Planted Aquarium V7, not just fish with water anymore
weijie
Feb 14 2012, 11:09 AM
QUOTE(usermode @ Feb 14 2012, 11:02 AM) - hahaha... that's what i do for my both 1.5ft tank. use 3ft lights  can get more lights also.. hu hu uh!!! - and the only things i always looking for at waterfall are mosses (and plants if im lucky). oh, btw weijie bro... let me know if u want to borrow my UV filter for ur tank if u still dont have any. It's an old UV filter (1 year+ ) but just being used once for 3-4 days. i think the bulb still okay since not used. hehehhe, can borrow kah? because i also planning to use it for few days only, not really worth it if i buy a brand new light. after water has cleared then it will be go back into storeroom. lol ~
weijie
Feb 16 2012, 08:38 AM
it is very dangerous if you are buying the plants directly from commercial farm. although it is cheaper, but dont take the risk. Whole population might wipe out over night.
weijie
Feb 16 2012, 09:12 AM
oh.. haha. i seldom buy from local fish shop geh. the only place i buy my plants is NA ss19. other shops i dont trust them. if possible then just buy from other planted tank hobbyist.
P.S.: do not buy from AquaShop in Lelong. i had bad experience dealing with them.
weijie
Feb 16 2012, 10:23 AM
Kimimaro_kun, usermode: Confirm with the seller if the plants are grown in submerge first before buying. I brought downoi from him before and it melts right after i plant. Luckily it splits 2 branches out and that 2 babies growing very very tall like coconut tree (about 6inch when i tak tahan and cut it down last week)
weijie
Feb 17 2012, 03:19 PM
QUOTE(LuQEE @ Feb 17 2012, 02:43 PM) no job in KK currently >.< just miri and labuan for the time being.
cant seemed to find that Metal-halide bulb im talking about b4..maybe someone already took it. but i found these and can i use them? (will it burn my room? 400w so hot!!)» Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « you will get sunburn if stay too long inside room. lol ~
weijie
Feb 23 2012, 09:03 AM
QUOTE(LuQEE @ Feb 23 2012, 12:23 AM) » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « i envy you guys who got soo soo much cash to spare lolol
btw, need all the sifus and you guys and girls comments so i can make my DIY fan+holder design much more efficient and nice hehe(cant afford the real thing ) *warning, they look horrible since i dont have time to apply aesthetics values and most of them still need more designing to do haha* » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « also, anyone have successfully DIY their own solenoid regulator? i find that 200+ for it is too damn expensive , planning to get anyway though, but will like to try to make one if i can get the individual part cheaper >.<, manual regulator is about RM30-50 right? and the solenoid valve itself is between range of RM100-220 right?any successful modders able to create one?
_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ EDIT* what about DIY lily pipes? cant find any store selling acrylic tube or clear high grade plastic tube near subang, care to point me where?. got no heat gun, but I have very big tank torch gun, can i use that? also, i see potential usage of laboratory apparatus as a substitute for those kickass ADA lily pipes, but the the shape will be a bit different than normal..what do you all think?  i agree with kimimaro, suction cup is not reliable at all. it will fails you in no time. Pakutekan did some DIY lily pipe before this, maybe you can ask his opinion. QUOTE(pakutekan @ Feb 23 2012, 08:09 AM) i succeed DIY my own solenoid reg.. cost me around 230.. hahaa. bro, that is a bit costly for a DIY project. i am selling UP double gauge solenoid for Rm230 too. QUOTE(kimimaro_kun @ Feb 23 2012, 08:20 AM) » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « potential hazard spotted!! afraid that the suction cup will loose and kapow! btw, already introduce glass shrimp and 1 chinese algae eater. damn hard to find SAE. only can find this CAE and also flying fox. flying fox also i need to go to JB town, not in my area however, they did great in my tank even tho its oni been setup in 1 week. most of the algae removed already by these slaves  Flora: 1. Java moss 2. Java fern, 3. Marimo ( to be added later, in my freezer right now) 4. hairgrass (to be added today, forgot to take it at Pos Laju yeserday)  i dont see any plants/fishes alive in the pictures you posted
weijie
Feb 24 2012, 09:55 AM
QUOTE(bariho @ Feb 23 2012, 06:29 PM) bro.. im asking for the cnster JEBO 835 And EJET 3368.. not EHEIM.. thanks..  both are not good, one of the parts broken then you would need to buy another new filter. I only trust Eheim, or Taiyo (made in china).
weijie
Feb 24 2012, 02:33 PM
QUOTE(bariho @ Feb 24 2012, 01:12 PM) Jebo And Ejet also MIC...  of course i know they are made in china QUOTE(bariho @ Feb 24 2012, 01:17 PM) I think all cnstr are same.. if u can take a good care of it..it will be ok..no leak.. no need to 'membazir' leerr.. save the money for your future..  well, me and calvin agree that Eheim is wise investment if you are serious in this hobby. we are just sharing our personal experience. Eheim has very simple steps to install and maintain. and the parts will last very very long if you read user manual properly before using it. i would not go against if anyone wants to try EJET or JEBO.
weijie
Feb 24 2012, 05:45 PM
QUOTE(ayyam @ Feb 24 2012, 03:20 PM) I think it depends on luck and how u take care of it. My jebo 835 is quite silent and working for a few years now, and my new eheim 2213 is quite noisy but it is working well. are you install it correctly? i have 3 Eheim canister, i have to touch it to know if it is running or not.
weijie
Feb 25 2012, 08:44 PM
QUOTE(kimimaro_kun @ Feb 25 2012, 04:42 PM) where can i find this promo price?? most place are doing it. NA SS19, Petswonderland, Pets Safari depending where you live. price right now is really cheap.
weijie
Feb 26 2012, 02:03 PM
QUOTE(kimimaro_kun @ Feb 26 2012, 10:04 AM)  i'm afraid of height.. LOL normal meh like then. guys, usually when u reshape ur tank, do u remove all the fauna? izzit ok if i just topup the soil w/o take the fishes?? thx  can you do renovation (knocking and drilling walls, removing floor ties) at living room while your family is watching tv? Added on February 26, 2012, 2:04 pmQUOTE(LuQEE @ Feb 26 2012, 01:09 PM) yeah..sifu can we do that? im thinking of adding soil to my tank too, just a thin 1-3cm layer of soil above the main gravel base? should we cabut all the plants and bunkus all the fishes? you can do it without removing plants, but fishes will die if you left them like that. This post has been edited by weijie: Feb 26 2012, 02:04 PM
weijie
Feb 27 2012, 08:54 AM
QUOTE(ramon7153 @ Feb 27 2012, 02:20 AM)  hi,i just start my tank.. but wht after 2 day le the water still cloudy..>.< did you pour in water slowly? did your filter outlet shooting directly to soil? did you put 5elements on bottom? QUOTE(LuQEE @ Feb 27 2012, 07:28 AM) err, can someone tell me or post pic what u feed ure otto? went to lfs yesterday, trying to bought algae wafer but no stock, so the owner recommend me those sinking pellets~ aiyoo , my ottos just lick it couple of times and starts sucking all the glass in my tank, poor couples. otto seldom eat sinking pellets. i feed my shrimps with boiled cucumbers (timun). otto sometimes will stick on it.
weijie
Feb 28 2012, 09:37 AM
QUOTE(LuQEE @ Feb 28 2012, 08:05 AM) yeah, well i want them(those plants) but can they survive without soil? my substrate are jsut small pieces of sand+rocks(lfs cheap gravel+pasir sungai hehe) most carpet plants need soil. if you using liquid nutrient to replace soil, it will burn a hole in your pocket in long run.
weijie
Feb 28 2012, 10:29 AM
QUOTE(LuQEE @ Feb 28 2012, 10:06 AM) aiyoo... bad planning already..
but i heard riccia is a floating type plant, so they dont neccesary require soil right? any advice? gonna tie them to mesh btw~
yes, riccia dont need any soil to grow. yeps, you can tie them with mesh. and you would need to trim it every week, or soon they will be floating everywhere and growing everywhere (thats what happened to my tank currently) QUOTE(gorillaz_113 @ Feb 28 2012, 10:13 AM) i m using orista CO2 0.5L set kit and my bps is just around 1 bubble per 2-3 second 12 hour daily. Seem like 2-3 week CO2 used up Aluminum tank co2 finish very very fast. i strongly not recommend any ppl to use it. My steel 6kg tank can last 8months, with 5bps 8hours daily.
weijie
Feb 28 2012, 11:19 AM
Correct me if i am wrong, 0.52L is the volume inside the aluminum tank. what i notice is some fish shop refill it to 800psi, some 1000psi. IMHO, gas occupies all given area, so it has great difference of amount of gas requires to fill up 0.52L area with 800psi pressure and 1000psi. (sorry my science sucks and my explanation is bad).
weijie
Feb 28 2012, 05:04 PM
QUOTE(LuQEE @ Feb 28 2012, 04:43 PM) i just put xtra air pump to stabalize the co2 & o2 level in my tank, dunno help or not...but if according to theory, it works..lol QUOTE(cute_miao @ Feb 28 2012, 04:46 PM) if cannister only? cannot hor based on ur theory? any suggestion? put air stone after light period. so you dont need to remove the co2 diffuser. you can get timer to on/off your air pump from those electrical department of jusco/giant/DIY shops. cost about Rm15 cute_miao, you can put the air stone at bottom of outlet hose. water flow will push the air bubble and spread throughout your aquarium  LuQEE, once you get the correct amount of DIY co2 ingredient for correct bps, you should not use air stone during light is on. you can try with the method i mentioned above This post has been edited by weijie: Feb 28 2012, 05:08 PM
weijie
Feb 28 2012, 06:15 PM
QUOTE(cute_miao @ Feb 28 2012, 05:58 PM) Nanti mintak help ya..how to put the air stone in cannister outlet. Put it the bottom hose or the place water flow out frm the green batang? lol, it is not that complicated. just buy any air stone will do, blue color/ grey color/ whatever color/ some even made from bamboo, as long as it makes the air bubble smaller then ok. place the air stone, INSIDE your aquarium, right below of your outlet hose of canister.  Added on February 28, 2012, 6:19 pmQUOTE(LuQEE @ Feb 28 2012, 05:17 PM) » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « weijei got alot la im sure heheSeriously, i tak deh  ~ i just accidentally break my air stone yesterday. no air stone inside my shrimp tank now This post has been edited by weijie: Feb 28 2012, 06:19 PM
weijie
Feb 29 2012, 12:33 PM
QUOTE(LuQEE @ Feb 29 2012, 12:31 PM) ikano pet store got alot of pets for sale? including fishes and aquascaoe accesories? not really. their price is higher compare to normal fish shop. what are you looking for? try my website, i might can help you out, http://aquascapeworld.wordpress.com/ Added on February 29, 2012, 12:34 pmQUOTE(cute_miao @ Feb 29 2012, 12:23 PM) @SHOOT ME, you just shot me..thanks a lot ^^ Added on February 29, 2012, 12:23 pmthat thing is connector is it? can use to connect hose geh..betul tak? can use that to control gas flow from air pump, but do not use it at co2 ya. hahahah. your co2 gas will finished overnight. it can be connected to normal air hose that we usually buy from local fish shop (LFS). This post has been edited by weijie: Feb 29 2012, 12:34 PM
weijie
Mar 1 2012, 12:30 PM
QUOTE(kimimaro_kun @ Mar 1 2012, 09:04 AM) i'm using kayu sugi btw, thinking of diy my own lighting system. currently oni use 8w. plan to make it 24w. maybe something like this  credit to Mr fansofaqua from this forum..CPL is not good for planted tank. it create too much heat.
weijie
Mar 1 2012, 05:54 PM
QUOTE(Pacman88 @ Mar 1 2012, 05:39 PM) Please comment my planted tank.  Pacman88: Great work!!! Try trim both side of rotalas into ball (sphere) shape. i believe it will be nicer !