Design Own Water Block... Pls Advice.., Design Own Water Block... Pls Advice..

TShmjian
post Aug 25 2011, 04:43 PM, updated 15y ago

27 posts

Dear All sifu .. i'm wanna try to make a New water block for test.... can u a give me some advice....?
Thanks..!
blush.gif blush.gif blush.gif

This post has been edited by hmjian: Sep 5 2011, 03:52 PM

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
jay
post Aug 25 2011, 06:57 PM

Legendary
904 posts

wow u can get access to CNC milling machine??
iaknesnah
post Aug 25 2011, 08:15 PM

just passing by
1,376 posts

only cnc milling can do this iinm.
TShmjian
post Aug 25 2011, 08:55 PM

27 posts

Yes..! my company have...
iaknesnah
post Aug 26 2011, 12:01 AM

just passing by
1,376 posts

wow thats good news. maybe u can produce your own brand cpu block thumbup.gif
TShmjian
post Aug 26 2011, 12:59 AM

27 posts

=.=!! would no people want to buy....
if made by own also the cost almost same as the new water block price....
Cause now the copper quite expansive...

Added on August 26, 2011, 1:06 amdo this block i use few machine to do it....
Backet use for Plasma Cut Machine and water block will use (milling , grinding , tapping and cnc machine )
some more hard polishing by hand.... =.=!!!

This post has been edited by hmjian: Aug 26 2011, 01:08 AM
NoobHacker
post Aug 26 2011, 05:34 PM

1,753 posts

how about the copper's surface?
TShmjian
post Aug 26 2011, 05:41 PM

27 posts

i will polish to mirror surface...

Added on August 26, 2011, 5:43 pm=.=!! some more can ask u.. for the liquid i can put the car liquid? ( for test )

This post has been edited by hmjian: Aug 26 2011, 05:43 PM
NoobHacker
post Aug 26 2011, 11:44 PM

1,753 posts

nono i mean the surface that water goes over it
did you think how to design it? if u wan flat panel china taobao sells this kind of thing very cheap... lols

what liquid?? the water? i prefer standard pc liquid cooling liquid cus non electrical conductive and its cleaner than standard pure water(sometimes you put in a dirty cup and it become a little electrical conductive)

jay
post Aug 27 2011, 01:09 AM

Legendary
904 posts

for the block design, the more fins it got the better the heat dissipation. more surface area maa
TShmjian
post Sep 5 2011, 03:53 PM

27 posts

i change to more fins, this is ok...?
Dennos
post Sep 5 2011, 04:04 PM

2,736 posts

TShmjian
post Sep 5 2011, 05:24 PM

27 posts

THANKS! FOR UR VIDEO drool.gif drool.gif
clawhammer
post Sep 5 2011, 08:49 PM

///M
8,788 posts

Actually there's quite a bit of things which you will need to worry about. For the water block to give good performance, it needs to have microfins on the inside, correct water pressure, thickness of the copper surface. Apart from it, you want it to look nice cosmetically smile.gif In short, it's a lot easier to buy a ready made one.
ALeUNe
post Sep 5 2011, 09:03 PM

I'm the purebred with aristocratic pedigree
9,692 posts

QUOTE(clawhammer @ Sep 5 2011, 08:49 PM)
Actually there's quite a bit of things which you will need to worry about. For the water block to give good performance, it needs to have microfins on the inside, correct water pressure, thickness of the copper surface. Apart from it, you want it to look nice cosmetically smile.gif In short, it's a lot easier to buy a ready made one.
I think the appearance is not important.
The overall performance & price are more important.
If it can match the performance of the top commercial WB at half the cost, isn't it sweet?

How you achieve good performance with least restriction is the the tough job.
CV6149
post Sep 17 2011, 05:33 PM

La Furia Roja!!
1,347 posts

lol..i did my own waterblock b4....heheh now if only i can find it to take picture...

lee-turbo-hks
post Sep 27 2011, 01:06 PM

84 posts

pls beaware of the o-ring groove design, what size of o-ring u use?
u can refer to paker o-ring handbook for all those critical dimension.
o-ring groove design is very important, which determine ur block is usable or not.
i am sure u dun want to damage ur mb
DG41
post Oct 4 2011, 05:13 PM

Power Saving Mode
642 posts

QUOTE(lee-turbo-hks @ Sep 27 2011, 01:06 PM)
pls beaware of the o-ring groove design, what size of  o-ring u use?
u can refer to paker o-ring handbook for all those critical dimension.
o-ring groove design is very important, which determine ur block is usable or not.
i am sure u dun want to damage ur mb
what prob with o ring? are u saying that o ring usually fail to expand in certain temp?
clawhammer
post Oct 4 2011, 07:08 PM

///M
8,788 posts

QUOTE(ALeUNe @ Sep 5 2011, 09:03 PM)
I think the appearance is not important.
The overall performance & price are more important.
If it can match the performance of the top commercial WB at half the cost, isn't it sweet?

How you achieve good performance with least restriction is the the tough job.
You are right but unfortunately appearance and looks matters a lot nowadays smile.gif People buy a water block and change them because of their looks, not performance. If we look around, some people even build WC so their PC looks nice, they probably don't even overclock a lot. Times have changed.

0.0176sec    0.62    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 04:28 PM