Rugby, Rugby Scene Both Local & International

providence
post Feb 2 2006, 07:25 PM

648 posts

I played rugby for my school SEMESTA Phytons from 1990-1992. Mostly played in 7's or 10's tournament as they are not so many spb schools in Pahang that plays rugby seriously. I mostly played at the right wing position as speed was my main weapon. Getting tackled? - already used to it laugh.gif The last ever tournament that our team managed to participate was the SEMSAS 7's in 1992. We got bashed like nobody business as mostly our key players got suspended from school because of disciplinary problems. But we manage to get the runner-up spot in the plate division.
Previously our seniors won the MSSP title for two years in a row and if we win it for the third time, we will get to keep the trophy. But our school's principal didnt allow us, form 5 students to participate because of our SPM exams. What a waste.
providence
post Feb 6 2006, 11:03 PM

648 posts

QUOTE(arres @ Feb 5 2006, 11:42 PM)
errmm...well,good for you...7's an 10's tournament is the best...now the malaysian team are on action in hong kong...its a 7's tournament...

hmm..bout semesta,they have a good team...but then now what i heard is that SEMSAS is the project school for the pahang state...pahang nowadays not doing very well in rugby tournament...sumtin wrong sumwhere??? smile.gif

most schools dont allow their 5th former to participate in any rugby tournament because they want the students to excel in their studies rather than in sports... *sigh*
Yeah, I have to admit SEMSAS is better than SEMESTA now. After I left school, that was the last era of glory for SEMESTA's rugby. Mostly the younger generations there aim for tennis or basketball. BTW, when I was playing for the U-15 team, we fought against an orang asli team. Their age is around 13-14 years old, but they look like 20-25 years old physically laugh.gif Lucky their skills are bad, so we wallop them through the end. My worst nightmare in playing rugby is when our team were playing games against the MCKK boys and the barbaric RMAF team. Kena lanyak habis laugh.gif
providence
post Feb 7 2006, 07:42 PM

648 posts

QUOTE(arres @ Feb 7 2006, 04:20 PM)
rofl..orang asli team huh? is that the keratong tigers? heard of that team some times...during my school years.. smile.gif

mckk still doing good...but people hate them because of their ego sad.gif
Not the keratong tigers. At that year rugby was widely promoted through the Pahang state and thats why a lot of underdogs appeared out of no where.

mckk got good training for rugby from what I heard. Their skills also are good.
After got some nice bashing from them, they didnt shake hands with us, some of them even laughed at us sweat.gif

0.0257sec    0.45    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 02:03 AM