4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Hedgehog Corner V7, Come all hedgehog lovers

Noobish
post Jun 8 2012, 07:58 AM

Hello sifus. I am thinking of getting a hedgehog, and I want to ask:

For the kibble, how do you rate Blackwood Kitten and RC Babycat 34? Because at my area I don't know where to find the cat food, and the store I know don't have RC Kitten 36. Not sure no stock or not selling. I think they are selling IAMS as well but not sure which type. Can I just feed it RC 32 even though the hedgie is still a baby? hmm.gif

Do you know any breeder in Kuantan?

I thought I have lots of questions.. But that's all I can think of at the moment hmm.gif
Noobish
post Jun 8 2012, 06:38 PM

QUOTE(Noobish @ Jun 8 2012, 07:58 AM)
Hello sifus. I am thinking of getting a hedgehog, and I want to ask:

For the kibble, how do you rate Blackwood Kitten and RC Babycat 34? Because at my area I don't know where to find the cat food, and the store I know don't have RC Kitten 36. Not sure no stock or not selling. I think they are selling IAMS as well but not sure which type. Can I just feed it RC 32 even though the hedgie is still a baby?  hmm.gif

No one want to answer my question? So sad cry.gif tongue.gif
Noobish
post Jun 8 2012, 10:46 PM

QUOTE(ddr3 @ Jun 8 2012, 08:10 PM)
dun sad lah, didnt saw ur post  biggrin.gif for baby usually will use RC36 if nt mistaken coz much more protein in RC36 compared to RC32, edit my line if im wrong, for IAMS, more fat so need space to make them exercise so that will be be a fatty hedgie  biggrin.gif
Thanks ddr3 sir smile.gif

Do you know any breeder from Kuantan? I've been moping around for months, considering to get a hedgehog or not. Then I went back home and showed videos to my family and cousin, and the cousin suddenly got interested and beg my aunt for a pair. Considering the amount of research I've done, I feel so cry.gif when he got a pair from local petshop. Thought I could stand the wanting longer but the news only make me feel like lust.gifdrool.gifcry.gif LOL I feel so desperate for one.

Read from here mav_850 hometown is in Kuantan, but I've asked and he won't be going back anywhere soon blush.gif

I feel so tragic lol blush.gif
Noobish
post Jun 9 2012, 10:53 PM

shocking.gif I FINALLY GET A HEDGEHOG OMGGGG

My aunt gave my one of the pair rclxm9.gif biggrin.gif It won't be till this weekend I get him/her drool.gif

Finally TT.TT
Noobish
post Jun 10 2012, 01:57 AM

Maybe it is just me, but their detailed characterization of hedgehogs always make me rclxub.gif

No one have any pictures to share? I haven't got mine yet blush.gif
Noobish
post Jun 10 2012, 04:30 PM

Guys/girls, I also have question, on page 1 it says that:

What other things can hedgehogs eat? Hedgehogs can eat a variety of human foods. If you aren't sure if a food is safe, don't give it. Some acceptable treats are cooked peas, cooked carrots, cooked squash, cooked sweet potato, (make sure that all of the following meats are UNSEASONED) chicken, turkey, beef, lamb, pork, salmon, tuna, banana, cranberries, grape pieces, kiwi, watermelon, pear, apple slices, strawberry, hard boiled eggs, baby food, cottage cheese, yogurt.

But I read here and somewhere else that grapes are toxic to small animals including hedgehog? hmm.gif Which one is true? And for the yogurt, can use the same yogurt we eat that sell in supermarket? Hedgies are lactose intolerant as well, right? So other than milk, what other things it cannot it? I thought all dairy things can't? That include eggs, yogurt, and cheese, right? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by Noobish: Jun 10 2012, 04:33 PM
Noobish
post Jun 10 2012, 08:10 PM

Guys/girls, I also have question, on page 1 it says that:

What other things can hedgehogs eat? Hedgehogs can eat a variety of human foods. If you aren't sure if a food is safe, don't give it. Some acceptable treats are cooked peas, cooked carrots, cooked squash, cooked sweet potato, (make sure that all of the following meats are UNSEASONED) chicken, turkey, beef, lamb, pork, salmon, tuna, banana, cranberries, grape pieces, kiwi, watermelon, pear, apple slices, strawberry, hard boiled eggs, baby food, cottage cheese, yogurt.

But I read here and somewhere else that grapes are toxic to small animals including hedgehog? Which one is true? And for the yogurt, can use the same yogurt we eat that sell in supermarket? Hedgies are lactose intolerant as well, right? So other than milk, what other things it cannot it? I thought all dairy things can't? That include eggs, yogurt, and cheese, right?

I feel so paiseh asking again, do anyone know the answer to my question? sweat.gif blush.gif
Noobish
post Jun 10 2012, 09:52 PM

Thanks sidyeah and rex, for answering my question blush.gif
Oh, yogurt for mice and hamster blush.gif I didn't know, thought normal yogurt lol tongue.gif
Noobish
post Jun 11 2012, 05:10 AM

Another question... Is 11" diameter wheel is big enough for full grown hedgie, or must the wheel be 12"?
Noobish
post Jun 11 2012, 09:15 AM

QUOTE(ddr3 @ Jun 11 2012, 07:16 AM)
as big as possible, 12' will be ok  biggrin.gif and be prepared to wash wheel of poop  biggrin.gif
Already am tongue.gif
I know 12" is the best... But 11" should be ok right? hmm.gif I'm not sure the pet shop have 12" or not hmm.gif
Noobish
post Jun 11 2012, 10:11 AM

Not yet sweat.gif I need to finish my final exams first tongue.gif Then finish up preparing his/her home biggrin.gif The soonest I can welcome her properly is by this weekend. Too excited to study for exams drool.gif sweat.gif
Noobish
post Jun 11 2012, 11:28 AM

Sure I'll post some pics later biggrin.gif There is no tesco near my place blush.gif Most likely I'll buy those Toyogo-like box.

I want to ask, 1kg kibbles for a less-than 6 months hedgie can last for how long? hmm.gif That's the smallest they have in the pet store sweat.gif I don't know where else to find them, as I don't go out often to explore. But that store is the best I've found so far unsure.gif
Noobish
post Jun 11 2012, 05:00 PM

Does charcoal really works to reduce odors? I mean normal charcoal? I know activated one works. In your opinion is it really needed? hmm.gif

How do you rate Blackwood Kitten? Because I check the nutritional value and ingredients pretty similar to IAMS Kitten. That store last time I check no RC36, but have RC34 and RC32. My aunt said the store use Blackwood for hedgehog. I'm not keen on using IAMS since I hear report of animal cruelty sweat.gif Maybe I should turn one eye blind and just buy whistling.gif

Sorry ask a lot. Curious blush.gif
Noobish
post Jun 12 2012, 01:20 PM

QUOTE(ddr3 @ Jun 12 2012, 10:57 AM)
2 weeks ah? how lah im going to survive  rclxub.gif
Can't wait to see your babies tongue.gif
Noobish
post Jun 15 2012, 11:43 PM

hi guys, finally got my hedgie xD i think it's pretty big already.. it won't play with toilet roll, test giving treats to him but he only eat mealworms.. And he has very, VERY small thing crawling behind his back.. Not many i think, and dropped quills have tiny balls.. So it should be lices, right? Frontlines or revolution works? I read here about bathing d hedgie but it's hard for me to search that post now as i'm doing this through my aunt's hp. Can i bath him with baby shampoo? How frequent should i bath him? How many times should i wash his cage? I read something about quarantine.. Can someone explain to me about that? I'll go to shop tomorow to buy his stuff, cant go to vet, though i checked where d vets are, i duno which can treat hedgie.. Short of time as im leaving this sunday as well. Sorry, i knw i sound irresponsible Dx
Noobish
post Jun 16 2012, 06:57 PM

thanks ddr 3, i've bought frontline from petstore though, though i dont the infection is serious for it. Just in case, i want to ask, if we use it, what's the interval between each spray/treatment? If i only use bathing method, how often should i bath him?
Noobish
post Jun 17 2012, 09:35 PM

QUOTE(ddr3 @ Jun 16 2012, 09:13 PM)
i have never use frontline b4, for bath, 1 week once  biggrin.gif
It's okay, got it figured out. First-time parent panicked a little tongue.gif Theory is one thing, experiencing it is another biggrin.gif He's okay now, though he doesn't look as well as properly-cared-for hedgie yet (because he's not before I take him under my wing blush.gif ) Very well-behaved and love to groom himself as well. Named him Roll, then my aunt change to Rolex tongue.gif
So opposite of another one sweat.gif The other one is super defensive, and not in good condition either cry.gif Called him Fossil. Would have take care of him as well but he's not mine, and his owner doesn't seem to care about his health as much doh.gif Fossil have very bad dry skin, super grumpy, super defensive, suck at climbing and digging as well sweat.gif But comparing the two he's probably the one you can put on your lap and cuddle since Roll likes floor better than anyone biggrin.gif
Noobish
post Jun 18 2012, 07:40 PM

QUOTE(ddr3 @ Jun 18 2012, 07:27 AM)
who did you get both of them from?  biggrin.gif good to hear that both of them are under good care of Noobish
My aunt, who got them from a pet store for my cousin. But I think the condition is okay before my cousin got them sweat.gif I only take one of them, can't take care of both as I'm away from home sad.gif

How's Leo? No new pics? tongue.gif
Noobish
post Jul 8 2012, 04:11 PM

Hi guys, I wanna ask, anyone here have any experience treating hedgies with fungal infection? How long does it take till he is cured? I'm taking over my cousin hedgie, which is super grumpy and defensive, afraid he's far too much for me to handle. If I don't take him, afraid the hedgie will die. I can't take care of 2 hedgies once my practical is over, but my main concern right now is to get him back to health, as he is in a bad condition right now. Anyone know any vet that treat hedgies in Kuantan? I have issues of going to the vet because of my working hour, but I'll find a way once I know where to go.. If not I can't do much other than buying antifungal shampoo and cream to tream him.. And pray he'll get better.
Noobish
post Jul 8 2012, 06:44 PM

No pictures la, he's not with me yet, and hard oso to post since now using phone for internet. I'm going to get him in a little while today. Thought mites/lices and bought frontline, but no effect. When I 1st look at him, there were scabs on his face and ears, removed using baby oil and seems ok, but he oso suffering from quill and fur loss. Now he's having diarrhea as well. He spike up at the weakest sound. LOTS of dry skin, and few quills got red dry skin surrounding him.. Like luka but only on a quill, then at another spot, another 1. Since I dunno his age, can't say quilling or what-not.

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0644sec    0.69    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 04:07 PM