8 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

FD rates in Malaysia, Which bank offer the highest FD rates?

Gen-X
post Mar 24 2011, 06:57 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Mar 24 2011, 12:50 AM)
This, it depends on bank.
Some banks FD mature date policy is adjusting according to working day.
For eg.
If the mature date is Saturday aka 24th, some bank system will automatically shift the mature date to 26th (Monday, working day)
What banks do that?

Gen-X
post Mar 31 2011, 09:45 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Mar 31 2011, 06:58 PM)
Received sms invitation from OCBC to come on 2nd and 3rd April and enjoy 4% interest rate on a 3 mth FD.
Wah, that's good but 2 and 3 is on a Saturday and Sunday. Not am April Fool joke is it?
Gen-X
post Apr 6 2011, 07:06 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Apr 5 2011, 10:45 PM)
There is. I was quoted ~10% 1 month deposit in AUD dual currency account just last week.
upon maturity, will the amount automatically be converted back to RM? Or can continuously auto renew in AUD?
Gen-X
post Apr 6 2011, 12:15 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Apr 6 2011, 12:01 PM)
It is not proper to tell joke in Finance, Business and Investment House forum. Your post #1465 had misleaded me because I don't expect jokes in this forum except Kopitiam.  As the matter of fact, there is. Not only Citibank has it, OCBC too. I suggest you ask your relationship manager about Dual Currency Account first.
Minimum contract is RM50K (CTB) and I was given a preferential forex spot rate (lower than the current day board rate).

Upon 1 month maturity , the amount will be in either one scenario:-

1) If RM is weaker at the time of maturity 
I will be getting RM50k in my dual currency account + 1 month interest.

2) If AUD is weaker at the time of maturity
I will be getting AUD converted at the forex rate given earlier in my dial currency account + 1 month interest.
Note:
There is no forex spread cost. 
You can start a new contract whenever you like.
yah I was mislead too by ascend's post #1465 doh.gif

Thanks for the info. I must go check out this CTB AUD thingy.

Anyway, you guys remember about RHB's step up interest rate where I posted a photo? Today the Manager of my RHB branch told me that I don't have to deposit for the entire 15 months whereas we can withdraw the FD on the 3 or 6 or 9 or 12 months and no penalty imposed and interest paid is ours.

Anyway, those who missed the OCBC offer last month, UOB is still offering 3.5% for 12 months.
Gen-X
post Apr 6 2011, 12:40 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(gark @ Apr 6 2011, 12:19 PM)
Actually DCD can have very high interest rate as long as the bank can set a higher 'strike rate'. Remember these are NOT FD instruments.  laugh.gif
thanks notworthy.gif but I really don't understand this Foreign currency thingy, my RHB Premier Manager always tells me he can make me more than 100% but I still avoid "playing" it as don't understand.

More interested now on Citi 5.5% bonus.

aeiou228, I just reread the T&C on the 5.5% bonus and need your assistance/confirmation as follows:

1) Must deposit RM200,000 to be eligible to be CTB CitiGold. Say deposit FD Mid April FD normal rate.

2) Then on same day can deposit another up to additional RM200,000 FD at whatever duration and earn extra 5.5% on the new this said deposit for a month or for the entire duration of the FD?

3) The following day can deposit another RM200,000 to get the 5.5% bonus?

Thanks in advance.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Apr 6 2011, 12:42 PM
Gen-X
post Apr 6 2011, 01:19 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Apr 6 2011, 01:05 PM)
1) Yes. But you can deposited the money in savings account instead. (still get 5.5% for 3 months)

2) No. You just need to make a RM200k placement into F/D and Savings and you will get Citigold status + 5.5% 3 mths as well come gift. Any extra money exceeding RM200K will be given standard board rates.

3) You can add more deposits into your account later but the 5.5% is capped at RM200K.

4) If you have children study overseas, Citigold or HSBC/OCBC premier account are worth consideration. You can save thousands of RM just from the preferential forex rates alone.
thank you notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

+5.5% for 3 months, I really must go check it out.

As for item 4) I do get pretty good rates from RHB for my son's tuition fee where I buy drafts.l

QUOTE(suisui99 @ Apr 6 2011, 01:13 PM)
my boss is just hope that any bank can like hlb (early of the year) provide 5% interest with normal condition=(gold age or long term)!!!
That hlb previous offer actually not only for senior citizens but also anybody who got a child (Junior FD joint with child). Both credit interest monthly thumbup.gif
Gen-X
post Apr 6 2011, 01:35 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(suisui99 @ Apr 6 2011, 01:30 PM)
yeah~~~ any bank got a new offer? my boss keep ask me and i every day just check all bank website!!! any hint that which bank will giving the great offer?
then you are the best person to list out current offers by banks. Please lah post the latest FD offer for all banks as far as you know as of today.
Gen-X
post Apr 6 2011, 03:00 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Apr 6 2011, 01:45 PM)
Please call up HSBC to compare the rates with RHB. So far, HSBC is the cheapest for GBP.
Tips: When you call HSBC, please select Bahasa language in order to get Malaysian CS to answer you rather than CS from Philippines if you selected English.
Thanks for both tips above. Next time must select BM.

Anyway thanks to aeiou228, I just came back from CTB and here is what I found out:

1) Like aeiou228 mentioned, for new CitiGold account members - deposit RM200K into Savings Account and you'll get 0.35% (SA rate) + 5.5% = 5.85% for 3 months.

2) It will cost you RM10 to close the SA later if you withdraw every single sen from Citibank and go deposit elsewhere giving better rates.

3) My favorite subject - you will be issue a Citibank Platinum CC where annual fee and RM50 GST absord for 1st year.

4) Can enter any CitiGold office overseas - wonder if can drink coffee free tongue.gif

5) Only set back - + 5.5% offer applicable to maximum RM200,000 and a little bit hassle as need to close account when 3 months up and go searching for offers again.

6) Offer ends 25th April 2011.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Apr 6 2011, 03:01 PM
Gen-X
post Apr 6 2011, 03:38 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Apr 6 2011, 03:24 PM)
1) Oh..really ? I didn't know about the 0.35% blush.gif sure ah ? why they never advertise "as high as 5.85%" leh ?

2) Er... no need to close account wan..they got discretion wan  brows.gif

3)  I didn't take the offer. Good meh ?

4) Puchong branch got FREE coffee machine wor. So far I already consumed 1 cup FOC  tongue.gif

5) They got offers from time to time mah why shift the funds ?

6) So hurry up.
1) Yah, Saving Account also got interest mah, and they did advertise +5.5%, that's why earlier I asked you if I get 5.5% plus FD rate which you clarified the 5.5% is for savings account. If BNM increase interest rate this coming 5th May, may even get higher than 5.85%.

3) If you need a card then yah. Free GST good what.

5) Offers usually for new funds only. Maybe by then HLB offering 5% again for 4 years tongue.gif

Talking about joke, HLB Priority Banking gave me birthday "gift" by offered me 0.5% extra but for 1 month FD maximum up to RM50,000. That's about RM20 extra in interest only. suisui99, go tell your boss, hahaha
Gen-X
post Apr 7 2011, 12:22 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

well thanks you guys for trying to explain it, but I still blur, of the foreign thingy. Yah he told me several time 100%, I don't understand it but I guess it must be something to do with strike rate within a day or two and then annualized it. Anyway, I 'll just stick to conventional FD and earn less.
Gen-X
post Apr 7 2011, 07:16 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(suisui99 @ Apr 7 2011, 01:53 AM)
my boss birthday just past....shit dont let him know.... i will kena tiao gao lak coz i miss to get information from u early time..... why hlb not direct increase it to the FD depositor? need to walk in and apply???

thank you for u all advice!!!! actually my boss already go to the bank and ask for highest interest rate! but....all bank manager said follow the rules and refer for the advertisement on website or news paper.... but only am bank steady... last time 4.3%, bank manager help him get 4.38%...wahahaha... atleast got extra 0.08%....
For HLB offer, you need to have priority banking with them and yes need to apply to be member. But like I said, the HLB offer is a joke, because you can just walk into any RHB and UOB branch and they can give you almost same or better rates for longer duration and not capped at RM50K.

Did your boss approach Alliance?

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Apr 7 2011, 08:01 AM
Gen-X
post Apr 7 2011, 12:24 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(insaint708 @ Apr 7 2011, 10:14 AM)
What does it mean by get a larger spread between the strike and the spot rate?
Does it mean choose a few currency?
Someone want to open a new thread on this subject where people can ask and more detail explanation can be given.
Gen-X
post Apr 11 2011, 01:36 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(navysealsniper @ Apr 11 2011, 01:31 PM)
Hello, new member here. I have found kind of FD named IFD-i Just4u Campaign, by MAYBANK, launching date is 04-04-11 until 30-06-11.
Promotional rate (4 months tenures, 3.7%p.a. for 1st month, 2.9%p.a. for next 3 months) and (6 months tenures, 4%p.a. for 1st month, 3.1%p.a. next 2 months and 3%p.a. for next 3 months).
I am planning to put RM250K in individual catagory , any advises?? Is it recomended?
Thanks in advance =)
if you want to put RM250K, do consider depositing RM200 into Citigold and get up to 5.85% for 3 months and the other RM50K you can go deposit with MBB smile.gif . Read previous posts on CitiGold if you have not.
Gen-X
post Apr 14 2011, 10:41 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Apr 14 2011, 06:29 PM)
Hehe ! she will be my designated personal banker cum relationship manager.  rclxms.gif 

Gen-X, I don't think you can cabut from CTB when the 5.5% offers ends.   brows.gif
with extra RM1K, I can get more than free coffee elsewhere lah......... up to you imagination tongue.gif But mine a guy by the way.
Just open at UOB since Citi limited to RM200K, there they have counters like HLB for deposits/withdrawals, so got to make the coffee myself doh.gif Getting another UOB credit card with the words Privilege Banking endorsed on it biggrin.gif This card, you can go Orchard road UOB Privilege hall where they not only serve you coffee but many type of drinks plus pastries.

UOB 6 months 3.3% and one year 3.5%

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Apr 14 2011, 10:42 PM
Gen-X
post Apr 16 2011, 01:41 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Apr 15 2011, 11:46 PM)
What's the actual inflation rate nowadays ?
well according to BNM 2.4%, it will be around this region (officially) until next general election if you ask me.
http://www.bnm.gov.my/index.php?ch=8&pg=14&ac=2222

anyway next meeting 5th May 2011, I doubt they will increase OPR as being speculated instead increase SRR again
http://www.bnm.gov.my/index.php?ch=10

Gen-X
post Apr 16 2011, 04:46 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(ycs @ Apr 16 2011, 01:51 PM)
also, remember that the 5.5% interest is only payable 4 weeks after the expiry of the 3 months, thus you have to keep your account for 4 months
QUOTE(cherroy @ Apr 16 2011, 02:16 PM)
Don't need to keep for 4 months, 5.5% is counted for 3 months, as long as within the 3 months the account balance is there, it will be counted for 5.5% interest,
it is just interest is payable after 4 weeks of the 3 months.
What ycs and cherroy mentioned are both correct. To clarify further:

Interest on the 5.5% will only be credited into the Savings account 3 to 4 weeks after the third month and thus, as ycs said, need to maintain account for 4 months i.e. close account after interest from the 5.5% is credited.

Actually, one don't even need to keep the money in the Savings account for entire 3 months. If you want, you can withdraw your money anytime and the 5.5% interest is based on the daily balance in the SA during that 3 months or when your CitiGold membership is withdrawn (according to the person that opened my SA it takes time for this to take effect).

Well, if Citi got no offer comes 18th July, I will withdrawing my money out and just leave nominal sum in the SA and once interest credited, I will close acct and that will cost me RM10. Anyway, I applied for the Citi Plat CC too since the RM50 GST will be absorbed smile.gif

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Apr 16 2011, 04:50 PM
Gen-X
post Apr 19 2011, 09:50 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(tyja @ Apr 19 2011, 09:15 AM)
guys, can help here?
that is the general idea, but instead of months, use days i.e. (days in the 3 months tenure/365) x %
Gen-X
post May 29 2011, 08:37 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(Lis000 @ May 29 2011, 05:01 PM)
Can't seem to find it  sad.gif

Only found this :- http://www1.uob.com.my/jsp/finance/fin_fd.jsp?func=tdeposit

Do you know when this promotion is until?
Call your UOB Branch tomorrow and you will know for sure.
Gen-X
post Jun 1 2011, 10:08 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Jun 1 2011, 09:19 PM)
Went around some banks (HL,CIMB,AMbank,OCBC,HSBC,MBB) today, and found that UOB offer best FD rates:

3 months 3.45%
12 months 3.70%
and the lowest HLB?
Gen-X
post Jun 2 2011, 03:07 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Jun 2 2011, 02:59 PM)
The lowest is UOB lah.
huh? you posted highest UOB and now you say UOB lowest?

8 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0458sec    0.62    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 02:35 AM