Public Mutual v3, Public/PB series funds

moon yuen
post Aug 30 2011, 02:00 PM

2,293 posts

I bought PDSF (select dividend fund) at average cost of RM 0.32 few months back , now ITS RM 0.26XX.
Yesterday, I invest some $$ into Public stregic bond fund.

1) Is PDSF a good fund ? What public mutual fund / NOT public mutual fund u recommended ?

2) My agent tell me to pump more $$ in PDSF ? but, I m quite reluctant to do so since it is already loss...

3) what should I do on this fund ? Hold on ? Invest more ?

4) Is it possible to save on the 5.5% service charge or discounted ? And its annual fees.

This post has been edited by moon yuen: Aug 30 2011, 02:30 PM
moon yuen
post Sep 14 2011, 11:00 AM

2,293 posts

What do u guys do with ur EQUITY FUND ?

SWITCH IT to BOND since its dropping like hell.... mad.gif
moon yuen
post Sep 14 2011, 05:25 PM

2,293 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Sep 14 2011, 11:27 AM)
Personally:
Keep on executing and tracking as per planned
1. 50% of $ for equity funds on DCA + VCA no fear / no greed programmatic investments
2. 50% of $ for equity funds awaiting current bearish Trend to get into accumulation trend

What about U? Share share lar - dont just be angry  brows.gif
Public select dividend fund ... average cost = 0.32, currently 0.2678

I plan to switch when it reach 0.28..... (at loss though),

plan to buy more when it is 0.26 .... then switch when it reach 0.28...

My plan OK ?

This post has been edited by moon yuen: Sep 14 2011, 05:26 PM
moon yuen
post Sep 14 2011, 06:03 PM

2,293 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Sep 14 2011, 05:53 PM)
What is the rationale for switching? Do you need to use the money when it hit 0.28?

PDSF is one of the better performing funds among the PM staple.

Xuzen
I felt that It will drop after hit 0.28.... smile.gif

by switching it, I can buy back some at a lower price.... eg. 0.25

anyway, plan to go to Kenanga growth fund .... lower fee.

moon yuen
post Sep 14 2011, 10:08 PM

2,293 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Sep 14 2011, 09:19 PM)
Heheh - different folks have different calculations to arrive at the 6 phases of a cycle (recovery, accumulation, bullish, warning, distribution and bearish) and even different time-length.

Generally, as i'm aware (i may NOT be that AWARE ar tongue.gif), there's:
a. short term (20days+/-)
b. mid term (50 days+/-)
c. long term (200days+/-)

For example talking about KLCI trend:
Based on how the 20days moving average (MA) of KLCI VS 50days MA of KLCI VS current end of day (EOD) of KLCI is, U get the short-mid term trend
Based on how the 50dma VS 200dma VS EOD, U get the mid-long trend

For example of calculation (using the TrendAdvisor book's formula):
IF EOD<50DMA AND EOD>200DMA AND 50DMA>200DMA = Warning mid-long trend
IF EOD<50DMA AND EOD<200DMA AND 50DMA>200DMA = Distribution mid-long trend
IF EOD<50DMA AND EOD<200DMA AND 50DMA<200DMA = Bearish mid-long trend

If U look at the example above, U'll notice the logic (moving from Warning to Bearish) that the fall becomes steeper and steeper.
Similar REVERSE situation for Recovery-->Accumulation-->Bullish

Please note that a trend does NOT go straight down or up, but there is very high probability it'll shift to either "left" or "right" or stay on current trend

REFERENCE: recovery <--> accumulation <--> bullish <--> warning <--> distribution <--> bearish<-->recovery
eg.
Say we're in a bearish trend now
There is high probability that it'll stay in bearish trend (still falling like a stone)
OR slow down while still falling (moving left to distribution)
OR hit bottom and flat line and crawl slowly up (moving right, to recovery)

Note:
+ve trend = recovery (flat line and crawling up), accumulation (steeper climb up), bullish (holy kaka steep climb up)
-ve trend = warning (flat line and crawling down), distribution (steeper fall down), bearish(holy kaka steep fall down)

Quick quiz
Thus, based on probability AND value, the best time to get into equities IF one doesnt have any running investment program is?
AND
if one doesnt have any proper plans (ie. main tikam) when bought in earlier, when would be the best time to get/stay out?
brows.gif

Oh crap.. i just noticed this thing is in PM thread/topic. Most mutual fund investors arent Trend users but i know some agencies are and some (note only some) are adept at getting their customers in/out of equities and into bonds. Please note that i'm not advocating that U use Trend as a tool blindly. I'm sharing it here for U to digest and see if it fits what U want to learn/use and then go do your own entry/exit plans yar. Your mileage may vary and U may have better methodologies  notworthy.gif
Thanks .... but, I don't really understand ... haha
moon yuen
post Sep 21 2011, 06:48 AM

2,293 posts

How to withdraw some of PUBLIC MUTUAL FUND ?

This place (ulu) don't have public mutual centre.

I got public mutual online though. Is it possible to withdraw via online ? How to do it ? Transfer to my Public bank...
moon yuen
post Sep 22 2011, 10:23 PM

2,293 posts

If use other bank to REINVESTMENT for Public Mutual, (eg. CIMB), how much is the charges ?
moon yuen
post Oct 3 2011, 01:57 PM

2,293 posts

I m holding PDSF (Dividend select fund) - average cost RM 0.32, losing money. (around 10%). Now, less than RM 0.26

So, I plan to switch it to Bond. Then, when the market drop (undervalued), I only buy back equity...... So, no charge for 5.5% if buy back equity, RIGHT ?

Is my idea work ??

I do not have much $$ to average the cost.

Because I pay lump sum in the PDSF. (RM 0.32)

moon yuen
post Oct 3 2011, 02:32 PM

2,293 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Oct 3 2011, 02:03 PM)
Yes your costing is correct - pls remember to add the SWITCHING charges to it yar.

Your idea works or not is another Q.
Since U lump sum / sai lang and not doing consistent periodic investment via DCA or VCA:
If U switched to Bonds already

actually, I just DCA last week. (about 10% of the TOTAL VALUE) I just don't wan to Dollar cost average anymore since I need to PUMP more & more $$ into it.

( I don't have that much $$ to average the PEAK PRICE to 30% or less of TOTAL VALUE ) And it eventually DROPPING & DROPPING. ( I guess the market will drop)

Frankly, this is just a PLAN.

I may only switch back when it is at lowest point & recovering, ie. KLSE 900 points or 800 points (WHICH I no need to PUMP in more $$ at least for the time being).

I expect it won't drop below 800 points gua ....

I can hold it for a while, I think...

moon yuen
post Oct 6 2011, 12:04 AM

2,293 posts

Guys, I just additional INVESTMENT in equity fund, eg. RM 5K TWO weeks ago.

T0tal fund size = RM 55K (more than 2 months )

If I wan to switch , what is the charges ?
what 3 months rule, is this only apply to RM 5K portion ? Or the whole fund ? I mean kena charge RM 50..

So, can I SWITCH just Part of it (eg. 40LK) to Bond without kena charge RM 50 ?
Just RM 25 normal charge only ?
moon yuen
post Dec 15 2011, 02:06 AM

2,293 posts

Where can I get Public Mutual Fund Portfolio ?

Any link ? notworthy.gif
moon yuen
post Dec 15 2011, 10:17 AM

2,293 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Dec 15 2011, 06:28 AM)
From their Quarterly Review Newletter you can get a summary i.e., the fund top five holdings.

For detail holding, download the respective annual report in pdf format from the Public Mutual website.

Xuzen
thanks, I will try find it rclxms.gif

Added on December 16, 2011, 10:15 amfrankly, I can't find detailed report from Public mutual...

Only got the quaterly review

This post has been edited by moon yuen: Dec 16 2011, 10:15 AM

0.0210sec    0.41    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 10:33 AM