125 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

Working in Singapore v8, Tan vs Tan vs Tan vs Tan

L7Awesome
post Aug 22 2011, 02:21 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(blinkblink88 @ Aug 22 2011, 02:12 PM)
do you mind to let me know which package are you taking and how much are u paying for it? i m thinking which is the best for me....

Added on August 22, 2011, 2:13 pm
do you mind to let me know which package are you taking and how much are u paying for it? i m thinking which is the best for me....
You can have a look at this plan:
http://info.singtel.com/personal/communica...obile/data-plan

From time to time, they changed the package. Mine was a SGD31.45/month 30GB limit, 2mbps. This is pure broadband only. The last I checked though, they seems to upgrade mine to 50GB, 7.2mbps. Anyway, since I am using Galaxy Tab to Thether so technically it can go up to 7.2 but it seems to be averaging 2mbps.

Actually you can start to look at what is your surfing pattern first.
ilikehandphones
post Aug 22 2011, 02:21 PM

378 posts

costa sands look nice...the bbq place
seantang
post Aug 22 2011, 02:39 PM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

QUOTE(RabbitS @ Aug 22 2011, 02:19 PM)
new jetta? then mod it with stage 2 chip  rclxms.gif  as powerful as stock gti
Unless you get the 2L Jetta which isn't very common, the chip will have up the turbo boost of the 1.4 or 1.6 way above the standard GTi to come up with the same power output. However, the intercooler, radiator, oil cooler, water pump and oil pump are too small, plus the fact that the turbine is smaller so it'll be heating plenty fast at such high boost ratios. The block, cylinder head are also not made for that abnormal above-GTi boost level. Then comes the gearbox and the brakes.

In a nutshell... chip ups need to be done properly by upgrading everything else. And by the time you do it properly, you could have paid for the higher model already.

Mackiddo
post Aug 22 2011, 02:45 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(L7Awesome @ Aug 22 2011, 02:21 PM)

From time to time, they changed the package.  Mine was a SGD31.45/month 30GB limit, 2mbps.  This is pure broadband only.  The last I checked though, they seems to upgrade mine to 50GB, 7.2mbps. Anyway, since I am using Galaxy Tab to Thether so technically it can go up to 7.2 but it seems to be averaging 2mbps.

Galaxy Tab ? hehe. No one got a HP TouchPad from the recent fire-sale ? I managed to order one at US$101 (imagine it was like US$500 for 16GB version a couple of weeks back shocking.gif ) and shipped it to my US address. Hopefully they won't cancel the order.

This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Aug 22 2011, 02:45 PM
L7Awesome
post Aug 22 2011, 02:48 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Aug 22 2011, 02:45 PM)
Galaxy Tab ? hehe. No one got a HP TouchPad from the recent fire-sale ? I managed to order one at US$101 (imagine it was like US$500 for 16GB version a couple of weeks back  shocking.gif ) and shipped it to my US address. Hopefully they won't cancel the order.
Haha... seems that HP is giving up on their WebOS. The problem is that in the future it might be difficult to get application on the TouchPad. However, if they do a firesale on HP Business notebook, that's a different story...
deodorant
post Aug 22 2011, 02:48 PM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

QUOTE(blinkblink88 @ Aug 22 2011, 12:55 PM)
I think COE now is around $70k for car above 1600cc and $40k for car below 1600cc...

http://www.sgcarmart.com/news/writeup.php?AID=70

CatA 49k, CatB 65k. Seems to be on a downtrend, last month was 70k / 72k!
blinkblink88
post Aug 22 2011, 02:50 PM

Blink Pets Bakery
650 posts

QUOTE(L7Awesome @ Aug 22 2011, 02:21 PM)

From time to time, they changed the package.  Mine was a SGD31.45/month 30GB limit, 2mbps.  This is pure broadband only.  The last I checked though, they seems to upgrade mine to 50GB, 7.2mbps. Anyway, since I am using Galaxy Tab to Thether so technically it can go up to 7.2 but it seems to be averaging 2mbps.

u r using galaxy tab, no wonder only reach 9gb per month...I am using laptop, so i scare it will more than 50GB...I saw starhub is unlimited data bundle, but i trust singtel more than starhub, hard to make decision....><
L7Awesome
post Aug 22 2011, 02:57 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(blinkblink88 @ Aug 22 2011, 02:50 PM)
u r using galaxy tab, no wonder only reach 9gb per month...I am using laptop, so i scare it will more than 50GB...I saw starhub is unlimited data bundle, but i trust singtel more than starhub, hard to make decision....><
Well, my Galaxy tab also acts as my modem as well. My laptop usually connects to my Galaxy Tab so i do not need to bring the modem everywhere i go. I think it's really difficult to use 50GB if you do not do torrent. Even daily Youtube and listening to music 8 hours daily (96k), I will only use up to about 16 or 17GB.

Well, check the T&C properly. There might be a limit to the unlimited.
Mackiddo
post Aug 22 2011, 02:57 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(L7Awesome @ Aug 22 2011, 02:48 PM)
Haha... seems that HP is giving up on their WebOS.  The problem is that in the future it might be difficult to get application on the TouchPad.  However, if they do a firesale on HP Business notebook, that's a different story...
It's selling like hotcakes now and I'm sure someone will find a way to make it more interesting, perhaps installing Android on it ? With discount up to 80%, it's worth it even if i use to to read book, check email and surf net
blinkblink88
post Aug 22 2011, 03:03 PM

Blink Pets Bakery
650 posts

QUOTE(L7Awesome @ Aug 22 2011, 02:57 PM)
Well, my Galaxy tab also acts as my modem as well.  My laptop usually connects to my Galaxy Tab so i do not need to bring the modem everywhere i go.  I think it's really difficult to use 50GB if you do not do torrent.  Even daily Youtube and listening to music 8 hours daily (96k), I will only use up to about 16 or 17GB.

Well, check the T&C properly.  There might be a limit to the unlimited.
ok..i will think on the new galaxy tab 10.1 package...but may I know will u feel it is very hot on your galaxy tab while u connect to your laptop? thanks for your help... smile.gif
seantang
post Aug 22 2011, 03:03 PM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Aug 22 2011, 02:57 PM)
It's selling like hotcakes now and I'm sure someone will find a way to make it more interesting, perhaps installing Android on it ? With discount up to 80%,  it's worth it even if i use to to read book, check email and surf net
HP Singapore doesn't seem to have reduced its prices though. Still S$599 for 16gb.

L7Awesome
post Aug 22 2011, 03:05 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(blinkblink88 @ Aug 22 2011, 03:03 PM)
ok..i will think on the new galaxy tab 10.1 package...but may I know will u feel it is very hot on your galaxy tab while u connect to your laptop? thanks for your help... smile.gif
So far it seems good for me. If I watch youtube on my laptop, then it might be a bit warm sometimes. However, overall, it seems okay. The only flipside is that the battery drains quite fast though.

Added on August 22, 2011, 3:06 pm
QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Aug 22 2011, 02:57 PM)
It's selling like hotcakes now and I'm sure someone will find a way to make it more interesting, perhaps installing Android on it ? With discount up to 80%,  it's worth it even if i use to to read book, check email and surf net
Just curious, actually how did u get it for $101?

This post has been edited by L7Awesome: Aug 22 2011, 03:06 PM
RabbitS
post Aug 22 2011, 03:23 PM

204 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Aug 22 2011, 02:39 PM)
Unless you get the 2L Jetta which isn't very common, the chip will have up the turbo boost of the 1.4 or 1.6 way above the standard GTi to come up with the same power output. However, the intercooler, radiator, oil cooler, water pump and oil pump are too small, plus the fact that the turbine is smaller so it'll be heating plenty fast at such high boost ratios. The block, cylinder head are also not made for that abnormal above-GTi boost level. Then comes the gearbox and the brakes.

In a nutshell... chip ups need to be done properly by upgrading everything else. And by the time you do it properly, you could have paid for the higher model already.
hehehe, diff is the 1.4 twincharger is not just turbo... there's super charging as well... therefore doesnt mean all the power have to come from spooling the turbo.. usually above certain rpm the super charger turns off and the turbo kicks in... but i believe you can keep the super charger on all the way rclxms.gif gearbox no prob... both the 6-speed and 7-speed dsg can take those power, brakes? just change to ceramic pads lor... caliper still can take it...

dont need change intercooler/radiator/oil cooler/ water pump/ oil pump... usually only trucks or rally cars need this as their turbo is always kicking in

stage 2 chip i think around sgd 1.1k, but can get it done cheaper in msia...

cousin did it to his jetta, but his is the stock model that comes with 170bhp already
Mackiddo
post Aug 22 2011, 03:28 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(L7Awesome @ Aug 22 2011, 03:05 PM)
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2003330 rclxms.gif

Added on August 22, 2011, 3:29 pm
QUOTE(seantang @ Aug 22 2011, 03:03 PM)
HP Singapore doesn't seem to have reduced its prices though. Still S$599 for 16gb.
yeah, sadly. I think Sg no stock as well, just called Harvey Norman, seems like they have return back all the stocks vmad.gif due to 'manufacturer fault' ???

This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Aug 22 2011, 03:29 PM
blinkblink88
post Aug 22 2011, 03:31 PM

Blink Pets Bakery
650 posts

QUOTE(L7Awesome @ Aug 22 2011, 03:05 PM)
So far it seems good for me.  If I watch youtube on my laptop, then it might be a bit warm sometimes.  However, overall, it seems okay.  The only flipside is that the battery drains quite fast though.

Added on August 22, 2011, 3:06 pm
Maybe I will think to buy another wireless modem for it... smile.gif
Thanks for your help....
L7Awesome
post Aug 22 2011, 03:36 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(blinkblink88 @ Aug 22 2011, 03:31 PM)
Maybe I will think to buy another wireless modem for it... smile.gif
Thanks for your help....
One very important thing that you need to find out as well; how is the broadband performance in your room/place. It may be super good in one place but sucks at another. So you will need to find out that information as well. If not, after you sign up for say, 24 months, you will need to start crying.
ivanswk
post Aug 22 2011, 03:37 PM

+J
2,110 posts

QUOTE(RabbitS @ Aug 22 2011, 03:23 PM)
hehehe, diff is the 1.4 twincharger is not just turbo... there's super charging as well... therefore doesnt mean all the power have to come from spooling the turbo.. usually above certain rpm the super charger turns off and the turbo kicks in... but i believe you can keep the super charger on all the way  rclxms.gif  gearbox no prob... both the 6-speed and 7-speed dsg can take those power, brakes? just change to ceramic pads lor... caliper still can take it...

dont need change intercooler/radiator/oil cooler/ water pump/ oil pump... usually only trucks or rally cars need this as their turbo is always kicking in

cousin did it to his jetta, but his is the stock model that comes with 170bhp already
bro.. seriously u not female loh hmm.gif

RabbitS
post Aug 22 2011, 03:42 PM

204 posts

QUOTE(ivanswk @ Aug 22 2011, 03:37 PM)
bro.. seriously u not female loh  hmm.gif
car doesnt belong to me, but my cousin... i take mrt rclxms.gif
maloa
post Aug 22 2011, 03:43 PM

218 posts

hehehe, diff is the 1.4 twincharger is not just turbo... there's super charging as well... therefore doesnt mean all the power have to come from spooling the turbo.. usually above certain rpm the super charger turns off and the turbo kicks in... but i believe you can keep the super charger on all the way  rclxms.gif  gearbox no prob... both the 6-speed and 7-speed dsg can take those power, brakes? just change to ceramic pads lor... caliper still can take it...

supercharging it? hehe..
i think what sean says is quite true..
there is alot of factor you need to put in before considering to put in a stage 2 chip, in which after all the mods, you could opt for a higher model already
(please be considerate & think of the innocent)
by default a jet can outrun your daily wira-lution and inspira-lution

a stage 2 chip can make your car gun faster, but what about the power to brake ratio? ceramic pads only good for certain period, 2 run and a half down at sepang, you will be having a bbq pads..suspension coil over? gearbox may handle the daily pressure, how about emergency downshift?

supercharging may be gunning it all the way, but what truely matters is your skill to control the toy..

i've seen many ppl with 300horsies down the hood but when it comes to taking sideways, they hit on the red as fast as they accelerate, even wira-boy dares to take sideways better than them

This post has been edited by maloa: Aug 22 2011, 03:44 PM
r1v3r
post Aug 22 2011, 03:48 PM

1,305 posts

yeap, the is no better way to burn SGD.

Good Luck

125 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0284sec    0.75    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 01:14 AM