Public Mutual v3, Public/PB series funds

xuzen
post Sep 11 2011, 05:09 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(bursalchemy)
which equity fund would u recommend? i dont have interest on bond fund since i got ASB can generate 7-8% p.a.
i just want to set aside some of my fund to equity fund to achieve more than tht return..

when is the right time to buy equity fund?

PDSF - for good risk adjusted performance with Asia ex-Japan exposure

PRSF - for purely local exposure to FBMEMAS index.

When is a good time?

Now as P/E of Asia Ex-Japan is low due to the current sell-down. KLSE is slightly lower than the 10 y/a avr P/E. (i.e., 10 year avr P/E is 16.7, current P/E as of 1-9-2011 is 16
0)

Xuzen

This post has been edited by xuzen: Sep 11 2011, 05:10 PM
xuzen
post Sep 14 2011, 01:11 PM

4,436 posts

I have an administrative question for PM-UTC/AM/GAM here:

My DDI is linked to a PB Current a/c and if I do not put enough fund in it, what will happen?

My Upline said nothing will happen and the DDI will continue as normal next month when there is sufficient fund.

The PM branch customer service receptionist told me DDI acts like a cheque and if there is insufficient fund, it is considered as dishonoured cheque and will be penalized.

Same question, two different answers. Can I get a third or fourth opinion?

Xuzen
xuzen
post Sep 14 2011, 05:53 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(moon yuen @ Sep 14 2011, 05:25 PM)
Public select dividend fund ... average cost = 0.32, currently 0.2678

I plan to switch when it reach 0.28..... (at loss though),

plan to buy more when it is 0.26 ....  then switch when it reach 0.28...

My plan OK ?
What is the rationale for switching? Do you need to use the money when it hit 0.28?

PDSF is one of the better performing funds among the PM staple.

Xuzen
xuzen
post Sep 25 2011, 05:52 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(Irresistible @ Sep 25 2011, 09:43 AM)
TOP 3 Public equity fund is What wo ? In terms of risk / return....

In u guys opinion !

eg. high risk  1.   2.   3. (ranking)

& moderate risk  1.   2.   3.
i) PDSF
ii) PRSF
iii) PSF

The above are the funds that is ranked 1st, 2nd and 3rd in terms of risk adjusted performance based on last 3 years historical data.

The above is not based on my opinion, but calculated using analytical tools such as Jessen-Alpha ratio, Modigliani ratio.

If you do not know the above ratio, never mind, just buy The Edge paper and you will also see that they have 4 to 5 star rating using the Morning-Star™ scale.

Xuzen

Added on September 25, 2011, 5:59 pm
QUOTE(Kinitos @ Sep 24 2011, 02:15 PM)
So now all the unit trust fans thinks FD is better, all a year talk tok sing siong about dividends now unit price back to Aug2010? From now onwards day and night worrying not thinking how to recover the profits, but thinking how to recover the capital?
FD is always better if your objective is to obtain 2.5% p.a, capital protected to RM 200K per account.

But if your objective is to get a IRR that is above inflation, then FD suxs big time.

In investment, there is bound to be up and down. To wish for none of the peak and trough is like complaining that the sea has tide and current.

So when chosing an investement vehicle it is wise to go for those that gives high risk adjusted performance. Again, to know what I am talking about, buy The Edge paper, look at the 5 year historical Sharpe Ratio of the fund. Buy the fund which has the highest Sharpe Ratio.

Xuzen

This post has been edited by xuzen: Sep 25 2011, 05:59 PM
xuzen
post Sep 30 2011, 01:42 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(Irresistible @ Sep 25 2011, 06:13 PM)
I am holding PDSF, but its losing money.... sad.gif

What do u think about RHB Islamic bond fund ?  Wan to invest in Non public  mutual fund too...
You are losing money because you your avr NAV is higher than the current NAV. Market has been beaten down, and since the beta of PDSF is 0.80 of KLSE100 benchmark, it's NAV will surely be low at this moment in time.

You cannot compare PDSF with RHB I-Bond. You must compare apple with apple and orange with orange.

Xuzen
xuzen
post Oct 4 2011, 04:42 PM

4,436 posts

I have a question:

I intend to use the Bond portion like FD as a emergency fund. My question is, does the low load funds have the 90 days stay period or can I take out if emergency dictates? without inccuring the 0.75% penalty charges?

Xuzen
xuzen
post Oct 12 2011, 04:45 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(pergilahsayang @ Oct 12 2011, 03:49 PM)
Walauwei.... price increased tremendously yet again. Guess i have missed the good time to invest before huhuhuhu sad......
Ni la, bila mkt turun takut/ bola kecut.
Sekrang dah naik, cakap miss da boat.

That is why, lain hari buat Regular saving plan for Dollar Cost Averaging.

Xuzen
xuzen
post Dec 15 2011, 06:28 AM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(moon yuen @ Dec 15 2011, 02:06 AM)
Where can I get Public Mutual Fund Portfolio ?

Any link ? notworthy.gif
From their Quarterly Review Newletter you can get a summary i.e., the fund top five holdings.

For detail holding, download the respective annual report in pdf format from the Public Mutual website.

Xuzen

xuzen
post Jan 8 2012, 05:11 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Jan 6 2012, 03:56 PM)
I notice almost all china funds not only PM, but also other fund house not doing very well based on past records.

Hence, if ppl already bought this fund and dont want to lose money, I think only way is keep on DDI and buy more when if drops alot. Well.. to me, China funds will take longer to break even..
Number crunching time:

PCIF's 3 years Jessen-Alpha ratio is negative.

PCIF's 3 years Modigliani^2 ratio is also negative.

Don't DDI, you should punish the fund manager by stopping your DDI (meaning they can't get their 1.5% annual MER from you if you do not buy into their funds) while putting it into funds that perform. If the funds do not perform above the benchmark, they will not get my 1.5% MER. If they perform exceeding benchmark, then I will gladly pay them the 1.5% MER.

Financial ratio such as those I mentioned above help me to make informed decisions.

Fund managers need to be punished if they do not perform. Remember folks, we are the boss, not the fund manager. Get educated on these ratios. Get the EMO out of your decision making processes.

Xuzen

This post has been edited by xuzen: Jan 8 2012, 05:16 PM
xuzen
post Jan 8 2012, 05:28 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Jan 8 2012, 05:20 PM)
@xuzen, should I be grateful to switch out from PCSF early? hmm.gif
Yes, you should.

PCSF also have negative ratio.

Xuzen
xuzen
post Feb 18 2012, 10:02 AM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(guanteik @ Feb 17 2012, 10:00 PM)
Actually you're right. The service charge of 5.5% imposed by Public Mutual is really high. And, not that their funds are so good in performance. I would only invest with my EPF Account#1, rather than cash investment.

Use the cash for better income generation, such as stocks.
Yes, I totally agree with you. If you take a look at the 4th Qtrly Review Y2011, many Pub-Mut funds are below benchmark. Hellooooooooo, what the f#ck! We pay you 5.5% + 1.5% to under-perform the benchmark kah? We sor-chai ar?

Good-bye Pub-Mut, hello FSM.

Xuzen
xuzen
post Feb 19 2012, 05:57 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(holybo @ Feb 19 2012, 02:47 PM)
yea.. many oversea funds perform much lower than benchmark, the index are so high ady but the fund still not performing
Pub-Mut is only a jaguh kampung type fund manager. Only a handful of LOCAL funds perform above benchmark, while ALL their foreign fund perform worse than benchmark.

Pub-Mut = 3rd rate Jaguh Kampung fund manager.

Xuzen
xuzen
post Mar 4 2012, 04:49 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(kabal82 @ Mar 4 2012, 03:57 PM)
PSF = Public Saving Funds

PRSF also recovered well from the downtrend during Q3 2011 from what i see thru the PM Monthly Fund Review... if got additional $$$, i want to invest in it (after financial year end, i.e. end of March)... any sifu can give comment about PRSF?
In my opinion, PRSF is a fund that is worth going in as all the performance ratio are showing good fund management.

However, the I usually enter the equity at the support level, and unfortunately currently, PRSF underlying benchmark is at its resistance level. In simple English... it is a no-go at the moment. Wait for pull-back.

Xuzen

xuzen
post Apr 23 2012, 07:34 PM

4,436 posts

Just some bragging post:

I just did a whole lot of analysis on my portfolio and the results are such:

My expected return is 12%p.a. with a Downside Standard Deviation of 2% (aka semi-deviation).

The Risk adjusted performance is 2.5 times better than KLCI's .

The Value at Risk at 95% confidence level is 8.5%

To put it in plain english, my portfolio of assets will give me a rtn of 12% p.a. with a downside risk of 2% standard deviation, and in the worst case scenario, the maximum lost I will be exposed is 8.5% and the chance of that happening is like once in every twenty years.

And yes, I out-perform KLCI in a risk-adjusted environment.

Xuzen
xuzen
post Apr 24 2012, 09:50 AM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Apr 23 2012, 07:47 PM)
Congrats Xuzen.
I gotta spend U some good food one day AND suck your brains dry on "how to.." calculate all that for an entire portfolio  laugh.gif
I baka - only can track stats per transaction and per fund/stocks/fixed incomes/properties/etc.

Mostly due to a changing variable (and my own blurness with stats) - available resources (monthly savings for investments & EPF), which also influences asset allocation and total assets (net worth and investment/investable assets).

Really need to kacau U one of these days, can ar? I hope you're around Klang Valley heheh  notworthy.gif
Mr WongMK,

Let me start by quoting a fellow forumer here (Dreamer): "Average people are not rich, and rich people are not average"

I desire not to be just an average when it comes to personal investment and I desire to have my future cash in-flow mainly from the I-quadrant as defined by Robert Kiyosaki.

Next, let me indulge in some personal backstory:

I started to be serious about investing beginning 2008 (about 4 years ago). What started the ball rolling was my enrolment into the CFP class and from there I started to acquire investment related knowledge rapidly.

I read widely on investment related topics, I bought books, I attended seminars, workshops, hell, I spend a lot of time and money to acquire these skills.

A little bit about attending seminars: I did not attend those like Mariam McWilliams et al, where all they do is to teach you trading skill. I attended seminars that are more academic, given by lecturers who work in the fund management setting as well Investment banking sector.

I also attend workshops given by Private bankers and Licensed Financial Planner where they share their knowledge on Personal Investment.

The above calculation I did are actually not too difficult once you know the mechanism of it. These informations are usually taught at CFA Lvl 1. I attended some CFA class (Lvl 1) although I have no desire to go all the way to Lvl 3. CFA is too much for personal investor like me, unless you desire to have a career in Corporate Investment, and that is a different cup of tea.

There you are Mr WongMK, a little background about my personal investment journey so far. I have to stop here, got to go back to my day to day job.

In my next posting (maybe later tonight after work) I'll share with you my calculations.

Xuzen

Added on April 24, 2012, 9:55 am
QUOTE(j.passing.by @ Apr 23 2012, 10:34 PM)
Yes, wongmunkeong, I lost money too in the “infamous PCSF”.  I think PM got tapau by foreign and China investing houses by venturing too far abroad. It could be nice of Tan Sri Public Bank if he can recognised their shortcomings and foolhardiness, and redeemed us loyal followers for venturing with them into the deep end.  whistling.gif
Yes, PCSF suxs big time.

Its fund evaluation parameters (jessen-alpha, treynor, sharpe, modigliani, sortino ratio) shows that this fund is bullocks.

I have zero exposure in it, thank god.

Xuzen

This post has been edited by xuzen: Apr 24 2012, 09:55 AM
xuzen
post Apr 24 2012, 06:59 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Apr 23 2012, 07:47 PM)
Congrats Xuzen.
I gotta spend U some good food one day AND suck your brains dry on "how to.." calculate all that for an entire portfolio  laugh.gif
I baka - only can track stats per transaction and per fund/stocks/fixed incomes/properties/etc.

Mostly due to a changing variable (and my own blurness with stats) - available resources (monthly savings for investments & EPF), which also influences asset allocation and total assets (net worth and investment/investable assets).

Really need to kacau U one of these days, can ar? I hope you're around Klang Valley heheh  notworthy.gif
Now lets get down and dirty to the mathematics section: I will not explain all the terms here as I assume you can google them.

1) Look through your assets. Look at their past return, lets take 3 years, now, annualized their return. You may take 5 years or whatever years, but my data is 3 years only. So I'll stick with three years. Remember to take the annualized return and not the absolute return.

2) Now, do a standard deviation calculation of your assets return. Formula = [(Sum of [individual rtn - mean rtn]^2)/n]^1/2. If you want to use Semi-deviation instead of standard deviation, then count only the assets which have a rtn below the mean instead of all points. But the n remains the same.

3) Now you would have a return and her corresponding standard/semi deviation.

4) To calculate risk adjusted performance (aka Modigliani^2 ratio) = [(Rtn of your portfolio - Risk free rate)/Stan-Dev of portfolio] X Stan-Dev of benchmark + Risk Free Rate. NB: I used KLCI as my bench mark and One year FD in local bank as my risk free rate.

5) Value at Risk is given by the formula = Mean Portfolio Rtn + (zeta x Stan-Dev of portfolio) where zeta is taken as -1.64. The assumption is that zeta is -1.64 for a normal distribution curve at 95% confidence level.

Don't ask me more about this zeta value, I just take it as gospel truth from my lecturer, I am a pragmatic person, therefore I am not so concern for its theory and how zeta is derived.

WongMK, wrt you belanja me makan, not necessary, as long you think what I say is useful and is not bullocks and as long as other who are interested about personal investing find my post useful for them, that is reward in it self. Beside, I am not living in Klang Valley. Very far from it.

Xuzen

Added on April 24, 2012, 7:04 pm
QUOTE(Malformed @ Apr 24 2012, 04:46 PM)
Hello xuzen,

Good to hear someone reading the CASHFLOW Quadrant. I have read it and about to finish the book, but I have yet to begin the 7 steps he had written at the end of the book.  Then today I came across this post - which made me thinker. Although I know that it a writer may be writing all sorts to be a bestseller, CASHFLOW Quadrant indeed has shone light to me, so I decided to continue his guidance despite what others say about him.  I just came out to work but I do want to start early in moving to the right side of the quadrant.

How old were you when you read the CASHFLOW Quadrant? I am buying funds from PM, but I am investing in a recommended fund as a start. I don't know how well did it perform, or determine how well will it be able to perform, but I believe it is a good start to get involved. What do you think?
If you do not do any financial analysis of your fund, how could you confidently answer this. As usual, we can never predict how it will perform in the future.

That is why there are so many ratios and theory made by the financial gurus to measure and mitigate the risk but not the return.

Please note that in most of this theories/ratio, the risk is more important than rtn.

As one famous investor puts it (can't remember who): Take care of the risk, and the profits will take care of itself.

But as a start, buy The Edge weekend newspaper, look at the Normandy Fund Table and choose the fund that has high Sharpe Ratio... that can be a good start.

Happy investing, Malformed.

Xuzen

This post has been edited by xuzen: Apr 24 2012, 07:04 PM
xuzen
post Apr 24 2012, 09:35 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Apr 24 2012, 07:20 PM)
Heheh danke danke Xuzen. notworthy.gif
Screenshot your guide and going to meditate on it over the weekend when i can concentrate better after a few cups of coffee locked in my house and no women distracting me laugh.gif

Off-topic a bit - eh, far away from Klang Valley? er.. ok lar, drop me a pm when U are visiting around Klang Valley, makan's on me.

eh, by the way, i read / heard (audio book) somewhere that high Sharpe Ratio as one of the basis, is good but not to place too high an over-riding importance to it
eg.
Long-Term Capital Management (LTCM) had a very high Sharpe ratio of 4.35 before it imploded in 1998. Just like in nature, the investment world is not immune to long-term disaster, for example, like a 100-year flood. If it weren't for these kinds of events, no one would invest in anything but equities.
LCTM gila leverage on the their investments in Russian bonds and it went kablooey.
Of course that's a hedge fund lar, not a mutual fund sweat.gif

Just sharing what i read/heard  notworthy.gif

Read more:
http://www.investopedia.com/articles/07/Sh...p#ixzz1sxIpanyv
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Long-Term_Capital_Management
My rebuttals are as follows:

1) LTCM is a hedge fund. Hedge funds tend to be illiquid. Why Sharpe ratio failed in those scenarios are already explained in the links you provided, so I need not elaborate.

2) Sharpe ratio when used to evaluate plain vanilla unit trust is still ok, because the unit trusts' assets are equities and they are highly liquid. Furthermore, the funds move in tandem with their respective benchmark. Hedge funds usually have no benchmark to compare with.

3) Another point I want to highlight wrt Sharpe ratio is that it can only be used to compare within assets of similar class. For example, bond funds tend to have very high Sharpe ratios, do that mean we put all our money into a bond fund? No, because a Sharpe ratio is only meaningful when compared with assets of similar class.

Added on April 24, 2012, 9:37 pm
QUOTE(Malformed @ Apr 24 2012, 07:41 PM)
It was a recommended fund by a relative of mine. He told me many things but I couldn't absorb everything in one shot. So I put my money in, and let the game begin.

Can I choose to look at The Edge online rather than the newspaper? Though I searched in the website to find Normandy Fund Table and got lost. I will look for The Edge this weekend, thanks for your advise.
Give me the name of the fund and let me run some numbers before I comment further.

Unfortunately, the Normandy Table is only available in the Print format (The weekend version, not the daily one).

Xuzen

This post has been edited by xuzen: Apr 24 2012, 09:37 PM
xuzen
post Apr 25 2012, 09:39 AM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(Malformed @ Apr 24 2012, 10:17 PM)
It is PB AUSTRALIA DYNAMIC BALANCED FUND (PBADBF), my relative advised me to invest in Public Mutual as a start. If I were to save 300 a month, 3.6k a year, it would be 36k in ten years, plus the annual interest rate. But I am still wondering what if the NAV gone down.. and a Public Mutual Unit Trust Manager told me that although the funds will go up and down, it will eventually break even, for example if this year it drops, the following years to come will get back up, thus monthly investment.

Forgive my naivety  sweat.gif
Sorry, this is probably a new fund. I don't have the proper data to calculate it.

The one which I have data, I can tell you that PBAREIF (PB Asia Real Estate Income Fund) is a winner.

For PBAREIF, its 3 year annualized rtn is 20.39% p.a where the 12.00% rtn is due to the effort of the Fund manager (Jessen-alpha rtn or excess rtn over the benchmark) and the Risk Adjusted Performance is 15.64 as compared to its benchmark of 7.43%. In another word, PBAREIF is a winner.

A word of caution, do not put all your eggs into one fund. Spread it out across a few asset class. Example, money market, bond, Asia Equities, Real Estate etc.

Xuzen

This post has been edited by xuzen: Apr 25 2012, 09:49 AM
xuzen
post Apr 29 2012, 11:17 AM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(Malformed @ Apr 25 2012, 01:57 PM)
Hello xuzen,

Do you keep track of your data in a software?

Although you tell me it is a winner, which I don't want to offend you  notworthy.gif  but to me is just another fund because I don't know how to calculate. Too many numbers is confusing but Kiyosaki says we have to think with numbers and not feelings  laugh.gif , I will try to absorb what you have told me. On calculating, where do you think is good to learn

Is it a wise action for me, if I were to buy another fund (eg. PBAREIF as you advised) and invest in it every month apart from what I am currently having? Or should I learn to buy low and sell high  icon_question.gif ?

I learnt the most from CFP class Module 4: Investment Planning.

The best fornula to answer your second question is to calculate the correlation coefficient.

To calculate that you need to know the standard deviation of the funds and the average return.

I could easily calculate the above for you using Excel, but unfortunately, your PBADBF is a new fund and without the relevant parameters, I can't calculate i.e. it does not have historical data to back it up.

Therefore in the absence of statistical information, if PBADBF is giving you a positive return above your own expectation, just keep it first, since you've already paid the upfront sales charge.

You should not make buy low sell high as your priority as it is a very difficult thing to do in real life. In investment planning, the professional financial planners are all advocating asset allocation.

Xuzen

xuzen
post Apr 29 2012, 04:37 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(kparam77 @ Apr 29 2012, 02:55 PM)
since u r holding PIX, i beleive ur risk tolerance is moderate.

my suggetions only,
PSF
PRSF
PGF
PIDF
PSDF

Pls consider to omit PSF from the list, it suxs these days.

Xuzen

0.0247sec    0.30    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 02:27 PM