Chubbie Hamster V14

zenyusof
post Mar 23 2013, 11:54 AM

20 posts

Hello people! Meet my three boys; Pepper, Rowdy & Snow. They are rough, cuz' they are boys!

Rowdy - The fat, naughty, food stealer hammy, a lil bit coward sometimes.
Pepper - The gentle, friendly and calm hammy, the manja boy.
Snow - The coward among my boys, but not at all when it's mealworm time. His fur are the prettiest as it's thick and soft.

(TOP LEFT) Rowdy, (TOP RIGHT) Pepper & (BOTTOM) Snow.

Oh boy, do they love mealworms so much.

Occasional wrestling time, in this pic, Rowdy was smothered by tag team Snow & Pepper.
zenyusof
post Mar 24 2013, 01:24 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(taufiq_6121 @ Mar 24 2013, 10:08 AM)
Someone help me. I'm now studying in KL and my sister in Muar, Johor is currently taking care all my hamsters. I've been giving my hamsters Alex or Jolly hamster food (which I bought here) for quite a long time because I couldn't find any decent hamster food being sold there in Muar. However, I've been busy for these few weeks and couldn't go back to deliver the food and ending up by her giving hamster food that she bought from local pet store there.

I have a lot of Syrian and Robos. Yesterday she called, 12 Robos have died with their tummies were blackened. I don't want to believe this but the only variable I saw was she changed the food.

Does anyone know where to find Alex or Jolly hamster food (I always buy the 2.5kg packaging) in Muar or online stores that sell those brands?
OMG, that's sad!

Here are possible causes for black tummies:
1. Wet Tail (bacterial stomach infection)
2. Overfed makes the hamster sick
3. Diabetes (food may contain high sugar contain)
4. Old age (when hammies died the blood clogged to it's tummy)
5. Cold by temperature (air-cons)

I don't know Muar much but you can purchase good quality hamster food in KL and just post it back to your sister as a solution.
zenyusof
post Mar 27 2013, 01:26 AM

20 posts

QUOTE(nkw1987 @ Mar 27 2013, 01:00 AM)
hi there. wanna ask is there any vets for hamster around melaka area? something's wrong with my hammie at the genital part. like kinda wet and but dun feel like is puss or something. and she look weak. any info on that?? thanks in advance.
I think your hammies have infection or genital bacteria bro. Go to the vet ASAP! I'm not sure bout melaka's vets though
zenyusof
post Mar 27 2013, 08:56 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(jeremysoon93 @ Mar 27 2013, 03:33 PM)
Hey guys, not sure if you guys had this experience or not, but I just wanna confirm if anyone really knows what this is.
I always pat my hamster until she sleeps veeeery soundly haha. Then after sometime she'll soft-bite my fingers just like how she grooms herself, and then goes on with a few other fingers, then she'll go back into her home to continue her sleep.

Anyone knows exactly what the the hamster is trying to "express"?
Maybe she's just sleep walking. My hammies are sleep walkers too. When they are on heavy sleep, my Rowdy likes to walk around the cage with eyes closed and buried his head under the beddings then move around making a mess. Then, he get up from bedding and sleep like in a coma. Haha that's weird. biggrin.gif
zenyusof
post Mar 28 2013, 01:13 AM

20 posts

QUOTE(jeremysoon93 @ Mar 28 2013, 12:53 AM)
LOL??? THAT, is the first time I'm hearing that hahaha.
She wasn't sleep-walking, she was more like, grooming my fingers like how she grooms her fur.
I think it should be ok. If she's comfortable with you, means she's confident with you.
zenyusof
post Mar 31 2013, 11:32 AM

20 posts

QUOTE(unknownhammie @ Mar 31 2013, 08:48 AM)
last 2 weeks... my hamster give birth to 5 pups... after 2 days she ate them all.

Am i doing it wrong? I did not remove the male... i put a lot of tissues (shread)
First of all, there are are many reasons why the mother eat the pups:
1. First time mother, so she doesn't know how to take care the pups
2. The pups unfit for living - not healthy or weak pups
3. Bad genes
4. Lack of nutrition - the mother does not have enough nutrition so she ate the babies to get nutrition
5. The mother feels unsafe of the environment

and some others possible reasons.

From my own experience, only the mother will kill the pups, the daddy won't do anything, in fact the daddy is the one who takes care. I remember when the pups died, the mommy just do normal things (running wheels etc.) while the daddy collect all the dead pups in one place and buried it. But as a precautions, it is better to separate the daddy. My hammy ate all her babies on first birth, ate 4 of pups on second birth and ate only one on third birth. It's like the more the mommy gave birth, the more experience she gets to take care of pups.

Is your mommy hammy first time have babies?
zenyusof
post Apr 1 2013, 12:34 PM

20 posts

My little fatty, Pepper, had to be taken to see a vet last Saturday. He has some kind of rash at the side of his left cheek and appears swollen. Vet checked and said he is over-stuffing food in his cheek, then uses his legs to scratch it to push the food. The funny thing is the vet help him to vomit out all the food, went inside to mix some meds solution for him. While waiting I put him back to the carrier box (where he vomit the food earlier on). About 5 mins later, the vet came back to give him a drop of antibiotic, I realized that the food that he vomited was gone. I thought that maybe it falls on the side of the box or something. The vet grabbed him and wanted to drop the solution in his mouth, this greedy fatty vomit back all the food he just vomited. Haha, now I know how greedy is a hammy. laugh.gif biggrin.gif

zenyusof
post Apr 1 2013, 08:55 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(starrynight @ Apr 1 2013, 01:18 PM)
cute hammie you have there! yeah, hamsters are natural hoarders.  biggrin.gif  but that's one of the reasons why they're so loved. their cute funny antics.

which vet did you seek btw?
I went to USJ Animal Clinic at USJ 8, Subang Jaya. The doc had a hard time to measure the correct amount of antibiotics for my little fatty. Cuz she said too much could kill, the hammie's too small. She gotta mix the normal animal antibiotics with some water to dilute it. Gave me a syringe full of the solution and only feed my hammie once a week. Afraid the dosage too much. Haha biggrin.gif
zenyusof
post Apr 2 2013, 04:05 AM

20 posts

I got some questions;

1. Is offering timothy hay a good idea for hammies?
2. I'm thinking of switching my wood bedding to paper bedding. Used it before but can't tahan the price monthly, that's why using wood bedding. Any suggestion for cheaper and less harmful alternatives?
zenyusof
post Apr 2 2013, 07:14 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(starrynight @ Apr 2 2013, 07:53 AM)
Oh okay. How's the vet there? Hamster experienced?

I'm finding for a just-in-case vet who knows how to handle hamster cases
Excellent. The vet, rather looks surprised when I came with my hammie and said it is seldom people bring hammie for medical attention. But she is very knowledgeable about hamsters, hamster type and possible diseases. She knows how to hold my hammie well as it didn't struggle when she tries to drop the antibiotic into its mouth (could be possible that my hammie never rejects anything when it comes to food). She even taught me how to drop the meds on my own. Charged me RM35 but for me it's ok since it's a seldom occurrence. I head that in US usually hammie owners bring their hammies to vet for yearly check-ups and they didn't even care the cost. Thanks for your tips; Imma make my own paper beddings, like school project before. brows.gif
zenyusof
post Apr 3 2013, 12:19 AM

20 posts

QUOTE(starrynight @ Apr 2 2013, 11:39 PM)
You're welcome. Make sure your paper bedding does not have ink onit. Can I have the vets address ?
51 Jalan USJ 8/2b, Usj 8, 47610 Subang Jaya, Selangor
Phone:03-5621 1809

Right in opposite of Taipan's mosque, you will see a row of shop lots with a car workshop at the corner. smile.gif smile.gif
zenyusof
post Jun 9 2013, 01:19 PM

20 posts

URGENT FOR ADOPTION - BOTH MALE 1x Fat Roborovski Hamster & 1x White Mask Roborovski Hamster

Reason : Not ngam with other hammies, so fight a lot. I prefer someone who have experience in handling Roborovskis as it is agile and skittish for new pet owners. Possibly don't mix these two together since color different, will end up fighting. Can be mix with same species.

Fat Roborovski Hamster - Very fat likes to eat, and conquer cage. A little bit wild, nice shiny fur. Need experienced pet owners. RM15

White Musk Roborovski - Very beautiful white fur, fluffy and mink. A little bit scared by people but manageable. RM15

I don't provide cage. I have an extra cage fit for 1 hamster only, however the cage is a little bit old, little rusty, have wheel but slightly rosak, comes with seldom use water bottle and small food dish. I'll provide pictures if interested. This cage is suitable for boarding, not for hamster living. RM10

Call/SMS/Whatsapp/PM me : here or (013- two 5 six six 5 1 3)

Method : COD only at Sunway Pyramid/Subang Parade/SS15 only
zenyusof
post Jun 15 2013, 09:32 PM

20 posts

I have one hammie named Pepper, he's getting slow and slower, and skinny too. His fur is still in goo condition. Is he becoming old? I'm sad cuz he is my first ever tamed hammie. Aged about 1.5 yo

And one more thing, anyone knows the best method to stop hammies from fighting? My two hammies are male, but one is bigger fatter than the other, and they fight a lot until blood spills. Now separating them, which is quite sad they look lonely. Anyone knows the best method?

This post has been edited by zenyusof: Jun 15 2013, 09:33 PM
zenyusof
post Jun 15 2013, 09:39 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(Kitsune_Yuiyean @ Jun 15 2013, 09:35 PM)
How old is he and what type of hammie? They don't have a long time span unfortunately. 1-2 years good, 3 years great.

Once they fight, best to separate. I hope they're not Syrians since those type lives alone. I had dwarfs before, brother ans one killed the other.
about 1.5 yo robo hammies.

They're robos. So should I just left them all alone by themselves? Really kesian. Try to introduce them back but still fighting.
zenyusof
post Jun 15 2013, 11:32 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(starrynight @ Jun 15 2013, 11:27 PM)
It's best not put them together again.  Don't need to kesian them because when you think about it, they are happier in their own and not fighting anymore. 

The biggest evidence is blood shed.  That's very serious as they no longer want to share their space and gotten territorial.
Thanks for the advice. I'm so sad my hammie is slower weaker now, I think old age is really giving him hard. sad.gif
zenyusof
post Jun 21 2013, 09:45 AM

20 posts

QUOTE(pandera999 @ Jun 21 2013, 08:31 AM)
yah... old age..so, he sure spend time more on sleep, relax.. jz like old man that retire  whistling.gif  my hammie pass away few months ago.. i still miss him  cry.gif
Izzit normal for old hammies to breath heavily? I'm sorry to hear that, hammies are really a good pet.
zenyusof
post Jun 23 2013, 02:30 AM

20 posts

Hey guys, today my most favorite robo, Pepper, died peacefully because of old age. He is around 1 1/2 years old to date. So sad because among all the robos I have, he is the most friendly and tame, not afraid by human, and always calm. He is the first robo I ever got.

From the moment I saw him in pet shop, I already knew he is gonna be my best pet friend. Always accompany me, and always come back to me when I called his name. And so, I buried him right in front of my house, under a tree. Now I've lost a good friend, my first pet hammie and my little angel.

I always knew he is suffering of old age. He starts to get slow and easily tired. He eat lesser than usual, become thinner. He also breathes heavily like it is hard to breathe. But he always recognizes me, always likes to get on my palm and let me stroke his back gently.

Now I'm gonna miss his sweet friendly face every morning. He always knows when I'm coming to his cage and always excited to see me.

R.I.P Pepper, 2012-2013. I always love you. I hope I've always been a good pet owner to you, as you being a lovely pet for me.

This post has been edited by zenyusof: Jun 23 2013, 02:34 AM

0.0590sec    0.89    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 02:59 PM