Chubbie Hamster V14
FabuData
Jul 11 2012, 08:56 PM

QUOTE(Kitsune_Yuiyean @ Jul 11 2012, 09:47 PM) After getting rid of the lil brother body today, I cleaned the cage, gave the other fella a little washing and left him on his own for now. Didn't bother spoiling him as before. Not going to punish him but will take a while for me not to see him as a 'killer'. On the bright side, I learn something new about hamsters. I think we better just accept the fact that we can do nothing as this is just a part of hamsters nature.. we do what we can... but still love them as they are our pet since we decided in the first place that we gonna keep them and give them a good life
xavi5567
Jul 12 2012, 07:11 AM
QUOTE(FabuData @ Jul 11 2012, 12:17 AM) I just added one more Robo to my group of 3... the minute I put the fatso in, WW3 started! at first they were just chasing each other and each one rolled upon others so fast I couldnt even recognise which is which.. End up, chit non stop... i saw the fierce one! He was chasing everyone in the cage, not recognising who his friends were.... end up I realise he kept chasing off the new addition (fatso) into 1 tube and whenever the fatso came out of the tube the fierce one went and attack him.. in the end, while they both were fighting i just had to split them apart and hold the poor little fatso up and guess what, the fierce buddy was still biting the fatso  I found fatso with a wound on his ass... aih... poor fella... now alone in another cage.. tomorrow gonna bring him see vet liao next time when u plan to add new 1 in.. Jus separate all of them into 1 natural area 1st which dont have their smell yet.... Then c whether they are okay at each other.... If ok.. Clean the cage u plan to put them together thoroughly... Use detol if needed... This is to create a natural environment... Give every1 a chance.. If u jus put 1 new guy in to a home of two guy... Surely the two guy will be like wtf... Intruder.... Attack... Let them assimilate 1st...
TSinfernoaswen
Jul 12 2012, 11:43 AM
QUOTE(xavi5567 @ Jul 12 2012, 07:11 AM) next time when u plan to add new 1 in.. Jus separate all of them into 1 natural area 1st which dont have their smell yet.... Then c whether they are okay at each other.... If ok.. Clean the cage u plan to put them together thoroughly... Use detol if needed... This is to create a natural environment... Give every1 a chance.. If u jus put 1 new guy in to a home of two guy... Surely the two guy will be like wtf... Intruder.... Attack... Let them assimilate 1st... This is a good tip but it dosent work all the time. Last time we tried giving this tip but 1 of the forumer hamsters still fights but no harm trying. It might work or not...depends on luck. But 1 thing i would like to advice is not to use detol, use those safe cage cleaning solutions that you could get from pet shop.
xavi5567
Jul 12 2012, 01:46 PM
QUOTE(infernoaswen @ Jul 12 2012, 11:43 AM) This is a good tip but it dosent work all the time. Last time we tried giving this tip but 1 of the forumer hamsters still fights but no harm trying. It might work or not...depends on luck. But 1 thing i would like to advice is not to use detol, use those safe cage cleaning solutions that you could get from pet shop. y use say detol not safe? mine one been leaving separate for 3 months... then i decide it is time for them to join back together since both also like no mood , eating less and less... b4 change them bac together... i thoroughly clean the cage i intend to place them into... do note, the two use to hate each other so much... one almost kill another... hence the separation... but now... so loving...
TSinfernoaswen
Jul 12 2012, 06:29 PM
QUOTE(xavi5567 @ Jul 12 2012, 01:46 PM) y use say detol not safe? mine one been leaving separate for 3 months... then i decide it is time for them to join back together since both also like no mood , eating less and less... b4 change them bac together... i thoroughly clean the cage i intend to place them into... do note, the two use to hate each other so much... one almost kill another... hence the separation... but now... so loving...  because dettol will leave this very strong odor after using it. Hamster have extremely sensitive sense & this odor will just stress them out. In the end you are just stressing out two of the hamsters. But if you are using odorless dettol then its fine or you manage to remove the dettol smell then it shouldnt be a problem. Alternative to this is to get proper cleaning solution that is certified safe for hamsters & use it as its designed for that purpose.
xavi5567
Jul 13 2012, 12:09 AM
QUOTE(infernoaswen @ Jul 12 2012, 06:29 PM) because dettol will leave this very strong odor after using it. Hamster have extremely sensitive sense & this odor will just stress them out. In the end you are just stressing out two of the hamsters. But if you are using odorless dettol then its fine or you manage to remove the dettol smell then it shouldnt be a problem. Alternative to this is to get proper cleaning solution that is certified safe for hamsters & use it as its designed for that purpose. ow... i use very diluted version of detol.... 1 part detol 5 part water... spray and wipe... then clean again with water...
TSinfernoaswen
Jul 13 2012, 12:41 AM
QUOTE(xavi5567 @ Jul 13 2012, 12:09 AM) ow... i use very diluted version of detol.... 1 part detol 5 part water... spray and wipe... then clean again with water... if there isnt any odor after cleaning then should be ok....or any other mild antiseptic soap will do the job too....
FabuData
Jul 13 2012, 01:07 AM

Any idea on Clorox Wipes (those tissue-like wipes that can be found at supermarkets)?
TSinfernoaswen
Jul 13 2012, 11:47 AM
QUOTE(FabuData @ Jul 13 2012, 01:07 AM) Any idea on Clorox Wipes (those tissue-like wipes that can be found at supermarkets)? same thing...if got odor after cleaning then you need to use less & try to wash the cage till the odor is gone.
pieplushie
Jul 15 2012, 07:56 PM
QUOTE(infernoaswen @ Jul 10 2012, 10:41 PM) Because is made of aspen http://www.hamsterific.com/beddingguide.cfmWhere is your location? Last time i was searching dried mealworms too & most of the shop ran out. I found a petshop in summit but unfortunately it wasnt the alex brand i used to fed my hamster but they had jolly brand though. Its mixed with mealworms & shrimps. Bought it & been feeding my hamster with that, he eats the mealworms but sometimes leave out the shrimps. If you dont mind trying new brand & feeding your hamster with shrimps then you could try that brand.  Ooo, hmmm...should I get...haha.. hmm hmmm.. I'm around Sunway, always either check pet shack or pet lovers centre. I guess I could give it a try, if I get it.. hopefully they still have stock..
TSinfernoaswen
Jul 15 2012, 08:59 PM
QUOTE(pieplushie @ Jul 15 2012, 07:56 PM) Ooo, hmmm...should I get...haha.. hmm hmmm.. I'm around Sunway, always either check pet shack or pet lovers centre. I guess I could give it a try, if I get it.. hopefully they still have stock..  sadly you wont be able to find aspen at two of the stores you mention  I been through most of the pet shop in subang jaya till taipan & failed to find it. They just dont bring aspen bedding in malaysia  well at least the places i went.... If you got enough cash you can try should be worth it....i placed my name in the list, scared later they dont bring into malaysia again
Memories_Fallen
Jul 16 2012, 12:26 AM
QUOTE(pieplushie @ Jul 15 2012, 07:56 PM) Ooo, hmmm...should I get...haha.. hmm hmmm.. I'm around Sunway, always either check pet shack or pet lovers centre. I guess I could give it a try, if I get it.. hopefully they still have stock..  You'll definetly cant find it in malaysia..im jus so happy to get contact with the distributor..check my siggy below
TSinfernoaswen
Jul 16 2012, 03:10 AM
QUOTE(Memories_Fallen @ Jul 16 2012, 12:26 AM) You'll definetly cant find it in malaysia..im jus so happy to get contact with the distributor..check my siggy below surprisingly only 3 people in the waiting list. Others all not buying? Or everyone missing already? This thread is so boring i think nobody bother coming here already... ok i admit even i rarely come here except for this week
pieplushie
Jul 19 2012, 03:25 AM
Hmm... I went to summit today.... but.. the pet shop wasn't open... Do they close on Wednesdays?
LuQEE
Jul 19 2012, 06:49 AM

QUOTE(infernoaswen @ Jul 16 2012, 03:10 AM) surprisingly only 3 people in the waiting list. Others all not buying? Or everyone missing already? This thread is so boring i think nobody bother coming here already... ok i admit even i rarely come here except for this week  lol..i think not much chubbie hammy owner anymore now iguess, or they are all too busy?QUOTE(pieplushie @ Jul 19 2012, 03:25 AM) Hmm... I went to summit today.... but.. the pet shop wasn't open... Do they close on Wednesdays? i havent been to summit for more than 5-8 years i guess, where is this pet shop located?
TSinfernoaswen
Jul 19 2012, 10:16 AM
QUOTE(pieplushie @ Jul 19 2012, 03:25 AM) Hmm... I went to summit today.... but.. the pet shop wasn't open... Do they close on Wednesdays? What time you went? I think you should go afternoon after 1pm coz the boss there no timing one. He opens the shop whenever he likes. I dont like that because i went few times also its was close last time. The shop is located i think the second last top floor if i am not mistaken. Next to some security company or something.... QUOTE(LuQEE @ Jul 19 2012, 06:49 AM) lol..i think not much chubbie hammy owner anymore now iguess, or they are all too busy?i havent been to summit for more than 5-8 years i guess, where is this pet shop located? yeah most probably...even i sometimes been busy & didnt really check this thread.
pieplushie
Jul 19 2012, 03:06 PM
QUOTE(infernoaswen @ Jul 19 2012, 10:16 AM) What time you went? I think you should go afternoon after 1pm coz the boss there no timing one. He opens the shop whenever he likes. I dont like that because i went few times also its was close last time. The shop is located i think the second last top floor if i am not mistaken. Next to some security company or something.... yeah most probably...even i sometimes been busy & didnt really check this thread.  I went at like.. 2 or 3pm.. >.< Added on July 19, 2012, 8:09 pmthe pet shop's like.. have to go 2nd floor from lift, then walk out of the (hallway?) then turn left. Discovery petz was it? haha. This post has been edited by pieplushie: Jul 19 2012, 08:09 PM
TSinfernoaswen
Jul 20 2012, 12:14 AM
QUOTE(pieplushie @ Jul 19 2012, 03:06 PM) I went at like.. 2 or 3pm.. >.< Added on July 19, 2012, 8:09 pmthe pet shop's like.. have to go 2nd floor from lift, then walk out of the (hallway?) then turn left. Discovery petz was it? haha. not sure the shop name but i know its the floor below the cinema floor...somewhere around there....i dont usually like to go that place though...if i go also i walk fast fast coz the indon/china girls there when ever men cross will ask "massage?"...."massage sir?"..."come massage"....HAHA but what i know is its the same pet shop as last year...last year it was 1st floor i think...then they shifted higher floor. QUOTE(LuQEE @ Jul 19 2012, 08:32 PM) what do they got there? besides hammies?
thinking getting a hammy to replace my peanut but dunno if i got the time for him later.. its an exotic pet shop that sells snakes, reptiles, scorpions, mice for snake food etc....well that was last time la...didnt go there quite some time already....hamsters not that much...few only & hamster items are limited too...