Hedgehog Corner V7, Come all hedgehog lovers

olivur
post Jan 5 2012, 12:31 PM

ollie ollie oxen free
1,273 posts

QUOTE(gaianeo @ Jan 5 2012, 08:48 AM)
maybe you should read the dettol instruction carefully.. dettol are not suitable for direct usage and better to apply when mix with water. for hedgehog are using very small amount of dettol in their bath water and it work perfectly and no injury have occur. frontline was a very good mite control medicine but origin for fury animal like cat and dog. hedgehog are less fur and small compare to these big fury cat and dog.. and you sure frontine are not too strong for hedgehog? have you try spray frontline to your skin and see what will happen since you try the dettol on your hand already. besides, frontline are rather expensive and some forumer re not recommend using it due to its strong and expensive issues.. not saying it cant be apply but dettol are a good replacement for it.. no hard feeling.. just wanna clarify stuff. and one of the pet lover center people saying am i crazy for getting frontline for hedgehog.
as a matter of fact i did. and it was recommended by a few vets that are known locally to treat hedghehogs. no hard feelings, but i would rather listen to a qualified vet rather than a pet store clerk. of course regardless of what you read and are told common sense would deduce that using such chemicals on such a sensitive animal is risky as is. which is why i clearly stated the natural option, which is using apple cider vinegar.

i myself do so and a few other fellow caretakers have followed my doing so with similar results.
olivur
post Jan 16 2012, 11:33 PM

ollie ollie oxen free
1,273 posts

QUOTE(ZforZebra @ Jan 16 2012, 10:51 PM)
can i know got what better hedgehog food can suggest ma?? now i feeding my hedgehog with SUNSEED brand hedgehog food which buy from midvalley petwonderland de...still got plenty of it..but i just wan buy some other nice n tasty food for it...if not will quite boring eating same food everyday..><

olivur
post Feb 24 2012, 05:24 AM

ollie ollie oxen free
1,273 posts

you could/should attempt litter training them for the sake of your sanity.

my hog does her business in a huge box i placed in her play pen. she's learned to keep her wheel somewhat clean these days. (used to have to clean her wheel daily while only having to do so weekly - every fortnight now.)

but to answer your query, hogs poop-layering their wheels isn't a "problem" as much as something that comes naturally to them. and you solve it by washing it daily :P

addendum*

telileti - what name did you decide to go with for dibs?

This post has been edited by olivur: Feb 24 2012, 05:27 AM
olivur
post Feb 24 2012, 09:38 PM

ollie ollie oxen free
1,273 posts

QUOTE(TeliLeti @ Feb 24 2012, 10:49 AM)
Ahahahaha, not 'Dibs', sadly.

I merely named him Pinto.

I call him Fat Boy nowadays though. He's gigantic. Bigger than his mother and father.
D:

recent pictures of pinto when feasible please, does pinto get along with his mum & dad?
olivur
post Feb 25 2012, 11:36 PM

ollie ollie oxen free
1,273 posts

ditto. while any life is equally precious (to an extent), simply giving or getting a hedgehog isn't exactly like getting for example; a goldfish for yourself or as a present to someone else.

be sure to do the research needed as a hog needs lots of care and has quirks specific to their kind that you should equip yourself or whoever you're giving it as a present with.

case in point - the past few pages of this thread clearly shows lack of research before bringing home a new hog v.v

addendum*

to answer your question, nethelp's from klang i believe and is a home breeder. prove yourself worthy and he might let you take care of one of his offsprings :p

http://forum.lowyat.net/user/nethelp

This post has been edited by olivur: Feb 25 2012, 11:41 PM
olivur
post Feb 27 2012, 03:39 PM

ollie ollie oxen free
1,273 posts

QUOTE(TeliLeti @ Feb 27 2012, 12:01 PM)
I'll get a few of those pictures snapped soon. ;)
He's such a chubby boy now. My mum told me to starve him.  :shakehead:

How's your hedgie? Her name escapes me now. Sorry!

He tries to hump his mum & he bites his dad. The biting incident scared the heck out of me. I placed him on the toilet floor with his dad while I washed their cage. Took my attention off them for a second and BAM! His dad started squealing because Pinto attacked him. D:
lil :P

ouch and huffy is supposed to be the temperamental one :X how's pinto's attitude towards you, is he a friendly character?

QUOTE(nethelp @ Feb 27 2012, 02:39 PM)
Hi Olivur, thanks for your recommendation. Nowadays I really scared to letting go my baby hedgie, I received several call from non-lyn buyers who planned to adopt my baby hedgie as gift to their friend... Pet makes lousy gift!

Well recently I'm going to change my 1.3 megapixel handphone to a 5 megapixel handphone and hope after this I can take more beautiful picture of my adorable hedgie family to share here.  :P
how many hogs do you currently have in your care right now :?

also, random picture of lil sleeping in her pot :x

older pics of her -

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=45566834
olivur
post Feb 29 2012, 03:10 PM

ollie ollie oxen free
1,273 posts

huffster grew up to be quite a looker didn't he! i always thought pinto would be the show stealer once he matures but in my books huffster - rockstar xD

and no, not really. lil used to be pretty docile in terms of attitude and table manners but i believe she's going through a rebellious stage. she huffs whenever she sees me but the moment i reach my hands out to her she'll calm down and wait for me to pick her up and cup her in my palms. to which she'd start licking and sniffing around whilst trying to ball up to get comfy.

that and she used to not leave any crumbs scattered around her playpen but recently, gurgh ._.! it looks like a spring break massacre i tells ya.

addendum*

i do like how she takes care of her wheel though, she still runs as normal as she does with the addition that she actually stops to do her business before continuing (sometimes). as a result i don't have to clean her wheel daily like before, but every week or fortnight when she simply can't resist the temptation to go on the fly, or rather run.

This post has been edited by olivur: Feb 29 2012, 03:12 PM
olivur
post Mar 16 2012, 10:24 PM

ollie ollie oxen free
1,273 posts

QUOTE(berman517 @ Mar 16 2012, 03:57 PM)
wow...nobody ever told me this...and cant read from internet...
only experienced owner can tell all this details... :sweat:
okok...then i think i should leave him alone for today again...
so how do u pick him up?
like the 1st page said,scoop ur boy up? :lol:
update your internets.

http://www.freewebs.com/thehedgieden/hedgehogcare.htm

It will also seem that as soon as you pick him up, he will poop and pee on you, often numerous times. Don’t take it personally and rest assured that this will also pass. When you watch him, if he lifts his tail it means he is going to "go" and you can set him in his litter pan.
olivur
post Mar 17 2012, 12:21 AM

ollie ollie oxen free
1,273 posts

QUOTE(berman517 @ Mar 16 2012, 10:52 PM)
bro...ur link is broken  @@

Added on March 16, 2012, 10:55 pm
never expect it to be pocky at the 1st place as,
i thought juvenile hedgehog should be more frenly... sad.gif
so its spike do hurts huh?
i lack of courage to scope him up...
partly scare of the looks sharp quill,partly i dun wan him to stress by me... T_T

Added on March 16, 2012, 11:01 pmjust discover...he dint hiss at me...will update tonight see whether i m allow to carry him...
he is now hiding himself against the corner while i try to approach him as i remove his hiding house...lol
negatory. as i stated earlier it's your internet that needs to be updated. what you asked up there ^ and down here v

QUOTE(berman517 @ Mar 16 2012, 11:33 PM)
damn i think i m in big trouble now...
hands get itchy and red after holding my BOY....
white albino male he is

Added on March 16, 2012, 11:38 pmuser posted image
is all listed on the site i and telileti posted a page or so back.

This post has been edited by olivur: Mar 17 2012, 12:21 AM
olivur
post Mar 17 2012, 01:51 AM

ollie ollie oxen free
1,273 posts

it means that rather than making excuses and reposting questions on basic know how's which you should have equipped yourself with prior to bringing home a hog, do the right thing and equip yourself.

reading the link which I posted above would be a start. copy and paste the link into your browser's address bar if for some reason it does not open automagically when you click on it.

as for the reaction on your palm, it's perfectly normal for some to get such reactions when first handling their hogs. again, this is covered in the link that I posted above.

olivur
post Mar 18 2012, 10:02 PM

ollie ollie oxen free
1,273 posts

or if he likes the bowl (being in a confined small space) let that be his comfort zone and use something else as a feeding bowl :)
olivur
post Mar 19 2012, 12:09 AM

ollie ollie oxen free
1,273 posts

QUOTE(berman517 @ Mar 18 2012, 10:37 PM)
that feeding bowl is too small for him to sleep la...
probably another week he will be oversized for that...
they love confined spaces by nature. that bowl is much bigger than a toilet roll core which hogs love.

olivur
post Mar 20 2012, 01:18 PM

ollie ollie oxen free
1,273 posts

be sure to get the necessities such as bedding / feed / misc before jumping the gun.such mentioned goods are transferable but if you change your mind after getting the hog, well that's just irresponsible now isn't it :)
olivur
post Apr 20 2012, 08:25 PM

ollie ollie oxen free
1,273 posts

QUOTE(ddr3 @ Apr 15 2012, 12:56 PM)
saw a very creative house for hedgie, gonna try when im back to see Leo and his new GF biggrin.gif

http://i1180.photobucket.com/albums/x405/c...rm/P1010140.jpg
http://i1180.photobucket.com/albums/x405/c...rm/P1010138.jpg

credit to http://cforum1.cari.com.my/viewthread.php?...age%3D1&page=15  rclxms.gif

juz need some improvement on the net below, mayb can use net with even smaller holes  biggrin.gif
ditto, that bottom netting seems dangerous.

a smaller one would be worse i'd imagine, their tiny legs could get lodged and they'd hurt themselves trying to get it loose.
olivur
post May 9 2012, 02:23 PM

ollie ollie oxen free
1,273 posts

QUOTE(ddr3 @ May 9 2012, 08:36 AM)
where did u get her from? Leon?

are all quills banded? means all quills have coloours or many solid white colour ? drool.gif
you sir, have an unhealthy obsession with hedgehog colourations. lol

addendum*

some recent pictures of lil. she was tearing up the patch (which is grassless thanks to her) and as usual when i'm nearby she'll act innocent >_>

This post has been edited by olivur: May 9 2012, 02:30 PM
olivur
post May 21 2012, 10:38 PM

ollie ollie oxen free
1,273 posts

did you not ask the vet as to the cause of said fungal infection?

general reading dictates that as rare as they are when it comes to fungal infection, ringworms are the usual cause.

so yeah i guess you got unlucky when you left him in the garden ._.

something i myself used to do frequently for lil
olivur
post Jun 8 2012, 01:03 PM

ollie ollie oxen free
1,273 posts

ddr3 - it's healthy as a horse or healthy as an ox

/random

nethelp - which female snp is that o.o!
olivur
post Jun 15 2012, 03:56 PM

ollie ollie oxen free
1,273 posts

@nethelp - I called your bluff! because I saw her head slightly tilted in the pictures :E

still a mean trick you pulled there though! lol
olivur
post Jul 5 2012, 07:17 AM

ollie ollie oxen free
1,273 posts

what in wild kingdom? how'd that happen telileti, as i know you'd never cause such injuries on purpose.
olivur
post Jul 5 2012, 10:47 AM

ollie ollie oxen free
1,273 posts

QUOTE(ddr3 @ Jul 5 2012, 08:26 AM)
not on purpose lah, accident accident  cry.gif
i know. reread what i said -

QUOTE(olivur @ Jul 5 2012, 07:17 AM)
what in wild kingdom? how'd that happen telileti, as i know you'd never cause such injuries on purpose.
QUOTE(TeliLeti @ Jul 5 2012, 08:28 AM)
I was giving him a bath and I brushed his belly with a toothbrush because he tends to pee all over himself. He never liked me brushing his belly so he curled up tightly. I twisted and pulled out the brush because I couldnt get it out, so I think that act caused the toothbrush bristles to poke at his eye and it popped out. Poor thing was in so much pain that he couldnt even stand up and kept falling over to the side. sad.gif He's now all curled up in a ball. Just need to get his eye removed and stitched shut now. I'll update here after I get him to the vet.
ouch. poor huffy! i hope he isn't too traumatized or anything. keep us updated please, and hang in there you ._.

6 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0249sec    0.69    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 10:19 AM