125 Pages « < 32 33 34 35 36 > » Bottom

Working in Singapore v8, Tan vs Tan vs Tan vs Tan

ivanswk
post Sep 10 2011, 04:40 PM

+J
2,110 posts

Jacky, it depend on which co u going and your class of insurance u expertise?
currently the insurance mkt is very vibrant industry with the recent samsung re opening up, creating another void to fill,in addition from the lloyds opening few years back.

Added on September 10, 2011, 4:57 pmlooking back at the calculation, i agree with them u be stretch with that pay.

This post has been edited by ivanswk: Sep 10 2011, 04:57 PM
Dark NT
post Sep 10 2011, 05:06 PM

1,006 posts

QUOTE(jackyyong @ Sep 10 2011, 03:36 PM)
Hmmmm interesting ...... I never realize there could be so many complications.

I don't think I can totally separate everything in KL, e.g. I can't sell my house in KL even if I were to move my wife and kids to SG. My parents wants to stay there. And what if I want to go back to KL once in a while, I can't sell my car, and I can't terminate my KL phone line. So a lot of these expenses are still not reduced, I'm afraid.

If my wife comes to SG with me, for sure she must work too. But in the interim period before she comes, I will have to decide whether I personally want to expand my career to SG, or here in Msia .....
I am in a very similar situation. Going to start work soon in SG.
Personally, after working out the maths, I considered whether MY or SG is a better place for my family to live and to bring up the kids. The answer is clear so was my decision..
ivanswk
post Sep 10 2011, 05:11 PM

+J
2,110 posts

is??
seantang
post Sep 10 2011, 05:12 PM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

I don't think I can totally separate everything in KL, e.g. I can't sell my house in KL even if I were to move my wife and kids to SG. My parents wants to stay there. And what if I want to go back to KL once in a while, I can't sell my car, and I can't terminate my KL phone line. So a lot of these expenses are still not reduced, I'm afraid.

If my wife comes to SG with me, for sure she must work too. But in the interim period before she comes, I will have to decide whether I personally want to expand my career to SG, or here in Msia .....
Then your decision becomes clearer. Since you insist on financing so many liabilities if you come to SG, then the job in SG must simply pay you enough to do that. It's now a straightforward mathematical decision. Just do a P&L over the next 3 or 5 years etc for the SG options you receive.

This post has been edited by seantang: Sep 10 2011, 05:14 PM
SUSMaterazzi
post Sep 10 2011, 05:35 PM

1,569 posts

for single it is sg. but when have kids and wife, sg is too expensive or u become seantang single forever alone ah..

if can choose wanna work in melbourne..very good ah 9-5 job..
Jurlique
post Sep 10 2011, 06:06 PM

The Hajok
1,695 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Sep 10 2011, 05:12 PM)
Then your decision becomes clearer. Since you insist on financing so many liabilities if you come to SG, then the job in SG must simply pay you enough to do that. It's now a straightforward mathematical decision. Just do a P&L over the next 3 or 5 years etc for the SG options you receive.
Wah, ur advice is very accountant leh, ie to budget a P/L for next 3-5 years... are u an accountant? There are many more non-monetary factors to consider as well... such as you might be leaving your loving pet dog (which cannot be valued just using a P/L)...

For me, if SG pays me well and I am satisfied with my salary, then no need think, straight come over to SG and work (despite leaving my pet dog in KL as I can always compensate by buying my pet dog a bucket of fresh KFC or fresh char siew to my pet dog whenever I return to KL once in a while).
seantang
post Sep 10 2011, 06:14 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(Jurlique @ Sep 10 2011, 06:06 PM)
Wah, ur advice is very accountant leh, ie to budget a P/L for next 3-5 years... are u an accountant? There are many more non-monetary factors to consider as well... such as you might be leaving your loving pet dog (which cannot be valued just using a P/L)..
The financial aspect is of course only a part of the decision. But it is the only OBJECTIVE part.

The non-monetary factors are irrelevant when it comes to a forum situation like this ie. you ask strangers in a forum for advice. That's because we are all different, and what you value might not be valued the same way by other people.

Pet dog...? Just cook and eat lah.

Added on September 10, 2011, 6:17 pm
QUOTE(Materazzi @ Sep 10 2011, 05:35 PM)
for single it is sg. but when have kids and wife, sg is too expensive or u become seantang single forever alone ah..
How do you know I'm single? Or alone? Or if the status quo will last forever?

I said it before and I will say it again. Do not keep referring to me in your posts like you know me personally.

This post has been edited by seantang: Sep 10 2011, 06:17 PM
deodorant
post Sep 10 2011, 06:21 PM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

QUOTE(Jurlique @ Sep 10 2011, 06:06 PM)
such as you might be leaving your loving pet dog

hdb can keep dog mah biggrin.gif http://www.hdb.gov.sg/fi10/fi10326p.nsf/w/...ed?OpenDocument

in malaysia, law is not allowed to keep any dog in condominium/apartment.

anyway for you sashimi lovers, if you're at east-coast-ish area try out Fish Mart SAKURAYA in parkway parade. food's just so-so but the sashimi is unbeatable value, they've got pretty big variety, even have bluefin tuna belly. blogpost in sig otherwise picspam only:

user posted image user posted image user posted image user posted image user posted image
Jurlique
post Sep 10 2011, 06:25 PM

The Hajok
1,695 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Sep 10 2011, 06:21 PM)
hdb can keep dog mah biggrin.gif http://www.hdb.gov.sg/fi10/fi10326p.nsf/w/...ed?OpenDocument

in malaysia, law is not allowed to keep any dog in condominium/apartment.

anyway for you sashimi lovers, if you're at east-coast-ish area try out Fish Mart SAKURAYA in parkway parade. food's just so-so but the sashimi is unbeatable value, they've got pretty big variety, even have bluefin tuna belly. blogpost in sig otherwise picspam only:

Wah, how much is those food since it is unbeatable value? BTW, where is parkway parade?
Mackiddo
post Sep 10 2011, 06:55 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

for me i just kinda 'terminates every damn thing' . Sell Sold my house in JB, sold my Msia car, move my kids to study in Sg. Wifey now taking care of kids full time. For now, I think that's the best option for me i would say.

This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Sep 10 2011, 09:20 PM
RabbitS
post Sep 10 2011, 07:12 PM

204 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Sep 10 2011, 06:14 PM)
Pet dog...? Just cook and eat lah..
bring the dog along by putting it into your stomach? shocking.gif are you chinese... i guess you are..

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Sep 10 2011, 06:55 PM)
for me i just kinda 'terminates every damn thing' . Sell my house in JB, sold my Msia car, move my kids to study in Sg. Wifey now taking care of kids full time. For now, I think that's the best option for me i would say.
i thought u married while u were here... lol
SUSMaterazzi
post Sep 10 2011, 07:25 PM

1,569 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Sep 10 2011, 06:55 PM)
for me i just kinda 'terminates every damn thing' . Sell my house in JB, sold my Msia car, move my kids to study in Sg. Wifey now taking care of kids full time. For now, I think that's the best option for me i would say.
have u sold ur house at JB? wifey not working. wow ur salary must be high
seantang
post Sep 10 2011, 07:33 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(RabbitS @ Sep 10 2011, 07:12 PM)
bring the dog along by putting it into your stomach?  shocking.gif
No, couldn't bring it along... it had been processed and disposed by the time I got to Singapore.

QUOTE(RabbitS)
are you chinese... i guess you are..
Irrelevant... but it's entirely true that I have no respect whatsoever for other people's dietary concerns if they are not the ones eating.

This post has been edited by seantang: Sep 10 2011, 07:34 PM
SUSkockroach
post Sep 10 2011, 08:02 PM

Certified Noob
3,256 posts

I guess if you have kids, the better option would be working here and raised them here. They may not be street smart compared to Malaysian kids, might be even end up growing up as a nerd, but still, I think it is better compared to Malaysian education system (public vs public).

My reason coming here, or more accurately leaving Malaysia is I don't want my future kids end up going through what I went through in Malaysia, and I don't think there is any hope for Malaysia based on current socio-political environment.

Perhaps it is in the blood, me as a Chinese, I will go wherever that offer better opportunity.
fbjkl
post Sep 10 2011, 08:58 PM

215 posts

how about going back to malaysia every week? i have friends/colleagues who are going back to kl every week, just to see their wives/wives+kids/gfs (mainly in late 20s/early 30s). 1 of them of which i really salute is a woman in her 30s, her husband and kiddos in malaysia, she's alone in singapore. notworthy.gif

QUOTE(kockroach @ Sep 10 2011, 08:02 PM)
I guess if you have kids, the better option would be working here and raised them here. They may not be street smart compared to Malaysian kids, might be even end up growing up as a nerd, but still, I think it is better compared to Malaysian education system (public vs public).

+1.

seantang
post Sep 10 2011, 09:09 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(fbjkl @ Sep 10 2011, 08:58 PM)
how about going back to malaysia every week? i have friends/colleagues who are going back to kl every week, just to see their wives/wives+kids/gfs (mainly in late 20s/early 30s). 1 of them of which i really salute is a woman in her 30s, her husband and kiddos in malaysia, she's alone in singapore.  notworthy.gif
In truth... they have to. Curi makan is a real problem when it comes to long distance relationships, what more long distance families.

Mackiddo
post Sep 10 2011, 09:09 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(Materazzi @ Sep 10 2011, 07:25 PM)
have u sold ur house at JB? wifey not working. wow ur salary must be high
yeah sold it, doesn't really make sense to keep it if the rental is not enough to cover monthly loan repayment. Getting a HDB apartment make more sense since 70% of the installment is settle by CPF. I'm that kinda ppl who doesn't really trust a maid to look after my kids sad.gif , so my wife fits in nicely. Just have to plan your budget a bit and you'll be fine, no need high salary, occasionally scout the net for good deals ...etc Groupon, Jigocity, Big Deals ....etc etc rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif .... well, i'll leave that deals part to washabushi notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Sep 10 2011, 09:11 PM
SUSMaterazzi
post Sep 10 2011, 09:10 PM

1,569 posts

QUOTE(kockroach @ Sep 10 2011, 08:02 PM)

My reason coming here, or more accurately leaving Malaysia is I don't want my future kids end up going through what I went through in Malaysia, and I don't think there is any hope for Malaysia based on current socio-political environment.

Perhaps it is in the blood, me as a Chinese, I will go wherever that offer better opportunity.
do you want your children end up complain and complaining?

Added on September 10, 2011, 9:13 pm
QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Sep 10 2011, 09:09 PM)
yeah sold it, doesn't really make sense to keep it if the rental is not enough to cover monthly loan repayment. Getting a HDB apartment make more sense since 70% of the installment is settle by CPF. I'm that kinda ppl who doesn't really trust a maid to look after my kids  sad.gif  , so my wife fits in nicely. Just have to plan your budget a bit and you'll  be fine, no need high salary, occasionally scout the net for good deals ...etc Groupon, Jigocity, Big Deals ....etc etc  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif .... well, i'll leave that deals part to washabushi  notworthy.gif
if have family (wife and 2 children), how much is sufficient? maybe I am planning to work there if it is enough.
wife at home just nice if they wanna cook and do house chores, does ur wife do that?

This post has been edited by Materazzi: Sep 10 2011, 09:13 PM
seanwc101
post Sep 10 2011, 09:14 PM

346 posts

You dude know how much average salary for fresh grad with masters degree (hrd/management field) in singapore?
Mackiddo
post Sep 10 2011, 09:19 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(Materazzi @ Sep 10 2011, 09:10 PM)
do you want your children end up complain and complaining?

Added on September 10, 2011, 9:13 pm

if have family (wife and 2 children), how much is sufficient? maybe I am planning to work there if it is enough.
wife at home just nice if they wanna cook and do house chores, does ur wife do that?
think minimum at least $5K if you need to rent a whole HDB unit apartment ?
yeah my wife settle all the house chores, cooking and groceries shopping.

125 Pages « < 32 33 34 35 36 > » Top

0.0276sec    0.52    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 07:16 AM