Public Mutual v3, Public/PB series funds

ben5173
post Sep 24 2011, 12:25 AM

199 posts

QUOTE(Kinitos @ Sep 23 2011, 10:52 PM)
Paid those professional fund manager so much fees, still losing ?
They're not selling to protect your capital bcos its your money not their money. Share value drop and still charging management fees doing nothing , keeping asking you're top up, average down so that there is more capital to charge 1.5%, sooner or later almost all your capital will be eaten by them
if u understand what FM do, u wont be sitting here complaining, or invest in unit trust. u would have become a FM urself.
It is not as easy as buy and sell.

some ppl might ask why they dun sell before the stock collapsed. all i can say is they are professionals not time travellers or fortune tellers.

Go invest in stock and experience it urself.

Added on September 24, 2011, 12:26 am
QUOTE(howszat @ Sep 24 2011, 12:24 AM)
That sounds like the sort of things I might do. So I pay the FM service charges and management fees and all that and it turns out he is doing the same stupid things I might do. I can tell you that FM did nothing when the market dropped like nobody;'s business in 2008. Sorry, that's not the idea of capital preservation - if you know what that means. But apparently, I cannot blame it on him. So I repeat - why should I pay the FM to do those things I can do myself without paying additional charges?

You have got a point. Lots of things I cannot blame the FM on.

No point in paying the FM service charges, management fees then?
This post has been edited by ben5173: Sep 24 2011, 12:26 AM
ben5173
post Sep 24 2011, 12:36 AM

199 posts

QUOTE(Kinitos @ Sep 24 2011, 12:28 AM)
Long term? until when? invest 1 year all the syiok sendiri profit suddenly disappear, capital also become less, so now start all over again? all the fees paid consider donation? if every 3 years like this, when can fatt tat? become FM better laa making money not making still charging management fees. FM use mouth water, other paid with hard earn money
does "invest" this means anything to u?

for that kind of mindset, the only thing tat suits u is FD.
ben5173
post Sep 24 2011, 12:44 AM

199 posts

QUOTE(howszat @ Sep 24 2011, 12:35 AM)
Yes, they are not fortune tellers, and neither are investors.

The question remains - what are investors paying them for? Especially when they can invest in stock and experience it themselves without paying FMs a single sen?
I am also an investor. i've been with PM for so long time. i earn a lot..when the time is good and i did experience heavy losses too. i remember that i have sleepless night back then.

And i mention before, u can try invest in stock and experience it urself. It is not as easy as buy and sell. comparing funds and stock, funds will have better liquidity. FM are not just looking at 1 but a lot of them.
when there is an opportunity, u can see funds perform better than the index. this is sumthing FM do. if some ppl think they are so good in stock, then they always can go buy stock and no need to pay FM or invest in unit trust.
unit trust is for ppl like me who knows nothing about stock and prefer to have better liquidity when in needs.

This post has been edited by ben5173: Sep 24 2011, 01:04 AM
ben5173
post Sep 24 2011, 12:57 AM

199 posts

QUOTE(howszat @ Sep 24 2011, 12:54 AM)
How much the FM is holding is irrelevant. How easy it is is irrelevant. This is not a thread on compassion and pity.

This is a thread on Finance, Business and Investment. Fund Management is a business. So please don't use irrelevant arguments.

Learn to read and understand - I never said I can manage it myself. I questioned why I should pay the FM when he is losing money. I can lose money myself without paying anyone any fees.
u can lose even more without the proper knowledge, know-how on tools and information.

investment and speculation is diff.

ben5173
post Sep 24 2011, 01:11 AM

199 posts

QUOTE(howszat @ Sep 24 2011, 01:05 AM)
Ahhh, now you are making sense...

The FM can analyze stocks for those who neither have the time or the knowledge. The FM can see and take advantage of opportunities that the average investor can never get a whiff of. The FM can also avoid stocks that seem attractive to the average investor but is actually quite risky. The FM can also achieve a level of diversification that the individual cannot achieve. The FM can also reach markets and sectors that the average investor doesn't know about. And the better liquidity.
rclxms.gif so detailed. great explanation.

0.0190sec    0.51    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 10:09 PM