This too shall pass
567 posts

-------------

This post has been edited by Underhill: Dec 2 2011, 02:06 AM
oriongoh
post Dec 2 2011, 08:25 AM

QUOTE(IceCube @ Dec 1 2011, 10:33 AM)
Oh~ good to know as I did one Chery Eastar also the other day and also the rear sound proof package.
ohhh so how was the feed back of that chery eastar.If the owner is from the club maybe i can hear his testimonial.

Added on December 2, 2011, 8:27 am
QUOTE(Underhill @ Dec 1 2011, 03:40 PM)
-------------
Y you have an empty post.

Added on December 2, 2011, 9:08 am
QUOTE(Underhill @ Dec 1 2011, 03:40 PM)
-------------
Dont know what happen to the posting that went black but i think this is the missing post from a website my friend read and forwarded to me.

Guys,

I feel compelled for a short review and some advices. I was one of the earlier batch who performed the EA chassis foaming. If you dig out this thread, I mentioned that I don't feel any difference at all.

If you DON'T feel any difference, trust your instict. Something is not right. My advice is, have your car jacked up at any workshop and check for missed section or a possibly a shrinking foam. Check it for yourself (even if you do feel the difference, just double check, it's your car). There are many holes you can see and test on the chassis beam (open the rubber that cover the chassis hole), make sure all is properly foamed. See the picture below, one hole were covered with the foam, but the other hole is empty!. This is very important. You don't want water to be trapped and your chassis gets rusty!

user posted imageuser posted image

I dully accept IceCube previous explaination that I don't feel the difference because I just bought the car. I accept that until yesterday I gave Desmond a visit at KLAuto (the infamous? shop at Jln Ipoh).

Since I was there anyway, I take the chance to have Desmond and the team to inspect the car chassis, and to my surprised, the foam was not fully done to extend to some section (I remember bro Arj he went back to Kevin's to rectify some missing section too). Many sections are left empty! This is a blessing in disguise as well since I can then still have the chance for Desmond team to inject their AutoFoam (which is expensive, yes). I was skeptical but then I can really feel the difference after that! It was correctly done!

Chassis foaming, if performed correctly, would yield significant results even after a few hours. You can really feel the difference. There's no need to struggle to 'feel' it and eventually you'll fall for a placebo effect to justify your spending.

I feel so dissapointed, should just pay more and do it right the first time at KLAuto. About the foam quality, no i don't feel it's the same. I checked on a 6 year old+ AutoFoam-ed Subaru, with my recently put EA foam, it's different. But then this has been debated by many people here and the other thread, I rest my case. Use your judgement. Many has been said by many people already. I'm just a silly guy who bought my first car. What do I know right.

I'm sorry Kevin, you guys seems like a bunch of honest guy. This is just my honest 2 cent opinion and experience. I hope I will not get into trouble for writing a negative review but I think many needs to be warned just in case someone face the same issue.

This post has been edited by Underhill: Today, 05:58 PM

This post has been edited by oriongoh: Dec 2 2011, 09:12 AM
TSIceCube
post Dec 2 2011, 10:49 AM

319 posts

Hi bro,

No worries. Due to newer car, we do not prey open the plastic cover that cover up the chassis hole (only available on some car model like forte and they usually fall off after a year to unknown reason). If i remember correctly, your car was just a week old during foaming so we took extra care to not scratch or broke anything. But due to too much concern on this we did miss out the spot where the covers are. This only happen on the first batch of forte or those newer car model. We apologies for the error and will fix this without any other charges. On top of this, we will give a free under carriage rubberize spray for those who came back for the check-up and fix . This is our promise of better service and improvement. The first batch were on sept 2011 foaming. The rest of the cars was not effected as they do not have the plastic cover as in the pics below, all beams have been filled up to over-flowing level. (see pic).

DSV4600
post Dec 3 2011, 04:50 AM

432 posts

Just to add my two cents, how can you rectify this problem, especially if water has already started accumulating inside the chassis holes & places that we cannot see?

//QUOTE
No worries. Due to newer car, we do not prey open the plastic cover that cover up the chassis hole (only available on some car model like forte and they usually fall off after a year to unknown reason).
//UNQUOTE

Sounds like the sentence a lazy man will use to avoid doing a proper and through job...
TSIceCube
post Dec 3 2011, 11:15 AM

319 posts

QUOTE(DSV4600 @ Dec 3 2011, 04:50 AM)
Just to add my two cents, how can you rectify this problem, especially if water has already started accumulating inside the chassis holes & places that we cannot see?

//QUOTE
No worries. Due to newer car, we do not prey open the plastic cover that cover up the chassis hole (only available on some car model like forte and they usually fall off after a year to unknown reason).
//UNQUOTE

Sounds like the sentence a lazy man will use to avoid doing a proper and through job...
How the water goes in , is how the water coming out (the same hole). Originally the chassis also got holes, so you are emphasizing that all cars will accumulate water and it will be there forever (without foam) ?
Of coz no, when a car move, it generate alot of heat ,thus heat and wind will make the water flow or dry up.

All the "water accumulate and rust" talk is just pure marketing to confuse the consumer. Newer car have those rubber stoper at the holes, and after a year, some fall off , and some don't , somemore they dont have anti-rust on their undercarriage, will this cause rust and what's not like the competitor are claiming ?

That why we now removed all cap and inject thoroughly and that why we appreciate feedback from our customer so we can improve. biggrin.gif It was just a week old car, we just taking precaution . biggrin.gif
TSIceCube
post Dec 4 2011, 10:34 AM

319 posts

oriongoh,

So, car expert, how is it the same when you compare disc brake rusting with chassis beam? one is bare metal, one got anti rust (like u said) and undercoat, clearcoat etc etc. if so, then what the point they put anti-rust (like u say they got put) ?? Car expert, please teach me, i am newbie ~ wink.gif

Try to look at the pics i posted, do u think water still can trap inside?
enduser
post Dec 4 2011, 11:46 AM

1,280 posts

QUOTE(IceCube @ Nov 28 2011, 02:09 PM)
Okie will organize a "Bullk Foaming session" for you guys from Penang if you guys can get atleast 10 cars up for the same day at the same venue. I'll drop by in the morning and finish all 10 cars within few hours. biggrin.gif
any chance gonna drop by at Tapah,perak...love to foam my naza citra... smile.gif
TSIceCube
post Dec 4 2011, 11:57 AM

319 posts

QUOTE(enduser @ Dec 4 2011, 11:46 AM)
any chance gonna drop by at Tapah,perak...love to foam my naza citra... smile.gif
yes, we can met up when on the way to penang to foam 10 cars there. biggrin.gif Please update your name on my penang topic here http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=2126774&hl=. biggrin.gif
DSV4600
post Dec 4 2011, 10:14 PM

432 posts

QUOTE(IceCube @ Dec 3 2011, 11:15 AM)
How the water goes in , is how the water coming out (the same hole). Originally the chassis also got holes, so you are emphasizing that all cars will accumulate water and it will be there forever (without foam) ?
Of coz no, when a car move, it generate alot of heat ,thus heat and wind will make the water flow or dry up.

All the "water accumulate and rust" talk is just pure marketing to confuse the consumer. Newer car have those rubber stoper at the holes, and after a year, some fall off , and some don't , somemore they dont have anti-rust on their undercarriage, will this cause rust and what's not like the competitor are claiming ?
That why we now removed all cap and inject thoroughly and that why we appreciate feedback from our customer so we can improve. biggrin.gif It was just a week old car, we just taking precaution . biggrin.gif
Really? So how about holes that are not covered which are at the top, and the connecting chassis holes are at the bottom (foamed)... I'm sure the laws of gravity applies in this case.
How can water come out from the top again... Unless you have a Batcave and can rotate the car 180 degrees to drain the water.

Chassis with holes are not a problem because somehow or rather, the water will trickle down to the bottom, and the holes will allow air to enter and dry the water out at high speeds.
Furthermore, when a car moves, eventhough it generates heat, there's a lot of cold spots, and also hot spots... I honestly don't believe all the foamed areas are hot enough all the time to let the water evapourate.
Also, it's rainy season now. If there's chance of water entering the chassis & collecting there each day, this will cause problems in long run, even if it's coated with anti-rust, etc.
All the car manufacturers do no guarantee rust-proof for more than 5 years.

Manufacturers who don't put anti-rust on the undercarriage, that's another topic. And furthermore, you should know better than the customer instead of us advising you on how to do your job.
After all, we're paying for you to take care of our car when using your product & also to advise us all the pros and cons of your product.
TSIceCube
post Dec 5 2011, 11:19 AM

319 posts

Like you mention, All the car manufacturers do no guarantee rust-proof for more than 5 years. With foam or no foam, they are prone to rust, literally if that what you trying to say.

Any mod will have pro and cons but we minimize it as we improve to get better by the day. If anyone have any problem, please come back and we are more then willing to fix it. I don't see where your technical talks is going but its best you post it at technical talk section.

Thanks for bumping the topic up.
DSV4600
post Dec 6 2011, 06:11 AM

432 posts

QUOTE(IceCube @ Dec 5 2011, 11:19 AM)
Like you mention, All the car manufacturers do no guarantee rust-proof for more than 5 years. With foam or no foam, they are prone to rust, literally if that what you trying to say.

Any mod will have pro and cons but we minimize it as we improve to get better by the day. If anyone have any problem, please come back and we are more then willing to fix it. I don't see where your technical talks is going but its best you post it at technical talk section.

Thanks for bumping the topic up.
You have a very good technique of diverting away the topic and not answering my technical questions regarding your product.
From what I can see, you cannot guarantee your foaming will not let water collect in the chassis area after it's applied and blocks all the normal exit points from allowing water, especially during rain to flow out naturally.
TSIceCube
post Dec 6 2011, 06:32 PM

319 posts

QUOTE(DSV4600 @ Dec 6 2011, 06:11 AM)
You have a very good technique of diverting away the topic and not answering my technical questions regarding your product.
From what I can see, you cannot guarantee your foaming will not let water collect in the chassis area after it's applied and blocks all the normal exit points from allowing water, especially during rain to flow out naturally.
Thanks for the bump.

We foam the lower undercarriage and it expand and fill up the beams. Rain water does not enter thus does not need to exit. I don't know what you trying to imply but after the foam is injected into the beams , no rain water will enter, end of story already. Its not like we flood the door with foam or someplace else which have exit point for rain water, in the chassis undercarriage there is no exit point or entry point for rain water. The holes at the undercarrriage's beam is for re-enforcement of the beams if according to engineering terms. So, there is no answer to your question.
nestum
post Dec 6 2011, 06:57 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(IceCube @ Dec 6 2011, 06:32 PM)
Thanks for the bump.

We foam the lower undercarriage and it expand and fill up the beams. Rain water does not enter thus does not need to exit. I don't know what you trying to imply but after the foam is injected into the beams , no rain water will enter, end of story already. Its not like we flood the door with foam or someplace else which have exit point for rain water, in the chassis undercarriage there is no exit point or entry point for rain water. The holes at the undercarrriage's beam is for re-enforcement of the beams if according to engineering terms. So, there is no answer to your question.
i think this is only downside of foaming the car...tats y oe car dun make this foaming?(dun shoot me)
but the chance getting water inside will be very minimal after foaming....just make sure whole undercarriege are covered

DSV4600
post Dec 6 2011, 07:43 PM

432 posts

QUOTE(IceCube @ Dec 6 2011, 06:32 PM)
Thanks for the bump.

//QUOTE
I dully accept IceCube previous explaination that I don't feel the difference because I just bought the car. I accept that until yesterday I gave Desmond a visit at KLAuto (the infamous? shop at Jln Ipoh).

Since I was there anyway, I take the chance to have Desmond and the team to inspect the car chassis, and to my surprised, the foam was not fully done to extend to some section (I remember bro Arj he went back to Kevin's to rectify some missing section too). Many sections are left empty! This is a blessing in disguise as well since I can then still have the chance for Desmond team to inject their AutoFoam (which is expensive, yes). I was skeptical but then I can really feel the difference after that! It was correctly done!

Chassis foaming, if performed correctly, would yield significant results even after a few hours. You can really feel the difference. There's no need to struggle to 'feel' it and eventually you'll fall for a placebo effect to justify your spending.

I feel so dissapointed, should just pay more and do it right the first time at KLAuto. About the foam quality, no i don't feel it's the same. I checked on a 6 year old+ AutoFoam-ed Subaru, with my recently put EA foam, it's different. But then this has been debated by many people here and the other thread, I rest my case. Use your judgement. Many has been said by many people already. I'm just a silly guy who bought my first car. What do I know right.

I'm sorry Kevin, you guys seems like a bunch of honest guy. This is just my honest 2 cent opinion and experience. I hope I will not get into trouble for writing a negative review but I think many needs to be warned just in case someone face the same issue.

This post has been edited by Underhill: Today, 05:58 PM
//UNQUOTE

Do I seriously need to remind you on where I'm coming from with my questions on your in-complete foaming? I am asking why you're so lazy to foam the entire undercarriage instead of leaving holes / gaps in the undercarriage chassis which allows for water to enter into the missing sections (and your incomplete foam will block flow of the water that enters through this spots). Furthermore, after reading back some of your customers comments, seems that your foam quality has issues. It doesn't really seem to improve the handling and performance as KL Auto does. I guess more sensitive drivers would only be able to feel this. Lastly, starting discussions with 'thanks for the bump' seems to imply you don't welcome negative comments / questions that you cannot answer properly.
thefryingfox
post Dec 6 2011, 08:25 PM

Lonely Maharajah
5,165 posts

i think the gentleman already mention this to you - if somespots are missed, you can come back and re-foam it.

On the topic of KL auto smile.gif, i too have area's which were left unfoamed ( undercarriage package). Reason why - i went to IceCube for some silencing of road noise and the was a requirement to remove my front fender. When i opened my fender, i saw hollow section of the undercarriage beam that was STILL Not foamed.

Desmond, i know ur here and i know u will remove the fender and COMPLETE your foaming on my undercarriage smile.gif eventhough it has been 3 months since i came for foam smile.gif
sam sam
post Dec 6 2011, 09:13 PM

814 posts

QUOTE(thefryingfox @ Dec 6 2011, 08:25 PM)
i think the gentleman already mention this to you - if somespots are missed, you can come back and re-foam it.

On the topic of KL auto smile.gif, i too have area's which were left unfoamed ( undercarriage package). Reason why - i went to IceCube for some silencing of road noise and the was a requirement to remove my front fender. When i opened my fender, i saw hollow section of the undercarriage beam that was STILL Not foamed.

Desmond, i know ur here and i know u will remove the fender and COMPLETE your foaming on my undercarriage smile.gif eventhough it has been 3 months since i came for foam smile.gif
i think in general both vendors are in the habit of missing out things. Only human i guess.
I do feel icecube needs to improve on his technical skills or pay more attention to the foaming.

he did one of my cars, foam the a-pillar without inspecting the air flow. Screw up the noise floor of the car. Since then had to spend about rm750 just to get it close to the original noise level. Still i feel its not up to my pre-foaming level in terms of noise level. Just because of his mistake of not noticing things had to fork out more money to add it more sound proofing as recommended by icecube for his solution of fixing the problem

till this day i think its really stupid all in i paid Rm1050 to get a condition worse before i did the foaming. SHould have the save the money and not bother to do the foaming at all

i do agree sometimes it does pay to go a more knowledgeable person when doing foaming or even soundproofing as my experience has thought me twice with 2 different cars done at Icecube's place.

This post has been edited by sam sam: Dec 6 2011, 09:14 PM
thefryingfox
post Dec 6 2011, 09:42 PM

Lonely Maharajah
5,165 posts

can you elaborate what do you mean screw the noise floor of your car? not sure bro

It could be it become a little silent and the noise from your floor now become apparent? its normal in sound proofing. Fix one part, the other part sounds louder.

If want nice, do it all together at one go. For me - IceCube did me a favor by sound proofing my boot and it sounds so much more silent ( again difference of expectation needs to be defined here).

I guess then IceCube should also listen to what is the expectation from a guy. If someone is expecting 80% improvement, i'd say back off and point him to some really professional guys because the expectation is high.

Overall - im not sure about the rest but i see his done 1xx cars. That number should speak for itself. 1-2 out of 1xx cars got defect ( and offer rectification) ok laaaah. Not like he leave u high and dry ask u figure urself ( ie - u say u want sound proof, i sound proof la. Not up to expectation not my problem instead offer to help)
Bumbeee
post Dec 6 2011, 11:43 PM

13 posts

Just a curious question, is the foam corrosive?Will it attack bare metal? Any material spec data sheet?? If injected into the beam, there is no way to take it out..
blackpanther
post Dec 7 2011, 08:20 AM

I think the issue here is the expectations of the consumer. I did my foaming with icecube for my ford focus recently and the handling and ride is firm and steady. Also, did the sound proofing for the front engine bonnet, now a more quieter engine but louder road noise. So, win here, lose there. I did not do the complete sound proofing so as to test the results step by step. Back to the main issue, what is the customers expectation??? smile.gif

45 Pages « < 26 27 28 29 30 > » Top

0.0285sec    0.24    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 12:03 PM