Technical PlayStation 2 Tech Talk, Techical problem discussion

yewjhin
post Nov 1 2005, 11:40 AM

159 posts

Hey guys, my ps2 has been giving problems recently. It's a 5XXXX series, 50002 if i'm not mistaken, dunno whats the importance of it anyway, yeah call me newb smile.gif

I havent touched it for almost 2 months and i started gaming again now. Since i bought until 2 months ago it was working fine, except 8 out of 10 times it gives RSOD. But still can play, just have to tolerate resetting it over and over again.

In this recent 1 week, the first few days can play w/o problem, but suddenly the thing cannot read disc anymore.

I tried that 3 step method, testing CD and DVD movie, nothing happen. So it's correct to assume the lens is gone? But why? It was working the day before !!
I tried PS2 games also, cannot work. Any ideas wat happened? And where is the cheapest place to repair it?

Also, what causes RSOD? Lousy modchip? I bought my PS2 about 1.5 years ago in Singapore. Gee, maybe i kena con.

This post has been edited by yewjhin: Nov 1 2005, 11:53 AM
yewjhin
post Nov 2 2005, 11:07 AM

159 posts

Help? Pls? Refer to above post

Hey guys, my ps2 has been giving problems recently. It's a 5XXXX series, 50002 if i'm not mistaken, dunno whats the importance of it anyway, yeah call me newb

I havent touched it for almost 2 months and i started gaming again now. Since i bought until 2 months ago it was working fine, except 8 out of 10 times it gives RSOD. But still can play, just have to tolerate resetting it over and over again.

In this recent 1 week, the first few days can play w/o problem, but suddenly the thing cannot read disc anymore.

I tried that 3 step method, testing CD and DVD movie, nothing happen. So it's correct to assume the lens is gone? But why? It was working the day before !!
I tried PS2 games also, cannot work. Any ideas wat happened? And where is the cheapest place to repair it?

Also, what causes RSOD? Lousy modchip? I bought my PS2 about 1.5 years ago in Singapore. Gee, maybe i kena con.

This post has been edited by yewjhin: Nov 2 2005, 11:09 AM
yewjhin
post Nov 2 2005, 09:30 PM

159 posts

Wowoww thanks so much... Whats LA chip?

I just want a modchip that can play u-know-wat games. Whats the price range and cheapest model?
yewjhin
post Nov 3 2005, 09:30 PM

159 posts

QUOTE(tot31 @ Nov 3 2005, 02:51 PM)
LA chip a DVD controller chip. All v9/v10 aka 5k series PS2 are using this chip and known to self destruct itself. The LA chip itself is not that expensive but the labour is costly as it is not that easy to change the chip.
SELF DESTRUCT? OMG !

Adoi.. why oh why was my PS2 a 5k series. So how much would it cost to change the LA chip + labour? And also a decent modchip tat can play you-know-wat games?

How much would that be? Thanks man..
yewjhin
post Dec 19 2005, 12:26 AM

159 posts

How much does the lens cost itself for a FAT PS2 5xxxx and where can i buy it to DIY? Also any guides to fix it?

0.0157sec    0.51    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 03:48 PM