Public Mutual v3, Public/PB series funds

koinibler
post Nov 25 2011, 09:38 PM

2,050 posts

Actually, after some 'encouragement' from member here, I'm also already become my best agent. Although, RM30K might not be a problem for this year, next year I need to think for outsource.

I like the CAMS software, so that another RM90 + RM100 for agent license. Somemore need to attend training RM10 per class. Right now I believe I paid that for knowledge.

koinibler
post Nov 25 2011, 09:42 PM

2,050 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Nov 25 2011, 06:55 AM)
Best to see the KLCI movements until mid-day, then only decide and execute online before 4pm lor. Remember - mutual funds uses end-of-day to price their NAV (which we pay + service charges%).

I still remember 2008's KLCI 10% drop by afternoon, kicking up the auto-short-circuit to close KLSE - now THAT's the time to buy into PIX if one had the nuts, then sell off a few days later (assuming one's an agent lar, thus lower cost) tongue.gif
manage to top up some equity on 3.53pm and 3.56pm in hope to reflect today prices.

Hopefully, next year going to be like this,

http://biz.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?f...05&sec=business
koinibler
post Nov 26 2011, 09:01 PM

2,050 posts

QUOTE(dexterming @ Nov 26 2011, 06:18 PM)
CUTE class will be enough. But you have to pay RM10 to attend that optional class. It will help you to prepare for the CUTE exam.

However, if you read the text book given to you and you are confident enough, you can save that RM10 smile.gif
Studying past papers is the most convenient way to pass the exam .... hehe
koinibler
post Nov 26 2011, 10:05 PM

2,050 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Nov 25 2011, 09:44 PM)
Gambate!  rclxms.gif

IMHO, the CAMS software isnt the kicker, it's the FPAdvisor tongue.gif Lots of stats and "queries" U can run to checkout each fund's performance in good, medium and bad years just by fiddling around with the "end date".

As for the classes - i consider it dirt cheap $10 if you've not learned yet through experience and books. Where to find classes for a whole day costing $10 WITH refreshments (water & food) these days? Even the knowledge itself is worth more than $10 if one's a newbie or semi-newbie in investing. Whatever U learn & experience, no one can take it away from U and U can build on top of each learning and experience.
nod.gif agree with opportunity to gain valuable knowledge offered by PMB. Will keep it up next year as CPD point also important for UTC tongue.gif .

As for CAMS, for me its a self learn programme, maybe there's is still hidden feature that I didn't know, but that okay!. Unlike for FP Advisor, maybe need to attend it class for better understanding of its usage just like kparam suggestion rclxub.gif
koinibler
post Jan 26 2012, 08:29 AM

2,050 posts

QUOTE(empirekhoo @ Jan 25 2012, 09:37 PM)
I had invested into Public Mutual Fund since 2008 (an initial of ~2k and 200 more per mth, DCA). And friggiting frat - I only got 5% in total due date (notice it's not per year. counting by per year it should be like... 1% PA?)

I understand that this fund is pretty risky (80% equity), but still I think this fund is much under performed. Any input on my situation? Is it worthy for me to switch to something less risky like saving funds or something?
I thought 2008 is a good time to invest. If its only 5% for 5 years, then the fund really underperform.
I bet its not local fund as PMB don't has a good record for oversea fund maybe except for australia.
koinibler
post Jan 27 2012, 12:02 PM

2,050 posts

@empirekhoo
I wish i know more about unit trust on 2008, where opportunity is rarely come. You start invest before the 2008 crisis, but not value averaging down during the crisis.

You can read previous post for some plan in investing; WMK

I've just stop my DDI when the KLCI reach 1500 (although my benchmark is not purely based on KLCI, but I believe if the fund is invest in Malaysia, more or less still the same with other benchmark). Will continue DDI if KLCI less than 1500. Will put larger amount than DDI if market crash.

koinibler
post Feb 29 2012, 02:31 PM

2,050 posts

Just do some switching today from equity to bond fund through PMO.
Although we can choose which fund to transfer to, but we can't key in our current fund account no. there, and end up, now got 2 same fund but different account.

Like this lagi pening kepala???

Anyone had same situation as mine?
koinibler
post Feb 29 2012, 02:44 PM

2,050 posts

aaahh....

my equity don't have any joint holder, but my bond is...

Is that the reason? wink.gif . Like this how to accumulate all my money into 1 bond fund only, except repurchase and buy back?

Agent and scheme is similar.

koinibler
post Feb 29 2012, 03:39 PM

2,050 posts

QUOTE(guanteik @ Feb 29 2012, 03:01 PM)
Be very careful when you want to do switching! This was the first time I did switching after the below *stupid* rules. I had fund-A with regular investment (DDI). I wanted to switch to another fund. After switched, those investment made past 90 days were being charged extra per the below rules due to the DDI.

So if you want to switch, probably you may want to reconsider switching, just sell the fund off.

•Switching of loaded units may incur switching fee (of up to 0.75%) which is deductible from the redemption proceeds. The net proceeds will be processed into the "switch to" accounts based on the NAV per unit at the close of the business day: For switching request made within 90 days of the date of purchase of units/switching into the fund, a switching fee of:
- 0.75% or minimum RM50 per transaction will be deducted from the redemption proceeds for switching from equity/balanced funds.
- 0.25% or minimum RM50 per transaction will be deducted from the redemption proceeds for switching from bond funds.
- RM50 per transaction will be deducted from the redemption proceeds for switching from money market funds.
For switching request made after 90 days of the date of purchase of units/switching into the fund, a switching fee of RM25 per transaction will be deducted from the redemption proceeds. 

•For Mutual Gold & Elite Members, the 18 and 30 switching entitlements valued at RM25.00 each can be used to offset switching fees incurred. For eg; if the switching fee incurred is RM75.00, a switching entitlement of RM25.00 can be used to offset the switching fee, thereby unitholder only incurs RM50.00 on this switching transaction.
Thanks for the warning.
Just I'm already aware of the rules. My last transaction is on Nov 25, 2011. I stop my DDI after my last transaction.

QUOTE(leekk8 @ Feb 29 2012, 03:07 PM)
Your equity fund does not have jointholder, but your bond fund has. Means that the equity fund is owned by you, but the bond fund is owned by two persons. Surely, the units cannot be switched into a fund which has different owner. Public Mutual treats these two funds having different owner.

You can repurchase and buy back if you want to make them into 1 account, but this is not so worthy, as you need to pay service charge again. (Unless your bond units are low-loaded units and you don't mind the 0.25% service charge)

Another way that you can explore is, transfer the unit, but I am not too sure if this is fine in your case. You can confirm with Public Mutual. Transfer fee will be RM25.

Anyway, just to share my thought. There is no must to put all your money into 1 bond fund. Most of the time, even we want to switch back from bond fund to equity fund, we may switch it separately, basically to average the price. So, unless both your account having small amount like 1-2k, else, you may remain the money in 2 different account.
Actually, I thought when I switch back to equity, then I don't need to pay a lot on switching fees since after this maybe I just want to focus on just one fund.
1 equity, 1 bond, enough. Now got several equities, 2 bonds doh.gif . Walao.... lot of switching fee lor...

Regarding "transfer the unit", I think its the same form that we need to use if we want to add jointholder, need to pay RM25 too.

This post has been edited by koinibler: Feb 29 2012, 03:40 PM
koinibler
post Feb 29 2012, 04:06 PM

2,050 posts

Its already pass 4pm, hopefully the current +16 point of KLCI will sustain till 5pm, and thus going to reflect on PM fund too.
koinibler
post Feb 29 2012, 04:29 PM

2,050 posts

yeah... that why i mention 4 pm
koinibler
post Mar 1 2012, 10:59 PM

2,050 posts

QUOTE(Violet Ling @ Mar 1 2012, 03:28 PM)
Yes I understand you...
But if know the trend going downwards soon(imo), why don't we protect our investment $$?? And only buy back those funds cheaply(after going down)?  smile.gif
biggrin.gif got the same opinion though!

Just after yesterday switching, still got around 40% in equities. I'm thinking to switch this 40% too in the near future, if suitable.
koinibler
post Apr 3 2012, 08:17 AM

2,050 posts

sign0006.gif
@wongmunkeong
congrat on your new elite status .... notworthy.gif

p/s: currently on 100% bond

This post has been edited by koinibler: Apr 3 2012, 08:36 AM

3 Pages < 1 2 3Top