Fat Failure Workout Attempt Log, Trying not to fail so hard

TSjGuyz
post Aug 24 2011, 02:49 PM, updated 15y ago

14 posts

I would like to reduce my overall body fat and then to gain muscle and thats just a general idea I have with general workouts or diets learned from Google lol

I hope to have some advise to correct my eating habits and activities to reach my objective with the help of you guys.

My Details
Age 28
Weight 78 KG
Height 160 CM
Thighs 28 inch
My thighs are really fat and I hope to reduce it to a good measure against my height.

Waist measurement : 36 inch
I have a bulging belly that makes me feel uncomfortable as the belly is bulging 2 inch from my waist and this cause the in betwwen belly and waist to itch .

Sample illustration ;

Belly======>|38 inch | Back
Belly Bulge==>\_37 inch | Back
Waist =====+=>|36 inch| Back

Food & Calorie Intake
Previous Food Intake Record (As of 21 August)
Breakfast : Coffee/Teh Tarik/Mamak Food
Lunch : Fast Food ( KFC/MCD), Chicken Rice/mamak Food
Dinner : Mixed Rice ( Fried chicken/fish) Veggies

on Weekends I tend to have large portion of foods for lunch and dinner (Usually Steaks/Fried chicken) with beer.

Excercise
Walking (Pretty much none)=======================================================================
Current Food Intake As of 22 August onwards
Breakfast : Coffee/Tea with no sugar or milk and Oatmeal biscuit
Lunch : One cup rice with tofu and veggies
Dinner : Mixed Nuts 100gm / Oatmeal 250 gm

Im also drinking organic apple cider twice a day as I read that its a healthy drink with a lot of benefits

Excercise
I need help at this part a lot as my only excercise is only when im not sitting down doing daily stuff I know I need to change/do other then just eating habits.

Week 1
Monday : 1 hour on the threadmill
Tuesday : 1 hour on the threadmill
Wednesday: 1 hour on the threadmill
Thursday : 1 hour on the threadmill
Friday : 1 hour on the threadmill
Saturday : 1 hour on the threadmill
Sunday : 1 hour on the threadmill

I know my workout isnt much of a workout , please help me if you can. Thanks!
mikehuan
post Aug 24 2011, 04:27 PM

6,160 posts

same age as me tongue.gif

a few things; try to eat smaller portion of meals but at shorter periods of time in between, say around 3 hours between each meals. this averages out to 5-6 meals a day. this is to keep your metabolism up the whole day. try to balance out carbs, fats and protein in your diet. eating too little lowers your metabolism and consequently affects your workouts.

doing treadmills everyday for the same period of time isnt a good idea, your body needs to rest as well. i would recommend for starters try to do it 3-4 times a week instead, and really push yourself to the limit for each session. im assuming you are in a gym considering you have access to a treadmill, so you might want to vary your exercises to keep yourself from burning out.

try to do weights as well? muscle burns fats even while you're not working out and looking good is always a good thing smile.gif. good luck man.
TSjGuyz
post Aug 24 2011, 05:10 PM

14 posts

Yay! Thanks for the advise , I can certainly eat more in a day for additional 3 times but what do you recomend that is good for my goal?

Are nuts okay those assorted cocktail nuts with almonds , figs , cashews ? I understand those roasted nuts/salted nuts are bad.

As for weight training , How do I measure the correct number of sets or determine type of lifts thats suitable? I can post the condition of my body later for you good people to advise accordingly.

Anyways at the moment the only excercise that I could do comfortably is just the treadmill but my heart rate goes up very high. It just take 15 minutes for me to reach 190-200 but I dont feel woozy or have blackout however , Ill just feel tired and wil be okay the next day. So far has been doing it for 2 days.

Should I do something like Cardio & Weights on alternate days? Thanks for your advise!

mikehuan
post Aug 24 2011, 09:26 PM

6,160 posts

QUOTE(jGuyz @ Aug 24 2011, 05:10 PM)
Yay! Thanks for the advise , I can certainly eat more in a day for additional 3 times but what do you recomend that is good for my goal?

Are nuts okay those assorted cocktail nuts with almonds , figs , cashews ? I understand those roasted nuts/salted nuts are bad.
As for weight training , How do I measure the correct number of sets or determine type of lifts thats suitable? I can post the condition of my body later for you good people to advise accordingly.

Anyways at the moment the only excercise that I could do comfortably is just the treadmill but my heart rate goes up very high. It just take 15 minutes for me to reach 190-200 but I dont feel woozy or have blackout however , Ill just feel tired and wil be okay the next day. So far has been doing it for 2 days.

Should I do something like Cardio & Weights on alternate days? Thanks for your advise!
im no trainer, and have no training whatsoever, so take my advice with a pinch of salt biggrin.gif
Eat a portion that can last you 3 hours without getting hungry, is maybe for me the optimal portion size. not too much, but not too little either.

there are tons of workout routines online, check the stickies here, member workout journals, online articles. too many to mention all in one go..if you still have questions ask at the bb thread for more input.

yeah, trail mix = assorted nuts. the ones you find at bakery shops i dont think are roasted but try avoid salted ones

whatever exercise you're doing, be it treadmill or w/e, try to push yourself to your limit, and do better than the day before. treadmill you can for example run few hundred meters further, or run longer duration at the same speed. anything to exceed your previous performance. key here is to be better!

yes, optimally weights and cardio should be done alternate days, but depending on your schedule, combining them in the same session isn't all that bad. make sure you prioritise though, dont do both equally with same intensity. me, for example, am focusing more on weightlifting, so i would do cardio AFTER my lifting session and only for 15 minutes.
TSjGuyz
post Aug 25 2011, 11:46 AM

14 posts

Wow Thanks a lot for the detailed reply , really appreciatte it. I will work on a better workoout plan and diet. Thanks!
mareno77
post Sep 13 2011, 10:50 PM

260 posts

Perhaps you could start off with simple workout routine which includes bodyweight exercise like I have just started ( my journal: My workout) or the Office worker morning workout. Perhaps that would be more interesting and challenging than just doing the treadmill for 1 hour.

This post has been edited by mareno77: Sep 13 2011, 10:50 PM

0.0178sec    0.36    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 10:42 PM