE insurance for ur FD...
been protected by dead or any accident cause that out of ability to pay it..
a GREAT deal for u and ur family...
Another bundled product.... yawn.gif

Sometimes, really tired and time wasting for costumer to read this kind of bundled FD rate.
cherroy
post Nov 30 2010, 03:18 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(chenster @ Nov 30 2010, 02:53 PM)
yea i know public bank is the best out there..
but cimb is having this package with FD+UT..
we don't have to top up anything but fixed amount in FD and fixed in UT..
end of the day we just get the returns..
so i wanna know let's say 20k in UT.. so the returns still depends on market performance.. then can i say if i put 20k in UT.. i will definitely get back 20k + x% returns?
If can ended up with Rm10K as well... whistling.gif

Who said market performance cannot be -ve....

Even after one day you put in UT, the next day it becomes/starts at Rm19K (as most UT got upfront service charge of 5%).
cherroy
post Nov 30 2010, 03:56 PM

25,802 posts

My advice,
Don't take up FD/UT combination, if you are not keen on UT in the first place.

Do not take up FD/UT combination, just because of slight higher FD rate offered.

Do remember UT upfront service charge can be way more than the higher FD rate offered.

Only take up when you are keen on UT in the first place.
cherroy
post Dec 3 2010, 03:42 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Ginger's Father @ Dec 3 2010, 12:25 PM)
hey guys,
I got an offer from HSBC, they offer me 26,000.00 of loan and the interest rate is 10.75 per annual, do u all think that is a good deal or bad deal?

Do u guys' bank offer to you too?

Please let me know your opinion, thanks.
This is FD thread, not loan issue, the opposite. biggrin.gif

I reckon it is a personal loan, so please post here.
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/479971/+1620
cherroy
post Dec 7 2010, 05:01 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(empirekhoo @ Dec 7 2010, 04:55 PM)
Alternatively consider putting at less duration so you'll still earn interest (or wont lose). or consider some mutual fund which offers both interest and liquidity
Just to correct,
The bolded is wrong. smile.gif

I want to highlight this because some may be misled by this statement.

Mutual funds do not give interest.
Mutual fund principal is not guaranteed.
No return is guaranteed.
It can yield you a lose instead of gain.

Mutual fund is a type of equity/bond investment, it is not same class with FD, or deposit.
cherroy
post Dec 7 2010, 05:42 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(empirekhoo @ Dec 7 2010, 05:14 PM)
hmm... some of them are capital growth some interest. depends on which you invest. yes?
Those are not interest, but investment gain/profit from their investment in stock market or bond market.

It is never a interest to start with. smile.gif
cherroy
post Dec 9 2010, 09:54 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(alvinfks78 @ Dec 9 2010, 09:30 AM)
Hi wondering if any bankers know............if i have a FD at auto renewal...and

I don't update it or check it for a long time.

BUT..........I have a savings account wif ATM with the bank and I keep using that.

Since I am still attached to the bank but never update the FD will they send the FD to "consolidation fund" if after 5 yrs.
It is per account basis one, saving account active doesn't mean anything to the FD account.

9 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0286sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 11:16 PM