post Dec 24 2011, 09:25 AM

487 posts

PMB & FIMM should play lowyat as well, so many offenders around. rclxms.gif
lunchtime
post Jan 6 2012, 08:50 AM

487 posts

public mutual agents and all those agents who promote themselves with their signature come come,

public mutual NO.1 yes?

then how the F do you explain the ptuiiiii funds like PCSF, PCIF, PGSF whereby since launch till today, not making money? DDI until now also not making money? flex.gif

lunchtime
post Jan 6 2012, 02:41 PM

487 posts

QUOTE(lytros @ Dec 30 2011, 07:40 AM)
I'll stick to Dollar Cost Averaging and put in additional on top of that if I have additional cash. The additional cash would go to those funds which NAVs are below my average purchase price.
on this remark, help me understand why Public China Ittikal Fund with DDI since 2/1/08 monthly is still negative (23.60%) as at yesterday's price? Average price is 0.2168 vs current market price is 0.1656.

Public Mutual agents come come explain. 4 F ing years and still negative 23.60% with DDI!!!! vmad.gif vmad.gif mad.gif mad.gif rclxms.gif
lunchtime
post Jan 6 2012, 08:28 PM

487 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Jan 6 2012, 03:57 PM)
Lunchtime, while i'm in agreement with U that not all funds are ichiban / best thing since sliced bread, as an investor, i'd also look at different time lines, not just current to have better comparisons.
Example:
If i chose to check on PCIF:
1. From inception till now or end 2008 - performance sucks
2. from 23/01/2009 till now - low returns but not negative.

Thus, for an example depending on the entry/exit approach of an investor, if value averaging was done, although kinda miserable (PCIF), one may eek out some returns. Heheh - unsure ar, as i've no data on PCIF's divends and stuff. The only data i have are the NAVs attached.

Mind U, even the supposedly super duper PSmallCap, when viewed in end period of end 2008/early 2009 sucks to high heaven too tongue.gif and personally, my other Pru SmallCap fund sucked too during those end periods.

Just sharing a thought on different "end period" time lines effects on a fund or any funds, not the only truth yar  notworthy.gif

Added on January 6, 2012, 4:03 pm
Well, IMHO, if 3 years+ tak jadi AND the current period is not a down-er (eg. end 2008/early 2009 kinda thing), i'd give it up and look to move into another equity fund. Hehhe - i'd just fix the mistake and admit my stupidity in picking that dang thing.
Pls note yar, this is just my own methods - may be illogical to others.
Mr Wong,

Thanks for your explaination.

i understand the time line factor, what i m try to understand is
1) DDI in place since early 2008
2) market bottom end 2008
3) market high late 2010

a) as such DDI would have effectively average the buying price, however, it is not the case as PCIF shows a negative 23%. should i continue to dump money into unprofitable funds? so DDI for how long?

b) by comparison, Maybank, CIMB, PBB shares which followed the dip and rebound has recovered its losses incurred during post 2008? why haven't the funds recovered as well? How can the stock market which is preceived to be riskier recovered while so called safer instruments failed?

now Mr Wong, i know you have an explaination, however i prefer agents who are promoting and sell these funds or working with unit trust companies to answer. Mr Wong, you may PM me instead if you wish.

and to agents here, don't ride on Mr Wong's previous postings. rclxms.gif

lunchtime
post Jan 6 2012, 10:34 PM

487 posts

rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by lunchtime: Jan 6 2012, 11:11 PM
lunchtime
post Jan 8 2012, 11:24 PM

487 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Jan 8 2012, 05:11 PM)
Number crunching time:

PCIF's 3 years Jessen-Alpha ratio is negative.

PCIF's 3 years Modigliani^2 ratio is also negative.

Don't DDI, you should punish the fund manager by stopping your DDI (meaning they can't get their 1.5% annual MER from you if you do not buy into their funds) while putting it into funds that perform. If the funds do not perform above the benchmark, they will not get my 1.5% MER. If they perform exceeding benchmark, then I will gladly pay them the 1.5% MER.

Financial ratio such as those I mentioned above help me to make informed decisions.

Fund managers need to be punished if they do not perform. Remember folks, we are the boss, not the fund manager. Get educated on these ratios. Get the EMO out of your decision making processes.

Xuzen
kparam77,

my reasons for comparing funds & stocks, market has dipped and rebounded. You stated DDI to average down the cost but even with the market rebounding, the fund is negative while stocks are positive.

what is the reason? rclxms.gif
lunchtime
post Jan 9 2012, 12:22 PM

487 posts

QUOTE(kparam77 @ Jan 9 2012, 12:19 PM)
I agree with u......... but dont compare local stock/fudns with PCIF.

local funds recovered follow with local stocks.

for PCIF, only more or less  10% allocated in local market, the rest invest in China, hong kong, taiwan etc.

pls read the financial report on PCIF.... http://www.publicmutual.com.my/LinkClick.a..._o%3d&tabid=260
are you saying china, taiwan, HK and whereever PCIF invested, the stocks have not recovered?
lunchtime
post Jan 9 2012, 12:41 PM

487 posts

QUOTE(kparam77 @ Jan 9 2012, 12:27 PM)
pls read the financial statment,  n take some time to google abt the those countries economy /market outlook too.
in other words, you are saying malaysia have recovered but not other countries. share your thoughts.
lunchtime
post Jan 9 2012, 10:07 PM

487 posts

QUOTE(kparam77 @ Jan 9 2012, 01:19 PM)
u said before like this...

b) by comparison, Maybank, CIMB, PBB shares which followed the dip and rebound has recovered its losses incurred during post 2008? why haven't the funds recovered as well? How can the stock market which is preceived to be riskier recovered while so called safer instruments failed?

so, u agreed that malaysia stocks (not all-lah kawan) recovered.

I personaly think the KLCI from 800 points and now abt 1500+- , Malaysia market is recoverd or almost recoverd. (share market only-leh).

Normaly i dont follow other countries market, because I personaly invest  purely in local funds or with 30% exporsure to foreign market.

normaly,  i dont recommend foreign funds for my clients, unless they go for it by themself.
can you share with us why overseas funds has not recovered while local funds has recovered? why has this happened? and keeping this in mind, is DDI a wise choice or are there better alternatives? let's not beat around the bush. treat this as me sitting in front of you asking you for an answer. icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by lunchtime: Jan 9 2012, 10:43 PM
lunchtime
post Mar 1 2012, 11:00 PM

487 posts

QUOTE(kparam77 @ Mar 1 2012, 04:00 PM)
if u conservative , go for bond funds.

if u high risk taker, go for equity funds , but not now for local market. wait for GE.

my 2 cents.
isn't this timing the market? but timing UT? rclxub.gif
lunchtime
post Mar 1 2012, 11:55 PM

487 posts

QUOTE(kparam77 @ Mar 1 2012, 11:51 PM)
enter the equity funds for higher price is risky-lah.

my 2 cetns.
please go back to investment basics 101. your 2cents is 10ringgit to others. brows.gif
lunchtime
post Mar 2 2012, 12:09 AM

487 posts

QUOTE(kparam77 @ Mar 2 2012, 12:05 AM)
my 10ringgit = tak untung tak pe,tapi  jangan rugi sudah-lah.
if tak untung, tak rugi, then invest for what? hmm.gif

Added on March 2, 2012, 12:11 am
QUOTE(David83 @ Mar 1 2012, 11:52 PM)
I second this.
do you know the difference between trading and investment? rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by lunchtime: Mar 2 2012, 12:11 AM
lunchtime
post Mar 2 2012, 12:22 AM

487 posts

QUOTE(kparam77 @ Mar 2 2012, 12:18 AM)
a)beli murah, jual mahal = untung lebih.
b)beli mahal, jual lagi mahal = untung kurang
c)beli mahal, jual murah = rugi

saya suka a)

u go back to investment basics 101. doh.gif  doh.gif  doh.gif
investment guru kparam77, what makes you think prices won't go up higher? assuming you are buying at a high price? hmm.gif
lunchtime
post Mar 4 2012, 09:48 PM

487 posts

QUOTE(kparam77 @ Mar 4 2012, 07:11 PM)
PRSF 100% local market.

better dont in after this FYE. better wait for GE because 100% invest in local market.
kparam77,

which fund will you recommend if i want to invest today assuming i am okay with whatever you recommend? notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by lunchtime: Mar 4 2012, 09:53 PM
lunchtime
post Mar 13 2012, 08:03 PM

487 posts

QUOTE(kparam77 @ Mar 12 2012, 05:27 PM)
for local funds, let the market drop deep first.

PSF,
PRSF,
PAGF,
PIX,
PDSF,
ALL LOCAL ISLAMIC EQUITY FUNDS.

read the prospectus first before enter.
kparam77,

why these funds? are they any good?
lunchtime
post Mar 26 2012, 02:28 PM

487 posts

QUOTE(hafiez @ Mar 26 2012, 11:02 AM)
In my practice, passive investment with unit trust is a NO-NO. The markets are fluctuates all the time.

But it depends in few actors lah. Unless you invested in fixed income funds.

Good luck.
are you sure? any facts & figures to back up what you are saying? hmm.gif
lunchtime
post Mar 26 2012, 04:48 PM

487 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Mar 21 2012, 05:59 PM)
Pocket calculator? that 1 sheet thinggy ar? aiya..

Excel calculations attached - see the formula at the top.
$3,438.65 only wor, couldn't get $3,771. Can't be rounding errors so high?
[attachmentid=2749367]
how can 100 X 36 @ 3% monthly = <3600? even simple 36 x 100 = 3600. Maths fail. shakehead.gif
lunchtime
post Mar 28 2012, 08:57 AM

487 posts

QUOTE(BBSH @ Mar 27 2012, 10:59 PM)
rclxub.gif Optimised vs Maximised
rclxub.gif Long term vs Medium Term vs Short Term vs Switching-in-n-out
rclxub.gif Passive vs Active vs Super Active vs Paranoid
I'm feeling dizzy already  rclxub.gif
it all depends on your objective for your money. there is no right or wrong rule but studies have shown certain methods are better.
lunchtime
post Apr 10 2012, 12:26 AM

487 posts

for agents advising, promoting or recruiting online via blog or forum, betcha your last pennies that the unit trust companies mentioned here will take disciplinary action and so will FIMM, all it takes is an complaint letter.

Added on April 10, 2012, 12:41 am
QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Apr 7 2012, 02:25 AM)

If PM's rules restrict UTCs from giving GENERAL advise/explanation, I'm losing all respect to them, bcos they starting to behave like MLMs - "Wanna know more? Join us baru talk!" shakehead.gif
what FIMM or the UT companies want is for investors and UTCs to go via the right channels rather than some informal online forum discussions.

This post has been edited by lunchtime: Apr 10 2012, 12:41 AM
lunchtime
post Apr 10 2012, 06:49 PM

487 posts

QUOTE(leekk8 @ Apr 10 2012, 04:11 PM)
Agents cannot promote or recruit online, but we can always discuss about unit trust investment online...I don't think they can stop people from discussing this topic online...Nevertheless, internet is a source of information nowadays, but investors are advised to consult the UTC before you place their investment.

Added on April 10, 2012, 4:12 pm

Tomorrow is public holiday...none of the branches will open...
discussion online is fine but do you think what's being posted here in this thread is a discussion or advising or promoting or recruiting. whistling.gif

0.0529sec    0.88    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 03:50 AM