Chubbie Hamster V14
Aug 11 2012, 10:53 PM
127 posts Joined: Oct 2008 From: KaY L ~~ |
Help!!! My hamster suddenly got this soft lump on his tummy. When i touch it, it doesnt feel hard.. It's like a soft fat oil that kind. He doesnt show any sickness or illness. When i touch it he doesnt show any sign of pain or struggles. He just eat & drink & play like normal. My hamster are dwarf hamster almost 2yrs old. He been quite chubby all the time.. cud the lump just a fatty oil for him? I was so woli & scare
Aug 14 2012, 01:08 AM
3,782 posts Joined: Aug 2010 From: subang jaya |
QUOTE(babybb @ Aug 11 2012, 10:53 PM) Help!!! My hamster suddenly got this soft lump on his tummy. When i touch it, it doesnt feel hard.. It's like a soft fat oil that kind. He doesnt show any sickness or illness. When i touch it he doesnt show any sign of pain or struggles. He just eat & drink & play like normal. My hamster are dwarf hamster almost 2yrs old. He been quite chubby all the time.. cud the lump just a fatty oil for him? I was so woli & scare i think its better to bring it to a vet for a check up.... |
Aug 14 2012, 11:47 AM
127 posts Joined: Oct 2008 From: KaY L ~~ |
Aug 14 2012, 02:57 PM
QUOTE(babybb @ Aug 14 2012, 11:47 AM) Which vet can you recommend? my hammy staying nearby genting klang. Normally how much is the check up fees? refer to 1st page post #6. Personally i didnt go to any of the vets yet since hamster didnt have any problems yet (thankfully) but last time when i was reading around people recommended those vets. Not sure if its still good or changed already but i guess you can give it a try? |
Aug 15 2012, 05:56 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
46 posts Joined: Feb 2010 |
how do i train/ or do something to the cage or something so that my silly hamster dont always push the bedding away.. pee on the plastic flooring, then later walk over it or sleep on his on pee? everyday make himself smelly.. =.=
Aug 16 2012, 10:08 AM
21 posts Joined: Mar 2007 |
QUOTE(bakabakayaro @ Aug 15 2012, 05:56 PM) how do i train/ or do something to the cage or something so that my silly hamster dont always push the bedding away.. pee on the plastic flooring, then later walk over it or sleep on his on pee? everyday make himself smelly.. =.= this is what i do if i see my hamster do that. i chase him away and push the bedding to soak the pee. also, i provide him a sand bath which he peed inside. over time, i do see him run into his sand bath, dig in the corner and pee there. try taking some of the bedding which has pee smell and put it in one corner, eventually he will learned that's the place to pee. not every hamster can be trained but can try to minimize. whatever you do, DO NOT bathe your hamster with water. just provide him a sand bath (not dust as this could cost respiratory problem) |
Aug 18 2012, 03:17 PM
91 posts Joined: Jun 2008 |
My hamster broke her hind leg. How do I nurse it to health?
She's not in critical pain (still has mood to eat and climb outside) but when her injured leg got stuck somewhere she will rush over to her newspapers and shred it as i to ease her pain. I've transferred her food, water and housing to the lower level just in case but she prefer to sleep out o her house on her shred papers. |
Aug 20 2012, 12:23 AM
QUOTE(Kitsune_Yuiyean @ Aug 18 2012, 03:17 PM) My hamster broke her hind leg. How do I nurse it to health? how did she broke it btw? Take to a vet already? Did they say the leg can be healed?She's not in critical pain (still has mood to eat and climb outside) but when her injured leg got stuck somewhere she will rush over to her newspapers and shred it as i to ease her pain. I've transferred her food, water and housing to the lower level just in case but she prefer to sleep out o her house on her shred papers. I am not sure what can be done since i never experience this before but i think you should remove the wheel also until its fully healed. If its a dog or some bigger animal perhaps we can attach something to give support or protect the leg somehow but hamsters i dont think it would work because they will start chewing off whatever support/protection we give. Plus surely it wont feel comfortable with something attached to the leg. |
Aug 21 2012, 09:27 PM
91 posts Joined: Jun 2008 |
Her's is a wired cage and she enjoys hanging and climbing up to get out of her cage (trap door becomes her 'ceiling'). She often fell since she mostly climbs with her upper body and has weaker physic. I think she feel too hard this time and hit her stairs on the way down.
It happened on a Saturday and the vet was closed for Raya break. I did some reading and her feet isn't in a worrying state. Still pink (if it's blue, it's a dead part), no bones jutting out, no blood. Ref: http://en.allexperts.com/q/Gerbils-Hamster...roken-leg-1.htm Thankfully I have a smaller wired cage for my dwarf. Cleaned it and switched their cages. She's a Syrian so the cage has been quite effective in curbing her movements. She's been a bit down but eats her snack diligently. Their cages: ![]() After 3 days, she's looking well. Her wound is still visible (red scratch) but she's more active than before. |
Aug 21 2012, 09:33 PM
i see but that kind of cages is not really recommended because of the metal bars. They tend to gnaw their teeth on that & it could damage it in long term. Plus is very noisy at night when they do that
Aug 21 2012, 10:05 PM
32 posts Joined: Oct 2009 From: Kuantan, Pahang |
hi,im newbie to hamster. juz get 5 hamster n a ovo suite frm a good owner. i got few question
1. what bedding the best n good absorbent that can buy thru online or what shop? -currently im using homefriends (it is good) that brought frm plc frm previous owner.but my place no plc. 2.what brand food the best for hamster n gets all the nutrition? -nw feeding them versele laga oso frm previous owner 3.what brand bath sand suitable for hamster?im prefer those with fruity smell. -nw using black color bath sand but duno what brand izit. |
Aug 21 2012, 10:26 PM
2,119 posts Joined: Apr 2012 |
QUOTE(tjaime1984 @ Aug 21 2012, 10:05 PM) hi,im newbie to hamster. juz get 5 hamster n a ovo suite frm a good owner. i got few question hi,1. what bedding the best n good absorbent that can buy thru online or what shop? -currently im using homefriends (it is good) that brought frm plc frm previous owner.but my place no plc. 2.what brand food the best for hamster n gets all the nutrition? -nw feeding them versele laga oso frm previous owner 3.what brand bath sand suitable for hamster?im prefer those with fruity smell. -nw using black color bath sand but duno what brand izit. 1) if you cant find any there, you can diy your own bedding, i made mine, it was awesome http://tinyurl.com/9b5jwsy 2) From far i know, the food i supply to you is already the best because the protein level is 17% 3) I bought this from PLC, but its not black color when i supplied to you, its gray in color http://tinyurl.com/cs6bpnx |
Aug 21 2012, 11:07 PM
QUOTE(tjaime1984 @ Aug 21 2012, 10:05 PM) hi,im newbie to hamster. juz get 5 hamster n a ovo suite frm a good owner. i got few question how big actually is the ovo suite? imo 5 hamsters is actually quite a lot to keep in a single ovo suite unless its really big.1. what bedding the best n good absorbent that can buy thru online or what shop? -currently im using homefriends (it is good) that brought frm plc frm previous owner.but my place no plc. 2.what brand food the best for hamster n gets all the nutrition? -nw feeding them versele laga oso frm previous owner 3.what brand bath sand suitable for hamster?im prefer those with fruity smell. -nw using black color bath sand but duno what brand izit. 1) any aspen bedding is good but i dont think you can find any right now in malaysia. But so far from what i used i find that delikate bedding is the best because its very soft but it seems like many place is running low in stock. Either havent restock or supplier not bringing in anymore. If you couldnt find that then you can try chipsi bedding, that is not bad either but not as soft as delikate. I saw a few new bedding brands in PLC the other day but didnt try those new ones so not sure about the recent beddings. Never go for living world bedding, that is really bad for hamsters. 2) harry hamster & vitakraft is good. A good owner will not only depend on hamster food but give additional food to their hamster to ensure proper nutrition is given. Do read the first page as its filled with lots of useful info, but as for me i give mine mealworms once a week (high in protein), & apple, grapes etc depending on what i got in my fridge once a week too. Sometimes i give carrots too, but all these depends..sometimes like today give apple then the day after tomorrow give mealworms & so on. 3) delikate sand bath is quite good, but i dont think that comes in scented. Alex brand(comes scented flavours) is not bad either but delikate is the best because the sand is not as fine as other brands. Avoid those sand that are too fine, especially those dust type because that can cause respiratory problems. edit: you can give them those furits, mealworms, sunflower seeds as treats. I highly recommend to get the burp brand "pineapple homemade cookies" that comes in a small packet in PLC as treats too. Its quite hard so it can help the hamster to gnaw their teeth. But do gnawing wood, toys for them too....gnawing is very important for them. This post has been edited by infernoaswen: Aug 21 2012, 11:15 PM |
Aug 22 2012, 10:12 AM
QUOTE(tjaime1984 @ Aug 21 2012, 10:05 PM) hi,im newbie to hamster. juz get 5 hamster n a ovo suite frm a good owner. i got few question Hi, what hamsters did you get? If it's syrian (the big ones) please know that they are solitary animals - they live alone which means one hamster per cage. They will fight or live under stressful condition by force. It's not a pleasant sight. 1. what bedding the best n good absorbent that can buy thru online or what shop? -currently im using homefriends (it is good) that brought frm plc frm previous owner.but my place no plc. 2.what brand food the best for hamster n gets all the nutrition? -nw feeding them versele laga oso frm previous owner 3.what brand bath sand suitable for hamster?im prefer those with fruity smell. -nw using black color bath sand but duno what brand izit. 1. I'm also using homefriends the paper bedding. Avoid pine and cedar - can cause respiratory problem. Give them a generous amount for them to burrow 2. I feed mine with Delikate, burp, oxbow mix. I also give fresh food such as bean sprout and long beans every other day 3. It's better to find non scented ones but I myself bought a fruity one before I researched. I used Delikate, the green bottle - RM 15 I think. My hamster seems fine with it. Just like the other poster said, please get the sand one - not the fine dust one. It will get into their nose - respiratory problem. I made my hamster a cage out of storage bin so he can have more room to roam around. Floor space benefit a hamster more than levels. Plus it's a cheaper alternative too Added on August 22, 2012, 10:14 am QUOTE(infernoaswen @ Aug 21 2012, 09:33 PM) i see but that kind of cages is not really recommended because of the metal bars. They tend to gnaw their teeth on that & it could damage it in long term. Plus is very noisy at night when they do that If I'm not mistaken, long term gnawing on the bars can cause brain damage as the paint is scraped off. They also tend to gnaw because of cage aggression (limited space).This post has been edited by starrynight: Aug 22 2012, 10:14 AM |
Aug 22 2012, 12:35 PM
QUOTE(starrynight @ Aug 22 2012, 10:12 AM) Hi, what hamsters did you get? If it's syrian (the big ones) please know that they are solitary animals - they live alone which means one hamster per cage. They will fight or live under stressful condition by force. It's not a pleasant sight. yeah forget to ask that, but even if its winter white 5 is a little too much to keep in a same place. If its robo then probably its ok if the space is very big.1. I'm also using homefriends the paper bedding. Avoid pine and cedar - can cause respiratory problem. Give them a generous amount for them to burrow 2. I feed mine with Delikate, burp, oxbow mix. I also give fresh food such as bean sprout and long beans every other day 3. It's better to find non scented ones but I myself bought a fruity one before I researched. I used Delikate, the green bottle - RM 15 I think. My hamster seems fine with it. Just like the other poster said, please get the sand one - not the fine dust one. It will get into their nose - respiratory problem. I made my hamster a cage out of storage bin so he can have more room to roam around. Floor space benefit a hamster more than levels. Plus it's a cheaper alternative too Added on August 22, 2012, 10:14 am If I'm not mistaken, long term gnawing on the bars can cause brain damage as the paint is scraped off. They also tend to gnaw because of cage aggression (limited space). & yes thats what i read as well, forgot already but you remind me....it can damage brain & you dont want your hamster to become retarded do you? |
Aug 22 2012, 03:30 PM
QUOTE(infernoaswen @ Aug 21 2012, 11:07 PM) 2) harry hamster & vitakraft is good. A good owner will not only depend on hamster food but give additional food to their hamster to ensure proper nutrition is given. Do read the first page as its filled with lots of useful info, but as for me i give mine mealworms once a week (high in protein), & apple, grapes etc depending on what i got in my fridge once a week too. Sometimes i give carrots too, but all these depends..sometimes like today give apple then the day after tomorrow give mealworms & so on. |
Aug 22 2012, 03:42 PM
QUOTE(starrynight @ Aug 22 2012, 03:30 PM) eh where you find harry hamster? i been to plc 2 branches and pets wonderland 1 branch cannot find also . they used to sell at petsmore last time...but then few months ago when i wanted to get it no more already....not sure if finish stock or they not bringing in anymore which is why i bought vitakraft then....Maybe you can try searching at petsmore....hopefully they restock it. |
Aug 22 2012, 06:39 PM
237 posts Joined: May 2012 From: KL |
OMG! My hamster just gave birth to 3 babies!
OK this is definitely a mistake from the petshop.. when I bought them I didnt really intend to breed this time.. so I bought all males.. at least they told me all are males... Now.. I realised I got a female @.@ No wonder last night I saw my male humping the other one (female)... I thought he was gender confused lol.. Anyway, Im glad the male didnt eat up the babes and the female also didnt do it.. I spotted them when I saw both inside their house with pinkish babes moving under the female's tummy.. No wonder the female suddenly grew very fat I thought I fed them too much haha.. now the male is inside another temporary container while the mamiz is playing the wheel.. gonna get a new cage tonite ! Im a proud mom !! This post has been edited by FabuData: Aug 22 2012, 06:40 PM |
Aug 22 2012, 08:03 PM
32 posts Joined: Oct 2009 From: Kuantan, Pahang |
hi, mine is winter white, 1 male 4 female.they are sibling n baby n lives in huge habitrail ovo suite. so is enuf space for them.
for the bedding,i think i'll continue wit homefriends. for the food, i try to find delikate at my place.if no choice then i'll stick back versele laga. btw,anyone here always go plc n frm kuantan or can help me post the stuff? i seldom go kl. but plc no online shopping. |
Aug 23 2012, 10:28 AM
QUOTE(FabuData @ Aug 22 2012, 06:39 PM) OMG! My hamster just gave birth to 3 babies! Hi, congratz on your new babies. However I would advise taking out the wheel as the babies could crawl under it while the mummy is running and hurt themselves. It's good that the father is separated. Don't disturb the mummy - just feed her protein stuff and leave her alone as much as possible so she doesn't get stressed and kill her babies. She will know what to do with her litter. Most importantly, do not touch the babies or go near them to avoid getting your scent all over them.OK this is definitely a mistake from the petshop.. when I bought them I didnt really intend to breed this time.. so I bought all males.. at least they told me all are males... Now.. I realised I got a female @.@ No wonder last night I saw my male humping the other one (female)... I thought he was gender confused lol.. Anyway, Im glad the male didnt eat up the babes and the female also didnt do it.. I spotted them when I saw both inside their house with pinkish babes moving under the female's tummy.. No wonder the female suddenly grew very fat I thought I fed them too much haha.. now the male is inside another temporary container while the mamiz is playing the wheel.. gonna get a new cage tonite ! Im a proud mom !! Added on August 23, 2012, 10:31 am QUOTE(tjaime1984 @ Aug 22 2012, 08:03 PM) hi, mine is winter white, 1 male 4 female.they are sibling n baby n lives in huge habitrail ovo suite. so is enuf space for them. I think plc do have online shopping? for the bedding,i think i'll continue wit homefriends. for the food, i try to find delikate at my place.if no choice then i'll stick back versele laga. btw,anyone here always go plc n frm kuantan or can help me post the stuff? i seldom go kl. but plc no online shopping. Btw separate the male with the female because they could breed and it will be another whole lot of mess. Even though they are babies, best to separate them early. Added on August 23, 2012, 10:33 am ![]() A photo of my little chubster This post has been edited by starrynight: Aug 23 2012, 10:33 AM |
| Change to: | 0.0362sec
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 10:40 AM |